Titanic "tourist" submarine

3 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

The whole thing is quite ghoulish. I understand the historical importance and interest in understanding more about the wreck but it's a bit unsettling that rich adventurers are poking about the site of a mass grave at £250k a pop. 

It’s rich wankers who like being able to say ‘ooo, I’ve been to the titanic’.

Natural selection, tbh. The ocean doing what it does. Such is life.

• Replies 812

• JFK-1

• BlueRiver

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

• hughesie27

8 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

The guy who owned the company sound like a weapon and it’s a shame he couldn’t have got his in these circumstances without killing loads of other people. Prick 

Agree on one point, confused on another.

Yes, the owner certainly deserves his comeuppance, no doubt about that.

The incoherent bit for me is how that a person can ‘sound like a weapon’.

Just now, Morgan said:

Agree on one point, confused on another.

Yes, the owner certainly deserves his comeuppance, no doubt about that.

The incoherent bit for me is how that a person can ‘sound like a weapon’.

Read his past quotes and consider the fact that he set lawyers on someone who said his sub might not be safe.

A blatant bellend 

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Read his past quotes and consider the fact that he set lawyers on someone who said his sub might not be safe.

A blatant bellend 

Righto, I’ve got it now.

He’s a weapon and a blatant bellend.

I really need to brush up on my slanderous comments. 👍

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Righto, I’ve got it now.

He’s a weapon and a blatant bellend.

I really need to brush up on my slanderous comments. 👍

Can’t slander the dead, boss man.

I can call him a paedo with impunity.

But that would be below the belt.

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Can’t slander the dead, boss man.

I can call him a paedo with impunity.

But that would be below the belt.

Och well, chap.

It’s been a ‘journey’ as they say.

All journeys reach a destination, then cease to be the adventure that they once were.

:sad: 

Just now, Morgan said:

Och well, chap.

It’s been a ‘journey’ as they say.

All journeys reach a destination, then cease to be the adventure that they once were.

:sad: 

It is indeed the story of these Titanic shenanigans 😭

In all of this I feel most sorry for the teenage boy, lost his life at 19 while the BBC reported yesterday his aunt has stated he had serious reservations about doing this in the few days beforehand. She said he was terrified at the thought of it, didn't want to do it, but felt compelled to do it for his father.

That's FUBAR

Just now, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

It is indeed the story of these Titanic shenanigans 😭

And, on that note, I bid you farewell.

👣

6 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

In all of this I feel most sorry for the teenage boy, lost his life at 19 while the BBC reported yesterday his aunt has stated he had serious reservations about doing this in the few days beforehand. She said he was terrified at the thought of it, didn't want to do it, but felt compelled to do it for his father.

That's FUBAR

I didn't know that. If it is true then the dad was a proper arse. 

3 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

The teenager’s aunt, Azmeh Dawood – and older sister of Pakistani businessman Shahzada – said her nephew told a relative before the voyage to see the Titanic wreckage that he ‘wasn’t very up for it’.

Azmeh said Suleman was ‘terrified’ of going on the OceanGate sub that was aiming to visit the sunken ocean liner on the seabed, 12,500ft below the surface.

She told NBC News: ‘Suleman had a sense that this was not okay and he was not very comfortable about doing it.

‘But it was a Father’s Day thing. It was a bonding experience and he wanted the adventure of a lifetime just like his father did.

‘His father wanted it and that was Sule all the way – he’d do anything for anyone.’

https://metro.co.uk/2023/06/23/titanic-sub-student-19-killed-was-terrified-about-going-on-trip-19001353/

11 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

Reported the Dawoods got in 'last minute' because others (Bloom) pulled out. 

the posh bit
25 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

That's FUBAR

Also being reported that two of the auld boys were seeking a lot of reassurances from folk in the know that they weren't getting. Still thought they knew better though. 

Arse 'Friends' Dyslexic?
1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

It's an interesting point.  I would think that if the pressure on the human body from the earth's atmosphere was suddenly removed, the body really would explode.  The reason we're not crushed flat by the weight of the atmosphere is that there is equal pressure inside the body pushing outwards.  Take away the outside pressure and boom.  No?

Only if you had all your skin removed first...

Billionaires experiments can leda to safer lives for everyone. F1 being an example. Thou most are greedy *******s, Rishi being an example.

