Scam calls

Dick Dastardly
18 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I got a rather odd text this morning

” Hi, I'm Na Rin Lee.Nice to see you here.
I am 28 years old and single. I like men with good manners.
I'm looking for a long-term relationship. I want to find my soul mate here.
My Whatsapp is ( I deleted this part ) 
We can share our daily life together and get to know each other better.”

Must think I’m daft  Next he will be wanting money to help medical bills for his “ sick mother” . 

It’s creepy how he / she / they have my number though 

IMG_2791.gif

IMG_3083.gif

What dodgy apps have you been signing up to Judy? 

• Replies 144

• JudyJudyJudy

• Ulysses

• Marvin

• henrysmithsgloves

27 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

What dodgy apps have you been signing up to Judy? 

IMG_4738.gif

Just now, Dick Dastardly said:

No denials though...... 😉 

Apps are a waste of time . It’s for the younger crowd . When you’re gay and over 40 ( cough cough 😂 ) you’re invisible almost . I prefer “ socialising “ the old fashioned way , the pub ! 

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I got a rather odd text this morning

” Hi, I'm Na Rin Lee.Nice to see you here.
I am 28 years old and single. I like men with good manners.
I'm looking for a long-term relationship. I want to find my soul mate here.
My Whatsapp is ( I deleted this part ) 
We can share our daily life together and get to know each other better.”

Must think I’m daft  Next he will be wanting money to help medical bills for his “ sick mother” . 

It’s creepy how he / she / they have my number though 

IMG_2791.gif

IMG_3083.gif

Same one sent to my Gmail account. I saw it when I was clearing my spam folder.

26 minutes ago, Marvin said:

Same one sent to my Gmail account. I saw it when I was clearing my spam folder.

Awe naw so it’s no genuine 😢 😂

henrysmithsgloves

Apps are a waste of time . It’s for the younger crowd . When you’re gay and over 40 ( cough cough 😂 ) you’re invisible almost . I prefer “ socialising “ the old fashioned way , the pub ! 

th-1788873080.jpg.cfb118ff3fc878b47e3a3c95d6402421.jpgreally 🤫

I watched "Predator : Hunting the Strip Search Caller" the other night, now that's how to do a hoax call 😳😳

• 2 months later...

Never mind scam calls , what about scam men ?  

I’ve got this older gay friend , says he has “ met” a guy online and wants relationship with him ! He lives in America and clearly a “ scammer “ or a 

“ roller “ as we used to call it . My friend is emotionally vulnerable as he lost his husband couple years Back . They had been together 30 odd years . I’m trying to get him to see sense , “ Trust no one” “ everyone’s got a grift of some sort “ . I know it’s cynical but it’s true . But it seems to be falling on deaf ears . The guy is apparently coming over to visit him next month ! 💯 guarantee he will have some sob story ! Bolt ! Well as they say “ theres no fool like an old fool “

Never mind scam calls , what about scam men ?  

I’ve got this older gay friend , says he has “ met” a guy online and wants relationship with him ! He lives in America and clearly a “ scammer “ or a 

“ roller “ as we used to call it . My friend is emotionally vulnerable as he lost his husband couple years Back . They had been together 30 odd years . I’m trying to get him to see sense , “ Trust no one” “ everyone’s got a grift of some sort “ . I know it’s cynical but it’s true . But it seems to be falling on deaf ears . The guy is apparently coming over to visit him next month ! 💯 guarantee he will have some sob story ! Bolt ! Well as they say “ theres no fool like an old fool “

You might sound cynical, but regrettably you're probably right.

Hopefully he doesn't get scammed, and all you can do is hang in there and keep an eye on him.

5 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

You might sound cynical, but regrettably you're probably right.

Hopefully he doesn't get scammed, and all you can do is hang in there and keep an eye on him.

Yes very true . I’ll keep an eye on things . 👍

The guys spunked out a fair whack to come over and will no doubt spend more once he is here. Doesnt sound much like a scam so far, unless theres more to the story your no telling us.

