Official: Heart of Midlothian v Aberdeen match thread

Baxfee

20 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

_____________Gordon

Oyegoke__Kent__Rowles__Salazar

___Devlin__Baningime__Boateng

_____________Spittal

______Drammeh__Wilson

its hard to pick a side without sticking someone useless out on the right hand side

I'd probably start Vargas ahead of Wilson (on the basis of tonight,  shooting excepted) but wouldn't argue with the rest.

• Replies 1.6k

• Hearts007

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Gizmo

• Gmcjambo

5 minutes ago, EIEIO said:

I'd probably start Vargas ahead of Wilson (on the basis of tonight,  shooting excepted) but wouldn't argue with the rest.

IF he can't shoot why pick Vargas ,he's terrible ,Wilson a jambo will run all day and get chances ,he wants to play for Hearts ,how many others do ? apart from Craig and Penrice  .

It’s getting to the stage we have nothing to lose now by giving Musa a run.

Let’s change it up. Fresh legs, fresh enthusiasm….something different to work on for the others around him.   Someone who’ll run defenders and not come short or too deep.   

Lets go for 3-1 Hearts. Hopefully get off to positive start and get the crowd behind team, regardless of who starts.

No idea who will score but maybe Musa can do it for us.

There's zero time to dwell as we move on to another big game.   Same effort as Celtic game with a change of fortune in front of goal would do.  MON

May as well change a raft, we cant win with the players that started Thursday, whoever plays, they have to begin to take responsibility and grow a set.

lost in space

We should start with Boyce up front and Shanks on the bench.  After 5 minutes, the crowd will be demanding Boyce goes off. We sub Shanks on for Boyce.  Shanks gets great reception and scores. Easy.

11 hours ago, gwd1957 said:

IF he can't shoot why pick Vargas ,he's terrible ,Wilson a jambo will run all day and get chances ,he wants to play for Hearts ,how many others do ? apart from Craig and Penrice  .

Vargas has pace and set up chances for Shankland last night. I'd have Wilson on the bench and if things aren't working out give him 30 minutes. We can't put all the pressure for goals on a teenager. 

1 hour ago, lost in space said:

We should start with Boyce up front and Shanks on the bench.  After 5 minutes, the crowd will be demanding Boyce goes off. We sub Shanks on for Boyce.  Shanks gets great reception and scores. Easy.

Boyce will attempt to win headers,we just need pace around him. 

10 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

I’m sure he’ll try and beat players, he’ll try and score goals too. Won’t happen tho. 

13 hours ago, BigAlim said:

_____________Gordon

_____________Spittal

______Drammeh__Wilson

its hard to pick a side without sticking someone useless out on the right hand side

I'd be happy with that line up.

31 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

Boyce who's not scored in over a year and falls over his own feet more than he touches the ball?

And he's the 3rd worst striker at the club behind Shankland and Vargas.

Hopefully we can get rid of all 3 in January.

7 minutes ago, Mirror said:

Boyce who's not scored in over a year and falls over his own feet more than he touches the ball?

I just mean boyce will actually get  both feet off the ground to challenge for a header unlike shankland who rarely bothers!!

13 hours ago, BigAlim said:

_____________Gordon

_____________Spittal

______Drammeh__Wilson

Kingsley for Salazar and Vargas for Wilson.  

27 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

I just mean boyce will actually get  both feet off the ground to challenge for a header unlike shankland who rarely bothers!!

Idk I think that's a tough ask for either of them

1 minute ago, Mirror said:

Idk I think that's a tough ask for either of them

I saw more effort from Boyce recently as a late sub going for headers than shanks has shown all season!!

I'd have Musa on before either.

6 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

I saw more effort from Boyce recently as a late sub going for headers than shanks has shown all season!!

I'd have Musa on before either.

Musa has to start on Sunday

3 minutes ago, Mirror said:

Musa has to start on Sunday

I'll be disappointed if kingsley starts too as he cannot get forward like penrice so we need someone running with the ball,has to be salazars time to shine.

