• ...andFulton'sBaggio

• Marvin

• feej

The Tackle

A wee response to their Hearts are falling apart song:

Hearts have torn you apart again 

6 hours ago, sandyk said:

Reading that reminded me of the thread on here prior to our visit to Darkheid.  We know how wrong we all were then. Our guys need to ensure that the same unexpected result doesn't happen this time.

We are not playing well but getting results. We are hampered by injuries and unavailability. Aberdeen pick the same 11 every week.

Someone will take advantage  if we don’t start putting in full 90 min performances. We won’t get away with playing poorly all the time 

Skacelsid

An attacking line-up and Tuesday's  second half from the start please. Let's get this third place out of reach for others.

41 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

We are not playing well but getting results. We are hampered by injuries and unavailability. Aberdeen pick the same 11 every week.

Someone will take advantage  if we don’t start putting in full 90 min performances. We won’t get away with playing poorly all the time 

Absolutely. We can't keep playing so poorly and giving head starts to other teams. Our luck will run out. 

Jack Torrance
2 hours ago, gordiegords said:

At half time the other night the big screens started showing a very alluring ad, the whole stadium went tense for a minute, Craig Gordon in the video, new contract maybe? 

naw, it was a love holidays ad 🤣😆

That's exactly what I thought at the game when it came on too.

Imagine if that happened with Shankland at halftime and the supporters there, were first to hear about it.

Life Aquatic

It's the 93rd minute... nil nil, Hearts have just been awarded a penalty...

Who's taking it?

19 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

Couple of weeks according to the man himself today but that’s just his opinion nothing confirmed 

Cheers Cal

1 hour ago, PTBCAL said:

47 minutes ago, Homme said:

Absolutely. We can't keep playing so poorly and giving head starts to other teams. Our luck will run out. 

I get people are wary after last year, but I don't agree with this idea that we've been lucky. We're just consistently a bit better than the opposition and are getting the results to match. That doesn't mean we are particularly good or we won't lose or draw some games, but the standard of the league just isn't very high.

Take the other night as an example. Winning from 2-0 down isn't sustainable, obviously, but Dundee did take advantage. We were punished for two lapses at the back with two clinical finishes without them really creating anything else. We also missed some good chances ourselves in the first half. The vast majority of the time, we don't find ourselves 2-0 down in the first place.

Pans Jambo
42 minutes ago, Life Aquatic said:

Who's taking it?

Shankland 100%. He will bury the next one.

3 hours ago, The Tackle said:

Oh yeah! Wish we had sung this at the email losers on Tuesday night. It’s definitely the answer going forward.👍

42 minutes ago, DC_92 said:

I get people are wary after last year, but I don't agree with this idea that we've been lucky. We're just consistently a bit better than the opposition and are getting the results to match. That doesn't mean we are particularly good or we won't lose or draw some games, but the standard of the league just isn't very high.

Take the other night as an example. Winning from 2-0 down isn't sustainable, obviously, but Dundee did take advantage. We were punished for two lapses at the back with two clinical finishes without them really creating anything else. We also missed some good chances ourselves in the first half. The vast majority of the time, we don't find ourselves 2-0 down in the first place.

Totally agree 

1 hour ago, Life Aquatic said:

Who's taking it?

Jorge Grant if he's on the pitch or Kingsley. 

Bongo 1874

Gordon

Lembikisa Halkett Kent Kingsley 

Sibbick

Nieuwenhof     Cochrane 

Vargas                   Forrest 

Shankland 

Aggressive counter-press.

Edited by Bongo 1874

Who's taking it?

Iirc halkett takes a pretty good pen. I was hoping he would take it Vs Dundee. 

Who's taking it?

Shankland 

7 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

Kingsley should stay away from penalties after his effort in the cup final 

Who's taking it?

Naismith confirmed Shankland was still on pens after the Dundee game. 

3 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

Correct 

Oda be a JT

Hi have a sneaky feeling we are due to give someone a hammering and hopefully it’s the sheep, but also take a scrappy 1-0 with an o.g being the winner!

3 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

TBH, no team puts in 90 minute performances.  Not even the OF. 

We have played well at times in matches. But too often, we miss big chances at crucial times or our final decision/final pass needs to be better. And at the same time, in recent games in particular,  we shoot ourselves in the foot defensively, although we have been significantly better in that regard this season.

We also have an excellent team spirit, a trait of which cannot be underestimated. Thats twice in a row we have gone 0-2 down at home and both times, we have got points. Now obviously its better to not go 0-2 down but these results and fight to get back into the match and in particular the result on Tuesday, psychologically will be massive this season.

I get what you are saying though.

I genuinely think we are going to give a team a pumping when we fully click. 

Edited by MattyK82

Bongo 1874
1 minute ago, MattyK82 said:

TBH, no team puts in 90 minute performances.  Not even the OF. 

We have played well at times in matches. But too often, we miss big chances at crucial times or our final decision/final pass needs to be better. And at the same time, in recent games in particular,  we shoot ourselves in the foot defensively, although we have been significantly better in that regard this season.

We also have an excellent team spirit, a trait of which cannot be underestimated. Thats twice in a row we have gone 0-2 down at home and both times, we have got points. Now obviously its better to not go 0-2 down but these results and fight to get back into the match and in particular the result on Tuesday, psychologically will be massive this season.

