Did he miss it on purpose?

Morgan

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
29 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I’ve done another post, Ian.

Daft, spur of the moment thread which I regret.

Just post this 1000 times please mods ta

Edited by Rudi5kaceldream1ng

• Replies 313

• Thomaso

• Ricardo Quaresma

• MoncurMacdonaldMercer

8 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

I am pretty devestated at the way Shanks career is coming to an end at Hearts. It is becoming something of a Greek tragedy and certainly was not meant to end this way. 

It is almost unbelievable. I was furious at Shanks tonight and it is nothing to do with effort or anything like that but I was furious because that was a very winnable game and he has lest us down again, as have all the players this season. 

I am raging at Shanks form which is truly mind boggling, I am raging at the rest if the squad who are not stepping up with goals and moments of quality and I am raging st Naismith and the board that we are in this position. What is that four wins in 21 this season.  Truly abysmal. 

Good post 

3 minutes ago, Dsjambo said:

I wouldn’t argue with that but as it’s our first one this season it’s not like he’s missed a few already, the manager would be thinking a penalty will get him scoring again. Backfired big time tonight but as I said before, he should have been benched weeks ago.

Probably.  I understand to an extent why he plays every week although I'd like to see more of Musa.

He's never been a reliable penalty taker though.

32 minutes ago, Ally said:

So professional that he looks like he's towing the caravan Halkett brought back from his injury layoff with him.

Where sone of the players not spotted at “ Greggs “ mid week one time ? 😂

He’s got so bad my reaction was he’s taking the piss! He really must be taken out the team now!

2 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Probably.  I understand to an extent why he plays every week although I'd like to see more of Musa.

He's never been a reliable penalty taker though.

I thought he had scored 12 or 13 in a row until he missed that one at ER but I might be wrong.

Bull's-eye

Its not confidence, its not intentional.

He clearly having mental issues and the treatment would seem to be play through it.

Id say the treatment needs changing because that penalty tonight clearly finished him off.

He needs taken out of the firing line because he's not coping at all.

Edited by Bull's-eye

47 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The computer says....

Perhaps.

Wow.

41 minutes ago, jambo1975 said:

No but should never have been the one to take it. Needs to never pull on the jersey again, rather have Musa or indeed Boyce playing than him. He's done with this club as far as I'm concerned 

Boyce (rightly) gets some stick on here but this season the sad fact is he could have done no worse that Shankland. I’ve lost count of the golden chances Fatso has fluffed - pretty sure Boyce would have scored at least 3 or 4!

He Who Cannot Be Named

If he wanted us to score he would have given up the opportunity to someone else considering his bad form, like he has done before.

40 minutes ago, flem said:

It was that bad a miss thats the way it seemed at the time. No way he should have been taking it. 

It was an absolute shocker of a penalty!

Victorian

Deliberate?   Not likely and it would be sad to think any pro would do that.

It was quite casual though.   Could it be that a player consciously thinks he's not all that bothered either way so goes for a striking looking lash into the top of the goal?   What would you call that?   Deliberately disinterested?   Impossible to know.

The penalty looks more casual than getting his position and weight wrong.   To me anyway.   And he didn't look all that distressed to match the import of his miss.   I don't blame anyone wondering if he's even arsed about it.

He Who Cannot Be Named
1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Deliberate?   Not likely and it would be sad to think any pro would do that.

It was quite casual though.   Could it be that a player consciously thinks he's not all that bothered either way so goes for a striking looking lash into the top of the goal?   What would you call that?   Deliberately disinterested?   Impossible to know.

The penalty looks more casual than getting his position and weight wrong.   To me anyway.   And he didn't look all that distressed to match the import of his miss.   I don't blame anyone wondering if he's even arsed about it.

The penalties against Dunfermline a few years back in the league cup group stages come to mind.

Fake Persona
20 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

He’s got so bad my reaction was he’s taking the piss! He really must be taken out the team now!

This. It's almost looking that way isn't it. I don't want to consider he's missing on purpose it's a bit of a conspiracy theory... And I guess we can never prove it. But IF that was the case I woudn't care one jot what the repercussions for him were. He's done here and can never play again IMO. He will though, and I fear it'll be this Sunday when 90% conversion rate, spawny Aberdeen will punish us for his misses, like at Pittodrie actually. Just a very bad vibe now. Can't play any more, for me. But I'm not Neil Critchley. Wish I was because he'd already be out the door and feck the expense. Stinking this club out.

