• Taffin

• JudyJudyJudy

• tcjambo

• Wee Mikey

Posted
44 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

I think it's his fat mate as he started shouting "grass"  after passing me with his friends later in the street. He did wait until he was  50 yards away  before turning round and threatening me😅.

Looks like the fat pal is now on this thread too.

Couple of clowns.

Posted
42 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

You’d have nothing to grass me for! 

But know one likes a wee grass. 

*no

Posted
56 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

You’d have nothing to grass me for! 

But know one likes a wee grass. 

You're having a nightmare on this thread. 😁

periodictabledancer
Posted
45 minutes ago, Forza Cuore said:

Are you the fat pal?

Posted

Paris in 1984 followed by Bruges exactly 40 years later.  Should have been a great anniversary trip spent in the company of my adult daughter but having witnessed some of the drunken, reckless, obscene, violent, racist and sectarian behaviour last night pre, during and post match I can only say I am embarrassed to be associated with some of you people. Beggered belief!  To  Bruges city and people I can only apologise. These are not the hearts supporters I know. To those of you nursing a hangover (like we are) after enjoying the local pubs  I wish you all a speedy recovery. To those of you who have been identified as besmirching the name of Heart of Midlothian please do us a favour and crawl back under the rock you came from and don't call yourself a hearts supporter -  because you are not !

If carlsberg did rivals...
Posted
1 hour ago, colinmaroon said:

Thanks but have to say you fail your test if you don't use them. Not really optional.

I fear you may have missed my sarcasm around the use of indicators!

Posted
2 hours ago, Taffin said:

You've got a saltire as your display pic. It's not that hard to accept that others do recognise the UK and see themselves and Hearts as a British club as well as Scottish. To deny others their ability to show their beliefs in the way you do is just the other face of it imo. You simply don't like it because of politics.

"There's no British football league team" yadadada. I'm 99% certain you'd have no issue if someone had an EU Hearts flag. Loads of clubs have their national flag and the UF in amongst their supports, particularly at European games and it doesn't cause nearly the same issues.

tire

Is it depressing that in Scotland there's a big correlation between people waving flags and being bigots? Absolutely agree.

Hearts have a Saltire in the club crest FFS. Is that not good enough for you?

We're a Scottish club in a Scottish league - that's got effall to do with constitutuional or party politics.

Most of the fan problems in Scotland are down to those who wave two flags in particular - both irrelevant to the Scottish game - and in aint the Saltire.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Hearts have a Saltire in the club crest FFS. Is that not good enough for you?

We're a Scottish club in a Scottish league - that's got effall to do with constitutuional or party politics.

Most of the fan problems in Scotland are down to those who wave two flags in particular - both irrelevant to the Scottish game - and in aint the Saltire.

There's a saltire in the union flag, is that not good enough for you?

We're also a British club as well as a Scottish club. Same as mine a British person and a Scottish person.

Intolerance of people's views goes both ways unfortunately.

For clarity I wouldn't wave any national flag at football or even really associate myself with one as I'm not a nationalist of any sort. I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy of one nationalist moaning about another type, one they deem to be the wrong type.

Edited by Taffin
MoncurMacdonaldMercer
Posted
7 hours ago, Scott Leitch said:

Minority 😂 

Large Majority more like. If you want to pretend otherwise that's up to you. 

large majority ?

that seems like at least a couple of thousand of hearts fans rather than a gang of young boys and a few guys still stuck in the 80s

Posted
4 minutes ago, Taffin said:

We're also a British club as well as a Scottish club. Same as mine a British person and a Scottish person.

For clarity I wouldn't wave any national flag at football or even really associate myself with one as I'm not a nationalist of any sort.

We're a European club as well as a planet Earth club. 

For clarity I wouldn't wave a Milky Way flag at a solar system game of football. 

Posted
Just now, Sarah O said:

We're a European club as well as a planet Earth club. 

For clarity I wouldn't wave a Milky Way flag at a solar system game of football. 

Also glad to hear that 👍 the Milky Way are gammon bigots

Posted
4 hours ago, Shanks said:

Until it’s your own face in a case of mistaken identity.  Lets not go down the trial by social media route. 

