Have you put the heating on yet?

2 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

i have this temperature device in the living room, showing 20 C , only one at the bottom 

would be 18C, all down would be 26C.

P1010001.JPG

What is that ? 

• Replies 408

• Greedy Jambo

• JudyJudyJudy

• The Real Maroonblood

• Harry Potter

54 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

What is that ? 

Galileo thermometer.

Each of those wee coloured anal plugs are filled with liquid such as alcohol. The little metal tags have numbers on them, (eg 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25). Each tag is a slightly different weight so that when the water enclosed in the glass dildo heats up or cools down the wee anal plugs rise or fall thus giving you the (rough) temperature.

27 minutes ago, been here before said:

Galileo thermometer.

Each of those wee coloured anal plugs are filled with liquid such as alcohol. The little metal tags have numbers on them, (eg 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25). Each tag is a slightly different weight so that when the water enclosed in the glass dildo heats up or cools down the wee anal plugs rise or fall thus giving you the (rough) temperature.

Where can I buy one ? 

New rates start tomorrow. Get your meter readings in tonight before you go to bed so they don't charge you the new rates until midnight tonight or else they will "estimate" what you used up to today (unless you have a smart meter of course).

Heating getting cranked up tonight (then switched off again).

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

New rates start tomorrow. Get your meter readings in tonight before you go to bed so they don't charge you the new rates until midnight tonight or else they will "estimate" what you used up to today (unless you have a smart meter of course).

Heating getting cranked up tonight (then switched off again).

Some Power companies saying that you can submit up to 7th and/or 14th October for that key reading of 30th September.  Need to spread the number of folk trying to use the systems. Seems sensible otherwise if millions trying to submit readings it will go bang😃 Just checked and BG and SSE seem to be on board at least so worth checking if these are not your ones.  Non Smart Meter users as you say.

59 minutes ago, OBE said:

Living room dropped to 17 deg's last night, fired up the boiler for an hour...

Yeah, mine did too.  Quite surprised as it was actually a milder night last night.

Also had to fire up the boiler and that should keep it reasonable till this evening.

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

I've just ordered 10 bags of smokeless fuel, 260 bloody quid!

How long will that last, does it heat your water also?

33 minutes ago, OBE said:

How long will that last, does it heat your water also?

It'll probably last until Christmas, hopefully, it's for two stoves, I get a lot of old fence posts and off cuts of new ones that I burn along with the coal, unfortunately the stoves don't heat any water, I've got to buy oil for that.

2 hours ago, Horatio Caine said:

Yeah, mine did too.  Quite surprised as it was actually a milder night last night.

Also had to fire up the boiler and that should keep it reasonable till this evening.

Should we feel fortunate that we can still flick a switch and the cold disappears? EU might not be so fortunate.

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

It'll probably last until Christmas, hopefully, it's for two stoves, I get a lot of old fence posts and off cuts of new ones that I burn along with the coal, unfortunately the stoves don't heat any water, I've got to buy oil for that.

If I remember correctly, you're pretty remote ain't cha?

Just now, OBE said:

If I remember correctly, you're pretty remote ain't cha?

Aye, 6 miles from the nearest village and half an hour from Lancaster, Kirkby Lonsdale or Settle.

Got washing hanging up on clothes horses, windows open so they don't end up stinking like Robbie Neilson's tactics. 

Still only 16.9 degrees Celsius though, might be able to hold off yet. 

I think this thread will become more popular on Saturday when the "capped" energy prices kick in. 

2.5 times your last bill, apparently. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

***Breaking news ***

didn’t put the heating on at all tonight . Just had a few candies on . Amazing the heat you get from them , feels very Dickenish too 

12 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

When you add in all the dead hookers it should last you a while, though.

21 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

That's cheap😲 my coal went up to 30 quid a bag on the 26th, I'm glad I filled the bunkers during the summer🤬

28 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Best heating? I'm going for under floor. When your feet are warm, you're warm.

Socks and trainers are decent. 

That thing you do
9 hours ago, Smithee said:

Clearly never had underfloor heating!

I had it in korea and its bloody good.

I recommend underfloor heating

10 minutes ago, That thing you do said:

I had it in korea and its bloody good.

I recommend underfloor heating

I have it in my house, never used it in years, costs a ****in fortune to use.

I've had one of those creda wall heaters fitted, trying to program it is hell in a cell. 

It reminds me of the computer the predator had on his wrist in the first arnie movie. 

predator-comp.jpg

Jambo_jim2001
3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I've had one of those creda wall heaters fitted, trying to program it is hell in a cell. 

It reminds me of the computer the predator had on his wrist in the first arnie movie. 

predator-comp.jpg

I always thought they looked like wee dancing figures 😂

4 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

I’m in £400 credit with shell and the cheeky ***** are wanting to put my DD up to £162 from £144. They can gtf . 

I’ve said this before but don’t rely on your credit too much to see you through the winter this time. Any credit has been built up through low usage and low charges. That’s all changed. 

Not just the heating now, I've just lit the first fire of winter.

Usually means I'll be asleep half way through whatever film we're watching.

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Went on the night…just fed up not being cosy sitting about in my shorts. 

Shorts are an all year round thing, glad to hear you’re on the shorts now. 😍

Unless you have young kids, no need for heating to be on yet. 

Out for a walk up in hills after 6 tonight and when I got back, house felt warm enough. Exercise gets blood flowing and is good for circulation which keeps yous you warm anyway.

A good couple of weeks minimum of summer light duvet use before switching to heavier winter one, probably in Nov.

20 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Unless you have young kids, no need for heating to be on yet. 

Out for a walk up in hills after 6 tonight and when I got back, house felt warm enough. Exercise gets blood flowing and is good for circulation which keeps yous you warm anyway.

A good couple of weeks minimum of summer light duvet use before switching to heavier winter one, probably in Nov.

When you are stuck in the hoose on your pc constantly criticising  the UK Government you tend to become a bit decrepit and cauld 

7 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

6 hours ago, Irufushi said:

Shorts are an all year round thing, glad to hear you’re on the shorts now. 😍

Proper men imo.

On 30/09/2022 at 11:23, Smithee said:

Best heating? I'm going for under floor. When your feet are warm, you're warm.

It is your wrists as well that need to be kept toastie and given that we are all w"*£+&#s on JKB that should not be a problem.

Head, wrists and feet that is the key so hats, wrist bands and thermal socks 😃

Closed the windows last night. That is my sign that summer is over :( Will be looking the duvets out today. 

Hopefully heating isnt going on until November. 

15 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Oh i can never go about the house with just shorts on. Too cold for that.. Soon as im in the door my cotton trackies are on. 

Had the heating on some nights but didnt last night.

Changed the duvet to the  " winter" duvet but felt boiling last night. Cant win,