Hatkickers and Hatkickers kickers

No no no - he was just pure dead steaming all the time.

To be fair, he was pure dead steaming a lot of the time. Between my bro and a couple of mates, they personally saw him out (and steaming) about 3 times in the space of a few weeks. Though they are out steaming all the time also!

• Replies 152
To be fair, he was pure dead steaming a lot of the time.

Hehe. :biggrin:

I actually met him in the Diggers after a game one night.

For some reason Simon Hunt and himself came right over to us to have their pint while the whole pub went mental.

He was clean, sober and charming company throughout.

He cant half demolish a pint in double quick time though. :eek:

FWIW, I think Vlad has pulled off a masterstroke in appointing Csaba. He's not the "messiah" (Kevin Keegan has that one wrapped up :rolleyes:) but he has managed to focus the player's efforts on the task in hand, has created a semblance of a structure of a team and seems to be achieving more results than not. That in itself is still failure however it is a lot more positive than the situation has been over the past couple of seasons. If Vlad was to empty Csaba without any due cause, a la Burley, then you would really see the hat-kickers out in force.

To be fair, he was pure dead steaming a lot of the time. Between my bro and a couple of mates, they personally saw him out (and steaming) about 3 times in the space of a few weeks. Though they are out steaming all the time also!

I think there is no doubt the man liked a drink.

But at that time several players were forever out on the lash - Why Not was a regular midweek haunt for Hartley and Brellier.

It maybe wasn't 100% professional but it was in no way affecting his ability to carry out his job.

It gets on my tiits they way some Hearts fans attempt to justify the sacking by alluding to the fact GB was a drunk.

A drunk Burley is a better Manager than a sober Rix, Valdas, Malofeev, Korobochka, Cherenkov, Frail or Csaba.

No no no - he was just pure dead steaming all the time.
I wasn't bothered about him being drunk all the time as he was still doing a great job, he was only following in the steps of other old school Scottish managers like Tommy Docherty. I was only saying I hadn't heard anything that made me sit up and take notice till after the Parkhead game. I still say that even with some rumours kicking about no Hearts fan could have been 'anti' VR in September 2005.

FWIW, I think Vlad has pulled off a masterstroke in appointing Csaba. He's not the "messiah" (Kevin Keegan has that one wrapped up :rolleyes:) but he has managed to focus the player's efforts on the task in hand, has created a semblance of a structure of a team and seems to be achieving more results than not. That in itself is still failure however it is a lot more positive than the situation has been over the past couple of seasons. If Vlad was to empty Csaba without any due cause, a la Burley, then you would really see the hat-kickers out in force.

I think if VR sacked any Manager without any due cause then ALL Hearts fans should be out in force.

But at that time several players were forever out on the lash - Why Not was a regular midweek haunt for Hartley and Brellier.

It maybe wasn't 100% professional but it was in no way affecting his ability to carry out his job.

It gets on my tiits they way some Hearts fans attempt to justify the sacking by alluding to the fact GB was a drunk.

A drunk Burley is a better Manager than a sober Rix, Valdas, Malofeev, Korobochka, Cherenkov, Frail or Csaba.

If we were to appoint Marcello Lippi tomorrow he could drink red wine on the touchline/training ground for all I would care.

I still say that even with some rumours kicking about no Hearts fan could have been 'anti' VR in September 2005.

There were very few.

The vast majority were so caught up in how well we were doing that we didn't really give 2 fecks about Burley.

Especially when the reports on who VR wanted as Burleys replacement were cleverly leaked to the media.

There were very few.

The vast majority were so caught up in how well we were doing that we didn't really give 2 fecks about Burley.

Especially when the reports on who VR wanted as Burleys replacement were cleverly leaked to the media.

That whole propoganda of going on supporters buses, going to see people whose son had died was absolutely evil. That's when I turned from being a believer to having some dark thoughts about the whole thing.

He did everthing bar kiss babies for the camera's.

He did what he had to do to get full control.

That whole propoganda of going on supporters buses, going to see people whose son had died was absolutely evil.
FFS:cool:

He did everthing bar kiss babies for the camera's.

He did what he had to do to get full control.

I still blame Deans and McGrail for their part in all of this as much as Romanov. They had the chance to be standard bearers in all of this, as no one knew what could happen. They sold the family silver.

Yep.

I held onto mine.

