• jamboozy

• Naisys Tackle

• Marvin

38 minutes ago, tartofmidlothian said:

Thinking of our suspensions, it has to be Humphrys and Kuol up front.

Yup. Might be a blessing in disguise as we may be able to get some game time for Oda and from the bench. 

I'd maybe go with:

Clark

Hill Sibbick Rowles

Atkinson Kio Snodgrass Cochrane

Gino Humphrys McKay

Hamilton is an awful place to go, a banana skin fixture if there ever was one! Don't think it would be wise to think we can rest anyone. 

Clark 

Atkinson Sibbick Rowles Cochrane

Kio    Snodric  

Grant                   McKay 

Kuol   Humps 

Get the job done early doors and control the rest of the game. 0-3 Hearts. 

1 hour ago, Cruyff said:

Clark 

Kio    Snodric  

Grant                   McKay 

Kuol   Humps 

Get the job done early doors and control the rest of the game. 0-3 Hearts. 

No 3-4-3?

Why the change?

4-4-2 for me. 

Clark 

Atkinson

Sibbick

Rowles

Cochrane 

Kuol

Grant 

Snodgrass

McKay

Humphrys

Shankland

Stop trying to fit players in positions  they can’t play. 

2 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

4-4-2 for me. 

Clark 

Atkinson

Sibbick

Rowles

Cochrane 

Kuol

Grant 

Snodgrass

McKay

Humphrys

Shankland

Shanks suspended unfortunately 

2 hours ago, spacerjoe said:

No 3-4-3?

Why the change?

Because as has been pointed out we don't need 3 at the back against most in the top league far less against some diddy pish like Hamilton. 

6 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said:

Thinking of our suspensions, it has to be Humphrys and Kuol up front.

Ginnelly isn't suspended for the Cup.

1 match ban next league game, Motherwell away.

Edited by Mikey1874

Another shitey pitch. This is their cup final and any win will do me. 

I think the line up will be

Clark

Hill

Sibbick 

Rowles

Forrest

Devlin/Grant

Snodgrass

Cochrane

Mckay 

Humphrys

Gino

1-2 Sibbick and Kuol (off the bench) with our goals. 

10 hours ago, Cruyff said:

No need for 3 at the back v Hamilton. 

If it's the best formation though and we need to keep playing it for consistency, why would you drop it for an 'easier' match?

Another Robbo

Hamilton have a challenge cup game on Tuesday (live on Alba I think) so not a lot of time to recover. Should hopefully be able to exploit that particularly in the second half. 

No pissing around here. Fast start and early couple of goals then we can all relax for a change. 

9 minutes ago, brawlad74 said:

No pissing around here. Fast start and early couple of goals then we can all relax for a change. 

I wish ... 🤣🤣🤣

Experience tells me that it's likely to be another blood-pressure bustin' cup game.

On the other hand, we might very well 'do a Cowdenbeath' on them which would be a hoot.

Seriously, though; Shankland was shafted by Don Robertson (ably supported by the karma-injured cheat known as 'Rocky') in the 🏆 derby.

It's a bummer as this type of fixture seems perfect for him to add to his goal tally for this season.

11 hours ago, Walter Bishop said:

4-4-2 for me. 

Clark 

Atkinson

Sibbick

Rowles

Cochrane 

Kuol

Grant 

Snodgrass

McKay

Humphrys

Shankland

Why are you putting Kuol at right midfield then?

15 hours ago, OTT said:

I'd maybe go with:

Clark

Hill Sibbick Rowles

Gino Humphrys McKay

Hamilton is an awful place to go, a banana skin fixture if there ever was one! Don't think it would be wise to think we can rest anyone. 

I think you can forget about Atkinson, he’s even behind Gino in the pecking order for the RWB position. 

15 hours ago, OTT said:

I'd maybe go with:

Clark

Hill Sibbick Rowles

Gino Humphrys McKay

Yep, no matter what the setup, we need a strong lineup for this one. No matter who we play in the Scottish Cup, we should have our strongest possible team out. Its our only chance of silverware now and we know what it represents for Europe and what that brings.

7 minutes ago, Darren said:

Why are you putting Kuol at right midfield then?

To be fair that's where he played for his last club, as a winger in a 4.

Captain Sausage

I think it’ll probably be:

Clark

Atkinson Hill Sibbick Rowles Cochrane

Kio Snodgrass

Kuol Hunphrys McKay

I’d prefer it to be:

Clark

Kio Snodgrass

Kuol Grant McKay

Humphrys

With Aberdeen and Hibs out of the cup, and St Mirren away to Celtic, it’s likely that a win for us would mean in the QF, there’ll be the OF, us, Livi and Dundee Utd from the top flight. 

A massive chance (draw dependent) to get to hampden. 

Hamilton are on a 5 game unbeaten run since Dylan McGowan signed on loan from Killie. He plays centre of a back 5 with another new signing Sparrow from Stoke (I'm not sure but he might have played in the pre-season friendly). 

Another loanee Dylan Stephenson seems to be doing well from them (like Connor Smith is doing, though he's unavailable on Friday) so John Rankin may be able to save his job by the end of the season 😁.

