Malinga the Swinga Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 7 minutes ago, mitch41 said: Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again. I think you know you are wrong. I want him out but I don't believe he missed it deliberately Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lone Striker Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 3 minutes ago, mitch41 said: Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again. I don't agree that what you're saying is correct .... but if you're right, thats an appalling mindset for any professional footballer earning very good money for another 6 months of his contract to have sunk into. He needs a shrink if that's the case. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Section Q Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Psychedelicropcircle said: No he’s just devoid of confidence. Time for a seat on the bench. If he’s no happy with that **** um. This. Even Robbo sat on the bench when his form slipped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingantti1874 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 8 minutes ago, mitch41 said: Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again. what a load of shite. What would be in it for him? How will that help him secure a deal and a wage elsewhere. did he also mean to put that back heel just wide? And yes he need to be dropped without doubt but any suggestion he did it deliberately is emotional nonsense. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bawheed Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 49 minutes ago, jack D and coke said: Yeah I had horrible feeling it was gonna happen almost exactly how it did myself. Maybe give him a wee rest for week or two. Bring him on later in games and hope he just gives that wee bit extra… Its mind blowing to me the shit he’s taking. We’ve waited 30 ****ing years for a player like shanks…nobody will be more upset than him. I hate hearts fans at times. Get a grip he’s a professional footballer who wouldn’t sign a contract for I have been told £14k a week. I have old pals get that a year. His behaviour after the match tonight was ****ing disgusting to our supporters who travelled all the way there. Cant see any way back for him now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 Just now, bawheed said: Get a grip he’s a professional footballer who wouldn’t sign a contract for I have been told £14k a week. I have old pals get that a year. His behaviour after the match tonight was ****ing disgusting to our supporters who travelled all the way there. Cant see any way back for him now. What did he do? Not stand in front of the fans who were telling him to get to **** and applaud them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
YemenRoad Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Morgan said: The computer says.... Perhaps. Shut the **** up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FarmerTweedy Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Morgan said: The computer says.... Perhaps. 2 hours ago, Jambo314 said: My very thoughts. Jesus fecking christ. What utterly moronic bullshit. Are either of you two really stupid enough to think this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FarmerTweedy Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Ally said: The fact that some of us are even asking the question should be a wake up call to the management team. The only thing that the fact some people are asking the question means is that some of the biggest idiots on the planet post on jkb. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 Miss it on purpose ? GTF with that by the way. look, he isn’t doing well obviously but that’s a disgraceful accusation. You know what ? Look at the others up the top of the pitch. They are a disgrace. Vargas, Dhanda, Forrest, Spittal etc. not one of the has weighed in. Yet Shanks is the devil. ffs he’s carried us for 2 seasons and now it’s a witch hunt. Alot is on him of course but ffs the rest are an embarrassment. Vargas thinks he’s too good for us 🤣🤣 aye right. He is a disgrace right now. I’d be happy to afford him time but his comments are obviously off the scale. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 (edited) 15 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: What did he do? Not stand in front of the fans who were telling him to get to **** and applaud them? exactly. I’d be down the tunnel too. Disgusting from those who chanted that. Utterly disgusting. Hearts fans ? Aye right . Enjoy your trip Edited November 28, 2024 by 1971fozzy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
151 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 He is literally playing for a job next year, whether that is with us or somewhere else. At this moment he will find himself somewhere alot worse than Hearts with zero chance of European football (little chance of that next year at us aswell right enough). It would be close to insanity to miss on purpose. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MattyK82 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 (edited) Why would he miss it on purpose? What would it achieve? Absolutely ludicrous. He just has no composure. His attempt looked like frustration. He was trying to burst the net when we just needed calmness. His head is gone however and he needs taken out the team for everyone's benefit. Not going to lie, every passing day, I'm getting more and more angry at Steven Naismith for his shocking lack of awareness in not signing at least one striker in the summer, as well as other pacy players. The fitness level of the team too is unacceptable. What a car crash of a season 😭 Edited November 28, 2024 by MattyK82 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bawheed Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 12 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: What did he do? Not stand in front of the fans who were telling him to get to **** and applaud them? Ran straight down the tunnel and threw his arm band off. The supporters deserved acknowledgment from our captain on there endeavours to support our team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacques de Gatineau Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 3 minutes ago, 151 said: He is literally playing for a job next year, whether that is with us or somewhere else. At this moment he will find himself somewhere alot worse than Hearts with zero chance of European football (little chance of that next year at us aswell right enough). It would be close to insanity to miss on purpose. Just like it would be insanity to pass to Cammy 'cowsarsewithabanjo' Devlin with only the Celtic keeper to beat last weekend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacques de Gatineau Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 13 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said: some of the biggest idiots on the planet post on jkb. I don't think anyone's disputing this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tynecastle Valhalla Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 No I doubt he missed it on purpose. but ffs just get it on target. