What's it called again?

Morgan

9 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Don't they have an equivalent down in Engerlund-shire ?

Plenty of pies but sometimes only a scotch pie will do.

• Replies 279

• JudyJudyJudy

• Lone Striker

• Wee Mikey

9 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Bayne's is a baker shop. I think the butcher at Stenhouse Cross is Bain

Yes.

Baynes is a baker that I have only ever seen in Portobello and/or Musselburgh, I think.

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Yes.

Baynes is a baker that I have only ever seen in Portobello and/or Musselburgh, I think.

They have a few in Edinburgh now but pretty shite imo. Bains although I’ve not been in a while is top notch for pies or bridies. 

Edited by Dazo

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Yes.

They've got 6 in Edinburgh (including Porty). Others in outlying towns like Musselburgh. Currie, Loanhead etc  Loads of their shops in Fife towns  & Central Belt .... plus Perth & Dundee.

11 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Don't they have an equivalent down in Engerlund-shire ?

Nah nothing at all unless you get the odd Scottish baker/butcher supplying them 

I’ve got dead luck recently on the Isle of Man in that a couple also from Gracemount have started a mobile catering business and I can get scotch pies, square sausage, haggis, fruit pudding , dumpling and tattie scones as well as stovies, tablet and macaroon bars

They also supply chippy sauce!

Heaven but not good for my cholesterol I don’t think

17 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

dearie me , was at the match today and one of oor supporters called one of the Leeds players a " pansy"....jesus...seriously.... 

image-23-10-21-12-13-5.gif

That'll have been the one acting like a big girl's blouse ... bleedin' Jessie. 🙃

38 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

That'll have been the one acting like a big girl's blouse ... bleedin' Jessie. 🙃

lol I told my flatmate about it and he didn’t know that the word “ pansy “ was used as an offensive slur for the gays ! I suppose that’s good as it’s rarely heard now but I got called it loads as a kid ! I just stuck my fingers up at people who said that to me and told them to eff off 

IMG_2008.gif

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

40 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

Nah nothing at all unless you get the odd Scottish baker/butcher supplying them 

I’ve got dead luck recently on the Isle of Man in that a couple also from Gracemount have started a mobile catering business and I can get scotch pies, square sausage, haggis, fruit pudding , dumpling and tattie scones as well as stovies, tablet and macaroon bars

They also supply chippy sauce!

Heaven but not good for my cholesterol I don’t think

There’s a woman doing this too ? Thinks it’s “ pies2go” they are nice

41 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

They've got 6 in Edinburgh (including Porty). Others in outlying towns like Musselburgh. Currie, Loanhead etc  Loads of their shops in Fife towns  & Central Belt .... plus Perth & Dundee.

There’s a Baynes bottom of leith walk 

13 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Well you learn something new every day. I didn’t know this ! 

IMG_5291.png

I didn't know this either.   Back in the the 60s, the name Pansy cropped up occasionally in newspaper & magazine articles, so some parents must have  christened their daughters.   Maybe just another "flower" derivation like Rose, Poppy, Daisy, Violet  etc

A nice basket of pansies 😉-

th?id=OIP._Erq7a6OzFZ3e08AoBPmdAHaHa&pid=Api&P=0&h=180

5 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

I didn't know this either.   Back in the the 60s, the name Pansy cropped up occasionally in newspaper & magazine articles, so some parents must have  christened their daughters.   Maybe just another "flower" derivation like Rose, Poppy, Daisy, Violet  etc

A nice basket of pansies 😉-

th?id=OIP._Erq7a6OzFZ3e08AoBPmdAHaHa&pid=Api&P=0&h=180

😂😂

3 hours ago, Dazo said:

They have a few in Edinburgh now but pretty shite imo. Bains although I’ve not been in a while is top notch for pies or bridies. 

1 hour ago, Lone Striker said:

Thanks chaps. 👍

11 minutes ago, Morgan said:

We need more Jessies and Nancys if you ask me.

Nancy Sinatra

36 minutes ago, Morgan said:

NO NO no...... :) 

7 hours ago, Morgan said:

I had an Auntie Jessie a long long time ago.   It took decades before I realised that Jessie was a shortened version of Jessica, which was near the top of the "Girls Name" list for a while.

Trust the dang Americans to complicate  things though, with their "Jesse"  name for boys.   

Nancy Reagan

Nancy Sinatra

Nancy Pelosi

... and who could forget Nancy Dell'Olio  😜  One of Sven's many  ladies, including  Ulrika Jonnson and Faria Alim, who worked at the FA and was allegedly 2-timing Sven (England manager) and Mark Palios (FA CEO).    

I had an Auntie Jessie a long long time ago.   It took decades before I realised that Jessie was a shortened version of Jessica, which was near the top of the "Girls Name" list for a while.