If some has a picture of the guy and knows it was him, get it shared. No mistaken identity there. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

If some has a picture of the guy and knows it was him, get it shared. No mistaken identity there. 

Eh no, that would be potentially libellous and against the board rules. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Taffin said:

For clarity I wouldn't wave any national flag at football or even really associate myself with one as I'm not a nationalist of any sort. I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy of one nationalist moaning about another type, one they deem to be the wrong type.

Good posting . Clearly some have ulterior motives with their disapproval of the British flag.  But we are a British and Scottish club . Like it or not . Still do not feel it necessary to be waving any flags of countries at matches unless internationals though . 

TheGorgieMaroon
Posted
2 hours ago, Taffin said:

Plastic hun 😂😂

Enjoy being part of the problem 👍👍

That's how you come across.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I'd push back a bit on the British club as bar the Olympics there isn't really anything British in football i.e. no league, FA, international team etc.

And to be brutally honest, any fan bringing a Union Flag will invariably be one who sings the sectarian stuff rather than an upstanding patriotic citizen.

Posted
4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Good posting . Clearly some have ulterior motives with their disapproval of the British flag.  But we are a British and Scottish club . Like it or not . Still do not feel it necessary to be waving any flags of countries at matches unless internationals though . 

I'm sure some do view the Union Flag from that perspective.  However, the Saltire doesn't seem to get weaponised in support of specific religious or other 'cultural' views by some groups of Hearts supporters like the Union Flag does. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, TheGorgieMaroon said:

That's how you come across.

Based on?

Posted
Just now, davemclaren said:

I'm sure some do view the Union Flag from that perspective.  However, the Saltire doesn't seem to get weaponised in support of specific religious or other 'cultural' views by some groups of Hearts supporters like the Union Flag does. 

Don't you read the Shed, Dave?

Posted
Just now, Taffin said:

Don't you read the Shed, Dave?

Not a lot tbh. 😎

I meant during a Hearts match. 

TheGorgieMaroon
Posted
2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Based on?

Your posts.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Costanza said:

I'd push back a bit on the British club as bar the Olympics there isn't really anything British in football i.e. no league, FA, international team etc.

True, that doesn't make Britain and the United Kingdom cease to exist though. It's still a thing that Scotland is a part of (through choice it's worth remembering too, albeit not something I voted for 🤷🏻‍♂️)

5 minutes ago, Costanza said:

And to be brutally honest, any fan bringing a Union Flag will invariably be one who sings the sectarian stuff rather than an upstanding patriotic citizen.

Sounds like quite a bit of prejudice on your part. I've seen and been around a number of fans with Union Flags who've uttered none of the sort whilst at other games around the UK. Maybe it's specifically a Scottish football issue rather than a Union Flag issue?

Or is that too uncomfortable a reality? It couldn't be Scotland, could it?

Posted
22 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

large majority ?

that seems like at least a couple of thousand of hearts fans rather than a gang of young boys and a few guys still stuck in the 80s

It definitely wasn't a small group singing it. I'd say it was the majority.

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, TheGorgieMaroon said:

Your posts.

In what way though? Saying I'm against religion in football, voted for Scottish independence, don't believe in Nationalism? They don't seem to align with whatever you bigots like to call a 'hun'.

I may very well be wrong though as I'm not someone who goes in for all the faux Celtic and Rangers rubbish. If the above is 'hun' then my mistake and apologies. It's not a circle I move in.

Edited by Taffin
Posted
1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said:

Or you just mind your own business.

So many grasses these days. 

To quote Edmund Burke (The footer by Real Maroonblood reminded me of this) and it is so apt to yesterday's nonsense) 

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for men to do nothing"

Posted
6 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Not a lot tbh. 😎

I meant during a Hearts match. 

Is it weaponised like that though? I've never spoken to anyone with one (they don't have them in PR) or do people so embedded in the mess of Scottish bigotry just perceive it that was due to some of their prejudice?

Posted
15 minutes ago, Costanza said:

Invariably? Bit of a sweeping statement!

Posted
11 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I thought we weren't allowed flag debates on here? Appears the rules can be flexible 

Posted
1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

There were quite a few younger Jambos at this match (one of whom was bedecked with Hearts regalia, sporting a cracking Hearts badge face-painting, and looking splendid) so it's worse than tragic for these young 'uns to have to suffer such a poor experience - along with their parents.

