Official: Heart of Midlothian v Aberdeen match thread

Baxfee

11 minutes ago, Tynecastle Valhalla said:

Two things the officials got wrong :

1. It was a red card challenge on beni 

2. Shanks’ shot was blocked by Devlin’s hand which was away from his body. A penalty ! Why did VAR not even have a look ?????????

I could see it was at least another yellow at the other end of the ground, haven’t seen the handball but Devlin is good at that.

• Replies 1.6k

• Hearts007

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Gizmo

• Gmcjambo

20 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I could see it was at least another yellow at the other end of the ground, haven’t seen the handball but Devlin is good at that.

Yeah looked a handball to me but wasn’t even looked at I don’t think. Think he actually handles it twice in the same move.

Fantastic performance when the backs were against the wall.

Proud of the players digging a point out versus a form team with so many unforced changes made.

Could be the making of our season.

14 minutes ago, PapaShango said:

Yeah looked a handball to me but wasn’t even looked at I don’t think. Think he actually handles it twice in the same move.

Must’ve been looked at surely 🤦🏽

Really pleased with the performance TBH. Absolute adversity of having to reshuffle the back 4 with  the unfamiliarity of the new defence contributing to their goal.

Fought back really well and was a bit of blood and thunder at points about us - another day we sneak the win.

Fancied us to get something today as Aberdeen are average and were getting by with a hugely imbalanced in their favour set of fixtures , fortune and some major over performance on their XG.

Must start winning soon though  

Edited by Gavman81

10 minutes ago, 19/05/2012 said:

What happened in the last minute when the ref was checking var should we have had a penalty?

Never seen any replays!

3 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Must’ve been looked at surely 🤦🏽

Surely someone was looking but play started pretty quickly after it.

2 minutes ago, Gavman81 said:

Really pleased with the performance TBH. Absolute adversity of having to reshuffle the back 4 which the unfamiliarity of the new back 4 contributing to their goal.

Fought back really well and was a bit of blood and thunder at points about us - another day we sneak the win.

Fancied us to get something today as Aberdeen are average and were getting by with a hugely imbalanced in their favour set of fixtures , fortune and some major over performance on their XG.

Important we follow up with 3 points next week. We need to start putting points and wins on the board pretty soon. We showed a lot of fight today which was encouraging. Halkett was superb and our best defender when on form and fit. A massive weapon in the air in both boxes as well.

Considering we had to change our whole back four 30 mins into the match, a draw against the team sitting second in the league isn’t a bad result. Especially when we bombarded them for the last 20 mins.

Edited by Martin B

Lambert Simnel
27 minutes ago, Gavman81 said:

Really pleased with the performance TBH. Absolute adversity of having to reshuffle the back 4 with  the unfamiliarity of the new defence contributing to their goal.

I concur.  Given that we conceded soon after rejigging our entire defensive line, not conceding in the rest of the game is really positive. And while we didn't get a lot of shots, there were a good number of moments which had me off my seat (yea, I know, pretty pathetic since I'm sitting in England watching a dodgy stream) when we pressed, turned the ball over and then had a half chance.  

But, as you say, we need to start getting three points from games. One point from today isn't disastrous.

I think we played well today, we lost our way a wee bit when Kingsley and Kent had to go off and that’s just shite luck, but once we got to half time and regrouped we came out second half and battered them, it wasn’t just bad luck we were up against, it was bad refereeing, Clancy seemed to keep his cards in his pocket for many of their challenges and I felt they could have been down to 9 men, Nilsson should’ve been booked first half then was booked second, he got away with murder! And the ref completely bottled a second red for Molloy, he didn’t even want to give a free kick for it because he shat it that much! Pathetic! 

We won’t be anywhere near relegating playing like that the rest of the season, still very confident of climbing the league! 

1 hour ago, Lambert Simnel said:

Not 100% sure, but I think the non-penalty was before the non-red card, so it would have been able to be given if there was anything in it.

