**** Heart Of Midlothian V Celtic **** Official Match Thread

Masonic

Just now, GBJambo said:

Hill instead of Atkinson only change 

Probably the correct decision 

Why? Hill has looked very out of his depth as the furthest right defender in previous games.

• Replies 1.2k

• Hearts007

• Tom Hardy’s Dug

• Geoff Kilpatrick

• Marvin

Hibs and Aberdeen fans will be waiting and hoping we take what they will see as a formality in the shape of a defeat. 

I always like when we get our surprise win when least expected.  If Hearts take even a draw today it’s a massive plus. I can understand some fans still being apprehensive given our overall recent form, but not defeatist. 

I really hope it’s the beginning of something turning into a positive under Naismith in respect of performances and attitude.  

Hearts007
1 minute ago, AuldReekiee said:

Johnston and Carter-Vickers missing for Celtic

thats a slight help to us

2 minutes ago, AuldReekiee said:

Johnston and Carter-Vickers missing for Celtic

An ideal time to have doubled up down the right with wing and right back yet we have played Hill. Atkinson would have been much better against a weaker Celtic defence and it was nailed on C-W and Johnston would be missing today.

Edited by Tom Hardy’s Dug

1 minute ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

Why? Hill has looked very out of his depth as the furthest right defender in previous games.

Maybe Naismith thinks he’ll provide better defensive cover than Atkinson 

3 hours ago, SMJ_1874 said:

I’m still hurting about the whole stendel thing tbh so don’t take it personal. That whole episode of Levein hanging around like a bad smell just showed our club up to be lacking moral fibre, ethics, principals any semblance of an idea of how to get out of our own mess.

Daniels trouble is he couldn’t see how bad we really were at the time and the two goals we lost in the first 15 mins against Hamilton emphasise this. His signings outwith Boycie in the January window didn’t do him any favours either and the demotion probably done us a favour with his contract termination. Also the way it was handled was very poor. No one shoots themselves in the foot quite like us but it’s water under a bridge so we move now. 

Like you I only care for a 3rd place finish even though I wanted a draw at Easter road yesterday. I also hope Hibs beat the sheep next week as it gives them hope for a 4th place finish so they’ll be going all out for a win. We have to take care of our own business first though and by that it means 4 wins and a draw to guarantee 3rd place and hope that the sheep slip up somewhere along the line.

Will also be hoping the hun don’t just beat them today but smash them and send them into a downward trajectory. To think they could be 3rd with the crisis they’ve had is more a testament to our own Jekyll and Hyde season which will sting for a long time. I’ve got feelings of deja vu going back all the way to season ending 86 and if that happens, it’ll ruin the whole summer for a lot of us never mind a qualifier in the ECL to soothe the pain. 

Stendels trouble was he was tactically incompetent and did not know how to defend 

Just now, Sooks said:

Stendels trouble was he was tactically incompetent and did not know how to defend 

Thought his rope and swimming goggles training made a difference, beat Hibs at ER that week!

Decent looking team, though not sure about McKays inclusion. Fully expect Celtic to stroll this today by 3 clear goals, don't buy this wanting to wait for Ibrox to win it. Will be just as sweet for their fans to win it on our patch, then take the moral high ground when Rangers refuse to give them the guard of honour next week (win/win for the Tic PR machine).

Be (more than) happy to be proved wrong

David McCaig
5 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

I would’ve stuck with Atkinson over Hill. 

I'm assuming he's not 100% after injury v Ross County 

Celtic not ****ing around with that line-up. Probably similar to the side that drew at home to Motherwell so hopefully on holiday mode.

Just now, Sooks said:

Well Hamilton proved that for sure. Trouble is Stendel didn’t realise how slow we were and any press we did left us cruelly exposed at the back. Thankfully Anne had the foresight to terminate his contract if we went down. I’m not sure he’d have been trusted with a big budget in a transfer window but as we’re not privy to the inner workings then the speculation as to what, why or how will continue. 

Can't make it today.

Will be using this match thread for updates. Come on Hearts!

1 minute ago, kila said:

Thought his rope and swimming goggles training made a difference, beat Hibs at ER that week!

Aye he gets pass marks for the Huns and vermin , but that does not do you much good over a season if you just let St Johnstone and Kilmarnock pop the ball over your defence and score at will

1 minute ago, SMJ_1874 said:

Well Hamilton proved that for sure. Trouble is Stendel didn’t realise how slow we were and any press we did left us cruelly exposed at the back. Thankfully Anne had the foresight to terminate his contract if we went down. I’m not sure he’d have been trusted with a big budget in a transfer window but as we’re not privy to the inner workings then the speculation as to what, why or how will continue. 

