Wine.

Dawnrazor

4 hours ago, Ulysses said:

I'm assuming most of those would be cheaper in Scotland, but I don't actually know.  :booze: 

You'd be lucky to find a lot of those wines in Scotland.

The independent wine merchant scene in Scotland is pretty poor.

Supermarkets dominate the off trade here and their ranges, in the main, are pish.

I'm a total 'soutpiel' and the only place you'll get a decent selection of South African wines is Majestic.

• Replies 268

• Ulysses

• Dawnrazor

• All roads lead to Gorgie

• periodictabledancer

23 hours ago, Dazo said:

The Mrs loves both of those but I’ll never forget the look on her face when some posh ***** informed her that Whispering Angel is just expensive wine for those that know nothing about wine. 😂

She still buys it though. 🙄🥲

My wife bought me a bottle of Whispering Angel for my 40th. Shite. 

5 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You'd be lucky to find a lot of those wines in Scotland.

The independent wine merchant scene in Scotland is pretty poor.

Supermarkets dominate the off trade here and their ranges, in the main, are pish.

I'm a total 'soutpiel' and the only place you'll get a decent selection of South African wines is Majestic.

It's a funny mix here.  Volume-wise, the trade is dominated by the supermarkets.  We also have a couple of off-licence chains that are very good for wines and beers. Then there are some independent one-off stores, but it depends on where you live.  The southside of Dublin is great for choice, but some other places have nothing apart from what you can find in supermarkets or petrol stations.

3 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Economics 101 - it's cheaper to keep her.  What wines would you recommend?

I think I posted it earlier in the thread. Burlesque - a Californian Zinfandel - is my personal fave. Seen it online for a tenner, but Vino in Edinburgh stock it for about £12.95.

Failing that, a good Catalan Priorat. Usually get given them and always forget the actual labels.

I struggle to detect the difference between whites unless they’re very good (and expensive). 

1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

I struggle to detect the difference between whites unless they’re very good (and expensive). 

I drink less white and more rosé than I used to, partly for that reason.  I think a decent dry rosé will substitute well for a white wine, but because of the grape varieties used they usually have more taste and body - more "ooomph".

(not that I have enough experience of drinking to be able to comment with authority, of course)

1 hour ago, Ulysses said:

I drink less white and more rosé than I used to, partly for that reason.  I think a decent dry rosé will substitute well for a white wine, but because of the grape varieties used they usually have more taste and body - more "ooomph".

(not that I have enough experience of drinking to be able to comment with authority, of course)

Of course ;) 

Lads you're missing out on white wines as there's some great grape varieties and some brilliant food partners out there

Picpoul de Pinet 

Riesling

Albarino/alvarinho

Torrontes

Viognier

Lugana - Trebbiano

Gewurztraminer

Fiano

Falanghina

Vermentino

all of them very different from each other and some of them very distinctive.

To be fair I like most wines*

* apart from the shite in the supermarkets

This seems to be more of a connoisseurs thread than just an every gadgers wine thread but... 

I do like a red... anything usually from £5.50 to £7 from local supermarket, especially reduced to said prices. 

Prefer a robust 12.5 to 14% cab sav, merlot or shiraz...

Couple of weeks ago I rediscovered a like of Mateus rose as-well... 

Only White I'll drink is a Chardonnay or cheap German white. 

red is my go to though.. 

If I had the money I'd join an online wine club or try the more expensive £7.50 - £10 bottles... 

12 hours ago, muldoon74 said:

This seems to be more of a connoisseurs thread than just an every gadgers wine thread but... 

I do like a red... anything usually from £5.50 to £7 from local supermarket, especially reduced to said prices. 

red is my go to though.. 

If I had the money I'd join an online wine club or try the more expensive £7.50 - £10 bottles... 

I think between those prices a Montepulciano D'abruzzo is good value for money with a similar flavour to shiraz. Chile probably has the best cab/ merlot that you would pay twice as much for if it was French at the same level. Bordeaux under £10 isn't worth looking at, thin watery, overly acidic and it's usually and bottled way too early. I think I mentioned it earlier but a costieres de nimes is usually a robust red that you can usually find for under £7. 

