*******Official Hearts v Aberdeen Match Thread*******

Sooperstar

• Sooperstar changed the title to *******Official Hearts v Aberdeen Match Thread*******
  • Replies 1.4k

• Hearts007

• ...andFulton'sBaggio

• Marvin

• McNelly15

Yeah, nevermind the goals at Easter Road, against Ross County and at Livi. 

Erse. 🤣

Screenshot_20240123_232910_Samsung Internet.jpg

gnasher75
6 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Yeah, nevermind the goals at Easter Road, against Ross County and at Livi. 

Erse. 🤣

Screenshot_20240123_232910_Samsung Internet.jpg

Funny how his penalties have dried up since he started scoring all kinds of other goals.

Mikey1874

Naismith said post match Grant and Forrest didn't start tonight due to 3 games in a week. So probably in team. 

gnasher75

Hope to see us ditch the back 3 and go with the formation that we finished with against Dundee.

My team would be

Gordon

Lemikisa Kent Kingsley Cochrane 

Nieuwenhof Tait

Vargas  Grant  Forrest

Shankland 

I have no issue rotating the keepers.

Halkett and Beni are still lacking sharpness and Beni looks tired.

If Cochrane is injured Halkett plays and Kingsley moves to LB.

Oda might deserve a start but maybe better off the bench again.

Huge game when it comes down to it. Win this and it's a statement of intent going after the break. Even with all their games in hand, it could conclusively shut them out of third.

Uncle Buck

Clark

Dexter Kent Halkett Kingsley

Nieuwenhof Tait

Oda Grant Forrest

Shankland

I’ll go 2-0 to Hearts. **** Aberdeen.

I'll go with home win, that seems to be how it goes in matches against them.

2-1, Shankland to get back on the score sheet.

6 hours ago, gnasher75 said:

Funny how his penalties have dried up since he started scoring all kinds of other goals.

Guy can't score them anymore :rofl:

Other clubs fans are thick as ****.

More important for them to win.

If we beat them, they'll all but give up on 3rd, if they win and can win 2 or 3 of their games in hand then they'll feel they have a sniff.

Beat them and that's them out of 3rd place imo.

Like a mini cup final, I'm in hospitality anaw so we better win.

Tight game me thinks.

6-3.

TexasAndy

I saw this as a massive week.  Win these two games and we will be very hard to catch for 3rd.  It's always a big game against the sheep but this could kill their Euro hopes.

GrimUpNorth

A win and I think that's 3rd place wrapped up. Still plenty of games left but we're on far better form than everyone below us and they'll all drop loads of points. I still think Aberdeen are our biggest threat for 3rd.

Aberdeen will be lucky to make top six, abysmal team. Let’s throw the kitchen sink at them.

Either keeper suits me

Lembikisa__Kent__Halkett__Kingsley

____Nieuwenhoff__Tait

______Oda__Shankland__Forrest

_______________Vargas

gregzy2k7

Gordon

Kent Halks Kingsley

Dexter Beni Tait Cochrane

Neiwenhof 

Shanks Vargas

Think we need a 3 man midfield to combat aberdeens hatchet men in there, agree that Tait should start, bring Forrest and Oda on later to cause them more problems.

4-2 to the Hearts.

Massive game. Win and we're 17-20 points ahead of them. Not a chance they'll claw that back.

I would not be disappointed with a point in all honesty 

Their first eleven is decent and we are missing half a team. It keeps them at bay.

We absolutely crave an attacking midfielder with an eye for a goal 

Need to start matches alot better, 1st half last night was shocking.

Do this, and it should be a straight forward home win.

2-0 Shanks with both, one a pen.

Assuming Beni is out:

Clark

Kent Halks Kingsley

Dexter               Cochrane

Haring Hoff

Grant

Shanks Oda

A win is so, so important here. 

3 minutes ago, OTT said:

Assuming Beni is out:

Clark

Kent Halks Kingsley

Haring Hoff

Grant

Shanks Oda

Switch Forrest for Oda and that will be the team. Unless Haring's been injured? We seem to be keeping him for when it's necessary, and now it is.

gordiegords

Unlikely to get away with starting like we did last night of against county, if we start well I think we will win.

10 hours ago, gnasher75 said:

Hope to see us ditch the back 3 and go with the formation that we finished with against Dundee.

My team would be

Gordon

Lemikisa Kent Kingsley Cochrane 

Nieuwenhof Tait

Vargas  Grant  Forrest

Shankland 

I have no issue rotating the keepers.

Halkett and Beni are still lacking sharpness and Beni looks tired.

If Cochrane is injured Halkett plays and Kingsley moves to LB.

Oda might deserve a start but maybe better off the bench again.

Absolutely spot on…

I'd not start Tait.  Not that I do not hink he played well last night as I think he did but these youngsters need to be played sporadically imo. When they start playing well in these games then they feature more.  It is a huge step up.  They are all out to impress at the start so play well but then reality and the expectations kick in. Take Denhold, had a blinder at Parkhead then been honking since.  Was the same with wee Cochrane a few years back, Irving etc.  We need ot manage the integration better imo.

Edited by i8hibsh

Start like we did last night and we will get beaten for sure, however, I think hard lesson learned we will beat them in a game that will be more open due to Aberdeen needing to catch us.

