Joe Savage leaves Hearts ( updated )

2 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Let’s not forget a 300 page thread touting absurd names like knutsen and hellberg who’ll be in the frame for big Premier League or Bundesliga jobs > to complete premature ejaculation over a guy who had a long record not exactly pep or mourinho > to then melting down over hiring a poundshop Michael Beale > within 3 games he then became a Graham potter / de zerbi starlizard wonder find

Yes, but that's the range of posters, from one extreme to another, as for whether they're all Hearts Fans, nope, loads aren't

As for shouting about exepensive or unattainable Managers, well, people under a pseudonym can and will put big names out there for various reasons, probably akin to why people do the lottery, but still, I'd be a bit disappointed if they refrained, because their username took a beemur 🫠

• Replies 1.8k

• RustyRightPeg

• soonbe110

1 hour ago, KyleLafferty said:

He talks utter shite 😂

Well, he's absolutely no doubt quite an experienced bull5h1tter, but there was definitely some interesting stuff there

10 minutes ago, Matty said:

Post today on his LinkedIn……

Hi All,

Thought long and hard about posting this.

I want to be really open and honest about this. I hear all the rumours as everyone wants to tell me what they’ve heard whether it’s true or not.

I done this show with Simon Ferry and the guys from Open Goal because I wanted to speak out and showcase how difficult I found this job, not everyone will find it as difficult as me and that’s fine, everyone is different and everyone deals with things differently.

However since this came out I have still seen some horrendous abuse coming my way. First of all it is a completely and utterly misleading headline from the Sun Sport. To suggest I quit Hearts because of the abuse is not true at all. Absolutely no truth in that whatsoever. I got asked about abuse in football and I spoke about it.

Please to the people who do choose to abuse, find out the facts first. Watch the show or listen to it then decide. But before you then decide to abuse think about how you would feel if this was your Mum, Dad, Brother, Sister, Son, Daughter, Uncle, Auntie Cousin or friend? Would you be happy they are getting abused for trying to do a job? That’s all I was doing was trying my best to make Hearts as successful as I could. I couldn’t do it myself and relied on the help of the excellent staff at Hearts.

Another thing to clear up. I knew nothing about Tony Bloom and the potential investment he was preparing to make to the club. To suggest I jumped before I was pushed again is wrong. To suggest I seen it coming is wrong. I chose to quit. For me. Not for anyone else. I wanted to go down a different route and that’s on me and nobody else.

Lastly

I absolutely loved my time at Hearts. What a club! Love the history of the club, loved the challenge, loved the people and the fans for the most part were excellent with me.

It was just the right time to go.

Good luck to Graeme Jones taking over from me. I don’t know Graeme but heard only great things about him, the torch has been passed to him now.

Good luck to Andrew McKinlay a man I absolutely love to bits. The best CEO anyone could work under. Hearts are in an excellent place with him at the helm.

I’m happy with my decision but I’ll always look out for their results, my family are Hearts fans now especially my wee man who is Shanks and Zander daft!

Before you abuse think about the impact you are going to make on this person, then think if that was happening to someone you knew.

Thanks

Joe

A great post by Joe Savage, straight to the point and clears up a lot. The fact people were giving him abuse about him talking about getting abuse is mad, do these people not take a second to think what am I doing.

Daveandal
18 minutes ago, Carter said:

Has anyone actually stated that?

People stating they had heard abuse but not threats. Insinuation being that abuse is ok, threats aren't.

Just reading Joe's latest comment will hopefully put to bed the notion that abuse is just part of football and get on with it.

Gorgierools
2 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

A great post by Joe Savage, straight to the point and clears up a lot. The fact people were giving him abuse about him talking about getting abuse is mad, do these people not take a second to think what am I doing.

Agreed. Personally I wish him nothing but the best for the future and thanks for his contribution.

2 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

Absolutely - for what it’s worth for him, I’ve commented thanking him and hopefully he sees more positive comments throughout today, that will take the edge of what is a pretty pathetic situation really. 

He was bang on with what he said in the interview too, Scotland is just a dead negative country. 

Anyone trying to better themselves or do something against the grain is generally met with resistance.

Walter Kidd
4 hours ago, Leveins Battalion said:

It's not just Joe,this season already we have seen-

Gordon is past it,needs dropped,get Clark back in,Clark is shite,bin both.