37 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

That's FUBAR

Is he the lad that was a student at Glasgow Uni ?     The report of how he was inwardly terrified of going is quite awful to read.

Now reports are coming out that the US Navy delayed telling anyone that they strongly suspected that the sub had imploded less than 2 hours into its journey on the Sunday because it would have raised questions about how their tech equipment could detect it.

Can we deduce that the ongoing "banging noises every 30 minutes"  reports were just a bullsh1t smokescreen ?     And the strange  delay in allowing the British search & rescue equipment to join the hunt ? 

The whole episode is  annoyingly tragic on so many levels.

7 hours ago, kila said:

Fascinating thing about the bottom of the ocean is life exists, even under all that immense pressure. Makes me wonder what would happen if one ever came to the surface, would it explode like a naked human in space?

What happens to deep sea creatures if they reach the surface?

https://biology.stackexchange.com/questions/64318/what-happens-to-deep-sea-creatures-if-they-reach-the-surface

132goals1958
48 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

That's FUBAR

It’s really difficult to even comprehend. Sometimes it’s impossible to find words as to why it was allowed to happen 

3 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Is he the lad that was a student at Glasgow Uni ?     The report of how he was inwardly terrified of going is quite awful to read.

Now reports are coming out that the US Navy delayed telling anyone that they strongly suspected that the sub had imploded less than 2 hours into its journey on the Sunday because it would have raised questions about how their tech equipment could detect it.

Can we deduce that the ongoing "banging noises every 30 minutes"  reports were just a bullsh1t smokescreen ?     And the strange  delay in allowing the British search & rescue equipment to join the hunt ? 

The whole episode is  annoyingly tragic on so many levels.

Yes he was the Glasgow student, I was unaware he and the father were late additions after someone else pulled out, must also be some mental turmoil going on in the call offs. The banging sounds are being put down to shipping arriving in the area from all directions.

I think they imploded at depth, according to James Cameron they may have had warning they were being crushed. But when the sensors alerted them it's too late, in fact that "safety" system was a waste of weight.

A bit like say an advanced AI on a plane at 30,000 feet telling you hey there's a  bomb on board, it's going to explode in a minute or so, good luck with that.

5 minutes ago, 132goals1958 said:

It’s really difficult to even comprehend. Sometimes it’s impossible to find words as to why it was allowed to happen 

I think it happened because the CEO of the company was conducting this experiment and that's what it was, an experiment, he was conducting it with scant regard for safety. He was treating it like an emergency wartime program in which lives have to be risked for an objective.

And using civilians actually paying him a very handsome sum as the guinea pigs. Only credit I can give him is he went down with the ship, he walked the walk he didn't just talk it. 

And it happened because no one can stop them doing it, we can't tell people what to do in international waters. My thoughts on it is everyone but the boy were reckless which I concluded after listening to James Cameron.

Yes he's a film director but this guy probably knows as much about this type of thing than anybody else on the planet.

And he didn't just read it on the internet, he's done it dozens of time and has even been involved in designing deep dive submersibles. I could grasp what he was saying when he commented that the hull has to be made of a "contiguous material"

High strength steel or titanium, cast, shaped, and crafted from these metals we can be confident there wont be an imperfection in there which could cause a problem. These materials can be checked for such imperfections, even say a tiny air bubble too small to see with the naked eye inside the plates could doom them. It can be detected in these metals.

This carbon fibre stuff, I have no idea how it's manufactured nor what it's internal structure would look like. Steel I do know because I worked in steel mills for almost 20 years, I have seen test pieces cut from steel under a microscope.

Cameron left me with the impression the internal structure of this carbon fibre material cannot possibly be as guaranteed to be imperfection free as steel or titanium. Materials all other craft diving to these depths are made of, with not a single implosion ever recorded. Exactly why Cameron felt safe enough to do it 33 times, he's not crazy.

If anything this may certainly knock on the head deep sea tourism in anything but certified craft. I think this has got into peoples heads, because they are envisioning the depth and the darkness down there as the experts describe it to them. It's like a primordial nightmare.

132goals1958
34 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

I think it happened because the CEO of the company was conducting this experiment and that's what it was, an experiment, he was conducting it with scant regard for safety. He was treating it like an emergency wartime program in which lives have to be risked for an objective.