6 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

I'd not start Tait.  Not that I do not hink he played well last night as I think he did but these youngsters need to be played sporadically imo. When they start playing well in these games then they feature more.  It is a huge step up.  They are all out to impress at the start so play well but then reality and the expectations kick in. Take Denhold, had a blinder at Parkhead then been honking since.  Was the same with wee Cochrane a few years back, Irving etc.  We need ot manage the integration better imo.

Agree, but our hand may be forced through injuries.

1 hour ago, PTBCAL said:

Their first eleven is decent and we are missing half a team. It keeps them at bay.

Hopefully we have got one.

A narrow victory for us IMO. 

Still can't be sure it will wrap up third place - you just have to look at last year's capitulation.

Weebroon98

A massive game in the hunt for 3rd place, avoid getting beat and we can right the mutton molesters out.  We can't afford to give them the start we gave dundee last night.

Just need to do them. 

****ing hate those mutton molesting weirdos. 

Stuck in the past clowns. 

4 minutes ago, Homme said:

A narrow victory for us IMO. 

Still can't be sure it will wrap up third place - you just have to look at last year's capitulation.

If we beat them on Saturday, the gap is 20 points to the sheep (appreciate their games in hand - but they've shown nothing to convince me they'll win them all) and presuming Hibs lose tonight, it could be as high as 14 to them. 

Your St Mirrens and Dundee's of the world all beat each other and trip over each other. I'd be a lot more confident. 

Edit: I think St Johnstone do them tonight. 

Edited by RustyRightPeg

The Mercer Takeover
39 minutes ago, OTT said:

Assuming Beni is out:

Clark

Kent Halks Kingsley

Haring Hoff

Grant

Shanks Oda

Not for me.

Gordon in goals, he is a better keeper.

Haring and Grant are tried and tested duds.

Forrest and Tait deserve a game

42 minutes ago, OTT said:

Assuming Beni is out:

Clark

Kent Halks Kingsley

Haring Hoff

Grant

Shanks Oda

Haring. C'mon mate. If Fraser signs, he's in beside Hoff. 

My half sister

We will continue our good run against bottom half teams, with wins against Aberdeen, Dundee and St Johnstone over the coming weeks.

1 minute ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Haring. C'mon mate. If Fraser signs, he's in beside Hoff. 

Whose winning the ball in midfield? 

Not disagreeing Haring isn't a great option but I don't see us dominating the ball. Need to be tough to breakdown and not be overrun in midfield. 

2 minutes ago, OTT said:

Whose winning the ball in midfield? 

Not disagreeing Haring isn't a great option but I don't see us dominating the ball. Need to be tough to breakdown and not be overrun in midfield. 

We dominate the ball against them. Aberdeen are back to front, not interested in playing. We need ball players when we have it.

I don't want to take anything away from Haring's contribution during his time at us, but Tait showed more in 40 minutes last night than he has for 18 months now. 

He's fine at your Livi's but I fully expect Fraser to go straight in all being well.

Will need to be better than last night, I'm sure it will be. Needle in these games, so we should be up for the fight more than we were for 55 minutes last night.

They have started to go with 4, we really aren't a 3 a 4 or a 5 set, it transforms as the game goes. Be interesting to see if Cochrane comes back in after his hook last night. Shinnie red card would be pleasing.

11 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Aged well, seems like every time we lose a goal we are falling apart, yet the table says otherwise, bit confused eh

ScottieMac17
1 hour ago, tartofmidlothian said:

Switch Forrest for Oda and that will be the team. Unless Haring's been injured? We seem to be keeping him for when it's necessary, and now it is.

I was actually thinking that maybe Pete is close to a move away since he has not been in the last two squads or training video clips? I think he should defo be playing if Beni is crocked.

No Idle Talk

They need 3pts here a lot more than we do. So we will have to guard against that and make sure we match their level of commitment. 

Our record at home to them is very strong but our home form overall has been patchy. 

Tricky to predict how this one will go. 

2 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

This has been an issue for a long time now. I know that those players are far from easy to find, but we desperately need a number 10 who can make late runs in to the box.

As for accepting a point - in the context of our current position in the league it would be decent, but it's Aberdeen we're playing and our record at home against them over the last couple of decades is very strong. If we play to our potential we should beat them comfortably.

21 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Will need to be better than last night, I'm sure it will be. Needle in these games, so we should be up for the fight more than we were for 55 minutes last night.

They have started to go with 4, we really aren't a 3 a 4 or a 5 set, it transforms as the game goes. Be interesting to see if Cochrane comes back in after his hook last night. Shinnie red card would be pleasing.

I'm wondering if his heads been turned now.

Just now, RustyRightPeg said:

I'm wondering if his heads been turned now.

Has someone shown an interest RRP ? 

11 minutes ago, jamboozy said:

Yeah EEN reporting interest from down South in Championship.

Clear few
10 minutes ago, jamboozy said:

Some web chat about Ipswich and Blackburn looking at Cochrane mibbe pish who knows 🤷‍♂️

12 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

I hate when people get banter wrong . It’s a bit like the Natural Order stuff . People do not get it and try and use it back and ends up losing its meaning