Childhood memories that make you happy?

So what's your's?

I have a few that I'd like to share.

Porty High School's Gym - Got picked to play for Scotland Basketball as a consequence of a guy coming to watch one of our players, and left asking about me.

Tennents lager with the ladies on the tin - My old man always had a party at new year at the hoose, and all my uncle's that I'd never seen for ages would come down with their tinnie's then give me their change in their pocket.

Shrimp Sweetie's from the Ice Cream van - Barry.

Crazy Corner at Tynie - Need I say more.

Cowdenbeath Racewall - Need I say more, was into Stock car racing as a kid.

Chelsea Whopper's - How good where those Sweetie's.

82 World cup - This is when I embraced football as an 8 year old, been following hearts ever since.

Adam and the Ants - My first band that I loved. Still have the polaroid that my old man took of me out on my Grifter (another memory of happiness ;)) with a white band painted over my nose.

I could go on and on and on, so I will pass over to you. Whats the fond memories of your youth. There's many a Hearts one that I've been rather bad and fought with opposition fans, but thats probably not allowed.

• Replies 136

Crazy Corner at Tynie - Need I say more.

Being young and ignorant, what was that?

Tell me more Uncle Chester ;)

Being allowed to stay up until midnight at new year with my mum and dad, and being allowed to drink Advocat and lemonade at the age of 9 :P ( I still like it lol)

Argentina 78 with Ally's army, and being allowed to stay up late to watch the Scotland games with my dad (the auld git wouldn't let me stay up to watch any other games though)

Disappearing for 8 hours almost every day before the age of 14 with nothing more than a football to keep me entertained, no need for computers or mobile phones in those days :rolleyes:

Playing British bulldogs (loved that game) with my mates and going home with my cheap t shirts and jeans all stained in grass, and if it was a really rough game, ripped!

Getting the service bus up to Edinburgh from Galashiels (the No 95) every second Saturday with my mates, and then walking all the way from St Andrews square to Tynecastle to watch the famous, and then walk back again after the game, superb!

Discovering porn (but I won't go into that :P)

Playing knock door run, you always got a biter who would chase you half way around the world if they could, and you just kept on going back for more lol!

Many more to tell also but my fingers are sore now :confused:

Great thread Andy :)

I cant wait until Cobblers comes on and tells us his stories of using chalk on slate in school classrooms :D

Wham bars and Highland Toffee for 10p,.. and the size of a ruler! Not your 3cm2 carp you get these days..

2ltr of Our Price Cherryaid for 15p.. I can still feel my teeth rot!

MY Chopper. It was red.

My Raleigh BMX and being able to make splendid 10ft leaps over friends using a piece of wood and some bricks as a ramp..

Trying to slide stealthily down the stairs on a saturday morning so as not to wake my parents in order to watch Inch High Private Eye and then number 73 etc...

Asking for a Black Man fae the van..

Texan bars..

Summer holidays seeming to last about 5 months..

last day of term.. board games etc and not being bollocked for anything..

match of the Day tune.. (glad its been brought back, but doesn't have quite the same effect now..)

SAturday afternoon wrestling...

Big daddy, Giant Haystacks, kendo nagasaki etc..

ladies on beer cans.. (as above..)

My mum baking cakes, scones, cheese straws etc..

Getting a quilt..

Vicks vaporub..

{Big Sigh.....}

Good job I'm not drinking tonight..

Visiting my gran and taking the dog for ridiculously long walks over Cowdenbeath moss

TV : Black and White, The Avengers, Doctor Who, The Sweeney

The summer of 1976 - hot, dried up reservoirs, cold swims, long cycles, football and getting stranded on Cramond Island.

Evel Knievel not jumping the Grand Canyon

Marathon bars - not yer Snickers cr@p

Heart break - World cups of 74, 78 and 82, The start of the relegation years :mad:. Rosy McD:rolleyes:

Childhood memories from my wee brother. (Scott)

a) Laudrup scoring to make it 9 in a row.

B) Getting his scrambler.

Sorry had to cut out the other Rangers stuff.

Denny Crane

The Beano costing 3p.