Look for the grape variety Voignier on offer as an alternative to Chardonnay as it produces a full flavoured white. 

13 hours ago, muldoon74 said:

red is my go to though.. 

Cut-n-paste...:smartass:

periodictabledancer
20 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Lads you're missing out on white wines as there's some great grape varieties and some brilliant food partners out there

Picpoul de Pinet - I started drinking this a few years ago but it has rocketed in price due to increased popularity / drough in France in recent years.  A lovely summer drink..

Riesling - looking forward to becoming nore acquainted with the better stuff in Germany next year,

Albarino/alvarinho - a big yes from me, such a change from the other white grapes that hog the shelves

Torrontes

Viognier - I do not like this at all. 

Lugana - Trebbiano

Gewurztraminer - love this in the summer

Fiano

Falanghina

Vermentino

Will give the others a try soon. Very soon. 😁

20 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

all of them very different from each other and some of them very distinctive.

To be fair I like most wines*

* apart from the shite in the supermarkets

5 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Will give the others a try soon. Very soon. 😁

German Whites are superb.

I did a tasting in Weingut Anselmann about 7 or 8 years ago and some of them were unreal. Auslese, Spatlese, Rieslings, Grauer Burgunder, pinot blanc.

I've still got a bottle of Siegerrebe Spatlese which is only 9% ABV but is about 70g/l residual sugar. Fantastic sweet/desert wine but absolute diabetes in a bottle. 

I also went to Weingut Langguth who make Blue Nun. Some of their estate wines were ridiculous. They did a Piesporter Goldtropfchen which was about 35 quid or so which was absolute class. 

One of the best illustrations of what to spend on wine i've ever seen is this

bibendum-vinonomic-graphic-update-v3c-01.jpg?width=850&height=559.8673066064371

a brilliant illustration of just how much bang you're getting for your buck in real terms. 

21p worth of wine in a £5.50 bottle 😂

If you can afford it you should try to go up a price point as you'll likely get a far better quality wine.

Deep discounted wines are never worth the full price they're being sold for. Ever

I noticed Aldi have a barolo and a chateauneuf du pape on offer down to about £10 and £12 each. They surely cant be great at that price, wines from areas that usually sell in the £20 plus market in other stores. Has anyone tried either of them from Aldi?

Barolo has taken me a while to get used to with it's thinner body but Pinot Noir was similar until I started to look at the flavour rather than how full the wine was. The perils of mostly drinking Aussie and US wines as an intro into the beverage is it makes you think all wine has to be big and bold and maintain a lot of sugar content! 

It gets easier to understand when wine critics talk about black fruit like blackberries and red fruit like cherries plus the tannins and how they differ when the wine isn't quite so sweet in the first place. 

42 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I noticed Aldi have a barolo and a chateauneuf du pape on offer down to about £10 and £12 each. They surely cant be great at that price, wines from areas that usually sell in the £20 plus market in other stores. Has anyone tried either of them from Aldi?

Barolo has taken me a while to get used to with it's thinner body but Pinot Noir was similar until I started to look at the flavour rather than how full the wine was. The perils of mostly drinking Aussie and US wines as an intro into the beverage is it makes you think all wine has to be big and bold and maintain a lot of sugar content! 

It gets easier to understand when wine critics talk about black fruit like blackberries and red fruit like cherries plus the tannins and how they differ when the wine isn't quite so sweet in the first place. 

One of my favourites, never tried a Barlow but will look out for one.

periodictabledancer
2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I did a tasting in Weingut Anselmann about 7 or 8 years ago and some of them were unreal. Auslese, Spatlese, Rieslings, Grauer Burgunder, pinot blanc.

I've still got a bottle of Siegerrebe Spatlese which is only 9% ABV but is about 70g/l residual sugar. Fantastic sweet/desert wine but absolute diabetes in a bottle. 

I also went to Weingut Langguth who make Blue Nun. Some of their estate wines were ridiculous. They did a Piesporter Goldtropfchen which was about 35 quid or so which was absolute class. 

I'm willing to break the bank this summer. :drunk:

Have booked a very nice hotel for the Euros  week and it has an "interesting" wine cellar. 