Bad enough for us 3 auld fellas, but we've kinda seen all that before so it's more a case of head-shaking at the chronic behaviour of those who cannae seem to behave in public.

Aye, the cup throwers were out in force. Just what's needed, eh? Beer dregs going hither and thither. Words fail me.

As for going with yer 77 years old dad, you weren't alone. Back in the sanity of our hotel, a young man and his elderly dad - neither of them pished - had been refused entry to several pubs en-route back from the stadium, "We don't want you in here".

Little surprise given the kinds of behaviour described earlier. Word gets around pretty quickly.

In contrast, the restaurant on the corner of the main square had 3 x more mature fans at one table, an older fella on his own at another, a young couple at another, plus us 3. Perfectly civilised.

Ditto Cafe Vlissinghe earlier in the day which was a splendid old pub which saw us 3 plus another group of more mature fans, and later a couple, enjoy a superb selection of local beers at reasonable prices, decent food, and even a friendly pub dog!

Also, heaps o' Jambos on canal trips, going up the tower, buying gifts - especially chocolates, or simply wandering about taking in the sights.

All of those folks then treated shabbily when being football fans. Deary me.

I'm guessing Ann Budge enjoyed her trip on the bendy buses. 🙃

As for the advice not to walk for 'safety reasons'? You honestly couldn't find a safer walk anywhere in Europe if you tried!

It's a shame that the football ambiance didn't match up to the overall trip experience, although that's par for the course now it seems.

The bit in bold could have been our group, yesterday. We actually stuck to the small beers at the Winter World, at the Belfry. We then had a wander, and joined a mate's relatives at one of the bars around that same square. Moved onto pintd about an hour before we left for the game.

Today has been great. Still a few JTs about, saw loads this morning heading home. The ones I knew all seemed pretty compos mentis, given the time.

Today, I've been up the Belfry, bought chocolates, and heading out for a proper Belgian meal in about an hour. I've stayed off the good Belgian beers, so far, but I aim rectify that tonight. Getting the train to Schiphol in the morning.

Posted
27 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Also glad to hear that 👍 the Milky Way are gammon bigots

Seen dr Who they are always up to no good. Coming over here taking our planet etc 

Posted
9 minutes ago, TheGorgieMaroon said:

Your posts.

Taffin is a good poster, always has been. I’m in agreement with his posts on this thread. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Gerry1874 said:

I thought we weren't allowed flag debates on here? Appears the rules can be flexible 

Rules are always flexible Gerry. 

Posted
Just now, Dr Lager said:

Seen dr Who they are always up to no good. Coming over here taking our planet etc 

Absolutely. Bunch of knuckle draggers always harping on about their creation in the big bang with 'YEAR ZERO' tattooed on their knuckles.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Taffin said:

There's no union flag in the Hearts crest. We are a Scottish club. Always have been, always will be.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Is it weaponised like that though? I've never spoken to anyone with one (they don't have them in PR) or do people so embedded in the mess of Scottish bigotry just perceive it that was due to some of their prejudice?

Not in this particular scenario imo. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Taffin said:

True, that doesn't make Britain and the United Kingdom cease to exist though. It's still a thing that Scotland is a part of (through choice it's worth remembering too, albeit not something I voted for 🤷🏻‍♂️)

Sounds like quite a bit of prejudice on your part. I've seen and been around a number of fans with Union Flags who've uttered none of the sort whilst at other games around the UK. Maybe it's specifically a Scottish football issue rather than a Union Flag issue?

Or is that too uncomfortable a reality? It couldn't be Scotland, could it?

Hearts are of course a club located in the UK but it's practically irrelevant in relation to the actual football. There are of course links with McCrae's Battalion but I refuse to believe there are that many who bring a Union Flag for that reason.

On the prejudice point,  I'm talking about Hearts supporters and yes it is a Scottish football and Hearts problem.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dr Lager said:

Probably but based on every away fixture I've been to, domestic and abroad, sadly true.

Posted
Just now, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

There's no union flag in the Hearts crest. We are a Scottish club. Always have been, always will be.