1 hour ago, Mirror said:

🤞

For short -term times when you're completely out of options:

Transfer windows were established to protect the contractual stability of players and clubs, and to allow stars to move at certain times of the year. However, FIFA eventually relaxed the rules to allow clubs to sign out-of-contract players at any time. 

After watching that last night, it's hard to even come up with a starting XI. 

We can't carry on doing the same things and expecting different results, though. 

I'd shake things up a bit with this lineup, but I know there's no chance it will happen. 

Gordon 

Oyegoke Kent Kingsley Salazar

Beni 

Boateng Tait 

Spittal

Musa Wilson 

Subs: Clark, Rowles, Forrester, Devlin, Oda, Dhanda and Shankland. 

If the Sheep play Morris for all or part of the match we need to have a left back who can stop him getting to the bye line. Haven't seen enough of Salazar to know if he is that person. Think Kingsley may be more solid but am willing to be proved wrong about Salazar.

4 hours ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

Gordon

Oyegoke

Kent

Rowles

Kingsley

Devlin

Beni

Boateng 

Spittal 

Shankland 

Musa

That would be my team for Sunday

7 hours ago, Jambof3tornado said:

He came on Thursday, we didn't cross and all he could do was stand and watch!

4 hours ago, Captain Canada said:

After watching that last night, it's hard to even come up with a starting XI. 

We can't carry on doing the same things and expecting different results, though. 

I'd shake things up a bit with this lineup, but I know there's no chance it will happen. 

Gordon 

Oyegoke Kent Kingsley Salazar

Beni 

Boateng Tait 

Spittal

Musa Wilson 

Subs: Clark, Rowles, Forrester, Devlin, Oda, Dhanda and Shankland. 

Oyegoke is a bombscare......his decision making is awful and passing at times worse!

Chuck Oda, Musa and Wilson into the mix and see what happens.

On Boyce, we all know he’s gone but he actually looks like he can’t even move correctly anymore - is he carrying an injury ?

Appreciate will be gone soon but in his wee spell last night whenever he tried to hit the ball it’s like his legs can’t do what he wants them too - sad to see but maybe just the injury/age. 

14 minutes ago, Jambo61 said:

Oyegoke is a bombscare......his decision making is awful and passing at times worse!

I don't agree at all, but unlike others on here, I'll respect your opinion and not start an argument! 

Prediction 

We will play them off the park for 60 minutes 

Nobody will score and Boateng will be substituted at 65 mins.

We will then make a defensive mistake and Aberdeen will counter late on to win 

0-2.

Its a bit like Groundhog Day 

57 minutes ago, Jambo61 said:

He’s a young player with limited experience and everything good and bad that goes with it. . We knew that when we signed him. We needed an experienced, solid full back but that’s not Oyegokes fault. He’ll turn into a very good player imo. 

8 hours ago, Jambof3tornado said:

By the time Boyce slows everything down the pacey players have largely lost any advantage. He’s done unfortunately. 

20 minutes ago, mr fox said:

Prediction 

0-2.

That’s been the way of things this season, incredibly frustrating. The ball going into the Aberdeen net off somebody’s backside in the first few minutes might help.

You wonder if Musa will play directly up front with shankland dropped off a bit. I don’t see shankland being left out. Dhand’s probably not done enough to start. Beni, Devlin and Boatang midfield but we need width, Forrest supply that? 

Jambo dans les Pyrenees

Gordon

Oyegoke

Kent

Rowles

Salazar

Beni

Tait

Spittal

Vargas

Wilson

Musa

21 hours ago, gwd1957 said:

In fairness "Will run all day and get chances" sounds more like Vargas than Wilson.