It was so why did they not review it before the red card check - it's just strange 

Thought we coped well given the adversity of losing Kingsley and Frankie. Wee Devlin was superb. The whole team really dug in and played well. Some moments ,when in previous games, might have led to an opposition goal ,the players defended well and never gave up. The team deserved the applause at full time,that's what supporting is all about after all. HHGH

Just back in from hospitality.

Shanks ,Cammy and Musa all hurting. 

They are 💯 behind the club 

Thought we dug in well and were the better team yet again but just can't catch a break.

Seems like we are cursed atm 😩

5 minutes ago, ramrod said:

Just back in from hospitality.

Shanks ,Cammy and Musa all hurting. 

They are 💯 behind the club 

Thought we dug in well and were the better team yet again but just can't catch a break.

Seems like we are cursed atm 😩

Did Shankland comment on the abuse he got in Brugge? Thought he ran a lot more today than he has in past few weeks.

bobby bombscare
Just now, 19/05/2012 said:

Did Shankland comment on the abuse he got in Brugge? Thought he ran a lot more today than he has in past few weeks.

Nah he never said anything about that. Said Kingsley's injury didn't look good though and that he was away for a scan. 

bobby bombscare

My takeaways from today: 

-Musa was a breath of fresh air. Purely because he'll have a go at goal, inside or outside the box. (Also done his part in defence)

- Devlin had a great game despite the hate he seems to get. 

-Beni had a masterclass in midfield. At least 4 excellently timed last ditch tackles and an ability to take the ball in the most compromised positions and find a way through the bodies with it. 

- Oyegoke was a bit of an unsung hero. Started well at right back and was fairly solid at CB when called upon. (Though a bit conservative with his passing at times)

- Forrester had another good game at both ends of the pitch

- Halkett, despite the stick he gets, came on and battled. Was carrying some sort of knock from 60 mins and still fought is way through the game. Absolutely solid in the air too, something we've missed at both ends. 

- Shankland put in more effort this week but looks like he desperately needs a rest. Hopefully this week will give him that. 

Edited by bobby bombscare

8 minutes ago, 19/05/2012 said:

No never  touched on that , you could see he was hurting, got a great reception which he evidently appreciated  

You could see all 3 were genuinely hurting at the position the club are in atm.

bobby bombscare
2 minutes ago, ramrod said:

No never  touched on that , you could see he was hurting, got a great reception which he evidently appreciated  

You could see all 3 were genuinely hurting at the position the club are in atm.

Devlin seemed to get that more than the other 2 but you're right, they all did. 

A Shoreditch Heart

Its good to see some positive posts across the forum today for a change 🙂seen the last four games in the pub and its been a hard watch obviously, but we've played some great football at times. Sportscene on now we looked good again this afternoon, but we're not getting any breaks or luck up front. Big games coming up and we're going to turn things around in the next few weeks- C'mon The Hearts!

I thought the studs up lunge on Beni is a clear red card - though so late would not have changed much.

However, Molloy's yellow was his fourth foul on Musa followed soon after by a lunge from behind on Musa (no foul given!) which should have been a second yellow. I thought Clancy was reasonable as a ref but Aberdeen should have finished with 9 players.

Shinnie was also booked and totally disrespected Clancy by ignoring him and walking away after the foul. I'm reminded of Willie Miller clattering Robbo in a game and walking away - then turning round and refusing to go back and be booked! Justice done when, from the free kick, McLeish battered into Miller who was screaming in agony on the ground - as Robbo smacked in the loose ball for the winner 😁

Captain Sausage
10 hours ago, bobby bombscare said:

My takeaways from today: 

-Musa was a breath of fresh air. Purely because he'll have a go at goal, inside or outside the box. (Also done his part in defence)

-Beni had a masterclass in midfield. At least 4 excellently timed last ditch tackles and an ability to take the ball in the most compromised positions and find a way through the bodies with it. 

