What's it called again?

Morgan

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Ha! I want old enough to drink when I knew him. We were in scouts together!

A flamboyant character! 58th Gorgie Scouts opposite the top of Robertson Ave?

• Replies 280

• JudyJudyJudy

• Lone Striker

• Wee Mikey

Ha! I want old enough to drink when I knew him. We were in scouts together!

Double post

Edited by Toxteth O'Grady

Montgomery Brewster
6 hours ago, Seaside jambo said:

Remember my auld man telling me that the 99was invented in portobello 

Arcarri the ice cream shop was at 99high street 

my auld man grew up in the 20s but couldn’t tell you if there’s any truth to the story and the shop is long gone 

The King of Italy had an elite bodyguard consisting of 99 men. So anything elite was called 99s by Italians. So they called the elite ice cream a 99.

My folks referred to Edinburgh airport as 'Turnhouse' long after the new terminal opened, and similarly Glasgow was 'Abbotsinch'.

The hotel building on the Bridges still PT’s to me

Rumours

Fat Sam’s 

J and R Allan’s 

Woolworths at Tollcross

The ABC

The Wine Glass

Grants and Pizzaland below it 

Mad Hatters

Caley Hotel

Newington Station

The Oratava

All names I still use when giving directions

Jenners Will always be Jenners

47 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

The hotel building on the Bridges still PT’s to me

Rumours

Fat Sam’s 

J and R Allan’s 

Woolworths at Tollcross

The ABC

The Wine Glass

Grants and Pizzaland below it 

Mad Hatters

Caley Hotel

Newington Station

The Oratava

All names I still use when giving directions

Jenners Will always be Jenners

Mrs Dawnrazor worked at Fat Sam's for about a year in the early 90's, she loved working there.

Padrona della casa
2 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

My gran used to call the radio the wireless.

She's deed.

My husband still does and he’s no deed.

Just now, Padrona della casa said:

Well, it's only a matter of time. 

Percival King
3 hours ago, Daktari said:

My folks referred to Edinburgh airport as 'Turnhouse' long after the new terminal opened, and similarly Glasgow was 'Abbotsinch'.

The departure board in Faro last week referred to "Edinburgh Turnhouse". First time I'd seen that in decades.

3 hours ago, Daktari said:

2 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

My gran used to call the radio the wireless.

She's deed.

I'm 62

it's the wireless and Turnhouse for me

Maybe i'll be deed soon

better than working I suppose 😂

8 minutes ago, Percival King said:

The departure board in Faro last week referred to "Edinburgh Turnhouse". First time I'd seen that in decades.

Somewhere in Portugal, there's a bloke on a supporters web site typing 'yes, I still call it Turnhouse on the departures board at work....'  :) 

Edited by Daktari

4 hours ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

A flamboyant character! 58th Gorgie Scouts opposite the top of Robertson Ave?

42nd Craiglockhart ? At the Candlish Church, opposite the Orwell Lodge.

Just now, I P Knightley said:

42nd Craiglockhart ? At the Candlish Church, opposite the Orwell Lodge.

At that makes sense - he stayed at Cowan road 

1 minute ago, The White Cockade said:

I'm 62

it's the wireless and Turnhouse for me

Maybe i'll be deed soon

better than working I suppose 😂

If you've got a wireless radio, you're ahead of the times and have a long life ahead of you. 

24 minutes ago, Padrona della casa said:

21 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Well, it's only a matter of time. 

Christ, man.

Is there any need for remarks like that?

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Christ, man.

Is there any need for remarks like that?

It was a joke, Morgan, cheer up. 

1 minute ago, Greedy Jambo said:

It was a joke, Morgan, cheer up. 

Sorry, I missed the humour in telling someone that  their husbands death was ‘only a matter of time’.

I’m very cheery, thanks.

Having a tremendous summer so far. Away from France, away from relentless heat and sunshine, away for weeks and weeks.

Nothing could beat this feeling.

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Nothing could beat this feeling.

No even a gam fi a bit o' strange? 🤔

2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

No even a gam fi a bit o' strange? 🤔

I’m going to Andalucia next for that.  👍

Just now, Morgan said:

I’m going to Andalucia next for that.  👍

😂 Good man Morgan, good man 😎👍

2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

😂 Good man Morgan, good man 😎👍

Likewise, Mr Razor.  👍

There's no point worrying about death, you don't know what happens next. 

Personally i'm hoping i come back as Brad Pitt. 

West End Brasserie ?   Nope

Ryan's Bar ?   Aye maybe

Rankin's Fruit & Veg store ?    Aye, definitely !!!  👍

Anybody know what Bianco’s is called now?

Used to be a frequent destination after work on Friday nights

The Bandwagon was another one us Cooncil workers used to hit later on Friday as well

The good old days

6 minutes ago, The White Cockade said:

Anybody know what Bianco’s is called now?

Used to be a frequent destination after work on Friday nights

The Bandwagon was another one us Cooncil workers used to hit later on Friday as well

The good old days

Bianco’s is now The Angel’s Share a designer whisky bar. 