Cheers for the tips. 

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

The Aldi CNdP one is reduced from around £20 - I picked it up today but put it back and went for some  German & Portuguese whites instead.  

Anyone had any dealings with Naked Wines? I got a £75 discount coupon from my union today with them to spend on a case of 12 priced at £134.99 or more. Though I’d imagine getting into the good stuff will be quite a bit more, still £75 isn’t a bad money off deal. 
Champagne socialist. 

4 hours ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I think between those prices a Montepulciano D'abruzzo is good value for money with a similar flavour to shiraz. Chile probably has the best cab/ merlot that you would pay twice as much for if it was French at the same level. Bordeaux under £10 isn't worth looking at, thin watery, overly acidic and it's usually and bottled way too early. I think I mentioned it earlier but a costieres de nimes is usually a robust red that you can usually find for under £7. 

Look for the grape variety Voignier on offer as an alternative to Chardonnay as it produces a full flavoured white. 

:icon14:  One of my "go-to"s, if I'm looking for a tasty, everyday, wine. Other decent Languedoc-Roussillon wines to look out for are the likes of Corbieres, Fitou, and Cotes-du-Roussillon. 

3 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Yup. I'm not much of a white wine drinker (fed-up of checking into Heartburn Hotel... :ermm:), but we had some excellent ones on a recent motorhome trip to Germany. It was the beer I was looking forward to most (and I had plenty of that too - lovely! 🍻), but we were passing through some excellent wine areas - Franken, Bodensee, Baden, Mosel, for example - so had to try the local stuff on the way. We tried quite a few different grape varieties from the different regions and enjoyed everything we sampled; some even more than others, but there were no bad or indifferent ones. We never paid more than €5-€6 a bottle either.

None of them gave me indigestion. :thumbsup:

19 minutes ago, Auld Reekin' said:

:icon14:  One of my "go-to"s, if I'm looking for a tasty, everyday, wine. Other decent Languedoc-Roussillon wines to look out for are the likes of Corbieres, Fitou, and Cotes-du-Roussillon. 

👍That area has the best value wines in France. I sometimes get a Saint-Chinian in Tesco and it takes some beating. 

An interesting wine I tried from the Languedoc not so long ago was from an area near Carcassonne called Cabardes ( Chateau de Pennautier) which uses a mix of grapes normally associated with Bordeaux, ie Cabernet and Merlot plus the local Grenache and Syrah. It's the only area that is allowed to do that and not be downgraded to a Vin de France table wine and it was far from that! 

5 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

👍That area has the best value wines in France. I sometimes get a Saint-Chinian in Tesco and it takes some beating. 

An interesting wine I tried from the Languedoc not so long ago was from an area near Carcassonne called Cabardes ( Chateau de Pennautier) which uses a mix of grapes normally associated with Bordeaux, ie Cabernet and Merlot plus the local Grenache and Syrah. It's the only area that is allowed to do that and not be downgraded to a Vin de France table wine and it was far from that! 

I'll look out for that one. Cite de Carcassonne reds are also tasty and good value.

1 hour ago, periodictabledancer said:

The Aldi CNdP one is reduced from around £20 - I picked it up today but put it back and went for some  German & Portuguese whites instead.  

CNdPs are overpriced when you can get a good Cote du Rhone village wine equally as good for a quarter of the price. I had another look and the Aldi one was £12.99 but they had a Cote du Rhone Vinsobres for half that which would be potentially just as good and full bodied.  

2 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

One of my favourites, never tried a Barlow but will look out for one.

Just make sure it's a Barolo and not a Gary Barlow wine 😉

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Anyone had any dealings with Naked Wines? I got a £75 discount coupon from my union today with them to spend on a case of 12 priced at £134.99 or more. Though I’d imagine getting into the good stuff will be quite a bit more, still £75 isn’t a bad money off deal. 
Champagne socialist. 

I joined them during lockdown and their stuff was very good (a bit over priced IMO) but it comes with a 100% guarantee anyway. I loved some of their reds but at £12 a bottle plus P&P it should be good. IMO their stuff is way better than supermarket plonk but over priced.