And using civilians actually paying him a very handsome sum as the guinea pigs. Only credit I can give him is he went down with the ship, he walked the walk he didn't just talk it. 

And it happened because no one can stop them doing it, we can't tell people what to do in international waters. My thoughts on it is everyone but the boy were reckless which I concluded after listening to James Cameron.

Yes he's a film director but this guy probably knows as much about this type of thing than anybody else on the planet.

And he didn't just read it on the internet, he's done it dozens of time and has even been involved in designing deep dive submersibles. I could grasp what he was saying when he commented that the hull has to be made of a "contiguous material"

High strength steel or titanium, cast, shaped, and crafted from these metals we can be confident there wont be an imperfection in there which could cause a problem. These materials can be checked for such imperfections, even say a tiny air bubble too small to see with the naked eye inside the plates could doom them. It can be detected in these metals.

This carbon fibre stuff, I have no idea how it's manufactured nor what it's internal structure would look like. Steel I do know because I worked in steel mills for almost 20 years, I have seen test pieces cut from steel under a microscope.

Cameron left me with the impression the internal structure of this carbon fibre material cannot possibly be as guaranteed to be imperfection free as steel or titanium. Materials all other craft diving to these depths are made of, with not a single implosion ever recorded. Exactly why Cameron felt safe enough to do it 33 times, he's not crazy.

If anything this may certainly knock on the head deep sea tourism in anything but certified craft. I think this has got into peoples heads, because they are envisioning the depth and the darkness down there as the experts describe it to them. It's like a primordial nightmare.

Just seems there were so many imponderables and whilst my heart goes out to all of them the poor 19 year old should never have been influenced to join such a hazardous project. If as reported he didn’t want to go then it is absolutely heartbreaking and his poor family will be haunted for the rest of their lives.

The CEO is going to be vilified, but I suppose there's little to absolve him.

Titan sub CEO dismissed safety warnings as 'baseless cries', emails show - BBC News

Warnings over the safety of OceanGate's Titan submersible were repeatedly dismissed by the CEO of the company, email exchanges with a leading deep sea exploration specialist show.

In messages seen by the BBC, Rob McCallum told OceanGate CEO Stockton Rush that he was potentially putting his clients at risk and urged him to stop using the sub until it had been classified by an independent agency.

Mr Rush responded that he was "tired of industry players who try to use a safety argument to stop innovation".

Mr McCallum maintains that nobody should have travelled in the Titan sub.

I think this incident has taught me something about myself. Always been pretty dare devilish and adventurous, would do things other kids were afraid to, no fair ground ride intimidated me. If I had the money I would go into space, but this diving to the ocean depths thing, I have learned I wouldn't even contemplate that.

And it's not because of this incident, James Cameron does it all the time for crying out loud and so do many others. Not a single incident far less a fatality. In the correct vehicle it looks safe. But even then there's just something about the thought of all that water and the darkness that just creeps me out.

I'm not sure how far from the craft you can see, but I know it's not far, blacker than the blackest night. On a previous dive and I think it may have been this same craft they came down around 500 yards from the wreck. And it took something like 5 hours to find it in the darkness because they had lost touch with the surface vessel.

It creeps me out and what's there to see? Maybe a couple of feet through a small window in front of you? I can see the whole earth from orbit. In fact that would be great, I would probably be the one to say I can see my hoose from here. 

1 minute ago, JFK-1 said:

I think this incident has taught me something about myself. Always been pretty dare devilish and adventurous, would do things other kids were afraid to, no fair ground ride intimidated me. If I had the money I would go into space, but this diving to the ocean depths thing, I have learned I wouldn't even contemplate that.

And it's not because of this incident, James Cameron does it all the time for crying out loud and so do many others. Not a single incident far less a fatality. In the correct vehicle it looks safe. But even then there's just something about the thought of all that water and the darkness that just creeps me out.

I'm not sure how far from the craft you can see, but I know it's not far, blacker than the blackest night. On a previous dive and I think it may have been this same craft they came down around 500 yards from the wreck. And it took something like 5 hours to find it in the darkness because they had lost touch with the surface vessel.

It creeps me out and what's there to see? Maybe a couple of feet through a small window in front of you? I can see the whole earth from orbit. In fact that would be great, I would probably be the one to say I can see my hoose from here. 