Whatever you think of Vlad, he sems to be pretty quite these days, none of the usual pish he was coming out with a while ago anyway. Mind you, has he actually been over here at any point this season, other than to watch Cowsass play the weegies the CL quals?

As for me, my expectations are fairly low, just cos most of the the players we have are gash. Mid table this year, and nowhere in the cup, prob knocked out by Airdrie in fact.

That was and is the bottom line for me.

Whatever you think of Vlad, he sems to be pretty quite these days, none of the usual pish he was coming out with a while ago anyway. Mind you, has he actually been over here at any point this season, other than to watch Cowsass play the weegies the CL quals?

As for me, my expectations are fairly low, just cos most of the the players we have are gash. Mid table this year, and nowhere in the cup, prob knocked out by Airdrie in fact.

:laugh: no chance, that'll never happen. :P

I wasn't bothered about him being drunk all the time as he was still doing a great job, he was only following in the steps of other old school Scottish managers like Tommy Docherty. I was only saying I hadn't heard anything that made me sit up and take notice till after the Parkhead game. I still say that even with some rumours kicking about no Hearts fan could have been 'anti' VR in September 2005.

I think a very small handful were, but you are largely right I think.

There were whispers pre-Parkhead but I think nearly all of us put that down to stirring media talk. Nearly all of us were clearly wrong.

I personally gave chance after chance.

Nothing really happens when you stop with the chances. You get angry for a bit, then a bit sad, then apathetic, then you get reinvigorated about doing something about it, then you accept things will just take their course - whether that is sale or bust, then you lower your expectations for the team....

...we will all no doubt go through this process, just at different times, hence the "collisions" on here

Think the first seeds were sown when Burley wanted Miko gone early doors (due to his wedding?)

Chesney was not getting a look in.

Vlads policy of wanting to showcase young Lithuanian talent was getting of to a bad start - couple that with Kitsz (sp) being sent home as well?

I wonder if the alleged drinking of Burley would have been a problem if the above guys were all amajor part of the plans under Burley. Miko did play a couple, but dont think he would have been around much longer if given a chance. Burley knew the importance of having a blanced midfield.

Never believed the "Burley was getting too much exposure" line either. You could not go 10 mins at a home or away game without Vlads name being sung.

It was a genuine question. So you were against a man who had just saved Tynie from being sold, brought in a good manager, signed European and Champions league winners, won our first few games because a couple of auld lackies had reportedly knocked him back:eek:

Correct, and unfortunately I was right

Think the first seeds were sown when Burley wanted Miko gone early doors (due to his wedding?)

Chesney was not getting a look in.

Vlads policy of wanting to showcase young Lithuanian talent was getting of to a bad start - couple that with Kitsz (sp) being sent home as well?

I wonder if the alleged drinking of Burley would have been a problem if the above guys were all amajor part of the plans under Burley. Miko did play a couple, but dont think he would have been around much longer if given a chance. Burley knew the importance of having a blanced midfield.

Never believed the "Burley was getting too much exposure" line either. You could not go 10 mins at a home or away game without Vlads name being sung.

I think the drinking thing was just an excuse to be honest. Yes, he probably did/does socialise rather more than might be considered normal but I don't know whether that would have necessarily affected how he performed as a manager. I think we would have heard about it by now if there had been any particularly exciting tales of drunken, beery managers on the training pitch or anything along those lines.

I think they just didn't get along and clashed pretty badly. I forget the story now but there was something about Burley doing something really cheeky in response to a request from Vlad for info...I reckon simple things like that were the straws that broke the camels back in the end.

And maybe the niece was involved, who knows....

I see that the quartet of usual suspects are havin' a field day

Just to remind them how the term hatkicker came about. Some not very bright patsy was handed a box of hats by agenda seeking lag looking for a story.

That says it all really

I would rather back the guy that IMO saved Hearts from going to the wall. than some craigmiller numptie who over the years has not been the perfect role model for Hearts supporters to follow.

I suspect if we had went any other road we would been Like certain banks at the moment.

BTW what about the other rumour surrounding sir george, Milan anybody

I think a very small handful were, but you are largely right I think.

There were whispers pre-Parkhead but I think nearly all of us put that down to stirring media talk. Nearly all of us were clearly wrong.

I personally gave chance after chance.

Nothing really happens when you stop with the chances. You get angry for a bit, then a bit sad, then apathetic, then you get reinvigorated about doing something about it, then you accept things will just take their course - whether that is sale or bust, then you lower your expectations for the team....