- Oyegoke was a bit of an unsung hero. Started well at right back and was fairly solid at CB when called upon. (Though a bit conservative with his passing at times)

- Halkett, despite the stick he gets, came on and battled. Was carrying some sort of knock from 60 mins and still fought is way through the game. Absolutely solid in the air too, something we've missed at both ends. 

- Shankland put in more effort this week but looks like he desperately needs a rest. Hopefully this week will give him that. 

Agree with all of this. Certainly feel much more positive about yesterday than many posters on here seem to be.

We've got a decent run of fixtures now, really important we start picking up 3 points consistently. With Musa up top, it allows us to drop either Vargas or Shankland and give them some time out.

Beni and Devlin played really well today. But I think Boateng is more suited to games like Dundee where they'll just park the bus and smash it long on the counter.

Halkett the biggest positive for me. How we've missed his physicality at the back - the guy just instills confidence around him. Hopefully nothing serious and he's back on Saturday.

Whatever limitations problems we have the guys tried hard, at the least you want effort and we got that.

Conviced we will beat scumdee and move off bottom.

Dont bookmark this as we are Hearts!

15 hours ago, Sleepy head said:

If they had deemed that a penalty, how could it have been given considering the foul (Red card) preceding it? Bizarre.

Correct, it's 100% a foul even if they deem it not a red card.

20 hours ago, allystrachan said:

Yup that’s correct. 

I can’t see a clean sheet today & I can’t see is scoring many. 1-1 is about as positive as I can be right now. 

looking forward to seeing the team. 

Good shout.

12 hours ago, bobby bombscare said:

My takeaways from today: 

According to Critchley after the game he said that Halks had a back issue prior to the game. I am sure he has had this problem before.

IveSeenTheLight
On 01/12/2024 at 14:51, neilnunb said:

It was a few years ago. And I don't need to justify myself to a weirdo from another team. St Johnstone fans dealt with you quick enough. Strange you stopped pestering them yet still come on here. 🤣

Anyway, I'm away into the ground.

Aye it clearly didn't happen.

Anyway, I thought you were just slightly the better team for most of the pitch, although we created the better opportunities.

We are not pressing as intensely as we did earlier in the season.

I thought it could end up 1-1 before the game and so it turned out.

Not too long before we play you again

1 hour ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Sure it didn't. Like I would make any effort to 'make things up' about you. 🤣

Jolly good. Do you think you can bore off until then? 👍

3 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Anyway, I thought you were just slightly the better team for most of the pitch, although we created the better opportunities.

What exactly was it the Aberdeen fans were singing nonstop in first half? Sounded a bit like "shit in goal" to a Christmas jingle but couldn't tell. I was chuckling but may have misunderstood

On 01/12/2024 at 17:25, manaliveits105 said:

The no Red card check immediately followed by a penalty check for the McGrath dive !!

The GFA are taking the absolute piss 

You have to ask when something official is going to come from the club??

We have suffered an amazing amount of Referee and VAR **** ups last few seasons , Its getting to the ridiculous stage.

Classics include two celtic players run in to each eh foul Celtic -  reversal of hand ball called by the ref after a penalty (Celtic), kicks in the head deemed not a penalty (Motherwell)  Actual trip in the box referred referee to VAR and still nothing - Pish decisions Upgraded to red cards and endless dodgy penalties from Collum for his beloved Celtic. 

Penalty Rangers The haring tug robs us of the points at Ibrox last year as told its a foul then you don't see another one until its Penalty Rangers again against Aberdeen wi the same Diver Goldson

Mind Teeth Macausland at Livi Penalty Rangers again!! VAR no touch oh eh just give them it anyway

And Bobby the Gers fan stopping play when Jota pulled after ripping his tights we have a 4 on three He stops play and gives them the ****ing ball

and once again Yesterday eh stone wall red card  on Beni  The Boy Neilson would have had two red cards if he was a hearts player 

We go to the uglies 7 fouls 5 yellows Uglies 20 fouls 1 yellow It all counts through a season for suspensions etc 

And as for calls for European Refs The boy Reffing the Brugge game the other night was nothing short of a complete ****witt!!