Edited by Fake Persona

49 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Daft, spur of the moment thing which I regret.

.... said Hearts captain in his post-match interview.

Victorian
Just now, He Who Cannot Be Named said:

The penalties against Dunfermline a few years back in the league cup group stages come to mind.

Good point.   Subconscious disinterest?   Fatalism of missing preventing focus and determination?

Whatever,   it's feeble mentality for a sportsman of importance to have.   It's also feeble mentality to think you're taking responsibility by stepping up if you're not confident.   A strong captain would nominate a specific alternative.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

The computer says....

Perhaps.

Jesus Christ! Awful post Morgs, truly awful.

Devoid of confidence, instead of trying for top corner he should have wellied that down the middle with all his might! Erse that he is.

He's got the yips. 

Or,

Too focused on his next move. 

Possibly a bit of both. 

Either way, he's not doing the business and needs stripped of the arm band and dropped. Even just take take the pressure off. 

1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

He's got the yips. 

Or,

Too focused on his next move. 

Possibly a bit of both. 

Either way, he's not doing the business and needs stripped of the arm band and dropped. Even just take take the pressure off. 

It looks like it, doesn't it? Memories of Stephen Hendry.

Been patient with any criticism of Shanks mostly because of an optimistic belief that he might come good, now though, get the c@@t to f@@k out the team.

BackOfTheNet

Said before he took it he’d smash it wide. Not saying he done it intentionally, but did anyone genuinely think the net would bulge? Least surprising result of a penalty I’ve witnessed in a long time.

Fake Persona
1 hour ago, jambo1975 said:

No but should never have been the one to take it. Needs to never pull on the jersey again, rather have Musa or indeed Boyce playing than him. He's done with this club as far as I'm concerned 

This is it for me. I'm done with him. He's clearly done with us. Let's not prolong this any more. He's gone regardless soon. Let's move on and give game time to forwards who want to be here. End of.

Gordon Ramsay

Obviously not but pathetic attempt at a penalty. Looked like he was shaping for a cross.

7 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Jesus Christ! Awful post Morgs, truly awful.

Devoid of confidence, instead of trying for top corner he should have wellied that down the middle with all his might! Erse that he is.

That’s what for all my heart I hoped he was gonna do….

Absolutely put the laces through it and leathered it down the middle…

For anyone to even think for one second he missed on purpose or wasn’t gutted when he didn’t is just next level embarrassing. 
Did nobody see his face after their 2nd? 
Had his head in his hands. 

SandyClark
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

The computer says....

Perhaps.

What an incredible take. Well done.

I said it before he really should be trying to get himself into better shape and that would help his reaction time to chances coming his way. Lack of professional fitness is the most frustrating aspect of watching Shankland this season.

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

That’s what for all my heart I hoped he was gonna do….

Absolutely put the laces through it and leathered it down the middle…

For anyone to even think for one second he missed on purpose or wasn’t gutted when he didn’t is just next level embarrassing. 
Did nobody see his face after their 2nd? 
Had his head in his hands. 

I hoped he'd do that too, but I'll be honest, I had the sinking feeling he'd miss it...we are now at the when does he get dropped stage...

1 minute ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

I hoped he'd do that too, but I'll be honest, I had the sinking feeling he'd miss it...we are now at the when does he get dropped stage...

Yeah I had horrible feeling it was gonna happen almost exactly how it did myself.

Maybe give him a wee rest for week or two. Bring him on later in games and hope he just gives that wee bit extra…

Its mind blowing to me the shit he’s taking. 
We’ve waited 30 ****ing years for a player like shanks…nobody will be more upset than him. 
I hate hearts fans at times. 

It’s the first time I’ve felt fuming at him for letting us down but no chance he’s missed on purpose and although off topic, him walking down the tunnel I’d put down to being embarrassed. 

2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Yeah I had horrible feeling it was gonna happen almost exactly how it did myself.

Maybe give him a wee rest for week or two. Bring him on later in games and hope he just gives that wee bit extra…

We’ve waited 30 ****ing years for a player like shanks…nobody will be more upset than him. 

You (we) hate Hearts fans on Kickback sometimes!

south morocco
4 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Agreed. It can’t do him or the team any harm now. We need to change it a bit. Maybe give him the last 30 if we are chasing the game. 

2 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

You (we) hate Hearts fans on Kickback sometimes!

It’s all social media…Facebook hearts fans are even worse :lol: 

Brain cripples. 