All fair 

mellors1874
28 minutes ago, R9. said:

I hope the full stadium boos it 

Agree mate 100%.

Only King we bow down before is Robbo King Of Hearts.

Famous 1874

Is there a way to get a photo of your qr code via e-tickets? Just realised I’ve lost / can’t find my season ticket 

9 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Maybe Naismith thinks he’ll provide better defensive cover than Atkinson 

Why?

2 minutes ago, Famous 1874 said:

Is there a way to get a photo of your qr code via e-tickets? Just realised I’ve lost / can’t find my season ticket 

Ticket office can print you a ticket for your seat with proof of address.

iantjambo
8 minutes ago, David McCaig said:

I'm assuming he's not 100% after injury v Ross County 

👍🏻

I forgot about that.

22 hours ago, Beave1874 said:

Got a wee feeling about this one also, never ever confident going in against this mob...Just a feeling. 8/1 Just for the win alone worth a £5er.

The question is .,.,.,.,..Do you feel lucky   -   Well do ya ? (I'll leave out the obvious finishing word haha)

3 minutes ago, Martin_T said:

Ticket office can print you a ticket for your seat with proof of address.

lots of Celtic fans today at Tynie will be having "similar problems" !!!!!!

Famous 1874
2 minutes ago, busbyfth said:

lots of Celtic fans today at Tynie will be having "similar problems" !!!!!!

Yep I assume a lot will be chancing it. Can give them my ref number to sort it

HeartsandonlyHearts
39 minutes ago, R9. said:

Well they won’t.

Hopefully that doesn’t spoil your day.

jager man

Hearts song should be belted out by all during the national anthem. I hate booing national Athens (especially our own), but the singing the Hearts song would show them we have no interest in this non football nonsense.

40 minutes ago, Baxfee said:

If hearts are considering playing it they’re complete idiots 

Agree but you never know.

Can't agree with Hill if he's playing out on the right instead of Atkinson.

Atkinson has the pace to get up and down the park and knows the position. He has far better awareness of where to be and where to watch.

Hill gets caught out constantly.

27 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Hill instead of Atkinson only change 

Probably the correct decision 

No, it’s not.

Atkinson should have kept his place, imo.

jager man
1 minute ago, Hearts007 said:

And who says national anthem will be played?

Hopefully not. I probably jumped the gun reading all the posts about it. Anyway if they do drown it out with the Hearts song, that's what we're there for.

44 minutes ago, R9. said:

We castigate Celtic fans for bringing politics sectarianism and their own version of nationalism to football matches. I don't think we should emulate them. 

Like it or not Scotland has voted to remain in the UK and even the SNP has not adopted republicanism as a policy.

Hearts007
Just now, jager man said:

Hopefully not. I probably jumped the gun reading all the posts about it. Anyway if they do drown it out with the Hearts song, that's what we're there for.

2 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Atkinson wasn't at the players sponsorship night as he was carrying a bug.

If there's a legitimate reason for him to be out that's fair enough.

I think this will be a major issue though. Its a weak link we can't afford against celtic.

Edited by Bauld

50 minutes ago, R9. said:

I don’t think that’ll happen.

Will you cry if it doesn’t?

Monarchy, religion and politics have no place at a football match.

It is a sport that should bring everyone of all cultures and beliefs together in celebration of something we all love.

25 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

Agree mate 100%.

Correct

27 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

Agree mate 100%.

Oops!

Robbo was the Ace of Hearts.

Willie Bauld was the King of Hearts.

👍👍

5 minutes ago, Bauld said:

If there's a legitimate reason for him to be out that's fair enough.

I think this will be a major issue though. Its a weak link we can't afford against celtic.

Atkinson is a bit of a bomb scare defensively. 

Hill is too though arguably less so than Atkinson. We aren’t great for RB 

mellors1874
Just now, Morgan said:

Oops!

Robbo was the Ace of Hearts.

Willie Bauld was the King of Hearts.

👍👍

Didn't see bauld play so it's Robbo for me mate.

As always, I'm fully expecting a thorough trousering, hopefully the players are thinking differently!

Oh and it would be great it the full stadium belts out our national anthem :jj:

Edited by VALDOS'

13 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

And who says national anthem will be played?

Was it played at the other Scottish games yesterday.? 

2 minutes ago, mellors1874 said:

Didn't see bauld play so it's Robbo for me mate.

Neither did I.

I was just pointing out their titles.

Not to worry.  👍

Hearts007
2 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Was it played at the other Scottish games yesterday.? 

Dont think so