platonic relationhips?

chewbacca

anyone ever survived a platnic relationship, cause i swear to god this one is killin me.

I ask this question lookin for tips on how not to ruin a friendship, y`no, with a girl. As i type this i`m lying on a sofa bed in he dark, trying to fall asleep, whilst all the time knowig that a intelligent, witty, and incredibly pretty girl that i really really like is sleepng, well i think she`s sleeping, in the next room. Old friends and all that, which would make any sort of advance wholy inapropriate,wich is only tempered by the fact i ony wokeup an hour ago with her asleepin my arms.

aww, man, i always end up n this sitution, and why is this damned laptop keyboard so noisy and non responsive.

and why do people go to gigs to talk while the the band plays? that ****ses me offtoo. blah blah and stuff

apologies for the middle of the night rant, but it`s either this or try and sneak out and get a cab, which`d be a ****ty thing to do.

• Replies 211

Just tell her how you feel, if she feels the same way about you then your quids in, if she doesn't it doesn't mean that you still can't have the platonic relationship. But don't make a pass at her until you let her know how you really feel about her.

seconded.

GET her Pumped! :)

Indeed, a good sausage up the wrong 'un will soon change the platonicness of the situation.

Good luck. Cant believe I dont charge for this infortmation.

Indeed, a good sausage up the wrong 'un will soon change the platonicness of the situation.

Good call Andy.

Because as we all know, one up the wrong 'un doesn't really count :cool:

If she fell asleep in your arms then it could either mean she's attracted to you, or more likely, she rates you really highly as a friend that she's comfortable with. Either way, you're going to have to say something. Just hope that the scenario is the first one (attraction), in which case, congratulations!

If it's the second one, there's a chance - a higher one than if you were just casual mates - that because you're close mates she might consider you as a boyfriend/pump when you let her know your feelings.

However, considering you're sleeping in two different rooms, I fear that she just sees you as a mate, and you're on a slippery slope to an awkward relationship should you say anything!

anyone ever survived a platnic relationship, cause i swear to god this one is killin me.

I ask this question lookin for tips on how not to ruin a friendship, y`no, with a girl. As i type this i`m lying on a sofa bed in he dark, trying to fall asleep, whilst all the time knowig that a intelligent, witty, and incredibly pretty girl that i really really like is sleepng, well i think she`s sleeping, in the next room. Old friends and all that, which would make any sort of advance wholy inapropriate,wich is only tempered by the fact i ony wokeup an hour ago with her asleepin my arms.

aww, man, i always end up n this sitution, and why is this damned laptop keyboard so noisy and non responsive.

and why do people go to gigs to talk while the the band plays? that ****ses me offtoo. blah blah and stuff

apologies for the middle of the night rant, but it`s either this or try and sneak out and get a cab, which`d be a ****ty thing to do.

Dear Deidre would say that you should tell this girl how you feel about her, when you're both sober. She may well feel the same way but be thinking the same as you. If you're friendship is that strong then it can survive something like that. Just don't be full on.

Uncle Soops.

Jamie_the_Jambo

Here's what Id do.

Next time your out and have had a few drinks and she's being cuddly and nice say to her that the last she woke in your arms you were sorely tempted to have a wee feel of her tits. She'll reply one way or the other letting you know?

For example, she'll whack you and say ya dirty radge- keep your hands to yourself or she'll say Why didnt you? or something similar. Or she'll smile but either way you should get the feedback.

As you are both pretty good friends Im sure she wont take offence to the comment.

Then.....stick it in the toley hole.

Best Wishes

Jamie

Ask her if she wants to suck your boab.

If she says yes then you get the right answer and also a gummer thrown in.

Is she says no then you realise she is not interested.

Sorted.

Clue's in the question, mate!

You clearly want her badly, and being a 'friend' is obviously not enough for you, even if it might be for her.

Thing is, you'll never know unless you ask, and before too long she'll be with somebody else - how well could you handle that?

Just tell her - if it spoils your 'friendship' then maybe she wasn't really that much of a mate, anyway?