...we will all no doubt go through this process, just at different times, hence the "collisions" on here

Classic five stages of grief.

Personally, I think Vlad is an odious individual, I hate what he has done to our club, and I look forward to the day he leaves.

So you are unaware of the problems at Chelsea before Mourhino left then? Mind you they were only claims as well.

There may have been problems, yes, but this happens at any club between managers and chairman. Even the late, great Brian Clough caused many a problem regarding transfers.

That aside, do you honestly think any of us would be complaining about ?200M investment in the squad (at a guess) and two league titles?

Any comparisons to Chelsea are nothing short of ridiculous! :D

At various times on JKB I have been accused of both being a 'hatkicker' and a 'Vlad Sheep'. Looking back at the majority of my posts between latter 2006 and up until the appointment of Csaba in all honest, I was extremely critical of Romanov and the way the club is being run and to be honest I stick by those comments. Since we have appointed the new head coach however, I have toned down my views significantly.

I believe we are now making progress for the first time since 2006, the players look motivated and fit and there seems to have been genuine team spirit created. Given it is the same set of players as 07/08, this can only be down to the input of Laszlo Csaba, I also stand by my comments that criticism of him at this stage, to the point of calling for his removal..is utterly ridiculous. Just as ridiculous as Romanov's decision to sack Burley in fact.

I'm being honest when I say I still don't trust the club, hence the non-renewal of my season ticket for the first time since 1996. But I honestly believe that the current set-up is as good as we'll get under Romanov, he'll always insist on input into team affairs, but at least the team now appears as mentioned previously to be motivated and fit. So given that there neither appears to be the financial clout or collective will or organisation amongst the support to remove Romanov, the current situation is about as good as we can hope for or are likely to get.

But they fell for the serenade. As most of us did.

Vlad said he wanted to win the SPL and challenge in Europe. He looked like he was walking the walk with the infrastructure he put in place

1 day after he got Deans shares he booted Burley. Within 2 weeks of full control he had dismantled the infrastructure with Anderton and Foulkes gone. Over the next 15 months he dismantled the team.

One of the best, but ultimately most hollow, charm offensives I have witnessed

I fail to believe for one minute that the timing in all of this was coincidence. He clearly put an infrastructure and team together he didnt want, but knew it would get him full control. Once he got full control he said GTF to the lot of them

Vlad said he wanted to win the SPL and challenge in Europe.

This is the one thing that bugs me. Our mediocrity I can accept. The likelihood of not challenging for anything I can accept. It is, as has been pointed out before, the way of things at Tynecastle since the '60s, albeit on a much smaller budget than today's underachievement.

But as far as I know, the club has still not had the decency to downgrade its previously fanfared intention of becoming a major European club. Go into the ticket office and it's still staring you in the face on the displays. Yet our actions and the standard of our staff - playing and non-playing - bear about as close a relationship to being "major European" as the Hobos do to Scottish Cup success.

Are the OF "major European" clubs? Some might argue yes, but there's a pretty compelling argument for saying no. Yet we're light years behind them in terms of our resources.

I think the whole "together" thing should include a bit of honest re-appraisal. It's long overdue.

I fail to believe for one minute that the timing in all of this was coincidence. He clearly put an infrastructure and team together he didnt want, but knew it would get him full control. Once he got full control he said GTF to the lot of them

This is a genuine question by the way...

There appears to be two main groups now: those that are opposed to Romanov and those that are sick of hearing about it. Hatkickers v Hatkickers kickers.

Is there anybody out there who still genuinely believes Romanov is doing a good job, that the club will prosper under his watch, that he has, in other words, a plan?

Absolutely fecked without him!

He has made plenty mistakes but also done a lot of good (Scottish Cup Win etc etc).

He is a winner....fact...and he will be a winner at Hearts.

There is also No alternative, but I still believe!!!!

He has made plenty mistakes but also done a lot of good (Scottish Cup Win etc etc).

Winners don't finish 8th in the SPL - FACT.

He's a loser.

And you're not too far behind him.

That what "I believe".

You are so bitter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He's a loser.

That what "I believe".

If you had read my post correctly I said Vlad 'will be a winner' at Tynecastle!!!!!

Why do you still bother with your one sided posts. Surely it is time for you to move elsewhere, as you are clearly never going to be happy at Tynecastle. Surely by staying on Kickback and stating you are a Hearts fan , but oh so unhappy, it is you that is a looser?