Packets of football cards with a stick of bubblegum inside

Fishing for minnows at Inverleith Park

The old toy shop that used to be on Raeburn Place (near Woolworths if that's still there) - a minefield of proper toys which really stimulated the imagination.

Franco's chip shop

Top-deck shandy

Whizzer & Chips comic

Football league ladders from Shoot

82 World Cup

Robin Hood jigsaws

Tintin & Asterix books

Star Wars/Empire Strikes Back/Return of the Jedi (Princess Leia in THAT bikini!!!)

Platini winning Euro 84 single-handedly

Allan Wells winning Olympic gold

Borg v McEnroe

Coe v Ovett

Viv Richards ripping England apart at Old Trafford (84)

Dennis Taylor and THAT black

Starsky & Hutch

Secret Squirrel & Monkey Magic

Seeing both Debbie Harry and Agnetha from ABBA on Top of the Pops and wondering why a five year old me couldn't take my eyes of them - found out in due course of time.

Andy Irvine's mega-kick to snatch 9-9 draw v England at the death.

Scotland's 1984 five nations grandslam

Champ comic

Roy of the Rovers

Dangermouse

Asking American soldiers in Princes Street "any gum chum"

Aye not a pleasant or unpleasant memory but starting out at school with a slate and a slate pencil.

First pair of long pants when 13.

Using Vaseline Hair Tonic to keep an unruly heid of hair in control.

Playing goalie at Preston Street School in the gree

n polo neck jersey, and the rest of the team in their brand new, first since before the war navy blue jerseys.

The fitba' pants my mother made out of the black now redundant black out curtains.

Fun and games in the air raid shelters.

Bonfire nights, with tenement windows cracking from the heat.

Summer fitba' days at the West Meadows.

Sledging on the Echo Rock in the winter.

Being brave enough to sledge down the basin in the park. l

Just the whole experience of being a wee boy growing into a young man in Edinburgh. Much as I never really liked living in Edinburgh it was a great place to do so in a working class environment.

Living long enough to be able to truly all those valuable memories.

Wham bars and Highland Toffee for 10p,.. and the size of a ruler! Not your 3cm2 carp you get these days..

2ltr of Our Price Cherryaid for 15p.. I can still feel my teeth rot!

MY Chopper. It was red.

My Raleigh BMX and being able to make splendid 10ft leaps over friends using a piece of wood and some bricks as a ramp..

Trying to slide stealthily down the stairs on a saturday morning so as not to wake my parents in order to watch Inch High Private Eye and then number 73 etc...

Asking for a Black Man fae the van..

Texan bars..

Summer holidays seeming to last about 5 months..

last day of term.. board games etc and not being bollocked for anything..

match of the Day tune.. (glad its been brought back, but doesn't have quite the same effect now..)

SAturday afternoon wrestling...

Big daddy, Giant Haystacks, kendo nagasaki etc..

ladies on beer cans.. (as above..)

My mum baking cakes, scones, cheese straws etc..

Getting a quilt..

Vicks vaporub..

{Big Sigh.....}

Good job I'm not drinking tonight..

Getting a quilt and vicks vapo rub are just brilliant mate, god I feel old now! :confused:

Griclesfield

Cremola Foam - why o why did they stop making it

Met Liono from Thundercats in the Jolly Giant ... i found it wierd that i had the same sword as him .....i didn't beleive in them after that.

The Victor and the Warlord comics

The Chippie van coming round at night

The fish monger coming round in the morning

The mobile baker coming round on a Saturday lunch time in Gala and everyone desperately waiting for a real Todds pie!

Football training between 9.30 and 11.30 every Saturday morning, and the rushing home for the mobile baker, no wonder Scots don't make it as footballers lol!

Realising that it wasn't for pishing over high walls, my finest discovery! :cheese:

jumping oot my back door into six feet of snow:):):)

KB in 2006 after we'd won the cup. (Well I was 31, and I acted like a kid);)

Bobby_swing_the_bar

British Bulldogs and the Grand National (hedge jumping) were great fun. Used to go out for hours, no one worried where you were, would be on my bike or playing kerbie/football/chap door run.