Taylor is gonna earn us £5 million,Taylor is shite get rid.

Kent is a bombscare,make Kent Captain.

Rowles is an absolute wimp,can't win a header ,Rowles is amazing what a turnaround.

Spittal and Dhanda are shite why did we sign them,Both are showing what they can do now in their proper positions.

Benni is a waste of a wage,never fit we miss Benni so much.

Devlin has been here 3 years and is utter shit the ground Devlin covers is untral what a player.

Vargas has no end product,wow great work giving him a 5 year deal gonna earn us millions.

Shankland is a fat waste of space,desperate to get to Rangers.Shankland is our greatest talisman since Skacel,up there with Robbo.

The players read this shit, at times this clubs fansbase are it's own worst enemies.

A complete cesspit at times.

Agreed.  Hearts have some self entitled arseholes in the support.

spacerjoe

It's a sad state of affairs, but the world is full of morons.

I did get the impression though that Joe loves the limelight. He made big, public statements and really seemed like he wanted to endear himself to the fanbase.

Nothing wrong with that, but unfortunately if you want to be as 'seen' as the manager in having influence on results on the pitch, then you're going to expose yourself to the same levels of moronic abuse.

That's doesn't justify it at all, it's just the horrible nature of it.

You'd hope him talking about it would make people realise that he is a human being, who was just trying to do his best for the club, but it seems not.

People are *****.

Joe coming across really well here. Shame even the likes of the S*n are mincing his words for headline clickbait but that's to be expected.

The online abuse is pathetic -  really sad lives of those who get their fix out of it. Probably a correlation between the coke snorting ****wits in our support and the abuse he receives.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer

watched the open goal thing - good interview joe savage seems like a genuine guy

like a lot of things in society that type of abuse shouldn’t happen but it does - savage recognises that and listed every ‘big’ club in Scotland and said he seen their officials “getting it” - he also seems to recognise that while he has lots of skills batting-off that type of abuse is not one of them and recognised that (amongst other reasons) that job (at any big club in Scotland and probably world wide) is not for him - in no way excuses or justifies the abuse but it is the real world he’s dealing with - putting his wife and family first - top man

while he praises McKinley in particular it sounds like savage was possibly just too nice and trying to do too much which undoubtedly will affect performance and his personal well-being so while savage might not agree (or see it) I think Queen Ann and particular McKinley could have done more to support him 

mckinlay could have signed a few strikers and given joe a few days off 😡

Just watched Open Goal and agree that Savage came across well and was brutally frank about the treatment he got from some. Feel sorry for him getting abuse shouted to his face and obviously it has tarnished his memory of Hearts. Can't blame him for leaving in such circumstances.

The Savage thread will embarrass a few people now the dusts settled. People go way over the top. Slated for saying we want to win the league, slated for not performing like Celtic and Rangers, guy couldn't win. 

Gillsland jack

Next time you are in Tynecastle, maybe tonight or next week, just take a look around you at the state some folk get themselves in at a football match, grown men in particular, the abuse they throw at certain players at different points in a game, when I used to sit in the old main stand I would watch two men in their 40s or 50s, fully kitted out with Hearts strips on just screaming at the Hearts bench constantly, it was Robbie's first stint and he was a regular target for their rage, on one occasion I remember we were 2-0 up at the time but they were still going mental.

Witnessed just last week at the European game, I thought we were playing great but as we were retaining possession passing the ball along the back line, or any pass in a backwards direction its incredible how many guy's see this as an opportunity to go off their 'heids' STOP PASSING THE BAW F...ING BACKWARDS!!! at at this point you realise a lot of these types have never actually played the game.

So if Joe Savage has had to sit in the directors box or be at any Hearts game and put up with crap, then who can blame him for walking away.

I have been going to the games home and away for long enough to know that the vast majority of Hearts fans are decent folk, however we have always had an element of eejits, I can go back to the early eighties watching Andy Watson, Kenny Black and even Gary Mackay getting dogs abuse of supporters for what felt like the whole 90 minutes, its almost like some fans just go to the games to hurl abuse.

I felt quite saddened by Joe's account of some of his time at Tynecastle, if this is what things have come to, a man being driven out of his work place, then some of these so called supporters need to get a grip and take a good look at themselves.