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigcoll Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 28 minutes ago, boag1874 said: He obviously didn’t miss it on purpose ffs. Who does that benefit? The most important thing with penalty takers is confidence, how many times do you see a players body language when they step up & you can just tell (correctly) they’re going to miss? No way he felt confident to take that, he took it because he felt it was his responsibility to score & get himself out his rut when he should have just passed it off to someone else. We all knew he’d miss & he probably had a very loud voice in his head telling him he’d miss too, especially considering his record from the spot the last season was utterly horrendous. So why wasn't that decision taken out of his hands by Critchley before even a ball was kicked? Instead of putting us through the slowed down car crash? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
By The Light.. Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 Nonsense. He would be 100% trying but confidence shot to bits. However it is absolutely ridiculous that he is still wearing the captains armband. We won't beat many teams until this changes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bawheed Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 4 minutes ago, bawheed said: Ran straight down the tunnel and threw his arm band off. The supporters deserved acknowledgment from our captain on there endeavours to support our team. Look at the stuff on social media if he’s the captain on Sunday would be shocked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricardo Quaresma Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said: This sums it up. Well he'll definitely be off penalties now. I've seen Spittal and Dhanda take crackers in the past, even Grant knows what he's doing with them. Probably Boyce too. Wouldn't bet on it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 8 minutes ago, bawheed said: Ran straight down the tunnel and threw his arm band off. The supporters deserved acknowledgment from our captain on there endeavours to support our team. Would you stand and applaud a group of people who told you to get to ****? He’s done as they asked and here we are… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stotty Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, neilnunb said: 4th pen miss in his last 7. Shouldn't be on them. That’s an awful stat. I work with a Dundee United fan, apparently (and I’ve not checked this) he had a poor penalty record for them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jambof3tornado Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Morgan said: The computer says.... Perhaps. Nonsense Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 No mate, sadly i could see this situation playing out in the summer. We didn't need this to be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Percival King Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 A four page thread (which I'm now part of) on whether the most prolific striker we've had in a generation now deliberately tries to avoid scoring, 6 months out from the end of his contract. So, for the conspiracy theorists on here who believe the whole of Scotttish football is out to get us, we now have the enemy within. Lunacy, madness, bonkers! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Absolute Scenes said: Nah. He missed it because he’s shite and chose to shit on hearts contract and believe he was going to rangers. He missed it because he’s an arse I agree with this. Although, he's not shite though. He's let this whole rangers 'cheap transfer' to them, not playing out as he expected, turn his head and affect his form. Going in the huff about it has also played a part with his current form. Grow up Shankland you bloody idiot. You were privileged to play for Heart of Midlothian...not the other way around. Now, just piss off and never pull on that maroon Jersey again ...cockwomble Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jambostuart Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: difficult one - I wanted spittal to take it but if he misses shanks is a bottler etc etc also shanks somehow manages to score the penalty he could then go on a run of scoring ideally it needed taken out shanks hands and with him being the captain probs only critchely could do that time has arrived / past for shanks to be benched for everyone’s benefit especially shanks ironically had grant been on the pitch there would have been a case for him taking it without reflecting on shankland If Shanks didn't take it we would all be commenting on him not having the bottle to take one. As captain it's his responsibility and a scored penalty could have got him back on track. As it was he ****ed it and now needs dropped. The big call is with Critchley. If Shanks starts against Aberdeen I think it speaks volumes. We may not have many options but right now Shankland needs taken out the firing line. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fake Persona Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 21 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: exactly. I’d be down the tunnel too. Disgusting from those who chanted that. Utterly disgusting. Hearts fans ? Aye right . Enjoy your trip Mate we are almost half way through our season and he's almost single-handedly ruined it. Of the back of refusing a salary doubling to 14k per week! So he could join his "heroes" on the cheap... Cost us 500k in points bonuses and coefficient points to boot. I maybe wouldn't have joined in, prefer to keep my ire for online, but the chant was fully understandable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 I don't think he missed it in purpose. I just think he's just not that good, anymore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacques de Gatineau Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 minutes ago, jambostuart said: If Shanks didn't take it we would all be commenting on him not having the bottle to take one. As captain it's his responsibility and a scored penalty could have got him back on track. If Spittal or whoever had put it in the net then nobody would give a shit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hearts00 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, Thomaso said: It was an absolute shocker of a penalty! Shocker. Two yards over the bar. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hearts00 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 19 minutes ago, stotty said: That’s an awful stat. I work with a Dundee United fan, apparently (and I’ve not checked this) he had a poor penalty record for them. He had a horrible spell if pens last season. Took himself off them but kept scoring. He certainly wont be taking another pen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 25 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: Would you stand and applaud a group of people who told you to get to ****? He’s done as they asked and here we are… He should have got on his knees and apologised! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 1 hour ago, mitch41 said: Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again. Eggs bacon and magic mushrooms for breakfast? Gutted for the man. Needs dropped but **** me you'd think after the last two seasons Hearts supporters would reign it the **** in . Some support. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 1 minute ago, Thomaso said: He should have got on his knees and apologised! I'm sorry for scoring for fun and having a bad spell. On his knees ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 This is toxic,I wanted him gone in summer and for the benefit of the team moving forward. He's a very good player. But sometimes you have to know when it's time to move on. He didn't miss it on purpose that benefits no-one. Think about this guys. His head has been gone for ages now,unfortunately we still need him with very limited options available to us currently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 16 minutes ago, jambostuart said: If Shanks didn't take it we would all be commenting on him not having the bottle to take one. As captain it's his responsibility and a scored penalty could have got him back on track. No I’m sorry I’m just not buying that! No way he should have taken that penalty and I shuddered when he put the ball on the spot! Last year he was happy to pass on the penalty duties when he lost his confidence from the spot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaside Dave Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 Confidence is shattered as a forward all you want to do is blast the ball and hope it goes in. Tonight he blasted it and it went high and over. Don't think he missed on purpose but his confidence is as low as well as we are in the league fs. Onto Sunday sheep will be all guns blazing on us. Weather the storm and we score a set piece and they are in tears and we are laughing all the way home. **** Aberdeen Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 1 minute ago, Ked said: I'm sorry for scoring for fun and having a bad spell. On his knees ? My comment was tongue in cheek. ”A bad spell”? A feckin horrendous spell more like! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fozzyonthefence Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 No but it’s probably the first time I’ve ever wished that Grant was one of the subs that had come on! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 1 hour ago, mitch41 said: Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again. You should just be handed the award for most ludicrous post of 2024 now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 1 minute ago, Thomaso said: My comment was tongue in cheek. ”A bad spell”? A feckin horrendous spell more like! Sorry. Aye it is . And he needs dropped . But the abusive type posts mate? It's terrible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted November 28, 2024 Author Share Posted November 28, 2024 Terrible OP. What were you thinking of, Morgan? My (far too speedy) reaction, mixed with anger, was that he was far, far too casual in his approach to a vital penalty kick. In retrospect, and when the maroon mist lifted, I realise that he probably wouldn’t have done that deliberately. I maintain though, that at the time, he didn’t exactly ‘give it his all’. He should no longer be our Captain, I question if he should start a game for us again until he sorts his head out and, if he doesn’t do that, should be sold to whoever is left that might entertain him, and his wage demands, in the physical condition he is currently in. Very poor thread from me, but who hasn’t ‘lost it’ sometimes in the heat of the moment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Rabbit Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 A player who is out of contract at the end of the year and effectively playing for a move elsewhere. Why would he continue to make himself look unappealing. What I will say is he clearly doesn’t give a **** about us. That much has been clear for a while. However it’s another where he looks like he’s been poorly advised. I honestly reckon he will struggle to better the contract we offered him. Crazy after last season but the sooner we can get rid of him the better. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 6 minutes ago, Ked said: Eggs bacon and magic mushrooms for breakfast? Gutted for the man. Needs dropped but **** me you'd think after the last two seasons Hearts supporters would reign it the **** in . Some support. You’re gutted for the man? Sorry this is a man who does not want to be at Hearts. If you want to be gutted be gutted for the fans and his team mates! Some support? Aye 3,000 watching that fat lazy tosser blasting a penalty over the bar! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tokyo Drifter Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 3 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said: 100% not a chance. Agreed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 2 minutes ago, Ked said: Sorry. Aye it is . And he needs dropped . But the abusive type posts mate? It's terrible. Feelings running high tonight Ked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Morgan said: Terrible OP. What were you thinking of, Morgan? My (far too speedy) reaction, mixed with anger, was that he was far, far too casual in his approach to a vital penalty kick. In retrospect, and when the maroon mist lifted, I realise that he probably wouldn’t have done that deliberately. I maintain though, that at the time, he didn’t exactly ‘give it his all’. He should no longer be our Captain, I question if he should start a game for us again until he sorts his head out and, if he doesn’t do that, should be sold to whoever is left that might entertain him, and his wage demands, in the physical condition he is currently in. Very poor thread from me, but who hasn’t ‘lost it’ sometimes in the heat of the moment? Don't blame yourself,this is on the club they knew the situation that could potentially play out,they even had a large percentage of the support saying we can't sell him etc,unfortunately it's turned out like this. I took alot of stick for it,but i could see this coming. Edited November 28, 2024 by Bongo 1874 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted November 28, 2024 Share Posted November 28, 2024 8 minutes ago, Thomaso said: Feelings running high tonight Ked. A ken mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...