I hate when I feel like things are outwith my control, like when I was young and maybe one of your pals was driving like a tit. My own life not in my own hands. I’m not afraid of trying things but at what point would I want to venture 2 miles down to look at a wreck I just don’t know. 
What is gained? Space exploration I can get on board with but bottom of the sea? For science yeah I suppose but for billionaires to get down for a swatch?

11 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

For science yeah I suppose but for billionaires to get down for a swatch?

That bit is just capitalism isn't it, somebody trying to get in on what could be a lucrative market, while claiming the professionals already doing this are only criticising him because they don't want competition, which wasn't true at all.

A journalist who previously made the dive in the lost craft said that you need to sign a pages long agreement freeing them from any liability. He said on the first page alone it said death 3 times, and are agreeing that you are aware this is effectively an experimental craft which has not been tested and certified by any relevant body.

This tourism thing must simply come down to someone wanting to say they did it. Because as I said, they're really not much to see or even experience as such is there? I don't see a couple of hours descending to be very stimulating, nor taking a turn to look through a porthole at relatively little in the blackness. Then more boring hours surfacing.

I would hazard a guess a rocket launch is an exhilarating experience, as is looking down at the earth, and even the re-entry could be thrilling. Plus as you say our future is in space not the ocean bed, the more experience we get of humans in space the better. Deep diving should be left to the robots if possible

7 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

That bit is just capitalism isn't it, somebody trying to get in on what could be a lucrative market, while claiming the professionals already doing this are only criticising him because they don't want competition, which wasn't true at all.

A journalist who previously made the dive in the lost craft said that you need to sign a pages long agreement freeing them from any liability. He said on the first page alone it said death 3 times, and are agreeing that you are aware this is effectively an experimental craft which has not been tested and certified by any relevant body.

This tourism thing must simply come down to someone wanting to say they did it. Because as I said, they're really not much to see or even experience as such is there? I don't see a couple of hours descending to be very stimulating, nor taking a turn to look through a porthole at relatively little in the blackness. Then more boring hours surfacing.

I would hazard a guess a rocket launch is an exhilarating experience, as is looking down at the earth, and even the re-entry could be thrilling. Plus as you say our future is in space not the ocean bed, the more experience we get of humans in space the better. Deep diving should be left to the robots if possible

I watched the videos of the capsule and I was getting claustrophobic just watching it. There’a no amount of money or anything I could be offered to get in that thing and risk it all. For what?! 

One of the people killed in this tragedy was Paul-Henri Nargeolet.  He was deeply involved in a company called RMS Titanic Inc.

This guy completed many dives on the wreck of the Titanic and removed more than 5,000 items, many from inside the ship, including personal possessions of the dead passengers.  The company sold many of those objects at auction, raking in a cool $189 million dollars.

The remaining items are now on display in exhibits in Las Vegas, Orlando, and elsewhere, but it will cost you a good few dollars just to walk around and look at them.

Nobody deserves to die for being a grave robber, but that's what he was, a grave robber.

henrysmithsgloves
6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Billionaires experiments can leda to safer lives for everyone. F1 being an example. Thou most are greedy *******s, Rishi being an example.

Regulation made F1 safer,,the champion being our own Jackie Stewart 😉

James Cameron is saying the authorities knew for days the craft was gone, while all that nonsense was going on above with planes searching the surface etc. they knew it was pointless.

Cameron says that in the first 24 hours the deep diving community had discussed it and concluded it's gone. The craft had lost communications and tracking at the same time. The tracking monitor has it's own sperate battery power while communications are powered by the craft. Getting it?

Plus, the loud bang reported by the military came at the same time communications and tracking were lost, that was the implosion. They all knew it was gone. When the ROV arrived it found the craft so quickly because they all knew it was going to be directly below the last known position, and there it was.

When asked why the authorities didn't release that news, why they let pointless plane searches and stuff go on Cameron said he could speculate but he didn't want to say it out loud.

41 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Regulation made F1 safer,,the champion being our own Jackie Stewart 😉

Backed by billionaire industry like Ferrari and Mercedes.

7 hours ago, Daktari said:

One man's brave souls is another man's rich boys ignoring empirical advice that what they're attempting is really stupid and going to end in tears.

I can see Johnson's logic here.