Feel sorry for kids now, they cant do things like that, parents wont let them as too many dodgy folk about.

British Bulldogs and the Grand National (hedge jumping) were great fun. Used to go out for hours, no one worried where you were, would be on my bike or playing kerbie/football/chap door run.

Feel sorry for kids now, they cant do things like that, parents wont let them as too many dodgy folk about.

Some great old school games there mate, used to love them too.

Bobby_swing_the_bar

Do you remember Itchy Bombs? its what we used to call Rose hips (or whatever they are). Used to spend all summer chucking them at cars/buses until we got caught.

Before my time dude. ;)

Bobby_swing_the_bar

Before your time? Cheeky bassa!! I shall remember that for Westies mr Copperpot, i'll queue jump you for that!

Ok then. Hahahahaha.

Old barsteward.

KB in 2006 after we'd won the cup. (Well I was 31, and I acted like a kid);)

Sh*te, I'd always thought of you as an experienced campaigner, and you're the same *****ing age as me!

Bugger...

Sh*te, I'd always thought of you as an experienced campaigner, and you're the same *****ing age as me!

Bugger...

I'm both.

Bobby_swing_the_bar

I was 17 in 1998! And my copperpot, i know exactly who you are, so dont you pretend to be younger than me!

hehehe, I'm a very young 34.

The memory of 2006, was only heightened by the fact I came onto KB after and had the time of my life.

Bobby_swing_the_bar

My memory of 2006 is that i had a job interview on the Tuesday and was still incredibly hungover. Funnily enough i never got the job.

***** them, they're obviously not worthy of your abilities!

Bobby_swing_the_bar

Thats what i thought too. The folk that interviewed me were Celtic fans, **** em!

Here's some things that remind me of times being a kid

penny & 1/2p sweeties.

Sweetie cigerettes (didn't make me smoke though, don't smoke now).

Playing footie all day/night all weather.

Water baloon fights. (or just throwing them at cars, buses or people)

having races round the building where i lived.

Going to my 1st footie game then going to 1st game at Tynie. (old man took my to Ibrox for my 1st game)

Going to my Grans in N.Ireland on the ferry, travelling by train from Edinburgh to Stranrear no HSS or planes then.

Kissing the 1st girl i liked at primary school.

Hogmany at my folks could stay as late as we could :-)

playing footie manager on an amstrad (or some computer that used tapes to load it up)

Programmes like The A Team, Night rider & wrestling on STV on saturday afternoon, Think St & Grieves was on before it (might be wrong there)

Watching prisoner cell block H (probalby early teens there)

Am sure i'll remember more but can't think of any the now.

P.S. Kirby was/is a great game

Bobby_swing_the_bar

Anyone mind the wee A5 football books? They were like comic stories and had a famous player on the back cover? I mind buying one when i was 8 and it had John Collins (hibernian) as the famous player. Load of dung!

My first ever shot on a tomahawk..

My sliver grifter

buying my first ever single..'hit me with your rhythm stick' buy Ian Dury and the Blockheads(for the younger viewers)

saving my pocket money to by first album..kings of the wild frontier (the almighty Adam and the Ants)

smelling the hops form the brewery at fountainbridge on a cold winters morning while doing my paper round

the crappy Grey tickets you used to get on LRT buses witht eh half circle cut out of the top and bottom

nicking apples fro gardens round marchmont and merchi

running away from irate house holders in marchmont and merchi.....

The Vulture

Brilliant thread, loads already mentioned, few others include:

Panini stickers being 10p a packet (Scottish teams players were divided into 2 on the 1 sticker)

The miners strike

Falklands War

Schumacher killing Patrick Battiston

Tardelli's celebration in the 82 World Cup Final

England scoring after 27 secs against France

Keegans miss vs Spain

David Narey giving Scotland the lead against Brazil

Spain 0 Northern Ireland 1

Uruguay going down to 10 men in under a minute vs Scotland after the guy halved Gordon Strachan

Steve Nicol missing an easy chance vs Uruguay

Charlie Nicolas being halved by some Danish boy in the Mexico World Cup and being taken off

The Vulcher scoring 4 goals for Spain vs Denmark in Mexico World Cup

Gobstoppers

Water Melons

1/2p chews

Grobbelars wobbly legs in the penalty shoot out vs Roma

Daley Thomson winning the gold medal at the LA Olympics

Zola Budd taking out Mary Decker in the LA Olympics

Diego Maradona putting England out

Scotland beating England at Wembley, winning goal coming from a John Robertson penalty

Recreating aforementioned penalty in garden again and again that afternoon.