Until Scotland leaves the Union, we'll also always have been a British club. There's no Scotland flag in the St Johnstone crest, by your logic of the crest dictating realist, does that mean they're not a Scottish club?

Jambosteve1902
Posted

Ultras were a huge part of the problem yesterday blocking off an entire exit route , arguing with everyone under the sun.  Too much drugs on little people then turning into big men, the amount of internal fights at our games cause everyones coked up is embarassing 

TheGorgieMaroon
Posted
12 minutes ago, Taffin said:

In what way though? Saying I'm against religion in football, voted for Scottish independence, don't believe in Nationalism? They don't seem to align with whatever you bigots like to call a 'hun'.

I may very well be wrong though as I'm not someone who goes in for all the faux Celtic and Rangers rubbish. If the above is 'hun' then my mistake and apologies. It's not a circle I move in.

6 minutes ago, Dr Lager said:

It happens to be true though. 

3 minutes ago, Boab said:

Taffin is a good poster, always has been. I’m in agreement with his posts on this thread. 

Good for you.

Posted
1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

You're having a nightmare on this thread. 😁

How am I having a nightmare. Because I don’t believe in grassing folk left right and centre for small acts of stupidity. 

Get a grip! This site is like a wee sowing circle these days. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Not in this particular scenario imo. 

That's fair, I won't argue with someone's opinion. I view it differently (I didn't ironically until many years away from Scotland, now from the outside looking in I find the whole thing rather sad and shameful that it still exists)

There's a few people fully against it all which I totally agree with, but there's definitely an undercurrent of those who've gone so far to be anti 'hun' that they're now actively engaged and embroiled in the cringe and terminology and fling it about the place which only serves to continue the divide and disharmony imo.

Posted
2 hours ago, spirt of 98 said:

Or you just mind your own business.

So many grasses these days. 

You need to learn what a grass is .

A fellow crook who tells on his crooked  pals to the police to save his own neck ,

those threatening others or chanting sectarian bile are not representing hearts or anything Hearts as a club stands for . 

People have every right to report knuckledragging behaviour .

Posted
Just now, Taffin said:

Until Scotland leaves the Union, we'll also always have been a British club. There's no Scotland flag in the St Johnstone crest, by your logic of the crest dictating realist, does that mean they're not a Scottish club?

We're a member of the SFA. Not the BFA.

The people I was mixing with on Wednesday, and yesterday afternoon, had a number of people who would share your views (lodge members, tattoos of the Union Flag, and worse), but not one mentioned the IRA, Catholics, or Britain. Everyone was talking about Bruges, Hearts, and excited about the game.

I reiterate, we are Scottish club, and nothing else.

Posted
1 minute ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

You need to learn what a grass is .

A fellow crook who tells on his crooked  pals to the police to save his own neck ,

those threatening others or chanting sectarian bile are not representing hearts or anything Hearts as a club stands for . 

People have every right to report knuckledragging behaviour .

And I have every right to think they are a grass! 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

That's fair, I won't argue with someone's opinion. I view it differently (I didn't ironically until many years away from Scotland, now from the outside looking in I find the whole thing rather sad and shameful that it still exists)

There's a few people fully against it all which I totally agree with, but there's definitely an undercurrent of those who've gone so far to be anti 'hun' that they're now actively engaged and embroiled in the cringe and terminology and fling it about the place which only serves to continue the divide and disharmony imo.

I don't disagree with your wider points. 

Posted
1 minute ago, spirt of 98 said:

And I have every right to think they are a grass! 

That's the spirt!! Anyone that reports a potential criminal offence is a grass?

Posted
Just now, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

We're a member of the SFA. Not the BFA.

The people I was mixing with on Wednesday, and yesterday afternoon, had a number of people who would share your views (lodge members, tattoos of the Union Flag, and worse), but not one mentioned the IRA, Catholics, or Britain. Everyone was talking about Bruges, Hearts, and excited about the game.

I reiterate, we are Scottish club, and nothing else.

We're also a British club, by virtue of being a Scottish club. You may not like that, but that's a you problem.

As for the bit in bold 😂😂 accepting Scotland is also in Britain as are the things in Scotland, isn't really a view, it's just a fact.

Posted

Folk who pull the Grass line on people reporting an offence tend to be arseholes.