Marti Cifuentes

Trigger

4 minutes ago, Kyle Lafferty HoMSC said:

If he is up for taking the job and we opt for Naisy instead, a part of me can't help feeing that we will look back in 5 years with more than a tinge of regret.

Then again, Naisy could be equally as good, but just doesn't have the reputation just yet. 

Although the chinos have to go.

Hopefully he’ll turn up with a Paulo Sergio v neck jumper

• Replies 1.3k

• Agentjambo

• soonbe110

• kingantti1874

1 minute ago, jtkb said:

Has this guy managed at team in european cup competions yet. Also see a few saying he is highly rated can someone point me to who thinks he is highly rated. Have googled his name can see no link to highly rated only by a few specialist football gurus on this thread. Asking as a gadgey gorgie boy 😃

I’m waiting for this highly rated chat to be backed up also. 

5 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

That is what I meant,every appointment will have a certain risk attached to it however I’d rather take an educated risk than a blind shot in the dark.

Agree. 

You might have a long wait buddy but maybe it is on FM manager gotta love the play station generation😃

Armageddon

The sending off v Celtic, we were getting something from that game, and then 2 horrendous mistakes at Ibrox also cost us (I know I know - if your auntie had baws).

30 attempts v Aberdeen with the strongest spine at the club about to return to the starting XI.

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC
3 minutes ago, jtkb said:

Has this guy managed at team in european cup competions yet. Also see a few saying he is highly rated can someone point me to who thinks he is highly rated. Have googled his name can see no link to highly rated only by a few specialist football gurus on this thread. Asking as a gadgey gorgie boy 😃

Has been linked with QPR and Wolves previously along with Aberdeen and has been likened to Graham Potter in that they both cut their teeth in Sweden

It’s possible the board having been admiring what the foreign coaches are doing at Wolves, Brighton and Brentford and think a similar manager could do the same at Hearts.

Spanish and Portuguese managers seem to be all anyone wants at the moment.

frankblack
Just now, Italian Lambretta said:

It’s possible the board having been admiring what the foreign coaches are doing at Wolves, Brighton and Brentford and think a similar manager could do the same at Hearts.

None of the examples you quoted are remotely realistic for a club like Hearts.

Sounds like he is attacking coach that is a good start. Hopefully he can adapt to the kick and rush of the SPL 

Wonder if there is a total football analysts out there on Robbie would be interesting to see comparison  

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC
Just now, dumpson said:

It all sounds just a bit too Cathro !

Seems a bit unfair...at least he has actually been a manager before

Agentjambo
4 minutes ago, Italian Lambretta said:

Not a bad thing 

13 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

That is what I meant,every appointment will have a certain risk attached to it however I’d rather take an educated risk than a blind shot in the dark.

Steven Naismith will be an educated risk. 

A foreign coach from a mid table Swedish team who may not settle in Scotland is a blind shot in the dark imo. 

15 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said:

This is all very confusing. If Naismith had all his games like his first against Hibs this Cifuentes development would all be very exciting news. But I genuinely think Naismith is onto something. So I’m torn.

A lot of us are in the same boat.  We're not sure if we want SN but if we let him go and he turns out to be a huge success elsewhere we'll be kicking ourselves.

The Board will have to judge Cifuentes on potential, mixed with gut feeling, after the interview because his record doesn't exactly scream out at you as hugely desirable.  As always only time would tell.

Now that is not remotely funny  dumpson. 

Cathro has haunted my dreams as the worst coach a SPFL team have ever appointed. Levien and Budge should have been publicly flogged in the grass market for that :sad:  

Edited by jtkb

Just now, Kyle Lafferty HoMSC said:

Seems a bit unfair...at least he has actually been a manager before

To be clear I've not even read enough about him to have an informed opinion and yes, he certainly has managerial experience that Cathro didn't. Just a bit of déjà vu ! 

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC
Just now, dumpson said:

To be clear I've not even read enough about him to have an informed opinion and yes, he certainly has managerial experience that Cathro didn't. Just a bit of déjà vu ! 

