What's it called again?

Morgan

We were chatting with a friend over coffee this morning and she said she'd heard something on the radio about folk still calling things and places by their 'old' names.

Examples were 'taping' something from the TV and the Huxley at the West End still being called 'The Rutland'.

We still cal the St James Quarter the St James Centre and various pubs by their old name, like The Waiting Room which we still call The Belhaven.

We still call the Hanging Bat the Burnt Post and that pub on Brougham Place The Illicit Still.  

I'm sure there are plenty others.

• Replies 280

• JudyJudyJudy

• Lone Striker

• Wee Mikey

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

We were chatting with a friend over coffee this morning and she said she'd heard something on the radio about folk still calling things and places by their 'old' names.

Examples were 'taping' something from the TV and the Huxley at the West End still being called 'The Rutland'.

We still cal the St James Quarter the St James Centre and various pubs by their old name, like The Waiting Room which we still call The Belhaven.

We still call the Hanging Bat the Burnt Post and that pub on Brougham Place The Illicit Still.  

Remember Olivers in Rose street, whats that now ?. if still there.

The Oak, Corstorphine.  Now The Torfin and has been for some time. 

I’m having a memory block on a pubs old name around Gorgie/Dalry, (maybe towards the West End?) that my Dad and other old timers used when referring to it?   It was about 40 years out of date 😁

Need to make some calls, I’m going spare! 🙃

I arranged meets at "The Nirvana" years after it became "The Ardmillan".

Even now I have to think twice if I refer to it.

ET's in Easter Road was another pub that was so called long after Turnbull had given it up. 

I still describe any shop location which used to be a Woolworths  as Woolies.   Similar with Binns corner at the West End - it'll always be Binns corner to us oldies.

Miller & Carter as you come in from Queensferry - nah, its the Cramond Brig.

The Jade Chinese restaurant opposite the zoo - nah, its the Struan

45 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

I still describe any shop location which used to be a Woolworths  as Woolies.   Similar with Binns corner at the West End - it'll always be Binns corner to us oldies.

Miller & Carter as you come in from Queensferry - nah, its the Cramond Brig.

The Jade Chinese restaurant opposite the zoo - nah, its the Struan

The Heavenly Chinese restaurant at Morningside.

It's a feckin Dominos now. 💀

Still the Heavenly to me though.

I called it Cav / Cavendish even though it was never called that when I frequented it (think it was ignite)

Goldberg's at Tollcross.

Feck me, it's not been there for about 1000 years.

4 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Remember Olivers in Rose street, whats that now ?. if still there.

Dave Clunies boozer.  

Do you remember the Galloping Major, also in Rosé Street?

9 minutes ago, jambo89 said:

I called it Cav / Cavendish even though it was never called that when I frequented it (think it was ignite)

I'd probably call that Coasters.

3 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Calling Scotmid The Store.

C & A's?

We still call H & M by that name.

Just now, JKB Member C said:

I'd probably call that Coasters.

Jurassic Park to me.

Or Alton Towers - tenner to get in then all the rides are free.

The N.B.

P.T.s on North Bridge

The A.B.C. on Lothian Road.

The Dragonara

The Esso Crest Hotel on Queensferry Road

Edited by FWJ

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Jurassic Park to me.

Or Alton Towers - tenner to get in then all the rides are free.

Alton Towers. I've no heard that one before. 🤣😂🤣

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

The N.B.

P.T.s on North Bridge

The A.B.C. on Lothian Road.

Yes to two of these, except the picture house on Lothian Road at Morrison Street is The Regal.

And the picture house at St. Patrick's Square is the New Victoria.

1 minute ago, Maple Leaf said:

Yes to two of these, except the picture house on Lothian Road at Morrison Street is The Regal.

How about the Ritz at Cannonmills and the Astoria in Corstorphine?

2 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

It's not even The Odeon now.  :sadrobbo:

Just now, FWJ said:

How about the Ritz at Cannonmills and the Astoria in Corstorphine?

Don't know the Astoria but remember the Ritz on Rodney Street.

Just now, Morgan said:

Don't know the Astoria but remember the Ritz on Rodney Street.

Was down Manse Road I think.  Last film I saw was a Saturday morning flick about the Red Baron or some WW1 thing.

Think it’s a frozen food shop or something now.

Just now, FWJ said:

Was down Manse Road I think.  Last film I saw was a Saturday morning flick about the Red Baron or some WW1 thing.

Yep, it was on the site thats now Iceland.

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

Ok, I thought it was Rodney Street. 👍

Long time ago that.

Just now, Morgan said:

Ok, I thought it was Rodney Street. 👍

Long time ago that.

Aye, the Ritz was.  The Astoria was down Manse Road.

2 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Aye, the Ritz was.  The Astoria was down Manse Road.

Àh right!

Thank Christ I'm not as confused now as I was 5 minutes ago.  :biggrin:

Then you've got the big visible  corner site at the Drum Brae roundabout which has changed  ownership 4 times in the last 30 years.  Currently Lidl, previously PC World, prior to that Tesco, and prior to that Safeway.    Not sure if there was an owner prior to Safeway.....

Edit - its where the Timex clock used to be !!

Edited by Lone Striker

4 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

I’m having a memory block on a pubs old name around Gorgie/Dalry, (maybe towards the West End?) that my Dad and other old timers used when referring to it?   It was about 40 years out of date 😁

The Auld Worthies Dalry Road ?  Now Bensons.

3 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Messages !!!! 😂😂😂😂 

Hahaha!!!! Brilliant. 👍 That one totally confuses folks from Englandshire.

I well remember going for the messages, laying them out on the bunker, and then puting them away in the press.

Just now, Wee Mikey said:

Hahaha!!!! Brilliant. 👍 That one totally confuses folks from Englandshire.

I well remember going for the messages, laying them out on the bunker, and then puting them away in the press.

Oh my English pal

had the fits when he came up to Scotland to stay and heard this ! 😂

5 minutes ago, whodanny said:

The Auld Worthies Dalry Road ?  Now Bensons.

Was balmoral too 

1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Was balmoral too 

A bit off-topic, but . .

I loved my ex's American professor's pronunciation whose emphasis on certain syllables left me giggling.

I'm not too sure how to type this but will use bold to show which syllables he emphasised. You'll catch the drift:-

The Balmoral: The Balmoral 

Dundas Street: Dundas Street

Burntisland: Burnt-is-land

6 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

A bit off-topic, but . .

I loved my ex's American professor's pronunciation whose emphasis on certain syllables left me giggling.

I'm not too sure how to type this but will use bold to show which syllables he emphasised. You'll catch the drift:-

The Balmoral: The Balmoral 

Dundas Street: Dundas Street

Burntisland: Burnt-is-land

The American's do a wonderful job on that famous whisky, Chi-vas Re-gal.

How many remember the Caley railway station at the foot of Lothian Road?  Supporters' trains invariably left from there on a Saturday afternoon.

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

A black coffee. Americano be damned! :)

While I don’t disagree, an Americano is a particular way of making a black coffee. 

Edited by Jim_Duncan

I still “dial” a phone number.

I still have to stop myself from asking for a Black Man at the ice cream van.

6 hours ago, Morgan said:

I was talking about the Burnt Post to my mate the other day. For me it will always be the Burnt Post?

1 hour ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

I still “dial” a phone number.

I still have to stop myself from asking for a Black Man at the ice cream van.

No had one of them in ages.

Edit: the pic is not quite how I remember because our icey used to do two scoops of ice cream.

D59JhVJXkAU3CoP.png

Edited by Marvin