Scottish rugby

If you want some light hearted relief, read Matt Dawson's BBC rugby column.

Apparently England were great on Sunday and he puts that match on a level with Ireland/New Zealand and France/South Africa. It's terrifying just out blind he is that he equates England beating a tier 2 country, who just lost to Portugal, as either of the big night games.

The guy is delusional with a face you'd never tire of slapping.

• Replies 6.1k

• Dawnrazor

• Malinga the Swinga

• Tazio

24 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

If you want some light hearted relief, read Matt Dawson's BBC rugby column.

Apparently England were great on Sunday and he puts that match on a level with Ireland/New Zealand and France/South Africa. It's terrifying just out blind he is that he equates England beating a tier 2 country, who just lost to Portugal, as either of the big night games.

The guy is delusional with a face you'd never tire of slapping.

Just read that. I hope they get absolutely battered next weekend.

periodictabledancer
2 hours ago, JWL said:

Just read that. I hope they get absolutely battered next weekend.

The comments below it in HYS are hilarious - 

"This article should be shared in schools across the country when teaching the concept of delusion". 

If England don't get hammered by South Africa next weekend, then the game of Rugby Union is as bent as a Nine pound note.

33 minutes ago, Morgan said:

England could just do it.

It’s the way they are.

Don't say that 😭😭😭😭

to the resident rugby experts. should the ref be missing these? and do you think think south africa could have made a video also highlighting things not given for them?

2 hours ago, Gordon Zola said:

to the resident rugby experts. should the ref be missing these? and do you think think south africa could have made a video also highlighting things not given for them?

Some of them pretty hard to spot but the deliberate knock on was an absolute stonewall penalty.

Let's face it, O'Keefe is a terrible referee but the TV official should be calling these out.

Either you have tv officials or you don't. Scotland game v Ireland TV official did nothing to highlight Irish guy standing on line with ball, he even denied it happened l, when everyone saw it on screen.

He then jumped in to penalise tackle off ball that no one noticed.

That TV official was Wayne Barnes and his reward for his dubious decisions by being given quarter final Ireland v new Zealand.

Rugby refereeing is bent as any sport but nobody wants to solve it because, well because that would require effort.

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Some of them pretty hard to spot but the deliberate knock on was an absolute stonewall penalty.

Let's face it, O'Keefe is a terrible referee but the TV official should be calling these out.

Either you have tv officials or you don't. Scotland game v Ireland TV official did nothing to highlight Irish guy standing on line with ball, he even denied it happened l, when everyone saw it on screen.

He then jumped in to penalise tackle off ball that no one noticed.

That TV official was Wayne Barnes and his reward for his dubious decisions by being given quarter final Ireland v new Zealand.

Rugby refereeing is bent as any sport but nobody wants to solve it because, well because that would require effort.

The South Africa knock on was basically identical to the NZ which Smith got yellow carded for. That’s the problem. The application of the rules is not proper 

6 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

The South Africa knock on was basically identical to the NZ which Smith got yellow carded for. That’s the problem. The application of the rules is not proper 

But it "went backwards".

7 hours ago, Gordon Zola said:

Wishful thinking on the lines drawn for Eben Etzebeth's deliberate knock on. The guy's got arms like a giraffe's neck and clawed that ball backwards. 

Kriel's forearm to the chest/neck/face looked dirty but probably marginal. 

Calling Kolisi for 'side entry' when the Frenchie had half a shin roughly above the ball is clutching. It doesn't happen enough in international rugby and I've alluded to it before. Scrum-halves are given way too much leniency at the back of rucks. A referee coach once told me that a ball should be deemed out if a passing pigeon could shit on it. 

I've already mentioned that Kolbe's charge down needed another look, so there's at least one point in there. As there is when the big #4 (quatre) goes to jackal just short of the line but the Saffer moves the ball into his chest. We spotted that one as it happened. 

A few more that, by the very strict letter of the law, could have been given but they're things that you see all the time and it would be petty to call them all. I'm sure, had the scoreboard gone the other way, Rassie could have put together a similar collection because Ben O'Keeffe is not very good and the TMO squad are probably on PornHub for half the match. 

2 hours ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

I'm going to disagree. 

The deliberate knock-on is when you just lash out at the ball without making any effort to get it under control. The most 'obvious' symptom is to go for the ball with only one hand. But that doesn't mean that all one-handed attempts to get the ball will be deliberate knock-ons (or knocks-on). 

The fact that Smith's was a deflection away from a receiver and he never got near to controlling it was quite damning. 

The angle of the camera for Etzebeth's leaves a margin of doubt but you see him getting more of his hand on the ball and his arm movement is to pull the ball towards his own side. At the time, I thought that he'd dragged it marginally backwards towards himself. It's a bit like a forward pass - a ball that goes forward when being passed isn't necessarily a forward pass, for instance if the passer's motion ends up with shoulders turned and hands effectively behind his body when the motion is complete. The fact that we see balls crossing the 22m line (getting closer to the try line) doesn't matter - I suppose unless it's a 2nd tier team!!

The lines drawn in that video are rotten, considering they're overlaying a 2-D image on a 3-D event without allowing for the angle of the camera. But, as I say, I saw it that the ball, at worst, went sideyways from the initial contact. 