I liked the idea of supporting particular wine growers but ultimately, economics willed out. 

3 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Gary Barlow Organic Red Wine, 75 cl Red Wine

The list of "celebrity" wines is getting out of hand now , Snoop Dog, Kylie Minogue, Gordon Ramsey, Leo DiCaprio  :sob:

8 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

The list of "celebrity" wines is getting out of hand now , Snoop Dog, Kylie Minogue, Gordon Ramsey, Leo DiCaprio  :sob:

But are any of them any good?

19 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

But are any of them any good?

I've never tried any and don't think I ever will but this guy has

Just now, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I've never tried any and don't think I ever will but this guy has

I got given a bottle of Stellar Organics Merlot 2022 tonight, it's very nice, I've not had a Merlot for a while, this is worth a try.

Screenshot_20231214-191910~2.png

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

I got given a bottle of Stellar Organics Merlot 2022 tonight, it's very nice, I've not had a Merlot for a while, this is worth a try.

Screenshot_20231214-191910~2.png

Great organic winery where the ducks roam the vineyards keeping the pests down.

They do a desert wine called 'Heaven on Earth' which is Muscat grapes left on the vine then dried further on Rooibos tea leaves before being pressed. Tastes absolutely magic 👍

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

They do a desert wine called 'Heaven on Earth' which is Muscat grapes left on the vine then dried further on Rooibos tea leaves before being pressed. Tastes absolutely magic 👍

I bet them Ducks would go lovely with this Merlot!

1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I've not got into dessert wines, I'll have to buy one.....ok, two for Christmas.

1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

I bet them Ducks would go lovely with this Merlot!

You'd get lynched if you went near them.

They're like the penguins at Edinburgh zoo. The star attractions 

On 14/12/2023 at 15:10, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I bought the Aldi Barolo mainly to celebrate the result today and for £11 it's not bad at all it has to be said. The flavour sticks around for a long time which is a sign of a decently produced wine. Wasn't expecting too much at that price for a Barolo but it turned out better than I thought it would be! 

After the stresses of today, I treated myself to a bottle of M&S Classic No.29 Malbec, very nice, had better but had a lot worse and for eight quid it's well worth the money, I've chucked the top in the fire and this bottle is getting done tonight, I've chucked work tomorrow.

I know Knaffall about wine, I've flung this bottle of port into my online shopping basket to go along with a cheeseboard, olives, chutney etc. 

Thoughts?

cockburns_special_reserve_port_75cl_19095_T1.jpg

Edited by Greedy Jambo

Just now, Greedy Jambo said:

I know Knaffall about wine, I've flung this bottle of port into my online shopping basket to go along with a cheeseboard, olives, chutney etc. 

Thoughts?

Perfectly drinkable port. Don’t drink it all though, a port hangover is an evil thing. 

4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Perfectly drinkable port. Don’t drink it all though, a port hangover is an evil thing. 

Aye, it's just to be shared on xmas day, i'll be stuffed full of food, so no point drinking beers. 

52 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Thoughts?

2 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Thoughts?

Not bad at all.

Port is a wee bit sweet for me though, so, if you perhaps like something a bit drier, get a bottle of Fino.

It’s a sherry, but not as we know it, Jim.  😀

Wonderful with cheese, olives and quince paste (Membrillo in Spanish).

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Not bad at all.

Port is a wee bit sweet for me though, so, if you perhaps like something a bit drier, get a bottle of Fino.

I'm a scummy buckfast fan, so the port might be my cup of tea, i fully expect it to be a lot more lethal though. 

I tried port about 20 years ago and it gave me the boak, to be honest. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Not bad at all.

The bar at my work used to sell a young white port that was to be served chilled. Kind of half way between a port and a sherry. Hard to describe but very drinkable. 

On 16/12/2023 at 22:52, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I bought the Aldi Barolo mainly to celebrate the result today and for £11 it's not bad at all it has to be said. The flavour sticks around for a long time which is a sign of a decently produced wine. Wasn't expecting too much at that price for a Barolo but it turned out better than I thought it would be! 

Good to know. Off to Aldi tomorrow, methinks.