My first nightclub was  " sinatras" in the st james centre . Then we would go to " outer limits" at Tollcross. I then went to " the laughing duck" and then the legendary " Fire Island".( where early entry was only 40p) :) 

Seaside jambo
15 hours ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

The King of Italy had an elite bodyguard consisting of 99 men. So anything elite was called 99s by Italians. So they called the elite ice cream a 99.

Every day a school day 

Thanks

9 hours ago, Tazio said:

Bianco’s is now The Angel’s Share a designer* whisky bar. 

*Sounds wanky as ****.

File next to 'taproom'.

3 hours ago, Marvin said:

I used to go to  Banana Jax on Lothian Road next Century 2000 and the arcade. 

So did I. 

Drop the Bill Leckies in there before heading along to the Paradox Club

3 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

My first nightclub was  " sinatras" in the st james centre . Then we would go to " outer limits" at Tollcross. I then went to " the laughing duck" and then the legendary " Fire Island".( where early entry was only 40p) :) 

Early entry sounds right up your street, James.

If you'll pardon the pun.

😰

Fire Island used to be called the West End Club, if I remember correctly?

Just now, Morgan said:

Early entry sounds right up your street, James.

If you'll pardon the pun.

😰

Fire Island used to be called the West End Club, if I remember correctly?

Yes it was called that before . It was before my time though 😂

Padrone della casa

Mince pie or Scotch pie? Season before last I asked for a mince pie at the stadium kiosk and was told by the young guy serving that we do not sell them. May be an age thing but a mince pie is a pie with minced beef inside.

1 hour ago, Padrone della casa said:

Mince pie or Scotch pie? Season before last I asked for a mince pie at the stadium kiosk and was told by the young guy serving that we do not sell them. May be an age thing but a mince pie is a pie with minced beef inside.

Yes, that's what a mince pie is. 👍

dearie me , was at the match today and one of oor supporters called one of the Leeds players a " pansy"....jesus...seriously.... 

image-23-10-21-12-13-5.gif

6 hours ago, Padrone della casa said:

Mutton. It’s mutton inside a proper mince pie. 

16 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Correct. Zackley what I was going to say.

A "pie" at the chippie's is a mutton pie, always has been. If you were after beef, you'd specify 'Steak', marking yourself out as a right posh twat.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Correct. Zackley what I was going to say.

A "pie" at the chippie's is a mutton pie, always has been. If you were after beef, you'd specify 'Steak', marking yourself out as a right posh twat.

I’ve never, never in my puff known that it was mutton inside a pie.

Great place for learning things this Kickback.  👍

On 29/07/2023 at 11:59, Seaside jambo said:

Remember my auld man telling me that the 99was invented in portobello 

Arcarri the ice cream shop was at 99high street 

my auld man grew up in the 20s but couldn’t tell you if there’s any truth to the story and the shop is long gone 

One of these coincidences that I'm reading this. I asked for a 99 cone today at the park and the lass had no idea what I was talking about and said they didn't do them. As she was putting the ice cream in the cone, I spotted a tub of flakes and asked her to put one in the ice-cream. Ta da. It turns out she thought I was asking for a mythical ice cream that only costs 99p. She had never heard of a 99 cone. I feel old. :)

On 29/07/2023 at 18:45, Montgomery Brewster said:

Doesn't seem to be a given though.

https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/whats-on/food-drink-news/why-99-ice-cream-called-24467722

If I ever invent a time travel machine, stuff going back to Dallas in 1963 or to the first performance of Beethoven's Fifth. I'm going to head back in time to find out when and where the term "99 cone" was first used.

Padrone della casa
44 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I’ve never, never in my puff known that it was mutton inside a pie.

Great place for learning things this Kickback.  👍

My original post was intended to question whether the pies as manufactured by Bells and described by them and other bakers as Scotch pies should correctly be described as mince pies given there is absolutely no mutton in them, only a small amount of minced beef and lots of rusk as a filling. 
To me a mutton pie is what used to be made by butchers and has always been called a mutton pie or mince pie. The last time I had a proper mutton pie was years ago in the borders. I believe the pies being made these days contain at best, lamb but usually beef. Steak mince pies as sold by the Stenhouse butchers are something completely different.

Bains at Stenhouse, 99’s and mutton.  :wow: 

Imagine if I’d started a thread about butchers shops, Italian bodyguards and Aberdeen Football Club.

Us nemesis sorts are all the same.

Where's the best place to order scotch pies? I've stopped at The Butchery in Lockerbie a couple of times and their pies are ok, I could d with getting a dozen delivered.

32 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Bains at Stenhouse, 99’s and mutton.  :wow: 

Imagine if I’d started a thread about butchers shops, Italian bodyguards and Aberdeen Football Club.

Us nemesis sorts are all the same.

Baynes ? 

3 hours ago, Tazio said:

Yep - it certainly isn't minced beef.     Minced mutton - doesn't sound appetising, and seldom tastes appetising either, come to think of it.    😏

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Where's the best place to order scotch pies? I've stopped at The Butchery in Lockerbie a couple of times and their pies are ok, I could d with getting a dozen delivered.

Don't they have an equivalent down in Engerlund-shire ?

35 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Baynes ? 

Bayne's is a baker shop. I think the butcher at Stenhouse Cross is Bain