The equivalent of you in the USA, in this story would more likely to be alarmed. And justifiably.

2 hours ago, Pap said:

The guys spunked out a fair whack to come over and will no doubt spend more once he is here. Doesnt sound much like a scam so far, unless theres more to the story your no telling us.

The equivalent of you in the USA, in this story would more likely to be alarmed. And justifiably.

Well he’s saying he is coming over to see him and hopefully settle here ? That’s not an easy thing to do re immigration etc . He sounds very fishy to me . Wouldn’t be me. What more to the story would I I be telling ? 

29 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Well he’s saying he is coming over to see him and hopefully settle here ? That’s not an easy thing to do re immigration etc . He sounds very fishy to me . Wouldn’t be me. What more to the story would I I be telling ? 

If your mates sending him cash to "pay for his flights" then aye, alarm bells but if the boy is paying his own way then i'd be astounded if he was coming over to scam your mate :laugh:

9 minutes ago, Pap said:

If your mates sending him cash to "pay for his flights" then aye, alarm bells but if the boy is paying his own way then i'd be astounded if he was coming over to scam your mate :laugh:

We’ll see that’s the thing , it’s not all Been confirmed dates and times he is coming over so it’ll be interesting to see what the script is nearer the time , or maybe am a cynical old boot 🥾 😂

17 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

We’ll see that’s the thing , it’s not all Been confirmed dates and times he is coming over so it’ll be interesting to see what the script is nearer the time , or maybe am a cynical old boot 🥾 😂

Harsh.  I don't imagine you're cynical...

• 4 weeks later...

Got an email (I get other people's regularly with a similar address), replied that I didnt think he was looking for me.

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

Screenshot_20231005_175844_Gmail.jpg

wentworth jambo
17 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Got an email (I get other people's regularly with a similar address), replied that I didnt think he was looking for me.

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

seems legit....

henrysmithsgloves
17 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

At least he wasn't asking for liver to transplant 😳

18 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

Ah, the old gift card scam still doing the rounds I see.

53 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

At least he wasn't asking for liver to transplant 😳

They are a little late to try the apple a day keeps the doctor away

19 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

Pretty sure  its safe for you to laugh at this one .  😀    It sounds the email equivalent of these calls you get on your mobile that just ring once - they want you to call back and listen to a long recorded message about a get-rich-quick scam while you're attached to a premium rate number.      You've bitten  "Robert" s   bait  by replying.  Time to stop, imo  

On 08/09/2023 at 19:25, JudyJudyJudy said:

Totally fishy, James.  Gay catfishing works much the same as for straight folk.    Its hard to convince the "victim" about it though once he's  emotionally hooked.

19 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I got this reply 🥺

Maybe I shouldn't laugh.

You should have replied, 'Okay pal, I'll get you some when I'm out getting the ones the guy on the phone says I need to pay my tax bill.'

53 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Totally fishy, James.  Gay catfishing works much the same as for straight folk.    Its hard to convince the "victim" about it though once he's  emotionally hooked.

Yep that’s so true . He is always “ chatting “ to him online etc . I have cautioned him but he’s adamant the guy is genuine . I’ll eat my hat if he appears in Edinburgh ! 

3 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Yep that’s so true . He is always “ chatting “ to him online etc . I have cautioned him but he’s adamant the guy is genuine . I’ll eat my hat if he appears in Edinburgh ! 

He might appear in Edinburgh but only after he has convinced your pal that he can’t afford the fare and hooks your mate into paying it for him🥴

3 minutes ago, Canscot said:

He might appear in Edinburgh but only after he has convinced your pal that he can’t afford the fare and hooks your mate into paying it for him🥴

Yep thats the problem. Ive asked the mate to be wary of that. 

2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Yep thats the problem. Ive asked the mate to be wary of that. 

Or more likely get him to send the money so he can book the flight…….never to be seen or heard from again!

I can’t believe folk are still getting taken in by these charlatans. 