There are definitely some worrying parallels that's for sure   

Agentjambo
1 minute ago, luckydug said:

A foreign coach from a mid table Swedish team who may not settle in Scotland is a blind shot in the dark imo. 

Educated in what way?Only the fact that he is known within the club.

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Where I am at too. These guys have little perception of the trips, the 2nd ball culture etc. Our league is odd, it requires knowledge, fair enough if they understand the issues, how to get results, OF coaches have the power to conquer, and the referees, for anyone else, unfortunately text book football needs to be blended with stout hearts

3 minutes ago, jtkb said:

Now that is not remotely funny  dumpson. 

Cathro has haunted my dreams as the worst coach a SPFL team have ever appointed. Levien and Budge should have been publicly flogged in the grass market for that :sad:  

The one where you're being chased by Cathro & McPhee both clutching laptops ?!

YARN | I had the same dream. | Wayne's World 2 (1993) Music | Video clips  by quotes | 56c850fb | 紗

I am bi polar on Naisy one minute Hell yeh then the other Hell no. Guess we have to trust the board on this one. As long qs rge new guy does not put me to sleep watching the ball go from left to right in our half will be an improvement. Naisy has at least tried to entertain us.

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC

I think, having read the total football analysis article about him, that if he comes in and the football he wants to play works it could be very, very good.

But it could just as easily be quite boring, predictable and pedestrian.

Very doubtful about how our current squad would adapt to it also with the emphasis on using the midfielders to make difficult, high risk passes. Devlin for example I think would struggle, and who really knows about Beni

PapaShango

I've listened to him speak before in an interview last year when he took over at Hammerby and he comes across really well. Speaks perfect English as well. I have no idea about his managerial ability though but from what he was saying in an interview was he likes to play attacking football which probably fits into what we all want to see. As much as I like Naismith and wouldn't be against him getting the job, if there is someone out there potentially better we would be daft not to look and speak to them. 

Batistuta87

Pretty torn between what appears to be playing it relatively safe with Naismith, and really doing something a bit different by appointing someone like Cifuentes. I like that his coaching career has been spent in and around Sweden/Norway/Denmark, which are countries I think are wrongly overlooked for players, and also that he's been in the Ajax setup. With Naismith, the club clearly means something to him now - he loves us, he's got a hunger to succeed, and his playing career will mean some good connections down south when it comes to bringing in players. 

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC
Just now, Bazzas right boot said:

Very interesting,  unfortunately we never taken his advice and sorted the defence out.

It has been done to death at this point right enough but yeah, does make you wonder what could've been if we'd managed to make a few changes defensively

I said it before, but I do not envy the board in making a decision. I think whoever they choose will have criticism from some (I think if Naismith doesn't get the job, I think you will get quite a few fans and quite a few in the media really criticising the club.) If the manager they choose, doesn't as well or has a bad patch, then it will be leveled that they should have gone for the other option ("why did you give it to an inexperienced manager such as Naismith, you have have gone for the other experienced option" or "why did you give it to that foreign manager who knows nothing of the game, Naismith was showing he was ideal when he was intern manager.")

I feel like that I will just go with whoever gets appointed, as we dont know what will happen.

Also Cifuentes has some issues recently, but he has had success in his career, the club we are its hard to get an experienced manager who has done well as they can be very expensive, what we often need to do is get a manager who is up and coming, give them the chance and hope they kick on before they go to a bigger stage. Jim Jefferies was that, Craig Levein in his first spell was that.   

This feels much like much more of a risk than naisy. I'm not against it he definitely has potential reading the above link about him but I'm still 50/50. 

Don't think he would be a bad appointment but definitely not a guaranteed success.

According to Transfermarkt, in the last two seasons Hammarby sold £19.5 million worth of players and only bought £7.5 million.

I imagine stuff like this is making the Hearts board excited too. 

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC

I think this guy having (presumably) a knowledge of the Scandanavian leagues could be a big plus in terms of managing to get a bit more bang for our buck in terms of transfers

Naismith please. Cifuentes might want a rebuild - we need a coach who can motivate and get the most out of this current group of players, which is Naismith.

