Posted

Was going to Brugge but had to cancel but will be in Copenhagen, WTF is going on?  was in Istanbul and

Florence a couple of years back with zero issues at all.

• Replies 711

• Taffin

• JudyJudyJudy

• tcjambo

• Wee Mikey

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
6 minutes ago, Eric Milligans Duffle Coat said:

For years clubs tried to encourage families to come along but you wouldn’t take kids anywhere near Hampden, or a derby, or a European away, or a game involving Celtic.

I agree that behaviour and respect shown to fellow HMFC fans is getting worse.

However, I disagree about no taking kids to Hampden, derbies, Celtic games, or Euro aways.

My kids have been to all recently and been perfectly safe and had good days out.

Posted

Wine strength beer has a lot to answer for.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Chuck Berry said:

Was going to Brugge but had to cancel but will be in Copenhagen, WTF is going on?  was in Istanbul and

Florence a couple of years back with zero issues at all.

I reckon Copenhagen beer prices will help a bit

Posted
3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I think that will have been a factor. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

2 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

Probably correct on both counts.   I know from bitter experience that some Belgian beers need to be respected, not guzzled.

Posted
2 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

£2.20 a pint (one of the Irish boozers offering that for the week)

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
Just now, Gambo said:

£2.20 a pint (one of the Irish boozers offering that for the week)

Will double-check my will before boarding the Denmark flight.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Did say their beers are dangerous 

Back of the Bus
Posted
18 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Coupled with being a flawed human 

Posted

Alcohol = Violence shouldn't really be a surprise to anyone. Doesn't matter who/what/where it's always a possibility. Hopefully all just storm in a tea cup situation but hopefully everyone over there stays safe 

Posted

That stadium is an utter dump as well. Death trap with those stairs. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Scott Leitch said:

That stadium is an utter dump as well. Death trap with those stairs. 

No idea how it meets UEFA regulations. There wasn't even space for people to walk past others to get to their seats.

Back of the Bus
Posted
3 minutes ago, jambo1975 said:

Alcohol = Violence shouldn't really be a surprise to anyone. Doesn't matter who/what/where it's always a possibility. Hopefully all just storm in a tea cup situation but hopefully everyone over there stays safe 

Nonsense. 

Were we all sober when we beat Hibs, Gretna, Rangers in the cup with zero trouble and more alcohol the human body can process? 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Back of the Bus said:

Nonsense. 

Were we all sober when we beat Hibs, Gretna, Rangers in the cup with zero trouble and more alcohol the human body can process? 

So if tonight all 4000+ fans had been unable to access alcohol for the preceeding 48 hrs would you think we would have been hearing stories of fights/trouble etc? I like a drink as much as the next man btw, my point is that when you have a large group of people drinking heavily for an extended period of time the risk of something or someone being out of control is higher.

best in the land
Posted
2 hours ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said:

It's not just Hearts fans, it's not even just football fans, it's people in general on a downward trajectory!

Got to agree with this. 

Posted

Sounds like some of the “permanently banned from Tynecastle” set could get tickets somehow.

Posted

We have some of the scummiest fans in football.

Some won’t like that but it’s a fact.

Posted

Been on plenty Euro trips but the utter shithousery I’ve seen and heard here has been embarrassing.  

Bigot Brigade out in force for a start off.

Posted

Not all that convinced by the argument that any particular beer has anything to answer for like.   Tending to lean towards the belief that the consumers of the beers are more accountable.

Willing to be convinced of course.

Posted
2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

We have some of the scummiest fans in football.

Some won’t like that but it’s a fact.

Celtic would like a word... 

Posted
Just now, tian447 said:

Celtic would like a word... 

Deflect, deflect…

Posted
3 hours ago, Gavman81 said:

Pretty sure he came on for the last few minutes 

🤣😂🤣take a bow..

Posted

Agree entirely it's getting worse year on year. I'm starting to question whether I want to keep travelling abroad for games tbh. 

A really unpleasant under-current is growing in size. The only 'positive' is we seem to keep most of our fighting in-house... But as other have said, I've seen and heard about more than ever on this trip. 

The new West End
Posted
19 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Not all that convinced by the argument that any particular beer has anything to answer for like.   Tending to lean towards the belief that the consumers of the beers are more accountable.

Willing to be convinced of course.

The beer in Pilzen was equally strong .. didn't see or hear any bother there

Posted

The **** the IRA chants are just ****ing cringe. 

InternationalJambo
Posted
2 hours ago, sprinbox98 said:

exact the same as me mate. Have my 11 year old with me. We both enjoy a sing song and the pre match banter but yesterday afternoon / evening and the game was a disgrace. 

He was genuinely shocked at some of the songs - Tony Mowbrays wife dying of cancer, The sash, hibs fans dying on jet skis - and the usual stuff about the IRA. I mean really?? No need for it at all. Nowt to do with Hearts.

Never heard any of what you have just said. Where were you?

InternationalJambo
Posted
1 minute ago, JamboCampbell said:

Ira stuff seriously needs to gtf

What IRA stuff and where?

Sorry. But where we were in the square before the game and during the game I heard none of this? 

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

Never heard any of what you have just said. Where were you?

Where were you more like.

No doubt you also missed the Bobby Sands chants which were vile ...

5 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

Sorry. But where we were in the square before the game and during the game I heard none of this? 

Fortunate for you. Believe me, some of the chanting was utter cringe ...