Whatever happens, I'd definitely have a right good go at getting her pumped! Is she hot? If so, fire her chebs on to the Jugs thread!

Good luck!

Hahaha:) JKB aint just about football, it's about life! This place has sorted out more pumps than the New Orleans fire department.

Platonic relationships are a myth.

Guys only choose and want to be around females they are sexually attracted too.

Females also know this, possibly onyl subconsiously, but will put themselves in that situation as they like the attention and it makes them feel better about themselves.

This means that is females can be in such a relationship without wanting it to go further. Whereas as a general rule, guys cant.

If you want to remain freinds, nothing more, it will always be a friendship based on sexual denial, in which you will feel tormented.

If your honest, you risk ruining the current set-up, or creating a relationship.

Either way the relationship will change.

I was gonna post on this thread but that says it all for me :D

Sometimes. Not always. I have quite a few female friends. Not even slightly attracted to them, or they to me, as far as I know.

I have male friends and I,m not attracted to them and they aren,t attracted to me, men and women can be purely friends without wanting to sleep with each other.

Then I would suggest there is another reason that you 'socialise' they perform someother function, or are required in another way.

Guys dont just hang out for the sake of it with females they are not attracted too.

People may not like it, but its true.

I have male friends and I,m not attracted to them and they aren,t attracted to me, men and women can be purely friends without wanting to sleep with each other.

Its a nice idea, but sadly not really true.

Yep! Your male mates (I'm not slagging you off Nikki, I don't know you) are either gay, have someone better (in their opinion) or aren't attracted to you. Or, they are secretly attracted to you but don't move on it/deny it.

If you had read my post then you will have seen that I had stated that my male mates don,t find me attractive and I don,t find them attractive, we get on and enjoy each others company. They most certainly aren,t gay and are in relationships. Men and women can get on without sex getting in the way.

Females also know this, possibly onyl subconsiously, but will put themselves in that situation as they like the attention and it makes them feel better about themselves.

This means that is females can be in such a relationship without wanting it to go further. Whereas as a general rule, guys cant.

If you want to remain freinds, nothing more, it will always be a friendship based on sexual denial, in which you will feel tormented.

If your honest, you risk ruining the current set-up, or creating a relationship.

Having been in this situation a couple of times i would say generally you are right.

But then again i have a few good female mates that i am not attracted to so it's a funny one.

Done the cuddling thing and all that. She really should ken how you feel with the hard on poking into her back. :)

If you had read my post then you will have seen that I had stated that my male mates don,t find me attractive and I don,t find them attractive, we get on and enjoy each others company. They most certainly aren,t gay and are in relationships. Men and women can get on without sex getting in the way.

Oooooofff!! The denial is strong in this one.

That'll be it then. They have someone who they perceive to be a better partner.

IN THEIR OPINION. :P I know I sound harsh.

[/can of worms]

Then I would suggest there is another reason that you 'socialise' they perform someother function, or are required in another way..

Honestly, there isn't. If there was I would just say. I just like their company in the same way that I might like the company of a bloke. They share common interests or we have a good laugh. Nothing ever sexual. I do take your general point though.

Would normally have agreed with that 100% per cent. I don't recall ever having a close friend that was a girl I wasn't attracted to at least in some way. However, I now have two close friends who I met in Ibiza who, while I know they aren't ugly, I just don't find myself attracted to them in the slightest.

That'll be it then. They have someone who they perceive to be a better partner.

IN THEIR OPINION. :P I know I sound harsh.

[/can of worms]

:) nope not harsh, works both ways with me being a married woman :P I just think that men and women can be mates without wanting to pounce on each other.

Have you asked them?

Sorry, Nikki, but I strongly suspect that a fair few of your male mates would secretly like to slip you one - sad but true, I'm afraid!

I'm not trying to be 'orrible, I'm just being honest.

Even in marriages and partnerships, we guys tolerate tedious trips shopping for carpets and curtains in the hope that we are scoring loyalty points to be cashed in later on in the sack!

You don't really think we like shopping, do you? No - we like ****ing!