1 minute ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Where I am at too. These guys have little perception of the trips, the 2nd ball culture etc. Our league is odd, it requires knowledge, fair enough if they understand the issues, how to get results, OF coaches have the power to conquer, and the referees, for anyone else, unfortunately text book football needs to be blended with stout hearts

Agree.  There’s clearly benefits to having someone that knows the intricacies of our league and Naismith does.  

However, to Hearts credit I do think they are always pursuing that someone who brings that wee bit more competency and fearlessness without having to consider these things (ins and outs of the league) as the most important…….People will argue that’s why we never move on or greatly improve because we worry about not being competitive enough.  

Finding a manager who can blend a system to gain an advantage, draw more from players , while still maintaining the competitive edge our league needs,is the holy grail for a club like ours…..there’s hints Naisy has managed that in the short term.  

Agentjambo
1 minute ago, Bainy said:

This feels much like much more of a risk than naisy. I'm not against it he definitely has potential reading the above link about him but I'm still 50/50. 

Don't think he would be a bad appointment but definitely not a guaranteed success.

More of a risk than someone who only has 7 games under his belt?

Kyle Lafferty HoMSC

If he does get the job, we will have to go through all the usual scottish media drivel that we got with Stendel although it will be 10 times worse this time as there aren't any games

Rick Sanchez

I'd say Cifuentes would be a Savage target given he interviewed and appointed Olid and I think McKinlay would fancy Naismith.

I don't envy the board.

2 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Agree.  There’s clearly benefits to having someone that knows the intricacies of our league and Naismith does.  

However, to Hearts credit I do think they are always pursuing that someone who brings that wee bit more competency and fearlessness without having to consider these things (ins and outs of the league) as the most important…….People will argue that’s why we never move on or greatly improve because we worry about not being competitive enough.  

Finding a manager who can blend a system to gain an advantage, draw more from players , while still maintaining the competitive edge our league needs,is the holy grail for a club like ours…..there’s hints Naisy has managed that in the short term.  

Yeah, pros and cons to any appointment. Naisy I dont think will bend over and take it up the arse from the OF. Shown that briefly. 

Before anyone says I'm comparing to Fergie, I'm not, Ferguson installed it in players to fear him more than the OF. Times have changed of course, I do feel though Naisy will have players up for these games.

If I had a concern the last few weeks, everything seemed a bit chaotic, pretty sure the likes of Cifuentes may be a bit more organised.

We have to pick our poison though, nobody is coming in that door perfect

johnking123

Marti would be a very interesting coach. People trying to compare him with cathro 😄. This lad has been a manager and done fine till this season. We have cash to spend and maybe feel we will get better out this lad.

Something that should be noted, the article today from the Daily Record suggests that Cifuentes and Naismith are not the only ones we have spoken to.

We can appoint the best manager in the world but if you haven’t got real quality players you’re fecked

Nerja Jambo

Can we please get away from this " he disnae ken Scottish fitba " rubbish. It's that mindset that has Scottish football in the state it is. Endless appointments within the managerial merry go round across the clubs. No new ideas brought in , just an updated version of what we have seen and suffered for the past 30 years. If what is reported is true and several of the board favour RN then that says it all, blinkered. The biggest gamble of all is SN, a man with 7 games experience and because performances did improve that is a very low bar indeed. I have no doubt that SN will go on and have a very good coaching career and at some point with us, but not just now. Not another project coach. 

7 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

More of a risk than someone who only has 7 games under his belt?

100% given the guy with 7 games has already started well

1 minute ago, **** the SPFL said:

We can appoint the best manager in the world but if you haven’t got real quality players you’re fecked

True, but the best coaches make players better, if they are any good

counting sheep
1 minute ago, kingantti1874 said:

100% given the guy with 7 games has already started well

He only won 2

Agentjambo
Just now, counting sheep said:

He only won 2

That’s ok though because we passed the ball forwards and it looked pretty.

4 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

Marti would be a very interesting coach. People trying to compare him with cathro 😄. This lad has been a manager and done fine till this season. We have cash to spend and maybe feel we will get better out this lad.

To be fair it's not a direct comparison of experience/style/character, just the painful reminder of the previous 'left-field' appointments !