Childhood memories that make you happy?

• Replies 136
Everybody loves Baz
Pepe Jeans with the free keyring.

It was the sonneti jeans and Portsides shoes that i remember, Oh and Pods? shoes and the Guys wearing Pink, Lemon/yellow polo shirts.

They were the shizzle mate, loved my portsides.

Wasn't a fan of Pods though.

Everybody loves Baz
They were the shizzle mate, loved my portsides.

Wasn't a fan of Pods though.

I bet you would've been one of those guys wearing the polo shirts though??;)

Sensible soccer on the Zx

Getting up for the my milk run at 4 am

Getting the Xmas tips from the milk round ?125 going and spending it on myself

summer holidays with the parents getting new clothes

getting dragged up town or the shopping center with mum and gran on a sat

Bike rides for miles

Sitting up on special nights like watching the final of the snooker.

Sensible soccer on the Zx

Getting up for the my milk run at 4 am

Getting the Xmas tips from the milk round ?125 going and spending it on myself

summer holidays with the parents getting new clothes

getting dragged up town or the shopping center with mum and gran on a sat

Bike rides for miles

Sitting up on special nights like watching the final of the snooker.

Forgot about this one,

Up town with my mum and there were nuns about.

My mum would say if you dont behave the nuns will take you away.

I BEHAVED :confused:

Forgot about this one,

Haha.

Liked that one.

Forgot about this one,

Now be having nun of that young man.........

Sorry had to so now we know why you are like that being brought up by nuns:p:p:p:p

The Comedian

A few from me, I'm 23...

Krypton Factor and Crystal Maze on TV. And Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

Smashing windows.

Ruined school trousers from playing on grass.

Old man on nightshift in the pit and not seeing him for weeks.

White XR3's.

Punishment exercises from school.

Chucking staines at trains as it went by my school.

Gas alarm at school because we were near grangemouth.

Kappa claes. Naff now I know.

I cant wait until Cobblers comes on and tells us his stories of using chalk on slate in school classrooms :D

I have to admit VE Day was pretty good.;)

Being on holiday in Majorca (Granny had a timeshare) and spending all day playing with my old man or mates id known 5 minutes who i was convinced would be best friends for the rest of my life- i now know noone i've ever met on holiday as a child.

16/5/1998- i was only 11. Hard to match that happiness.

Summer holidays spent doing nothing apart from playing football and tennis.

20p mixtures.

Going to my Granny's every sunday night and stuffin my wee cousin at snooker!

World Cup Final 1994(****e match but i was allowed to stay up really late!)/Euro '96- great tournament.

Winning the Amsterdam cup at under 17s- top bunch of boys, what a trip.

School- strangely i loved school. Great fun, always with your mates, bantering with teachers, miserably tryng to impress birds, house parties,etc etc. Fantastic

Being a tormenting little bahhstard to all my family members.

Getting away with absolute murder due to my blonde hair & bug sullen eyes that I knew, even as a 4 year old, could get me off the hook.

Inhaling smoke in my grans whilst my uncle pete leathered the **** out of us, all in the name of drunken sport.

Quid mixtures at the chip inn at Oxgangs.

Reaping the Oxgangs field after the shows had left. (50's and 20's all over the place).

Raiding the building site for globe bottles. Bags and bags of them.

New years partys.

Labour never winning an election and my dad moaning like **** about the tories.

Realising I had a bigger boaby than any one of my classmates.

That big ****ing brick of a remote control.

My grans cheese scones (warm with a wee bit butter).

Watching 'made in Britain' as a teenager and laughing like **** at it.

The smell of fresh cut grass.

Playing long bangers in the sheds of the playground of Royston Primary. Sadly now long gone.

John i got the belt from Mr Thompson more then once for playing long bangers in those.

other memories from round that area;

7/8/9 a-side take ons in the 'bowling green' in Royston.

The Boys club behind the scout hall in Royston mains gardens

Raymie's ice cream van

whole days away on my chopper - down to cramond - it felt miles away

dipping in the waterfall at cramond/going out to cramond island

the shows at ***** brae

fishing the breakwater at granton

choring apples in trinity

seeing a colour tv for the first time - 1974 world cup.

loads of memories from the mid-late 70's many of which are all over this thread.