4 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

But it "went backwards".

the sport seems to have no concept of backwards and forwards. It’s quite funny seeing as how it’s a fundamental rule 

2 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

Scrum-halves are given way too much leniency at the back of rucks. A referee coach once told me that a ball should be deemed out if a passing pigeon could shit on it.

I wish they'd legislate against the so-called caterpillar ruck, players running to a ruck from all over the field so it stretches back about 20m, then the scrum half taking his time to inch it towards the last foot.

Ref should call "use it" as soon as the ball is available then no-one else can join the ruck and the ref should enforce the 5s rule.

BBC Sport is showing the Scottish women playing the USA. I don't know what was expected; probably that the USA would win. As it is, the Scots are 17-0 up after 25 minutes. Could have been 26 or 28-0 but two conversions hit the post (one more easily makeable than the other) and the Scottish scrum-half just mucked up a really good try opportunity by letting herself get held up when she could have touched down. 

Good to see that refereeing standards are consistent with those in France, with mystifying decisions at the rucks. 

There's a strong wind in the USA faces which might be influencing how they play. I'm hooked for the afternoon, now!

5 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Well that 2nd all blacks try was a thing of wonder. 

It was, I'd like to see them the final.

N Lincs Jambo

Anyone else notice the NZ lock (no 4) clearly ground his knee in the scrum that resulted in the last NZ penalty? Having said that Argentina don’t have enough to break through the All Black defence.

Radio just said World Rugby would shortly make an announcement, likely about a change to the draw dates.

8 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

BBC Sport is showing the Scottish women playing the USA. I don't know what was expected; probably that the USA would win. As it is, the Scots are 17-0 up after 25 minutes. Could have been 26 or 28-0 but two conversions hit the post (one more easily makeable than the other) and the Scottish scrum-half just mucked up a really good try opportunity by letting herself get held up when she could have touched down. 

Good to see that refereeing standards are consistent with those in France, with mystifying decisions at the rucks. 

There's a strong wind in the USA faces which might be influencing how they play. I'm hooked for the afternoon, now!

Watched the game earlier. Scotland dominated second half and deservedly won. Beat Japan next Saturday and it's a successful tournament for them.

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Love the idea that O'Mahony is at home watching this knowing what a chance they had to make a WC final 

:sweeet:

That's a very good thought to end the night on. Ireland would have thumped Argentina but then again, they choked last week.

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Love the idea that O'Mahony is at home watching this knowing what a chance they had to make a WC final 

:sweeet:

Don't know what I prefer tomorrow. South Africa to pile 50+ points on England, South Africa to win with last second try that is controversial and England can complain but can't change or Farrell to miss past kick penalty and England lose by 2.

10 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Don't know what I prefer tomorrow. South Africa to pile 50+ points on England, South Africa to win with last second try that is controversial and England can complain but can't change or Farrell to miss past kick penalty and England lose by 2.

TOTAL HUMILIATION!!!!

43 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

🤣ffs Malinga trust you to make it interesting!

59 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

48 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

TOTAL HUMILIATION!!!!

7 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Is the correct answer 👍

It's the Scottish rugby thread, after all. :laugh:

10 hours ago, Ulysses said:

It's the Scottish rugby thread, after all. :laugh:

Bitter, petty, small minded.

Abso-fecking-lutely

11 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

TOTAL HUMILIATION!!!!

would be even better if SA get a couple of yellows and still humiliate them. They said last night that the biggest semi final victory margin was 49 - 6 when NZ beat Wales in either 87 or 91 i'm hoping that record is destroyed tonight

I hope it's as close to a walkover as possible for South Africa. New Zealand will probably be fresher in the final as there game against Argentina was over by half-time and they had an extra day's rest. An easy win for South Africa would make the final as competitive as possible. Additionally, my ex is from South Africa and we're still on good terms so I'd like them to go on and win the tournament.

19 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

ABNZ

The All Blacks fae New Zealand?

Seriously, it's like watching Celtic. Knowing that they're well enough funded to win pretty much every game but still they get 'respect' shown to them by the match officials and the media.

Edited by I P Knightley

3 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

The All Blacks fae New Zealand?

Seriously, it's like watching Celtic. Knowing that they're well enough funded to win pretty much every game but still they get 'respect' shown to them by the match officials and the media.

Aye, that too. Frankly, I'm just sick of them, if truth be told, with their Haka pish and aw!  Aye, good one!

18 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Radio just said World Rugby would shortly make an announcement, likely about a change to the draw dates.

Groups for RWC 2027 to be drawn after next week’s final, probably. 

Great start to domestic rugby as Edinburgh lossing to Dragons at half time. Jeezo, the dragons are dross and we really should be winning this 

6 minutes ago, leginten said:

Groups for RWC 2027 to be drawn after next week’s final, probably. 

The four seeded teams to be South Africa, New Zealand, Argentina and England, based entirely on this tournament's semi-finals because that's what suits Billy Beaumont.

Just now, Malinga the Swinga said:

Great start to domestic rugby as Edinburgh lossing to Dragons at half time. Jeezo, the dragons are dross and we really should be winning this 

Yep, watching it at the moment. Edinburgh are missing a few rested international players, but they should still be beating the team that finished 2nd bottom last season. Not a great start for the new coach. Still time to come back and win but need to sort themselves out.

Now I am no Rugby aficionado but how did Scotland land up in a group with SA and Ireland ?......as far as I know England have really had an easy path to the semis.....again I stand to be corrected...🤷‍♂️