I get what you are saying though.

I genuinely think we are going to give a team a pumping when we fully click. 

Tempo and playing more positively is key,any good team I've watched works hard with and out of possession.

Similar to our first game against Aberdeen we pressed and forced them to go long.

3 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Tempo and playing more positively is key,any good team I've watched works hard with and out of possession.

Similar to our first game against Aberdeen we pressed and forced them to go long.

We didn't force them, that's just how they play!

Bongo 1874
1 minute ago, fabienleclerq said:

We didn't force them, that's just how they play!

Quite clearly see us win many turnovers in that video mate.

They also tried to play out numerous times, and we regained possession we did force them.

Rick Sanchez

Clark

Lembikisa

Halkett

Kent

Kingsley

Baningime/Nieuwenhof

Tait

Vargas

Grant

Forrest

Shankland

Just watched their highlights v St Johnstone,  VAR gave them two big decisions that I think were wrong. They are so bad defensively. 

Jack Torrance
2 hours ago, Life Aquatic said:

Who's taking it?

53110.png.3759aa77a8dfac7f71bc61e446da9414.png

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Shankland 100%. He will bury the next one.

His penalty misses, when analysed individually, have not been awful. Shanks still on them for me.

With Tue injuries i could see big Pete playing a part on Sat.

1 hour ago, fabienleclerq said:

Kingsley missed his only attempt for us. 

1 hour ago, Mirror said:

Iirc halkett takes a pretty good pen. I was hoping he would take it Vs Dundee. 

Missed twice 

2 hours ago, Life Aquatic said:

Who's taking it?

Big sexy. Have you seen his penalties? 😮‍💨

46 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

Just watched their highlights v St Johnstone,  VAR gave them two big decisions that I think were wrong. They are so bad defensively. 

Extremely soft, hope we don’t show any interest in Liam Gordon hes awful. 

AC Mallin_51
5 hours ago, The Tackle said:

I like it, hope this catches on

14 minutes ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

Doubt it. Guess SN may keep the 3 at the back for this one.

I would play Gordon but I don't think he will.

My guess for the team is 

Clark 

Dexter (RWB)

Halkett,Kent,Kingsley (CB's)

Cochrane (LWB)

Grant and Hoff (CM)

Forrest,Vargas supporting Shanks 

If he goes for the 4-2-3-1, 

Clark 

Dexter - RB

Kingsley - LB

Kent and Halkett - CB's

Grant and Hoff (CM)

Vargas, Forrest and Tait (AM's)

Shanks (Up top)

Although I wouldn't be surprised to see Cochrane in there (even in MF)

jambo mark

3-4-3

clark

kent

halkett 

Kingsley

Dexter 

cochrane

hoff

Grant

Forest 

Vargas 

shanks

has the ability to become a 4-3-3 by moving Cochrane to midfield 3, playing Forest and Vargas wide behind shanks

Montgomery Brewster

Let’s get stuck into these mutton molesters from the 1st min ! 🐑 

and really Seeken that Gareth hunt Willie Miller . An absolute welt 

On 24/01/2024 at 10:52, RustyRightPeg said:

Haring. C'mon mate. If Fraser signs, he's in beside Hoff. 

IF Fraser signs Friday he certainly won't be starting on Saturday. Maybe off the bench

3 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Gordon

Lembikisa Halkett Kent Kingsley 

Sibbick

Nieuwenhof     Cochrane 

Vargas                   Forrest 

Shankland 

Aggressive counter-press.

Sibbick is about as aggressive as my bairns fluffy teddy bear. 

20 minutes ago, Henroddy said:

IF Fraser signs Friday he certainly won't be starting on Saturday. Maybe off the bench

Has there been any movement towards his arrival, why Fri?

Bongo 1874
31 minutes ago, DS98 said:

Sibbick is about as aggressive as my bairns fluffy teddy bear. 

Disagree keep on top of him very good player.

Appreciate the opinion though mate.

1 hour ago, Mac80 said:

Is Beni out?

Dont know but I get a feeling we won’t see him for while. 😏

soonbe110
3 hours ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

His penalty misses, when analysed individually, have not been awful. Shanks still on them for me.

Missed the target at ER, Tuesday he hit it to the perfect space for a keeper to save.  Should have been nearer post or three feet higher.  Livi he just tried down the middle, keeper gets a foot to it - it happens. One out of three decent for me, two poor pens. Still think he should take next one but it’s last chance saloon. 

soonbe110

Warm the bench at best unless he was injured or ill on Tuesday.  Think he is no longer in managers plans. 

I think so also. 

5 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Warm the bench at best unless he was injured or ill on Tuesday.  Think he is no longer in managers plans. 

he started against livi just before the break. And was one of our better players on the day.  > hof easily that day

1971fozzy

I would play Denholm or Tait rather than Pete. I think we need quick and energetic play in the middle.  Though that thug Shinnie will be kicking everything in maroon. Wonder who the ref is ?

4 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

I would play Denholm or Tait rather than Pete. I think we need quick and energetic play in the middle.  Though that thug Shinnie will be kicking everything in maroon. Wonder who the ref is ?

Kevin Clancy, he hates us.