Kerby - how good a game was that? you cannae play it these days. you cannae find a space between cars these days!

robbies-tackle

many memories from the 60's

Watching the moon landing in '68 in a B&B in North Berwick (on our summer hols) and having to get the doctor in the next morning due to me coming down with mumps! taxi home on our second day!

Sleeping out in the back garden in home made tents-washing line, sheets and rugs.

Grannies home knitted jumpers-god they were so itchy!

Patrick Thompsons up the bridges on a Saturday afternnon with my mum and granny then afternoon tea in Mcvitties in hanover Street-it had a gold fish pond.

Tarrys chip shop in Manse Road for a 3p poke of chips after Guides.

Watching the saturday night movie on TV. We all watched it as a family-my kids are never at home on a saturday night as its always "sleepovers".

First colour TV in 1973. Wow!

Starting the summer holidays playing Wimbledon in the back garden -It took our about 2 hours to get the court the exact size then 10 minutes of actual playing before we all fell out and started fighting!

My dad always bringing us sweeties home after he had done overtime (chocolate eclairs were my favourites). No way would my kids be allowed the amount of sweets I consumed.

Eating peas from their pods in my grannies back garden.

PsychocAndy

My Mum making pancakes for our dinner, only downside was having to eat her homemade soup first.

My mum's homemade rice pudding

ha'penny chews

Cowan's chocolate cover toffee

Chelsea Whoppers , Gerry's in the Grassmarket has them again, there lovely but not as good as in my memories.

Chips out of Antonelli's in the Pans, I was disapointed to find she wasn't my Aunty Nelly.

Going down Pennywell Road holding on to the back of the new one man buses.

The chip van at the bottom of Aicheson Drive, we got chips there once a month, funny that.

Golden Wonder cheese and onion crisps after my mum and da came back from the legion

The miners strike in the early 70's, I was 5 or 6 and we got to see my da for ages. We were always skint so didn't notice the extra hardship as kids.

Navy Blue Stay Press with doc's and braces.

A David Bowie hair cut, basicly a spikey mullet.

Back in the Pans, bombarding our neighbourhood kids with homegrown brussel sprouts.

My Nana smoking 40 fags a day and never inhaling one, leaving them in every ashtray in the house so you could have a quick drag.

Single fags.

Bongo mags in the woods at the Royal Musselburgh.

Learning to swear by being my da's caddy at the Royal Musselburgh.

Rick Grimes
Tennents lager with the ladies on the tin .

had a massive collection of hundreds those that we kept in the back garden at my friend's house on Morrison St. we used to go out hunting and collecting them from the streets and local parks. needless to say there were loads.

other good memories:

• drinking can after can of Top Deck then playing Dead Man's Fall
  • a gang of you going out exploring on the bikes for what seemed like hours
  • getting a new star wars figure to add to the collection
  • if you liked a girl - pulling her hair and running away
  • new games for the Spectrum - The Wild Bunch was cracking!

It may just be me, but did every park not have a free stash of scud mags somewhere in the bushes?

Apologies for lowering the tone, but as a lad there always seemed to be a treasure trove of pornographic literature partially hidden in the undergrowth....

Can anyone remember shrinking crisp bags under the grill to make badges?

I can remember getting a few hidings fae the old girl for setting the grill pan alight by leaving them in too long

frazzle1.jpg

Managing to walk from Muirhouse Park to Ferry Road without getting my head kicked in.:mad:

Running up the 23 storeys of Martello Court at lunchtime.

Playing footsie with an Italian girl at primary school (I still have dreams about that):dribble:

Packets of Oddfellows from the Ice Cream Van.

Getting Thruppence to go and buy sweets from the shops.:eek:

Going swimming in Leith baths with my mates.

Saturday morning club at the Odeon cinema.

Going on two weeks summer holidays to a mining village in South Yorkshire.:confused:

Remembering my Dad's car having to have a run up, to get up the hill at Belford (??) on the A1 during our 10 hour car journey to Yorkshire.

Getting free cream cakes from my Grannie who was Manager(ess in those days) of the Crawford's on Nicholson St.

Listening to my Grandad tell the same old stories about watching the Hearts in the 50's. Strangely he didn't tell many stories about the other 45 years he'd been watching them before then. Bloody glory hunter.