I expect to win but they are not the same "Tam Kite" they were a few weeks ago

Not a game to experiment with due to the plastic pitch , put a strong side out get an early lead and off we go .

It's not the kick the opposition and rush football of previous Hamilton sides .we should bevable to play our game style

As other have said, I'd leave Snodgrass out on the plastic pitch. Gino is due a rest and I would start Natty. Otherwise, full strength.

Clark

Hill

Sibbick

Rowles

Atkinson

Kio

Devlin

Cochrane

Kuol

Humphrys

McKay

Hamilton, a team that loved nothing more than a s****y 1-0 win against us when they were in the top flight.

I expect a strong team in terms of personnel, I just hope lessons have been learned and we start on the front foot.

4-2-3-1, no centre backs at wing back, wingers in midfield nonsense and let’s hope for a kind quarter final draw

36 minutes ago, Pingu said:

As other have said, I'd leave Snodgrass out on the plastic pitch. Gino is due a rest and I would start Natty. Otherwise, full strength.

Clark

Hill

Sibbick

Rowles

Atkinson

Kio

Devlin

Cochrane

Kuol

Humphrys

McKay

This looks good. 

Hopefully Devlin fit - If not Grant in  

Snodgrass of bench if required - was rested on Livi pitch so imagine this be no different. 

43 minutes ago, Pingu said:

Clark

Hill

Sibbick

Rowles

Atkinson

Kio

Devlin

Cochrane

Kuol

Humphrys

McKay

Gino will get a rest in the league due to suspension so I would play him on Friday. Think Grant, Humphrys and Cochrane will start ...

We’ve 9 games between Hamilton and Motherwell no need to rest anyone. Strongest team possible and into the next round. If needed we can makes subs to save legs when in front. However make no mistake this isn’t going to be a walk in the park we will need to battle for everything. They will be right up for it I would imagine.

Glamorgan Jambo

One of our better performances last season was in the cup away at Auchinleck. Same

issues and a huge potential banana skin. We passed the ball pretty well for the first 15 minutes and they then kind of fell to pieces. More of the same on Friday.

presume Connor Smith won’t be allowed to play.

Lord Montpelier
1 hour ago, Pingu said:

Clark

Hill

Sibbick

Rowles

Atkinson

Kio

Devlin

Cochrane

Kuol

Humphrys

McKay

Swap Grant with Kio and I suspect that's the line up

17 hours ago, Walter Bishop said:

4-4-2 for me. 

Clark 

Atkinson

Sibbick

Rowles

Cochrane 

Kuol

Grant 

Snodgrass

McKay

Humphrys

Shankland

Atkinson…

Hearts win by 2 or 3 in a shite game on a shite pitch.

Then home to find another 15 post match threads from the OP.

6 hours ago, The Treasurer said:

Not sure if Snodgrass will play, given that he didn't take part on plastic pitch at Livi 

Yeah and I don’t think Devlin will play either

I would leave out McKay as well 

Plenty options available to take care of Hamilton 

1 hour ago, PapaShango said:

We’ve 9 games between Hamilton and Motherwell no need to rest anyone. Strongest team possible and into the next round. If needed we can makes subs to save legs when in front. However make no mistake this isn’t going to be a walk in the park we will need to battle for everything. They will be right up for it I would imagine.

Exactly. We have a 9 day gap between Hamilton and Motherwell and then a 13 day gap between Motherwell and St Johnstone. We should be playing as strong a lineup as possible and then giving some minutes to a few by putting the game to bed as early as possible. I'd be very surprised if Robbie takes any chances or anything for granted. Go there with our game head on and play at pace and we will win comfortably, go there with a half hearted attitude and no tempo then we will be asking for trouble. 

22 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said:

If the team that played the second half today turn up next week we'll have no trouble.

The first half, though.. 

At least a 2-0 win to Hearts.

Not sure about that pitch though, im sure its a poor one, or was.

given what’s at stake we must field our strongest possible side. Getting 3rd will be for nothing if someone outside the arsecheeks win the Scottish cup (unlikely as that is though).

22 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said:

If the team that played the second half today turn up next week we'll have no trouble.

The first half, though.. 

Start with a back 4 and McKay and Kuol wide on the wings please!

15 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

At least a 2-0 win to Hearts.

Not sure about that pitch though, im sure its a poor one, or was.

Robbie said it’s not as bad as Killie and Livy.

18 hours ago, Walter Bishop said:

4-4-2 for me. 

Clark 

Atkinson

Sibbick

Rowles

Cochrane 

Kuol

Grant 

Snodgrass

McKay

Humphrys

Shankland

Shankland is suspended so Gino in for him would be my choice too. 

2 hours ago, Scott980612 said:

This looks good. 

Hopefully Devlin fit - If not Grant in  

Snodgrass of bench if required - was rested on Livi pitch so imagine this be no different. 

Was rested because we had Huns then Utd in 6 days and he takes a while to recover after playing on Astro, he played at Killie. 

I don't think Snodgrass will start. Maybe has a wee issue playing on this kind of surface wasn't he on bench for livi game ? 

2 minutes ago, Seaside Dave said:

I don't think Snodgrass will start. Maybe has a wee issue playing on this kind of surface wasn't he on bench for livi game ? 

Played 90 against Killie at Rugby park last year.