Even in the courtship/chat-up stage when we're being nicer than nice, saying things like "I really like you" and suchlike, we're really thinking "I'd really like to **** your brains out"!

This is not to say that we don't like or love you - some of us are nice guys.

Sadly, girls, it's the contents of your underwear we're really interested in - you need to know this!

Sorry, Nikki, but I strongly suspect that a fair few of your male mates would secretly like to slip you one - sad but true, I'm afraid!

I'm not trying to be 'orrible, I'm just being honest.

Even in marriages and partnerships, we guys tolerate tedious trips shopping for carpets and curtains in the hope that we are scoring loyalty points to be cashed in later on in the sack!

You don't really think we like shopping, do you? No - we like ****ing!

Even in the courtship/chat-up stage when we're being nicer than nice, saying things like "I really like you" and suchlike, we're really thinking "I'd really like to **** your brains out"!

This is not to say that we don't like or love you - some of us are nice guys.

Sadly, girls, it's the contents of your underwear we're really interested in - you need to know this!

What you playing at mate?

You cannae be going about telling burds the real script.

What you playing at mate?

You cannae be going about telling burds the real script.

S**T, Lets laugh it off like he was just joking!!!

Oh hahahaha Uncle Albert you! What a character eh, always having a joke and a laugh!!

This is a truly depressing thread..!

What are you wearing?

I believe it was Chris Rock who once mused;

"Guys don't have platonic friends, we just have women we haven't ****ed YET."

"You know what a platonic friend is to a woman? It's like a d!ck in a glass case. "In case of emergency, break open glass""

I live with a straight male flatmate and neither of us would dream of doing anything. I'm still friends with the group of folk I went to school with, about an equal mix of girls and guys. Believe it or not, it is actually possible.

The good doctor has expanded somewhat on my original point.

The old "where are we going with this" is probably long overdue

as she will tend to depend on you without any "commitment" on

her part. If your fine with that then fine.

But if you still have the same feelings in a year or two how are

you going to feel?

If you dont sort out your feelings now, youll be doing everything for

her except getting her pumped. Thats when the old negative feelings

will kick in and youll blame her even though shes not responsible for

your emotions. She will notice the vibes cos shes your "friend" and

then rather ironically fight fire with fire as youve always been

"really nice" to her and this is something shes never had to deal with

before.

bit of a no brainer really!

I live with a straight male flatmate and neither of us would dream of doing anything. I'm still friends with the group of folk I went to school with, about an equal mix of girls and guys. Believe it or not, it is actually possible.

ist2_3120732_taking_the_bait.jpg

Good luck controlling what goes on in that boys head when he's sleeping.

He's probably had countless dreams about you covered in peanut butter, punching a dog and eating ice cream whilst servicing him.

You're very good at multi tasking in dreams apparently.

Maybe you just don't know that they secretly want to...

Not many guys on here saying they have platonic friendships. plenty of girls though...interesting coincidence.

Whenever female friends do that whole cuddling thing, the thought that always runs through the guys head is "How will she react if I put my hand on her t1t?".

Always.

I would imagine in his dreams he most likely has ,i know i have with a few very good female friends that i have and feel attracted too,but i have the curse or blessing of an amount of self control which allows a friendship without the need of jumping bones or acting on it ,So yes platonic friendships can work and are rewarding in there own way but the thought/temptation is always there as long as you dont get blootered and make an arse of yourself .

Maybe it's just my flatmate in particular but it would never happen, regardless of both of our excessive binge-drinking.

However I can concur that I've seen loads of friendships ruined in this way.

next time your sleeping in the room next to her send her a text saying 'it wont suck itself', then you'll know where you stand.

And Dr B - your talking utter tripe. Either that or i must be gay. And i dont think i'm gay....

next time your sleeping in the room next to her send her a text saying 'it wont suck itself', then you'll know where you stand.

It's probably not worth the hassle and the heart ache in the long run.

She'll either end up having weird looking flaps, kind of like 2 doors hanging off the hinges or she'll have a hairy chest.