Helping my mate collect his newspaper money on a Friday night then going to the pub to get a carry out.

Shadow boxing with a girlfriends dad in the snow cos he found us gatecrashing a party at her house when the French exchange students were over:dribble:

Puberty and discovering girls:evil:

The Commy Pool Flumes

Little Marcos

Breaktime football - Bell goes, lunch in bin, an hour of top quality 26-a-side.

Running for 5 minutes without getting knackered

Being the old kids in school (P7)

Sports Day

Playing in full size goals aged 8

Party bags

Having a large 'football pitch' in the back garden - ok it was about the size of a penalty box but I thought it was huge.

My SNES - feck the megadrive

The Atari 520 ST

Kiss, cuddle or torture - who ever asked for toture? It was usually a kick in the baws.

Someone spewing in class - out comes the sawdust.

Calling the headmaster Mr P,P,P,P,P,P,Pirnie (he had a stutter)

I could go on for days.

The first time you got to see your first booby.

A momentous occassion, I still love the first tit I saw. No puns about the family or looking in the mirror please. ;)

My memory isn't as good as it once was, but here goes:

Going up Clerie Woods & climbing over the fence to get into the Zoo for free.

Once in the Zoo collecting empty juice bottles & getting the money back on them.

Playing rugby for Craigmount on a Saturday morning & then for Corstorphine in the afternoon (Made it difficult to see watch the JT's though).

Going to some crappy away ground which would be full of Jambo's and singing "Hearts fans, Hearts fans give us a wave".

Getting chased by some guys from YLT after playing rugby at Leith Academy (And getting them back when they played at Craigmount).

Trying to pluck up the courage to go & knock an the door of Alan Anderson's house to ask for his autograph.

Cans of Sweetheart Stout.

Pints of Heavy.

Aztec bars.

Catching Sticklebacks in the Water of Leith in Saughton Park.

Playing football with my mates in the field in front of our block of flats (I still say I lived in a stair) and - in the Summer - the "Grown up's" sitting outside drinking.

Open houses at New Year.

My Mum shouting out of the window to tell me my tea was ready.

Camping in the back green & waking as soon as it was light.

I could go on & on. Those were the days!

slashishere
Can anyone remember shrinking crisp bags under the grill to make badges?

I can remember getting a few hidings fae the old girl for setting the grill pan alight by leaving them in too long

frazzle1.jpg

YES!!!

I tried explaining this to the younger people at my work and none of them believed me.

Did you not used to get 'real' ones for shrinking in ceral packs etc??

YES!!!

I tried explaining this to the younger people at my work and none of them believed me.

As i seem to remember you kept snapping the damn things..thats if you hadnt set it on fire....oh and have you tried explaining the humpings you got at subbuetto to the 'younger' people at work...hmmmm

YES!!!

Not sure about the ones in cereal packs but Tudor packs always melted really well.

I was talking to a few of my mates last night about this and we are pretty sure that it was an idea that came from the TV programme, Why don't you?we think. (it was definitely a BBC summer holidays programme) Can you imagine that happening in these PC crazy, litigation driven days? 'right kids when your parents are out, you stand on a chair, fire the gas grill on and melt plastic bags until the shrink or catch fire!' :evil:

heartgarfunkel

Getting a quid for being the first in the motor to spot Blackpool Tower.

Playing 'up the field' all day and going over the wall to 'the Queen's park'. The big tarzan at the trees on the field side of Dunsapie Hill.

Fishing at Dunsapie and Duddingston Loch. Jumping into Duddy Loch from Hangman's rock. Doing the 'quarter mile' sledging on a tea tray.

Looking at all the brilliant telly to come in the Christmas Radio/TV Times (nicked from newsagents while doing late November - early January paper round for Xmas tips)

Giving the vickys to the queen's motor when she visited the blind factory in Craigmillar in 1977. Got clouted for it.

Bursting out of Miss Proctor's RE class at Porty with fellow teenage mod revivalists 5 minutes before the bell at lunchtime every week. Classroom was on the 8th floor of the skyscraper, and if you didn't get the first lift there was no way you'd get down to Porty and get yer chip roll at the BBQ!