Milk sweets

Cola cubes

Eastern bloc boycotting the LA Olympics

Coe/Ovett/Cram rivalry

Carl Spackler

The old toy shop that used to be on Raeburn Place (near Woolworths if that's still there) - a minefield of proper toys which really stimulated the imagination.

That place was brilliant. I always remember the cabinet with the matchbox cars in it.

Everybody loves Baz
Brilliant thread, loads already mentioned, few others include:

Panini stickers being 10p a packet (Scottish teams players were divided into 2 on the 1 sticker)

The miners strike

Falklands War

Schumacher killing Patrick Battiston

Tardelli's celebration in the 82 World Cup Final

England scoring after 27 secs against France

Keegans miss vs Spain

David Narey giving Scotland the lead against Brazil

Spain 0 Northern Ireland 1

Uruguay going down to 10 men in under a minute vs Scotland after the guy halved Gordon Strachan

Steve Nicol missing an easy chance vs Uruguay

Charlie Nicolas being halved by some Danish boy in the Mexico World Cup and being taken off

The Vulcher scoring 4 goals for Spain vs Denmark in Mexico World Cup

Gobstoppers

Water Melons

1/2p chews

Grobbelars wobbly legs in the penalty shoot out vs Roma

Daley Thomson winning the gold medal at the LA Olympics

Zola Budd taking out Mary Decker in the LA Olympics

Diego Maradona putting England out

Scotland beating England at Wembley, winning goal coming from a John Robertson penalty

Recreating aforementioned penalty in garden again and again that afternoon.

Milk sweets

Cola cubes

Eastern bloc boycotting the LA Olympics

Coe/Ovett/Cram rivalry

Obviously not the child of a miner then ?? :(

If this was a happy childhood memory i wouldn't like to hear about your bad ones.

And your name is Happy go lucky Jambo?

Same memories as a few on here the others are as i remember:

Ice cream van coming round (Dannys as i grew up at whitson) shouting to your mum can i get some money used to chuck fifty pence then the big order came after it lol.

Playing out in the strret without getting the YAT (Youth Action Team) telling you to go home.

Pitch and toss.

Grand national along the gardens on Whitson Road excellent hedges.

going away for hours and your parents not worrying where you have got to (as long you were home for 9pm)

CAtching bullheads in the Water of leith.

in the hot summers going down the water falls @ fords road after being along to mcconachys (sp)for inner tubes.

loads more.

Denny Crane
That place was brilliant. I always remember the cabinet with the matchbox cars in it.

Once tried explaining that place to younger relatives after a fruitless excursion to Toys r' us (ie. you know what you can bloody do with that ?200 space-gun). The blank expressions had me worrying for the future........ (wee philistines)

Getting 2 bob(10p) a week pocket money and it would buy you 5 Mars bars if you wanted to make yourself sick.

Pour oots at weddings. Benefit of living in Royston Mains Place in the 60s and start of the 70s was having two churches at the Boswall Parkway end and in the summer having at least two weddings a day and being able to make a fair bit of silver.

Playing **** and Commandos in the backgreen.

Playing long bangers in the sheds of the playground of Royston Primary. Sadly now long gone.

John

The Vulture
Obviously not the child of a miner then ?? :(

If this was a happy childhood memory i wouldn't like to hear about your bad ones.

And your name is Happy go lucky Jambo?

Sorry mate, more childhood memories. No miners in my family but watched it with interest on the news without fully knowing what was going on. No offence meant. Definite typo, just typed in memories more than happy ones.

Great post.

