Storm Isha

mrmarkus1981_1

Lots of coverage in the news about 'Storm Isha'.

What do we reckon? The real deal, or a damp squib. It's got very dark in sunny Dunny, raining now and wind picking up.

Thoughts and prayers 🙏

• Replies 362

• Ulysses

• Tazio

• Ministryofdad

• Footballfirst

6 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981_1 said:

Lots of coverage in the news about 'Storm Isha'.

What do we reckon? The real deal, or a damp squib. It's got very dark in sunny Dunny, raining now and wind picking up.

Thoughts and prayers 🙏

Quite nice this morning in Dunny too. 

Not now. Its pissing it down ☹️

mrmarkus1981_1
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Quite nice this morning in Dunny too. 

Not now. Its pissing it down ☹️

Had the dogs round John Muir just in time. Heading to The Creel shortly for Sunday dinner and wine, might as well go down happy 🤣

15 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981_1 said:

Had the dogs round John Muir just in time. Heading to The Creel shortly for Sunday dinner and wine, might as well go down happy 🤣

Decent 👍

Buckle up.

NE of Scotland has been absolutely batted since Arwen in Nov 21. 

Storm Pishan doon here.

Luckily my house is at the top of a hill

Hoping it clears up for Tuesday when I'm  driving through for the game

5 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Storm Pishan doon here.

Stays windy apparently 50-60 mph gusts Tuesday evening 

inspector

Rain just started here. Wind picking up. High tide at 20:37. Could get interesting

Sooperstar
12 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Storm Pishan doon here.

Tuesday in Edinburgh looks miserable. 

Pissing down east coast the now , Dunbar , Berwick upon tweet route 

Real. The Met Office are pretty damned good at this stuff. I agree that 'it's January in Scotland' but sometimes it does no harm to quantify the risk for the hard of thinking.....

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Giving names to the wind and pishing rain :rofl:

Apparently helps folk differentiate between each storm and weather warning, than just using a number increment.

Prolonged 60mph winds are worth warning folk about mind, not that many make any effort to secure things around their property.

Oh goodie, goodness, gundrops. A week of ice, followed by high winds and heavy rain. The joys of working on roofs. 

It wouldn't be so bad if we were given nice summers.

7 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Oh goodie, goodness, gundrops. A week of ice, followed by high winds and heavy rain. The joys of working on roofs. 

It wouldn't be so bad if we were given nice summers.

Wear a harness, a good one.

1 minute ago, Harry Potter said:

Scaffolding isn't too bad.

2 hours ago, been here before said:

Giving names to the wind and pishing rain :rofl:

Storm hibs would sound ok tbh

55 minutes ago, kila said:

Apparently helps folk differentiate between each storm and weather warning, than just using a number increment.

Prolonged 60mph winds are worth warning folk about mind, not that many make any effort to secure things around their property.

Aye Im aware of the reason but if you're to thick to realise that pishing rain and a blawing gale might be a bit iffy without the need to call it Chantelle, then you deserve evetything that comes your way.

henrysmithsgloves

Trampoline tied down 🤣 got blown into my garden during hurricane baw-bag😆

the posh bit
29 minutes ago, been here before said:

Aye Im aware of the reason but if you're to thick to realise that pishing rain and a blawing gale might be a bit iffy without the need to call it Chantelle, then you deserve evetything that comes your way.

You could always just shrug it off and go about your business as normal without having a nervous breakdown about it though? A reach for some arseholes, mind. 

Edited by the posh bit

5 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

You could always just shrug it off and go about your business as normal without having a nervous breakdown about it though? A reach for some arseholes, mind. 

Could do.

Or I could just post cliches on a messageboard I suppose.

Not much of a reach for arseholes, mind.

We’re quite exposed where we are, already sounds like my roof is going to come off😬 

The_razors_edge

I was out for beers and curry last night. It’s currently a bit windy in my living room 💨 🤢 

Will probably have to pick up my wheelie bin sometime around Tuesday after it's all over.

We will rebuild.

But on a more serious note, my neighbourhood has had several trees come down in the last few months even in relatively minor storms, causing a fair amount of damage.  

However, the council (or someone more competent) has managed to get tree surgeons to take down mostly all of the big old (dead) trees that were at risk so hopefully we'll escape this storm without any more incidents.

Edited by Cade

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

And always use a sky hook.

12 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

Slightly windy in Newtongrange, despite the amber weather warning 😂

Not supposed to hit till about 10pm 

Fire_At_The_Disco
1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

We’re quite exposed where we are, already sounds like my roof is going to come off😬 

I’m next to the woods, absolute stress every time ☹️

I’m just back from a wee stroll to the supermarket. Warm enough for shorts and a light jacket, but blowing an absolute hoolie and driving rain horizontally into your face. 

Dawnrazor

I was up in Glenesk yesterday and the trip up and back down was a bit dodgy, we were in a Box Transit Van, it was being blown about all over the place, Shap was a buttock clenching experience!

It's blowing a gale and pishing down now here, my house is at 900 ft so we're getting it full on.

15 minutes ago, Fire_At_The_Disco said:

I’m next to the woods, absolute stress every time ☹️

Eesh, I’m only worrying about one massive fir tree at the bottom of my garden, not a whole wood😬

Wild here in Broxburn. 

Doors locked, curtains drawn, glass of red, day off tomorrow and Hearts in the next round.  Isha can do one.

22 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

It's blowing a gale and pishing down now here, my house is at 900 ft so we're getting it full on.

Same elevation here in South Lanarkshire..... Let me know f your roof goes and Ill try to grab it for you on the way past.........

Psychedelicropcircle

Weathers been rank since about October 🥵😡🤬

Edited by Psychedelicropcircle

Dawnrazor
4 minutes ago, Daktari said:

Same elevation here in South Lanarkshire..... Let me know f your roof goes and Ill try to grab it for you on the way past.........

😅 I tell you what though, it doesn't get this windy very often, bloody serious. 

PaddysBar
57 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Not supposed to hit till about 10pm 

Fair picking up now to be honest😀

PortyJambo

Wild here in Peebles...and my 6 month old pup keeps wanting to go out to stand about and look around...wee shite.