2 minutes ago, Bunny Munro said:

Gordon

Oyegoke Kent Rowles Kingsley 

Devlin Beni Boateng 

Vargas Musa Spittal

This but wouldn’t be against Forrest or Oda instead of Vargas 

Gordon

Oyegoke  Kent  Rowles  Kingsley

Baningime  Boateng

Vargas      Spittal        Salazar

Drammeh     

-

Spittal and the Spanish speakers

Wilson off the bench for whichever Forward needs to come off, Forrest also and Dhanda for Spittal if needed, but no game for 6 days

I’d say that this game is our most important match this season. Aberdeen are pish. If I hate any team more it’s these sheep ****s. They think the 80s hay days are back. Eh nah. I’m for one saying that after that shit game yesterday. We will beat them 2-0. If you watched the highlights of the hobo game v Aberdeen. They were absolutely mince and struggled to beat the bottom feeders. It’s all about what team we play on Sunday. 
Please:

no Shanks

no McKay 

no Boyce

I don’t care who else plays but they better ****ing beat these sheep ****s. 

1 hour ago, mr fox said:

Prediction 

0-2.

That's the script.

:muggy:

27 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

I’d say that this game is our most important match this season. Aberdeen are pish. If I hate any team more it’s these sheep ****s. They think the 80s hay days are back. Eh nah. I’m for one saying that after that shit game yesterday. We will beat them 2-0. If you watched the highlights of the hobo game v Aberdeen. They were absolutely mince and struggled to beat the bottom feeders. It’s all about what team we play on Sunday. 
Please:

no Shanks

no McKay 

no Boyce

I don’t care who else plays but they better ****ing beat these sheep ****s. 

Absolutely echo this sentiment and personnel requirement

Btw, the sheep never beat the 5h1te, it was hilarious and the 5h1te actually won me money, how funny is that? money for auld 5h1te :lol:

Spoiler

sheep-lamb.gif

Kidd’s Boots
1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Gordon

Oyegoke  Kent  Rowles  Kingsley

Baningime  Boateng

Vargas      Spittal        Salazar

Drammeh     

-

Spittal and the Spanish speakers

Wilson off the bench for whichever Forward needs to come off, Forrest also and Dhanda for Spittal if needed, but no game for 6 days

Rowles sits down, Kingsley in one and Salazar beside him, Tait in the middle, Spittal out one

Penrices left boot
1 hour ago, Jambo dans les Pyrenees said:

Gordon

Oyegoke

Kent

Rowles

Salazar

Beni

Tait

Spittal

Vargas

Wilson

Musa

Awful team selection and so lightweight.

5 hours ago, Captain Canada said:

I don't agree at all, but unlike others on here, I'll respect your opinion and not start an argument! 

No need for an argument at all! He spins when he needs to be forceful in the tackle, then loses out, he passes straight to the opposition ( not alone) he needs to be more basic....play as you face/ pass to a team member...keep the ball. Not picking on him, they could all do with better basics!

4 hours ago, GinRummy said:

He’s a young player with limited experience and everything good and bad that goes with it. . We knew that when we signed him. We needed an experienced, solid full back but that’s not Oyegokes fault. He’ll turn into a very good player imo. 

Do the basics well 1st, try the showboating later! Get it he's young and learning......but he's part of a team that lose the ball far too easily!

Right back is definitely an issue, but it has been for about 3 years now. Another Michael Smith would be a godsend right now 

Gordon

Forrester/Oyegoke

Kent

Halkett/Kingsley

Rowles

Forrest

Beni/Devlin/Boateng (2 from)

Spittal

Musa

Boyce

Bench

Clark

Shanks

Wilson

Oyegoke/Forrester

Grant

Beni/Devlin/Boateng

Halks/Kingsley

Oda

Vargas

Feel 3 defenders would be fairly solid allowing Forrester/Oyegoke to push on….

Boyce may well be done but what a boost to put Shanks on at half time/after an hour and Oda if fit ahead of Vargas.  Try and push from 60 rather than when we run of out steam then.

Edited by Dusty