55 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

One man's brave souls is another man's rich boys ignoring empirical advice that what they're attempting is really stupid and going to end in tears.

I can see Johnson's logic here.

From the article.

Harding and his friends died in a cause — pushing out the frontiers of human knowledge and experience — that is typically British, and that fills me with pride 

No they didn't, unless he means pushing out the frontiers of human recklessness. They weren't down there gaining knowledge, at it's most basic some were there for money others to sort of be like gawkers slowing down to look at a wreck on the opposite carriageway.

There is such research going on which will add to our knowledge but it's not coming from the likes of this. This guy was simply trying to make large amounts of money doing something as cheaply as possible.

Regarding him I suppose I have to concede it looks as if he believed it was safe, he wouldn't go down in it otherwise would he. But I don't know what he did before getting into this and I don't know if he has any relevant training or expertise.

I do know this craft wasn't tested to the depths of Titanic and it hadn't had extensive stress testing to calculate how many dives it could make before it might suffer collapse. All of this has been done on all other submersibles, they know how many times it can safely dive.

All of those in that relatively small community had predicted this was a disaster waiting to happen, is Boris saying well there you go, we learned they were right? 

Pete Elliott
17 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

You'd need a calorie defecit of around 20 thousand to lose 6 lbs of fat over 4 days. 

peter-kay-slimming-world.gif

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Saw the sub headline online 

“Lefties sneer.”

Still a scumbag.

Still playing to his fan base....

13 hours ago, the posh bit said:

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a world where my image is used to agree with folk who sneer at others for being jealous of billionaires. 😀

Jealous? How do you arrive at that conclusion?

the posh bit
1 hour ago, Gundermann said:

Jealous? How do you arrive at that conclusion?

You're going to have to go back a bit pal, it's a theory that's not mine. 

Boris Johnson could do a follow up next week about how our long standing friends the Russians are among the world experts in this field. And how the Russians will assist in the investigation and developing future safety rules. 

Or maybe not. 

12 hours ago, Daktari said:

An submarine that many in the industry feared would catastrophically fail, was controlled by a £20 Logitech controller, and was on it’s way to one of the most dangerous places on the planet before it imploded killing everybody on board….

And that fat w***** describes it as “typically British and that fills me with great pride”

1 minute ago, Shooter McGavin said:

An submarine that many in the industry feared would catastrophically fail, was controlled by a £20 Logitech controller, and was on it’s way to one of the most dangerous places on the planet before it imploded killing everybody on board….

And that fat w***** describes it as “typically British and that fills me with great pride”

To be fair I understand where he's coming from and why he would associate with it, the parallels to him and the Tory party under his "leadership" are striking!

the posh bit
6 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

James Cameron is saying the authorities knew for days the craft was gone, while all that nonsense was going on above with planes searching the surface etc. they knew it was pointless.

Cameron says that in the first 24 hours the deep diving community had discussed it and concluded it's gone. The craft had lost communications and tracking at the same time. The tracking monitor has it's own sperate battery power while communications are powered by the craft. Getting it?

Plus, the loud bang reported by the military came at the same time communications and tracking were lost, that was the implosion. They all knew it was gone. When the ROV arrived it found the craft so quickly because they all knew it was going to be directly below the last known position, and there it was.

When asked why the authorities didn't release that news, why they let pointless plane searches and stuff go on Cameron said he could speculate but he didn't want to say it out loud.

Very interesting. Lots of people getting utterly mugged off during the oxygen countdown. 

33 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

You're going to have to go back a bit pal, it's a theory that's not mine. 

So, perhaps people who find it distasteful that some very rich men would use their wealth to play tourist over a mass grave are not 'jealous'?

28 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

Brits will Brit.

1 minute ago, Gundermann said:

Brits will Brit.

I would love the UK to sit down at some point and do a realistic reset with regards to our position in the modern world. Too many people's heads are still overly full of empire, whether they realise it or not.

12 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I would love the UK to sit down at some point and do a realistic reset with regards to our position in the modern world. Too many people's heads are still overly full of empire, whether they realise it or not.

Britain is an international joke. As evidenced by recent Aussie news show laughing at the trade-deal with the UK and the absence of a deal with the US. Yet, London-based politicians still see the UK as some kind of Billy Big Baws, striding the international stage...

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Titanic "tourist" submarine