Trust the dang Americans to complicate  things though, with their "Jesse"  name for boys.   

Nancy Reagan

Nancy Sinatra

Nancy Pelosi

... and who could forget Nancy Dell'Olio  😜  One of Sven's many  ladies, including  Ulrika Jonnson and Faria Alim, who worked at the FA and was allegedly 2-timing Sven (England manager) and Mark Palios (FA CEO).    

Our best friend ever has dinner regularly with Nancy Pelosi and the late Tony Bennett.

We met Nancy Pelosi once at the Vatican and she was a lovely lady.

Nancy Reagan

Nancy Sinatra

Nancy Pelosi

Judy has a grandson called Jesse . Who can forget Nancy Marchand I can’t 

IMG_0151.png

Is it any coincidence that the great American outlaw, bank robber and train robber was called Jesse James?

I don’t think that it is.

👌

8 hours ago, Morgan said:

Is it any coincidence that the great American outlaw, bank robber and train robber was called Jesse James?

I don’t think that it is.

👌

Jesse Pinkman totally ROOLS!!!

19 hours ago, Morgan said:

Our best friend ever has dinner regularly with Nancy Pelosi and the late Tony Bennett.

We met Nancy Pelosi once at the Vatican and she was a lovely lady.

HAS dinner with the late Tony Bennett

I do love a seance! 😂

3 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

HAS dinner with the late Tony Bennett

I do love a seance! 😂

A while after posting that, I realised I should have written ‘had’.

Unfortunately, it was too late to edit it!

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

A while after posting that, I realised I should have written ‘had’.

Unfortunately, it was too late to edit it!

On 31/07/2023 at 09:29, Morgan said:

Yes.

Baynes is Fife in origin. Possibly Balingry.

16 minutes ago, redjambo said:

:D Ok, we'll give you that one.

Be careful now, red.

Old Herbie bunny will want to steal it.  He likes a bit of jail time. He even admits to it.

30 minutes ago, Boris said:

Baynes is Fife in origin. Possibly Balingry.

I’d never even heard of them until about six weeks ago!

I just can’t wait to be back here permanently.

13 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Aye, richt ... gie it anither couple o' weeks an' ye'll be oan yer hauns & knees beggin' fir the first flicht frae Turnhoose tae the sooth aw France. 🤭

3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Aye, richt ... gie it anither couple o' weeks an' ye'll be oan yer hauns & knees beggin' fir the first flicht frae Turnhoose tae the sooth aw France. 🤭

I won’t.

The SOF is my worst nightmare now.

Andalusia next!  👍

20 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I won’t.

The SOF is my worst nightmare now.

Andalusia next!  👍

Your options are enviable. 😁

7 hours ago, Morgan said:

I'd never heard of them before, then I met my Mrs. She's from that neck of the woods and we now stay in kdy.

Baynes everywhere!

Back on topic, the Bread Street store.

An amazing inside, Edinburgh's Grace Brothers.

Became the Point Hotel. Not sure if that's still going?

3 hours ago, Boris said:

I’d forgotten about that place!

How about Goldbergs? Bit of an institution I reckon.

25 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I’d forgotten about that place!

How about Goldbergs? Bit of an institution I reckon.

Totally.  Great toy department and the menagerie at the top. Exotic in the otherwise beige 1970's!

6 hours ago, Boris said:

That's where my mum & dad bought me my Chopper bike from back in the 70's.

I seem to remember them having one of those vacuum tube type systems for firing cannisters with paperwork between floors.

ps ... I really should've kept it rather than swap it for a rotten pretendy 'racer' (crystal balls an' aw that):-

https://www.malthouseemporium.com/products/1971-raleigh-chopper-bike-mark-1

Edited by Wee Mikey

1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

I seem to remember them having one of those vacuum tube type systems for firing cannisters with paperwork between floors.

ps ... I really should've kept it rather than swap it for a rotten pretendy 'racer' (crystal balls an' aw that):-

My Chopper was from Halfords in Hanover Street, I think

There's another one - Halfords!

On 30/07/2023 at 10:15, Dirk McTarkin said:

So did I. 

Drop the Bill Leckies in there before heading along to the Paradox Club

Used to start in the Rainbow. 

2 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

I never had a chopper until I got older 

51 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I never had a chopper until I got older 

:greggy:

Have you used it much since?

1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Too much 

No such thing, Jude.

A ride’s a ride.

👌

22 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No such thing, Jude.

A ride’s a ride.

👌

I ken, Just trying to downplay it :) 

40 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Good afternoon, Varmin.  👍

Good afternoon Morgs 😂 all set for the new season? 

11 minutes ago, Marvin said:

Good afternoon Morgs 😂 all set for the new season? 

Yes, I have a feeling that it’ll be a good one for Hearts.  🤞