7 minutes ago, Canscot said:

Or more likely get him to send the money so he can book the flight…….never to be seen or heard from again!

I can’t believe folk are still getting taken in by these charlatans. 

It seems to be a thing on gay sites to be honest. I'm a member of one with a lot of members. its a "gay life over 40"  group and its a support group as well as discussion group.  I really like it. Its strictly not a " dating " site. Its explicit in its rules 

However the amount of guys who mentioned they think they have " met the love of their lives " on it via these type of scams is sad .  The more wide and cynical gays usually just slap them into common sense. Its quite funny.  But its sad that someone is so desperate to just be in a couple that all common sense and money goes out the window. 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

It seems to be a thing on gay sites to be honest. I'm a member of one with a lot of members. its a "gay life over 40"  group and its a support group as well as discussion group.  I really like it.

However the amount of guys who mentioned they think they have " met the love of their lives " on it via these type of scams is sad .  The more wide and cynical gays usually just slap them into common sense. Its quite funny.  But its sad that someone is so desperate to just be in a couple that all common sense and money goes out the window. 

It certainly is. Of course it is not just gay people being scammed. The old, women, men. All walks of life. 
loneliness seems to be quite a common thread connecting victims. 

henrysmithsgloves
5 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

It seems to be a thing on gay sites to be honest. I'm a member of one with a lot of members. its a "gay life over 40"  group and its a support group as well as discussion group.  I really like it.

For a moment there I thought you were going to say hibs.net😳

2 minutes ago, Canscot said:

It certainly is. Of course it is not just gay people being scammed. The old, women, men. All walks of life. 
loneliness seems to be quite a common thread connecting victims. 

Yes ofcourse ,. thats very true. 

1 minute ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

For a moment there I thought you were going to say hibs.net😳

image-23-10-21-11-03-1.gif

I wouldbt take any notice of what that TB says. Btw how appropriate are his initials . ? 

Recently I made a posting about a friend who had recently died and he mocked it. 

Says everything about him really .  

Seems to be quite jealous of my wide and varied life and events , so much so that he thinks i make everything up . 

well maybe you live a mundane life of drudgery ” mate “ but I certainly don’t. 

IMG_5921.gif

On 27/04/2023 at 12:11, JudyJudyJudy said:

I think I just had one . It was an Edinburgh number claiming to be from IPSO ( research ) regarding my bank . She sounded very genuine , polite etc . She said it was related to my bank . She then asked if I had a personal account with the bank ? I told her I was ending the Call . I did . It just seemed odd that she would ask this and I just wondered what more details she wanted . I would assume the bank would contact me via email first to advise me that “ researchers “ may contact ? Or am im  being para? I wasn’t rude to her . Just told her I didn’t want to continue . 

I just talk utter nonsense to them until they hang up on me. It started with cold callers when I lived alone in the late 90s. I once kept a conservatory salesman talking for 40 mins until he asked for my address "Flat 11, 5th Floor..." he cuts in and says "5th floor?, you can't put a conservatory on the 5th floor!",  to which I innocently asked "so, why are you calling me then?". He hung up. I think I may be a bit sick in the head...

9 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I wouldbt take any notice of what that TB says. Btw how appropriate are his initials . ? 

Recently I made a posting about a friend who had recently died and he mocked it. 

IMG_5921.gif

Utter lies, or re post to prove it.

3 hours ago, Spellczech said:

I just talk utter nonsense to them until they hang up on me. It started with cold callers when I lived alone in the late 90s. I once kept a conservatory salesman talking for 40 mins until he asked for my address "Flat 11, 5th Floor..." he cuts in and says "5th floor?, you can't put a conservatory on the 5th floor!",  to which I innocently asked "so, why are you calling me then?". He hung up. I think I may be a bit sick in the head...

Reminds me of Mrs Mills, the satirical advice columnist in the Sunday Times, whose advice for dealing with cold callers was to let them ask one question and then reply "I'm sorry, I don't have a phone" before hanging up.