6 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Indeed.  Whatever people think about Ann Budge you have to admire here resilience given small the abuse meted out to her be some over a long period.  
You also have to admire those that stand for election for FoH directors as well as that is a tough gig too. 

Definitely worth highlighting both these points. 👍   10 years of intermittent  OTT criticism (verging on abuse) on here decrying Budge for all sorts of things - greed, nae clue about football, jobs for the boys, Budge oot, only wants "yes men", only cares about the  hotel, chairperson of the knitting club,   etc.... even criticised for  being a "auld wummin".

Every FoH rep we've had on the club Board has had varying degrees of  criticism too from time to time.  

7 hours ago, Leveins Battalion said:

It's not just Joe,this season already we have seen-

Gordon is past it,needs dropped,get Clark back in,Clark is shite,bin both.

Taylor is gonna earn us £5 million,Taylor is shite get rid.

Kent is a bombscare,make Kent Captain.

Rowles is an absolute wimp,can't win a header ,Rowles is amazing what a turnaround.

Spittal and Dhanda are shite why did we sign them,Both are showing what they can do now in their proper positions.

Benni is a waste of a wage,never fit we miss Benni so much.

Devlin has been here 3 years and is utter shit the ground Devlin covers is untral what a player.

Vargas has no end product,wow great work giving him a 5 year deal gonna earn us millions.

Shankland is a fat waste of space,desperate to get to Rangers.Shankland is our greatest talisman since Skacel,up there with Robbo.

The players read this shit, at times this clubs fansbase are it's own worst enemies.

A complete cesspit at times.

Yep.  Its astonishing how little attention some fans give to what our players actually do during a match when they're not scoring a goal.   Even less attention given to opposition players who've played well.

Too late for Savage now but there will have been hundreds hearing the abuse aimed at him when he was at Tynecastle.

I'm sure some did but I hope a few more shout, "KNOCK IT OFF!" back at them when this inevitably happens in the future.

7 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

Too late for Savage now but there will have been hundreds hearing the abuse aimed at him when he was at Tynecastle.

I'm sure some did but I hope a few more shout, "KNOCK IT OFF!" back at them when this inevitably happens in the future.

I'm just along from directors box and have heard the board get stick at times but have never ever witnessed threats 

Valois No1

Good post from savage. I never really understood the abuse he got and I’m glad he’s set the record straight. I’m more bothered about tonight’s game. 

49 minutes ago, EH11 2NL said:

The Savage thread will embarrass a few people now the dusts settled. People go way over the top. Slated for saying we want to win the league, slated for not performing like Celtic and Rangers, guy couldn't win. 

Saying he wanted to win the league was unwise. Didn’t deserve the abuse though. 

Hans Eskilsson
5 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Saying he wanted to win the league was unwise. Didn’t deserve the abuse though. 

It might seem unrealistic but why was it unwise. We have folk on here all the time wanting the club to sound ambitious. 

This podcast/show is two hours long! Am I meant to know who these people are? I can't listen to weegies talk over each other for two hours.

Fair play to the people who have.

5 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said:

He was bang on with what he said in the interview too, Scotland is just a dead negative country. 

Anyone trying to better themselves or do something against the grain is generally met with resistance.

Spot on.  Football in particular is full of wee cliques looking to shoot people down for trying something new

Bull's-eye

Its not that long ago the banter that went around the stadium was indeed that, "banter". It was mostly hilarious and added to the atmosphere.

That stuff seems to have been totally replaced by anger and seethe.

Tynecastle is most certainly not as enjoyable as it used to be imo.

16 minutes ago, Niall said:

This podcast/show is two hours long! Am I meant to know who these people are? I can't listen to weegies talk over each other for two hours.

Fair play to the people who have.

In fairness, they let Joe speak for the majority of it. 

It’s time stamped if you’re watching on YouTube on a tv / laptop

53 minutes ago, Hans Eskilsson said:

It might seem unrealistic but why was it unwise. We have folk on here all the time wanting the club to sound ambitious. 

Because it always attracts ridicule from our own supporters. Even if someone mentions it on here it’s met with insults. 

