What's it called again?

Morgan

3 hours ago, Lone Striker said:

Was the "broo" (or "buroo")  a uniquely Scottish way of saying "bureau"  ?    I've always wondered about that since the expression was in the context of picking up your unemployment benefit.

I thought Andy Capp talked about the 'broo' or something similar in the comic strip. Might be mistaken though.

• Replies 280

• JudyJudyJudy

• Lone Striker

• Wee Mikey

1 hour ago, JKB Member C said:

I thought Andy Capp talked about the 'broo' or something similar in the comic strip. Might be mistaken though.

Probably did.   👍

I've just googled "broo" - and it is indeed Scots slang for the local Labour Exchange where you had to report to every week in order to claim unemployment benefit in the era before wider social security came into being.

2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Probably did.   👍

I've just googled "broo" - and it is indeed Scots slang for the local Labour Exchange where you had to report to every week in order to claim unemployment benefit in the era before wider social security came into being.

Aye I was on the broo at one time 🕰️ 

1 hour ago, Lone Striker said:

Probably did.   👍

Spent more time in the Tollcross broo in the 80s than I care to remember.

On 27/07/2023 at 07:41, Samuel Camazzola said:

My folks still refer to Cameron Toll as SavaCentre or 'The Centre'. I think it's been Cameron Toll for 25+ years. 

Yeah that was the one I came to mention. Never called it that myself but know people my age who still call it that.

I still mention the Muirhouse Shopping Centre, despite the fact that I don't think it is anymore, and even in its heyday, referring to it as a 'Shopping Centre' was a bit of a stretch. As an aside, the Drylaw Shops once had banners on the lampposts that said 'North Edinburgh Shopping Centre'. Don't know how long its been 'known' as that, but did make me laugh. No idea if they're still there, but this was about 6/7 years ago.

9 hours ago, JKB Member C said:

Oh I had to sign on at torphichen street . Was depressing as fevk ! 

2 hours ago, Locky said:

Yeah that was the one I came to mention. Never called it that myself but know people my age who still call it that.

I still mention the Muirhouse Shopping Centre, despite the fact that I don't think it is anymore, and even in its heyday, referring to it as a 'Shopping Centre' was a bit of a stretch. As an aside, the Drylaw Shops once had banners on the lampposts that said 'North Edinburgh Shopping Centre'. Don't know how long its been 'known' as that, but did make me laugh. No idea if they're still there, but this was about 6/7 years ago.

Yes I remember sava centre being open and Ken Barlow from Corrie opened the 

“ radio rentals.” Tv shop . The place was packed to see him 😂😂😎

On 27/07/2023 at 08:35, Tazio said:

Talking about ice cream can you still get a basher? 

Was that a scoop (or two) of ice cream with one of those 'black-man' type of squidgy rectangular thingys stuck on top? 🤔

On 26/07/2023 at 17:17, Marvin said:

I worked in the Safeway.  We were the bad boys of retail. So much so when booking a function we had to pretend we were Tesco 🤣

On 26/07/2023 at 13:03, martoon said:

I arranged meets at "The Nirvana" years after it became "The Ardmillan".

Even now I have to think twice if I refer to it.

@Dr Lager still does this.

I remember when the Tatoo shop in Dalry road used to be “ victor gold” bookies 

7 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I know Victor who used to own it - his surname isn’t Gold though.

7 minutes ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

Yes I know . Think he had a few shops . I used to live near by it 

3 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Was that a scoop (or two) of ice cream with one of those 'black-man' type of squidgy rectangular thingys stuck on top? 🤔

My mum didn't like too much ice cream on hers so my sister and I used to ask the "Icy man" for a black man with one ball.

30 minutes ago, martoon said:

My mum didn't like too much ice cream on hers so my sister and I used to ask the "Icy man" for a black man with one ball.

A normal Friday night out for @JudyJudyJudy

34 minutes ago, martoon said:

It must be about 30 years since it changed. 😄

We used to go to the Nirvana after every home game before heading up to the Diggers.

I argued each and every time with a wee bloke called Ray!  🙄

3 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Nope. Normal slider but with 2 scoops of ice cream and a snowball. 

Just now, Morgan said:

Keep it up, James.

I had to go to the GP to help with that....

Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

I had to go to the GP to help with that....

I use a weighted kite.

Heavily weighted.

🥰

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I use a weighted kite.

Heavily weighted.

🥰

R (5).jpg

15 minutes ago, Morgan said:

92CD906B-AA4F-45E7-9543-8336154F743D.jpeg

Legend ! One of the original battle axes 🪓 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

We used to go to the Nirvana after every home game before heading up to the Diggers.

I argued each and every time with a wee bloke called Ray!  🙄

Angie, the barmaid, and the glass collector from Balerno (I've forgotten his name) are the only ones I remember from the 90's.