Is it just me?  It evens itself out over a season......................... **** Off!!

20 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Right pal.  Your team tried to kick us off the park.  Started early and continued all through.  You've even got VAR on your side!  I can't believe you only got 5 bookings and no sending off.

I laughed on the way home, when I heard a commentator say that your 'title hopes' had been dented.  The only title you will get this season will be the dirty barstewards of the year.  Keep taking the drugs though.....

You really can't be looking forward to playing us again.  We have humped you twice this season and got absolutely no rewards whatsoever.  Your luck is running thin though, so watch out as you plummet in the wrong direction...

13 hours ago, Drumjambo said:

You have to ask when something official is going to come from the club??

We have suffered an amazing amount of Referee and VAR **** ups last few seasons , Its getting to the ridiculous stage.

Classics include two celtic players run in to each eh foul Celtic -  reversal of hand ball called by the ref after a penalty (Celtic), kicks in the head deemed not a penalty (Motherwell)  Actual trip in the box referred referee to VAR and still nothing - Pish decisions Upgraded to red cards and endless dodgy penalties from Collum for his beloved Celtic. 

Penalty Rangers The haring tug robs us of the points at Ibrox last year as told its a foul then you don't see another one until its Penalty Rangers again against Aberdeen wi the same Diver Goldson

Mind Teeth Macausland at Livi Penalty Rangers again!! VAR no touch oh eh just give them it anyway

And Bobby the Gers fan stopping play when Jota pulled after ripping his tights we have a 4 on three He stops play and gives them the ****ing ball

and once again Yesterday eh stone wall red card  on Beni  The Boy Neilson would have had two red cards if he was a hearts player 

We go to the uglies 7 fouls 5 yellows Uglies 20 fouls 1 yellow It all counts through a season for suspensions etc 

And as for calls for European Refs The boy Reffing the Brugge game the other night was nothing short of a complete ****witt!!

Is it just me?  It evens itself out over a season......................... **** Off!!

it’s not just you mates. Scottish football is bent 

IveSeenTheLight
On 02/12/2024 at 20:38, Smithian said:

What exactly was it the Aberdeen fans were singing nonstop in first half? Sounded a bit like "shit in goal" to a Christmas jingle but couldn't tell. I was chuckling but may have misunderstood

Shady Mo, Shady Mo, Shady Mo

2 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

Anyone ever noticed that Aberdeen fans all look like they were created on Minecraft 

Genetically closer to sheep and cod.

50 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Shady Mo, Shady Mo, Shady Mo

While less funny than what I thought it was, that does make more sense!

Good to see the Var committee agreeing that Milne should have seen red!

Shame the crappers did nothing about it at the time and dispatched the coward!!😍

5 hours ago, a11ank said:

Good to see the Var committee agreeing that Milne should have seen red!

Shame the crappers did nothing about it at the time and dispatched the coward!!😍

Yes, it's good, mate, but as you know, that doesn't bring our points back and there won't be any replay or anything like that, same as many times before; the Fyssas red card, Jamie Hamill at inverness, countless others

To a lot of people in Scotland it's increasingly looking like teams in a 'title race' are getting the rub of officialdom, to make the League look more exciting from the outside and rangers awful start meant that they weren't 1 of the 2 in the race

We do seem to get bumped a lot more than the sheep and if we are in the drop zone we strangely struggle to get out, whereas the sheep always extricate themselves from that position, every single time, even when they've finished bottom twice, they greased out of it and that's probably because of SAF's exploits decades ago and possibly the influence he still has, or because of what he did, outsiders buy into the myth that the sheep are part of a big three :lol:

Next Season's fixtures are much better for us and worse for them, as they were last year, but it's a predictable pattern that we should have handled better and we had the Fixtures long before the window closed, so should have stocked up better; we have a bit of an issue in defence now too