On 09/09/2023 at 13:45, Horatio Caine said:

Harsh.  I don't imagine you're cynical...

:D And it whooshed too.

just got a call (showing a mobile no)

Recorded voice

"Your account (which one?) has two suspicious transactions on Amazon, £300 & £1100.

Press 1 to cancel transaction, press 2 to proceed transaction"

Something like that, not exactly

No doubt by typing 1 or 2 would draw you into their vision and start trying to prise account nos off you.

You can see how easily people are drawn in.

checked my Amazon account/Bank Account/credit card, nothing to see

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

Recorded voice

"Your account (which one?) has two suspicious transactions on Amazon, £300 & £1100.

No doubt by typing 1 or 2 would draw you into their vision and start trying to prise account nos off you.

I’ve just had similar saying that £799 has been spent in my Visa card and could I authorise the payment. Obviously a voice from the past as I’ve not had a Visa card for a couple of years. 

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

Recorded voice

I get this call, or a variation of it, on a regular basis. I just put the phone down. My next most frequent scam call is from Microsoft about my computer. The caller can never pronounce my name and I just say that they must be mistaken as I don't have a computer.   

I've been getting a lot more scam emails lately, Amazon, Netflix, Apple, Paypal etc etc, all saying account needs to be verified blah blah, even had email's from Argos & Curry's wanting account verification, I don't have accounts with Argos or Curry's or some of the others. 😂

Also getting email's from so called professional hackers telling me that they have hacked my computer and have full control of my webcam, social media accounts, files etc etc and if I don't pay $600-$800 in bitcoins they will release some videos of me doing naughty things etc.

Well they'd need to be miracle workers to have control of my webcam and have been recording me, as I don't have a webcam, amongst other things they claim to have access to.

Just phishing crap, must be the cost of living crisis bringing them out in force, but I'll bet they still con some folks with their pish.

Don't get many phone calls, mobile is set to block any unknown number and house phone has caller display so any number I don't know I simply don't answer it.

20 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I've been getting a lot more scam emails lately, Amazon, Netflix, Apple, Paypal etc etc, all saying account needs to be verified blah blah, even had email's from Argos & Curry's wanting account verification, I don't have accounts with Argos or Curry's or some of the others. 😂

Also getting email's from so called professional hackers telling me that they have hacked my computer and have full control of my webcam, social media accounts, files etc etc and if I don't pay $600-$800 in bitcoins they will release some videos of me doing naughty things etc.

Well they'd need to be miracle workers to have control of my webcam and have been recording me, as I don't have a webcam, amongst other things they claim to have access to.

Just phishing crap, must be the cost of living crisis bringing them out in force, but I'll bet they still con some folks with their pish.

Don't get many phone calls, mobile is set to block any unknown number and house phone has caller display so any number I don't know I simply don't answer it.

I've been getting those emails from the 'professional hackers'.  When I last got one, last week, I looked up the Bitcoin wallet they wanted paid into and saw that in the previous week, it had received 2 payments totalling over $1300. So some poor buggers must actually fall for it.🤬

If you get another one, if you copy&paste their Bitcoin wallet address into this site and you'll see any transactions on the wallet. https://bitref.com/

19 hours ago, JKB Member C said:

I've been getting those emails from the 'professional hackers'.  When I last got one, last week, I looked up the Bitcoin wallet they wanted paid into and saw that in the previous week, it had received 2 payments totalling over $1300. So some poor buggers must actually fall for it.🤬

If you get another one, if you copy&paste their Bitcoin wallet address into this site and you'll see any transactions on the wallet. https://bitref.com/

I got another email this morning and upon checking at the above site the last 2 payments to that bitcoin wallet were for just under $550.

So yeh it seems people are falling for this crap and as a consequence it keeps the scam going as there is money to be made for the scammers from it.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Had a phone call from the universal international bank today saying I had two separate bank transfers of £700 and they could rectify it for one £100 western Union payment today. 😂

Aii nae worries, just give me five mins.