Both Hibs.

I haven't been in for years, Morg.

I've been going to Tynecastle with my nephew for a decade or more and, although now 20, he's not keen on the bevvy.

Watching Hearts sober has taken a lot of getting used to. 😄

Edited by martoon

On 27/07/2023 at 15:25, Padrona della casa said:

The nab being the old National Assistance Board that handed out grants to the poorer members of society pre the current social security system.

Thanks for that info . I often wondered what the Nab was short for . 

13 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Sliced sausage! Not square sausage or Lorne sausage but round sliced sausage!

39 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Sliced sausage! Not square sausage or Lorne sausage but round sliced sausage!

Sorry I call it square sausage 

Seaside jambo
On 27/07/2023 at 07:06, FWJ said:

Pretty sure we used to call the ice cream thing a ‘slider’.

A friend from up north had never heard of a ‘99’.  I thought that was known all over Scotland.

Remember my auld man telling me that the 99was invented in portobello 

Arcarri the ice cream shop was at 99high street 

my auld man grew up in the 20s but couldn’t tell you if there’s any truth to the story and the shop is long gone 

1 minute ago, Stuart Lyon said:

This is what I'm talking about!

sliced sausage.png

Never seen them before 

Stuart Lyon

This a latter day development. When I was growing-up in the 50s and 60s the butcher had a log piece of rolled-up sausage meat from which he would cut-off as many slices as you wanted.

22 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

When we moved to the Gyle, our reputation got even worse. We were lucky that we never got raided for Es, speed etc. It was so bad there was a guy dealing from every counter. It was so obvious as to what was happening. I was surprised that the management didn't step in. Selling from the bakery counter was fun. If somebody wanted 4 Snowballs then thats what they got :laugh:  

Kids if you don't know what a Snowball is. Ask your parents :rofl: 

9 minutes ago, Marvin said:

When we moved to the Gyle, our reputation got even worse. We were lucky that we never got raided for Es, speed etc. It was so bad there was a guy dealing from every counter. It was so obvious as to what was happening. I was surprised that the management didn't step in. Selling from the bakery counter was fun. If somebody wanted 4 Snowballs then thats what they got :laugh:  

Kids if you don't know what a Snowball is. Ask your parents :rofl: 

Ahhh, snowballs, I loved them. Remember my first time taking them, we were in ritzys nightclub in Lincoln. Everything I looked at my mate, all I could see was little robots dancing all over his face.

Padrona della casa
2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Thanks for that info . I often wondered what the Nab was short for . 

Not to be confused with “the grubber” which I believe was a local name for the Scottish poorhouse establishments before the “nab” was created.

21 hours ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

Surname begins with B?

Dad and son were both called Victor. Son would be around 60-62 now?

24 minutes ago, Padrona della casa said:

Not to be confused with “the grubber” which I believe was a local name for the Scottish poorhouse establishments before the “nab” was created.

I’m old but I’m not that old 😂

Padrone della casa
22 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I also remember it being the only bookies I have been to that I got a 66/1 winner from. I only backed it because I was drunk at the time and watched it being backed from 150/1 down to 33/1 then back up to 66/1 thinking someone must be putting a lot of money on a chaser who had not raced for over a year but had reasonable form previously and was running in a big field of mediocre horses that day. Easy £80 from my pound each way. Happy days.

On 28/07/2023 at 00:32, JKB Member C said:

Probably queued with you - a soul draining experience

2 hours ago, Seaside jambo said:

Remember my auld man telling me that the 99was invented in portobello 

Arcarri the ice cream shop was at 99high street 

my auld man grew up in the 20s but couldn’t tell you if there’s any truth to the story and the shop is long gone 

Was also told that as a youth (went to Porty school in the 60's/70s) and I remember Arcarri's

Looked it up and yup

https://www.scotsman.com/news/my-grandad-created-the-99-cone-in-portobello-2507162

9 minutes ago, Padrone della casa said:

I also remember it being the only bookies I have been to that I got a 66/1 winner from. I only backed it because I was drunk at the time and watched it being backed from 150/1 down to 33/1 then back up to 66/1 thinking someone must be putting a lot of money on a chaser who had not raced for over a year but had reasonable form previously and was running in a big field of mediocre horses that day. Easy £80 from my pound each way. Happy days.

I was never out of there around 1985-87 as my first partner was a gambler . He liked that bookies . I can’t recall Golds real name though but I recall him 

9 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Probably queued with you - a soul draining experience

It really was .  Enough to drive me to find a job 😂

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Surname begins with B?

Dad and son were both called Victor. Son would be around 60-62 now?

Correct - I used to go out drinking with Victor Jnr. 

19 minutes ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

Correct - I used to go out drinking with Victor Jnr. 

Ha! I want old enough to drink when I knew him. We were in scouts together!