Outdoor pool at portobello

Playing tig up Arthur Seat

Looking for golf balls at Duddingston and Prestonfield

Getting shouted at to come in at 9.30 at night in the summer

Fishing for sticklebacks with a net and a cane pole

Going on holiday to a caravan park in Whitley Bay or Scarborough

Ox blood polish for your Docs

Desert boots

Jumpers with three stars (what was up with that)

donkey jackets

Hearts

Bag of chips and two pickles after Hearts game

Pretending to sleep on the bus when the clippie came along

Jumping off the bus when the inspector got on

first pub pint (16)

the list is endless

Awesome post.

The Victor

Suzi Quatro

Discovering alcohol

Miss Frew

Getting pumped for the 1st time by a Daphne Broon lookalike

Winning the sweep

Sooty and Sweep, sorry rambling now!

And Slade, how could I forget Slade?

in the hot summers going down the water falls @ fords road after being along to mcconachys (sp)for inner tubes.

I did that too, it was brilliant if you could get a big Tractor inner tube at Hendersons at Chesser.

We once floated all the way from Chesser to Dean Village it was a big adventure because we'd never been there before

coppercrutch

Swapping football stickers, real football stickers. Got, got, no got.

Why was the Falkirk badge in almost every packet, or was it just me....

:sad:

What was his name?

You must have had a lot to drink that night.

:sad:

What was his name?

You must have had a lot to drink that night.

I think it was a Mr C.Nostra, he was a good payer, all the rent boys said so!

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

I do beleive that you may have expected that.

The Victor

Suzi Quatro

Discovering alcohol

Miss Frew

Winning the sweep

Sooty and Sweep, sorry rambling now!

And Slade, how could I forget Slade?

That's no way to talk about your wife.... :P

a hot summers day and going down to swim in the esk. trying to dodge the shopping trolleys half inched from willie lows while you were in the water.

getting to stay up late on special occasions, and to whoever mentioned the aadvocat & lemonade... oh yes, i totally agree!!!!

being bored with the wrestling and pools on a saturday afternoon cos i was waiting for doctor who

getting the bus up to newtongrange pool ALONE :eek:

saturday afternoons shopping in what every woman wants (i was 13/14 mind) with my best mate then getting dressed up to go to the under 18s disco at outer limits. having the doormen search bags for drink, and knowing they wouldn't frisk us, hiding a quarter bottle in our clothes.

the last dance at the disco, and furtive snogging with the hottest boy there (you thought)

the last few days in school before the holidays where you did nothing but bring in board games etc.

skipping ropes

making up stupid names for the teachers

anyone who went to dalkeith high remember chicken murdoch?

listening to the chart show on a tuesday night and taping your fave songs off the radio (oh how times change)

top of the pops

the young ones

blackadder

bottom

monty python repeats

our song stories on radio one

radio forth being good (we thought)

going on nightschool one monday night with my best mate from school and choosing the records to play

The Beano costing 3p.

Packets of football cards with a stick of bubblegum inside

Fishing for minnows at Inverleith Park

The old toy shop that used to be on Raeburn Place (near Woolworths if that's still there) - a minefield of proper toys which really stimulated the imagination.Franco's chip shop

Top-deck shandy

Whizzer & Chips comic

Football league ladders from Shoot

82 World Cup

Robin Hood jigsaws

Tintin & Asterix books

Star Wars/Empire Strikes Back/Return of the Jedi (Princess Leia in THAT bikini!!!)

Platini winning Euro 84 single-handedly

Allan Wells winning Olympic gold

Borg v McEnroe

Coe v Ovett

Viv Richards ripping England apart at Old Trafford (84)

Dennis Taylor and THAT black

Starsky & Hutch

Secret Squirrel & Monkey Magic

Seeing both Debbie Harry and Agnetha from ABBA on Top of the Pops and wondering why a five year old me couldn't take my eyes of them - found out in due course of time.

Andy Irvine's mega-kick to snatch 9-9 draw v England at the death.

Scotland's 1984 five nations grandslam

Champ comic

Roy of the Rovers

Dangermouse

The Toy Tub ?

If so, it was run by parents of someone at school with me.