Storm Isha

mrmarkus1981_1

Highest wind speed gusts in central Scotland since 2012. 

Was wild . Part of my garden wall has come down 

• Replies 353

• Ulysses

• Tazio

• Ministryofdad

• Footballfirst

henrysmithsgloves
3 hours ago, OBE said:

Your down pipe and bins still there?...🙏🏻

The house ain't 😆

AlimOzturk
1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

The Day off :yas:  

Enjoy it. Head to the cinema, go for a pint, life’s to short to waste time off. 

AlimOzturk

Not the best sleep last night night. Had the cat (who never sleeps in our bed) curled up behind us shaking like a leaf due to the rattling and noises. 

Communal back garden will take some putting back together. Debris everywhere. 

The met office use the Beaufort scale to measure wind speed. They measure it in knots. To convert knots to MPH you have to times by 1.15. for example a wind speed recorded at 64kts an hour converts to 73.6Mph.

According to the Beaufort scale any wind speed that is 64kts plus is regarded as a Hurricane.

The worst I have personally experienced was down the South Atlantic in 1984, when we had to ride out a hurricane where wind speeds were recorded at 120mph.

9 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Enjoy it. Head to the cinema, go for a pint, life’s to short to waste time off. 

Telly and homemade soup. 

2012, was that Hurricane Bawbag?

Lots of wheelie bins on my street flipped open or flipped over, rubbish strewn everywhere.

No trees down as far as I can tell.

AlimOzturk
1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Telly and homemade soup. 

Nice. Perfect soup weather. 

Victorian
44 minutes ago, Cade said:

Lots of wheelie bins on my street flipped open or flipped over, rubbish strewn everywhere.

No trees down as far as I can tell.

Some chunky bits of timber strewn around.  Not the kind of tree debris you want clobbered with.  

superjack

That storm was nothing up here, the lid on a wheely bin blew open. We only got winds up to 70 odd mph though.

7 minutes ago, Pete Elliott said:

IMG_6497.jpeg.1ceb3166cbd48f8459ae65524e3be2d6.jpeg

IMG_6498.jpeg.1e570dd7e43846d1115ebe797ef44337.jpeg

😳🙈

Your astro looks in better nick than Livingston's. :whistling:

Legend Claws

Was a flight from Luton last night, horrendous. We circled Edinburgh for ages tried to land twice, must has beena few metres off the run way and then sharply pulled up. Ended up at Newcastle. A poor steward had been chucked across the plane earlier in the flight. No idea how we were even allowed to leave.

Victorian
11 minutes ago, Legend Claws said:

Was a flight from Luton last night, horrendous. We circled Edinburgh for ages tried to land twice, must has beena few metres off the run way and then sharply pulled up. Ended up at Newcastle. A poor steward had been chucked across the plane earlier in the flight. No idea how we were even allowed to leave.

It's crazy.  Edinburgh to Bristol diverted to Paris.  Tenerife to Edinburgh divered to Cologne.  Internal flight to Newquay went to Malaga.  😳

26 minutes ago, Legend Claws said:

Sounds grim.

Legend Claws
23 minutes ago, Victorian said:

It's crazy.  Edinburgh to Bristol diverted to Paris.  Tenerife to Edinburgh divered to Cologne.  Internal flight to Newquay went to Malaga.  😳

No idea why flights were even allowed to leave.

Victorian
Just now, Legend Claws said:

No idea why flights were even allowed to leave.

The shut your eyes and hope for the best plan.  

No sure how bad the winds on the M8 are but somehow my sister lost control of her motor and ended up in the wrong lane facing oncoming traffic. Keep yourself safe out there on the roads folk 

5 minutes ago, KG1874 said:

No sure how bad the winds on the M8 are but somehow my sister lost control of her motor and ended up in the wrong lane facing oncoming traffic. Keep yourself safe out there on the roads folk 

Bloody hell.

26 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Bloody hell.

Aye luckily she’s avoided any collision, well the other drivers avoided her I should say but could’ve easily been so much worse. Police followed her back to the house cause she was abit shaken up as you can expect. 

47 minutes ago, KG1874 said:

Good lord. 

The A1 was shut as far as Haddington earlier. 

4 minutes ago, KG1874 said:

Aye luckily she’s avoided any collision, well the other drivers avoided her I should say but could’ve easily been so much worse. Police followed her back to the house cause she was abit shaken up as you can expect. 

Glad she’s alright apart from being shaken.

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Part of that will be the airline will prefer the plane being in Malaga along with its crew. **** the passengers basically!

Edited by kila

45 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Good lord. 

The A1 was shut as far as Haddington earlier. 

What time was this? I went along it at about 7:50/8ish?

Any recommendations for someone who will do fence panel replacement?

9 minutes ago, leginten said:

Yourself?

That's a DIY job for a novice , a bairn could  tackle that job 

Any tradesmen is only going to cost you a hefty whack in the pocket 

Edited by Howdy Doody Jambo

9 minutes ago, leginten said:

Just panels or did the foundations get wrecked too? 

1 minute ago, kila said:

Just panels or did the foundations get wrecked too? 

The foundations are looking dodgy.

2 minutes ago, Howdy Doody Jambo said:

Yourself?

That's a DIY job for a novice , a bairn could  tackle that job 

Any tradesmen is only going to cost you a hefty whack in the pocket 

You underestimate the extent to which I am capable of botching any DIY job, I’m afraid.

5 minutes ago, leginten said:

You underestimate the extent to which I am capable of botching any DIY job, I’m afraid.

It's always easy when you know how.

Part of the fence doon. Roof of the shed currently in the neighbours garden. ******* :lol:

Japan Jambo
1 hour ago, leginten said:

There was a thread here in the shed about sheds (man caves) folk had built in their gardens, perhaps tap one of them up?

Only had a quick look this morning before I left but all I could see was our whirly gig snapping. If that's the extent of the damage then I'll take it!

5 hours ago, Pete Elliott said:

IMG_6497.jpeg.1ceb3166cbd48f8459ae65524e3be2d6.jpeg

IMG_6498.jpeg.1e570dd7e43846d1115ebe797ef44337.jpeg

😳🙈

Thoughts and prayers

I see we get to meet a new storm tomorrow. Jocelyn 

The Jazz Emu

By all accounts, down here in North Berwick was let off lightly compared to Edinburgh.

54 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Thoughts and prayers

I see we get to meet a new storm tomorrow. Jocelyn 

Aye, the forecast seems to be for 6-hour bursts of 50-60mph gales followed by relatively "calm"  20mph winds for a wee while before the next period of gales.  Seems to be  late Thursday before things die down.

4 minutes ago, ericthepen said:

Not a lot of cyclists out today ?

Or scaffolder or roof workers. Your point? 

Dawnrazor
6 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Aye, the forecast seems to be for 6-hour bursts of 50-60mph gales followed by relatively "calm"  20mph winds for a wee while before the next period of gales.  Seems to be  late Thursday before things die down.

We're on a Yellow warning untill Thursday I think.

Elderly passenger died late last night  when the car he was in hit a fallen tree on the Grangemouth to Polmont road.