Japan Jambo
1 hour ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

I do wonder what the collective view is with regard to abuse aimed at referees. There are a fair few whose propriety and parentage I've questioned over the years... 😞 

Hans Eskilsson
16 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Because it always attracts ridicule from our own supporters. Even if someone mentions it on here it’s met with insults. 

Damned if they do, damned if they don’t 

6 minutes ago, Hans Eskilsson said:

Damned if they do, damned if they don’t 

It does seem like that and Dhanda was another who got it in the neck for having the audacity to say he wanted us to challenge the old firm.

Saves me making a new post but some of the hypocrites on this very thread calling out online abuse when they are quite happy to ridicule and name call when it suits their agenda shows an incredible lack of self awareness and a good example of double standards. 

Rudi cant fail

Used the podcast to excuse himself of any blame for the mess we are in now. 
The reason he was lambasted for “dancing on tables” in Europe was because it was the last night of the transfer window and there were areas of the squad needing addressed. 

it sounds like some of the personal abuse he received was shocking and well over the top. 

not one of the players signed under his watch will make us any money other than cochrane who hardly made us an earth shattering amount. 

looking at players like ho who went to Celtic? They signed him for 2.5m, so why was he wanting his time? Early in the podcast he said we couldn’t afford 1m for a player . Seemed to waste a lot of time going after players well out of our budget. 

took a player who was later seen a disruption to tell him that the food at the club was not up to scratch.

he and the two managers who worked under him beated on about the players we sign have to be of a certain character. Those said players have us bottom of the league.

i might be being a bit harsh, and he has no doubt probably done a lot of good behind the scenes, but imo he needs to hold some responsibility for the less we find ourselves in. 

Comes across as a bit of a salesman, and talks a good game. His new venture suggests the same. 

Edited by Rudi cant fail

Libertarian

I listened to Joe on the Open Goal podcast and by the end of the 2 hour programme I was left with the impression that Savage is a nice guy who was just too sensitive to deal with the criticism he was getting from some elements within our support. The fact that he admitted to being hugged by Andrew McKinley after handing in his resignation implied to me that Savage has to toughen up. 

ScandinavianJambo
On 30/10/2024 at 10:17, jamboinglasgow said:

100% Internet warriors becoming trolls 🧌 🙄 

ScandinavianJambo
24 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

I listened to Joe on the Open Goal podcast and by the end of the 2 hour programme I was left with the impression that Savage is a nice guy who was just too sensitive to deal with the criticism he was getting from some elements within our support. The fact that he admitted to being hugged by Andrew McKinley after handing in his resignation implied to me that Savage has to toughen up. 

Are you for real? The man highlights going through a hard time/expressing emotions and according to you he needs to toughen up. Suicide amongst men are high for a reason and not being able to speak up without being berated and being told to man up is part of that problem. Savage brought some excellent players to the club, but realised that he needed to move on/ he had probably taken the club as far as he could (and perhaps knew it). He did the right thing and resigned. It takes guts to leave before getting pushed, so no, no need to toughen up.

Edited by ScandinavianJambo

1 hour ago, Libertarian said:

Men hugging...will never catch on in Scotland.  😎

Holyrood_Hearts
On 30/10/2024 at 00:29, Der Kaiser said:

If you're a hearts fan watching that open goal with savage and you are one of the folk he mentioned responsible for that verbal abuse you should be utterly ashamed of yourself.

Completely agree with this.

As much as it’s a great interview and very insightful, as a Hearts fan to hear of so many stories of a club employee being abused is shameful. I was embarrassed listening to parts of it. 

Libertarian
3 hours ago, ScandinavianJambo said:

Are you for real? The man highlights going through a hard time/expressing emotions and according to you he needs to toughen up. Suicide amongst men are high for a reason and not being able to speak up without being berated and being told to man up is part of that problem. Savage brought some excellent players to the club, but realised that he needed to move on/ he had probably taken the club as far as he could (and perhaps knew it). He did the right thing and resigned. It takes guts to leave before getting pushed, so no, no need to toughen up.

Lighten up.

Libertarian
2 hours ago, Holyrood_Hearts said:

Completely agree with this.

As much as it’s a great interview and very insightful, as a Hearts fan to hear of so many stories of a club employee being abused is shameful. I was embarrassed listening to parts of it. 

The only thing I can say which doesn't want me to give up completely is that for every idiot there's 50 decent supporters