Des Lynam
9 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Scores for fun last two seasons but is struggling now and the wanks in our support are turning on him. Shameful. 

2 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

Scores for fun last two seasons but is struggling now and the wanks in our support are turning on him. Shameful. 

It is.
It’s ****ing dreadful man. 

Of course it was a deliberate miss.  Did you miss the part after where he ran over to the corner flag celebrating, lifting his shirt to reveal a message that simply said "GIRFUY" in big bold letters? 

:cornette: one of the worst threads of all time. 

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

No. He missed it because he was desperate to score a flamboyant penalty to regain the adulation of the fans and the press. Surprised he didn't go for a Panelka.

1 hour ago, Hearts007 said:

Doesn't usually go high with pens

I don’t think for a second he was going high to make a fancy looking penalty finish. His confiding is seriously low and his penalty record was already pretty poor. His previously saved penalties were saved by the keepers guessing the right way, so i think he went higher to try and erase that element of the keeper saving it by going the right way. We did say the second it was awarded that he should be nowhere near taking it.

7 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Anyone who thinks this isn’t hurting him is a ****ing idiot.
An absolute ****ing idiot. 

100% spot on

Victorian
6 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Anyone who thinks this isn’t hurting him is a ****ing idiot.
An absolute ****ing idiot. 

You could be quite right that he was really gutted and is still feeling it.   That is of course more than possible.   Not everyone reacts and appears the same way.   But at the same time I think it's also possible that people might wonder how important it is to him,  perhaps not entirely consciously.   It's not that black and white.   Just lashing out that people are ****ing idiots doesn't really cover it.   

4 minutes ago, Victorian said:

You could be quite right that he was really gutted and is still feeling it.   That is of course more than possible.   Not everyone reacts and appears the same way.   But at the same time I think it's also possible that people might wonder how important it is to him,  perhaps not entirely consciously.   It's not that black and white.   Just lashing out that people are ****ing idiots doesn't really cover it.   

You can question how important is to him if you’re an utter clown I agree. 
He’s the hearts captain…does nobody think the manager would see if he doesn’t care or his attitude is wrong?
Would Steve Clarke come out and say he needs an arm round him recently until it starts to happen for him again if he thought he was this carefree player?

It’s enraging me I have to admit. 

1 hour ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Calm down pal. This is a daft football forum populated by a bunch of dafties.

What **** you apologising to people for?haha

Still a stupid suggestion but this is what this forums all about...

I have family members in Belgium to watch the match.

Shankland threw his armband off and marched straight down the tunnel.

Devlin Gordon went straight to fans after the game.

We all know he wants know away how on earth is he still the captain ****ing unbelievable.

23 minutes ago, south morocco said:

Agreed. It can’t do him or the team any harm now. We need to change it a bit. Maybe give him the last 30 if we are chasing the game. 

Yep.  Good managers can earn respect from a player going through what Shanks is right now, by sitting down with him and explaining the positives for both him and the team if he gets benched for a few weeks.   Give him some specialised training drills against a goalie and a defender that might help him re-discover his sharpness and shooting.   Hopefully Critchley does that with empathy and not criticism.

Victorian
4 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

You can question how important is to him if you’re an utter clown I agree. 
He’s the hearts captain…does nobody think the manager would see if he doesn’t care or his attitude is wrong?
Would Steve Clarke come out and say he needs an arm round him recently until it starts to happen for him again if he thought he was this carefree player?

It’s enraging me I have to admit. 

You might be right but I think your descriptions of those with a different angle is a bit unfair tbh.

Yes I believe Shankland missed that penalty on purpose. Before he took the penalty he had already made his mind up that if he missed the club and support would want him gone. Well he has made many enemies tonight and there's no way he should ever play for Hearts again.

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

You might be right but I think your descriptions of those with a different angle is a bit unfair tbh.

I’m as frustrated as anyone with tonight and with how this season has been going. 
I’m just not having the carefree pish. 

He obviously didn’t miss it on purpose ffs. Who does that benefit?

The most important thing with penalty takers is confidence, how many times do you see a players body language when they step up & you can just tell (correctly) they’re going to miss?

No way he felt confident to take that, he took it because he felt it was his responsibility to score & get himself out his rut when he should have just passed it off to someone else. We all knew he’d miss & he probably had a very loud voice in his head telling him he’d miss too, especially considering his record from the spot the last season was utterly horrendous.