Massive communal parties in the Lady Nairne backgreens for the 1981 royal wedding

Going up the town when young - Trumps(?) toy shop on Leith Walk, John Menzies downstairs for model planes etc, GI records, The Other Record shop, Cowan's tailoring, Army/Navy place on Cockburn Street, Mad Hatters, Palmers, meeting lassies at the museum on a Sunday

Making small fortunes at Hogmany multi-day house parties as the barman (opening tins of McEwan's Export and Tennant's Lager)

Getting a birthday shout on Radio Forth - 'Geno' by Dexy's:)

Baked tatties & cheese, B&W Tarzan films, then the BB's at Duddingston on a Friday night. Tiswas on a Saturday morning, Dickie Davis, wrestling.

Garden runs, apple chorying, reckless use of air weapons, catapults, knives, throwing flammable/explosive things on bonfires. Parachuting action men out the top floor of the stair, burning meticulously constructed and painted model aircraft. Dreeping off the sheds in the backgreens.

Doing whole 42/46 circle for 10p fare/chewing wee grey tickets/the horrific on-bus posters showing drivers getting slashed etc

Craving a Giovanni's fish supper with broon sauce when on holiday in Spain, fulfilling the dream on return!

Games - street v street games of football on the Parson's Green school pitch, Foxes & Hounds, Hunt the ****:eek:

Great thread!

heartgarfunkel
It may just be me, but did every park not have a free stash of scud mags somewhere in the bushes?

Apologies for lowering the tone, but as a lad there always seemed to be a treasure trove of pornographic literature partially hidden in the undergrowth....

lol, you're spot on! There must have been a porno mag tramp-fairy that went about leaving a stash in Edinburgh's parks!

I remember braids 2 golf course being quite handy for them always lost a few balls but came back with a new/old porno..seemed like fair exchange at the time...:P

boy_in_maroon

getting into Tynie for 1/-

school holidays

mb bars

mint craknel

saturday matinee at the George in bath street (during the close season)

grants and patrick thompsons at christmas time

getting chucked out the museum chambers street

the black-outs (wooooooohhhhhhh)

white skinners tartan shirts dm's

holidays at home

skipping your bus fare

porty open air pool & the baths

snow that lasted for weeks

the sunday papers (fun section oor wullie & the broons, nero & zero)

sing something simple

the smell of bisto gravy on a sunday afternoon

tv ending at 10.30.

auldbauldfan

Living in a prefab in Bingham.

Climbing trees and fishing in the burn on Duddingston golf course - getting chased off same.

Nicking apples from the gardens of the posh hooses in Mountcastle, eating them and getting a sair belly!

Playing on various building sites and giving cheek to some poor auld watchman.

Bonfires in the street - baking tatties in the fire - burnt to a cinder on the outside and absolutely raw inside - going home reeking of smoke.

Going to the baths at Portobello or the open air pool with the wave-making machine - had to be a heatwave to enjoy that though!

Scouring the beach for empty lemonade bottles and putting the money raised into the slot machines in the amusement arcade.

Portobello during Glasgow Fair - absolutely mobbed with good-natured Weedgies out to enjoy themselves.

Going to the pictures two or three times a week.

Clubbing together to buy five Woodbine and feeling dizzy and sick after smoking them.

Tynecastle on Saturdays - watching Hearts hammer some team 5,6 or 7 - 0 - afterwards going to my mate's auntie in Wardlaw street for our tea - life doesn't get a lot better (1957/58).

Ach, wish I had a time machine!

Hartleys* sweet shop in Davidsons Mains

Whoa ! Right enough.

And the cafe / shop opposite the church at the west end of Main st ... run by the "whisky sisters" (for obvious reasons).

Used to go in there and buy a single Park Drive.

* Was it Hartley's or Harley's ? I think the latter.

slashishere
As i seem to remember you kept snapping the damn things..thats if you hadnt set it on fire....oh and have you tried explaining the humpings you got at subbuetto to the 'younger' people at work...hmmmm

Funnily enough no, but I can at least spell Subbuteo!! HA!!

Hibs.net. FTH

Managing to walk from Muirhouse Park to Ferry Road without getting my head kicked in.:mad:

They obviously got you a few times since though eh ;)

coppercrutch

Going to ask for a 'black man' at the ice cream van without somoene thinking you should be wearing a white pointy hat.....:)