Edited by Wee Mikey
InternationalJambo
Posted
1 minute ago, Wee Mikey said:

Main square, you?

InternationalJambo
Posted
3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Just to be clear. I and a group were in the centre of Bruges for circa 6 hours having food & drink and I never heard any of what is being claimed. The odd ***** , yes but not to the extent it’s being made out to be😂

Posted
1 minute ago, InternationalJambo said:

Main square, you?

All over, mate ...

And dinnae tell me that you failed to hear "Fu*k the IRA" as the last line of the "Cercle Away" chant along with heaps o' numpties giving it the finger.

There's no place for that at any football match, let alone a Hearts one.

InternationalJambo
Posted
Just now, Wee Mikey said:

All over, mate ...

And dinnae tell me that you failed to hear "Fu*k the IRA" as the last line of the "Cercle Away" chant along with heaps o' numpties giving it the finger.

There's no place for that at any football match, let alone a Hearts one.

Every chant I heard was Cercle Bruges away ole ole. If ur getting offended by a minority of folk singing f the IRA after it then that’s a you problem. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

Every chant I heard was Cercle Bruges away ole ole. If ur getting offended by a minority of folk singing f the IRA after it then that’s a you problem. 

Nah, you're simply trying to deny that it happened, were well aware of it, and thus condone suchlike.

InternationalJambo
Posted
Just now, Wee Mikey said:

Nah, you're simply trying to deny that it happened, were well aware of it, and thus condone suchlike.

No im not, I never once tried to deny a small minority of hearts fans chanted f the IRA. I said if it offended you it’s ur problem, no one else’s. 

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
Posted
2 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Certainly not condoning any behaviour, but we were told the Aston Villa fans are absolute, scum of the earth.

Their behaviour here 2 weeks ago caused hotels to put €250 deposit on some Hearts' fans when they checked in. Thus was without warning.

Apart vomit everywhere, in lifts, etc, I was told they had a knife fight in a hotel (amongst themselves), and football fans are no longer welcome.

reminds me of the Bologna trip in the 90s - Aston Villa were in Milan the previous night and we were treated like English football hooligans - not that our behaviour was perfect  tbf

Posted
1 hour ago, Back of the Bus said:

Nonsense. 

Winning makes a difference. Our current form + alcohol, not a good mix it would seem.

Posted (edited)

End of the game on the live TV coverage you could see a scrap going on towards the front of the upper tier

This isn’t that new. When you get a big away support (anything more than 2000) you often see this behaviour on the trains, in the boozers and at the game.

Sounds like it’s gone up a level or 2 tonight right enough. Puts decent people off going so they’ll be even more prominent if something doesn’t change (dunno what the answer is apart from just avoiding going to games like this)

Edited by JimmyCant
Posted
4 hours ago, tcjambo said:

And if anybody knows a ginger bearded fugly fat bloke who is in his 30s but looks 30 years older you may know him.

Accent ?

Posted
1 hour ago, InternationalJambo said:

No im not, I never once tried to deny a small minority of hearts fans chanted f the IRA. I said if it offended you it’s ur problem, no one else’s. 

Definitely wasn't a small minority where I was and was one of the most prominent chants throughout the match.

Posted
24 minutes ago, Stanley_ said:

Definitely wasn't a small minority where I was and was one of the most prominent chants throughout the match.

That's because it wasn't a small minority.  It was a significant proportion of our support, so much so that it drowned out those trying to sing the non-IRA lyric.

Used to think it was a small minority of our fans that were knuckle dragging sectarian ****holes but that's not what I witnessed this week unfortunately.  From singing offensive songs constantly to trashing pubs (Delayneys shut tonight due to the carnage the night before), they've not painted the club in a very positive light this week.

But clearly the decent Hearts supporters who are offended by stupidity and ignorance are the problem....

Posted

The only ones defending here are actually the arseholes who are doing it.  Utter scum and a disgrace to our club. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Aaron78 said:

That's because it wasn't a small minority.  It was a significant proportion of our support, so much so that it drowned out those trying to sing the non-IRA lyric.

Used to think it was a small minority of our fans that were knuckle dragging sectarian ****holes but that's not what I witnessed this week unfortunately.  From singing offensive songs constantly to trashing pubs (Delayneys shut tonight due to the carnage the night before), they've not painted the club in a very positive light this week.

But clearly the decent Hearts supporters who are offended by stupidity and ignorance are the problem....

So was Delayneys AND Monk closed last night? We were in both on Wednesday but avoided them after the game as we thought they would both be rammed already.

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, InternationalJambo said:

I heard lots. I even heard (what I assume we're Hearts fans) shouting "yea, 4-0 Rangers".

There are loads of Huns without bus fares in our support.

Edit, there was also the extremely shite song about cerlce Bruges away,and f the IRA. They're embarrassing.

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo
Posted
5 hours ago, InternationalJambo said:

It was quite a substantial minority.

Posted

One of our fans ended up in hospital with a broken nose last night 

Posted

Disappointed in the Ultras playing up to the audience with that IRA guff. 

We managed to avoid any issues and had a good time apart from the football. It's quite easy to avoid the morons. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

Disappointed in the Ultras playing up to the audience with that IRA guff. 

We managed to avoid any issues and had a good time apart from the football. It's quite easy to avoid the morons. 

Wasn't just the ultras with that rubbish btw

Posted
5 hours ago, JamboCampbell said:

Ira stuff seriously needs to gtf

100%