As far as I can see Vlad is not leaving, unless you can tell us the opposite.

There appears to be two main groups now: those that are opposed to Romanov and those that are sick of hearing about it. Hatkickers v Hatkickers kickers.

Is there anybody out there who still genuinely believes Romanov is doing a good job, that the club will prosper under his watch, that he has, in other words, a plan?

I dont believe he is doing a good job.

Not sure what prosper means. Man Utd "loose" money every season.

He has a plan but it changes daily. On second thoughts I'm not sure that constitutes a plan.

I think we will prosper, Eventually.

I dont believe he is doing a good job.

Not sure what prosper means. Man Utd "loose" money every season.

He has a plan but it changes daily. On second thoughts I'm not sure that constitutes a plan.

Lets all jump on the 'doom merchants' bandwagon......'He has a plan but it changes daily' FFS get a grip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ha ha ha.

Nice post mate.

I think some people just jump past the "Is he any good", to "We cant do anything about it".

If you say we cant do anything about it and use that as the justification behind defending him, that cant be right.

First point. Is he doing a good job.

Second point. If he is not, can anything be done about it

He is doing an absolutely gash job AND we cant do anything about it. I'm fine with this. Romanov will go in his own time and we will never as fan base unite against him unless he bankrupts us and by then it will be too late

So my approach is lower my expectations. Expect to see a mid-table team when I go and watch them, expect to see obvious signs of Vlad decisions in the team, and expect the resulting not performing to our maximum potential whilst he is around.

Accept we will not have any true measure of success.

Hope that Vlad doesnt intend to do anything other than sell us on, when he gets too old to bully people. Hope he doesnt have the longevity of Mugabe.

I left Falkirk relatively non-plussed. Falkirk were better than us last season and they beat us at home on Saturday. We're not challenging for anything so it hasnt dented any run or challenge.

Come on here for some sport and banter.

Jobs a good'un

Vlad's been a bit like sh@gging a munter when you're bevvied. Seems great at first, then as you get further into it you realise what a mistake you've made, they start going mental, then you close your eyes and hope for the best and in the end, you just hope they get what they want as quickly as possible so you can get away and get on with things.

I just want this ride to end! ;):P

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo

Vlad's been a bit like sh@gging a munter when you're bevvied. Seems great at first, then as you get further into it you realise what a mistake you've made, they start going mental, then you close your eyes and hope for the best and in the end, you just hope they get what they want as quickly as possible so you can get away and get on with things.

I just want this ride to end! ;):P

Almost Shakesperean in its eloquence...

Don't they say that munters are the best "rides....?"

(Would not know my self..all ma' lay-dees have been bootiful...)

Even the ugly ones.

You are so bitter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About VR's sacking of Burley then replacing him with numerous vastly inferior Managers since ?

Yes I am.

Almost Shakesperean in its eloquence...

Don't they say that munters are the best "rides....?"

(Would not know my self..all ma' lay-dees have been bootiful...)

Even the ugly ones.

Yeah, maybe that's the wrong way around. See that Vlad, he even ruins analogies! :mad:;)

If you had read my post correctly I said Vlad 'will be a winner' at Tynecastle!!!!!

Why do you still bother with your one sided posts. Surely it is time for you to move elsewhere, as you are clearly never going to be happy at Tynecastle. Surely by staying on Kickback and stating you are a Hearts fan , but oh so unhappy, it is you that is a looser?

As far as I can see Vlad is not leaving, unless you can tell us the opposite.

I did read your post correctly.

It appears you didn't.

Looser.

Yeah, maybe that's the wrong way around. See that Vlad, he even ruins analogies! :mad:;)

Mine the other week was along the lines of getting drunk on champagne and pulling what you thought was a stunning blond (the Burley part), and then waking up with a massive hangover finding you'd actually pulled and got married to a transexual in a wig (the rest of his time here).

He's a loser.

That what "I believe".

He's (NBJT, that is) right with the "no alternative" bit though and I doubt he's any more of a loser than most of us on here.

Calm doon.

He's (NBJT, that is) right with the "no alternative" bit though and I doubt he's any more of a loser than most of us on here.

Calm doon.

I'm not uncalm.

The eternally ungrateful will never thank Vlad for saving the club but that is up to them.

I have to admit that I admire him, he makes his mistakes but he keeps bouncing back. He is a winner.