• JudyJudyJudy

• briever

• Unknown user

• manaliveits105

dobmisterdobster
1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'll help you out.

The extra jubilee Bank Holiday cost approx £2.6 billion to the UK economy. 

How many days was UK plc closed or hampered for this? 12? 

Billions. Billions more than the imaginary contribution to the UK economy the Royals allegedly bring. 

£30 million my hairy hoop. 

Lost money to the economy because of a bank holiday is such an arbitrary number. I'm talking about quantifiable money spent by the taxpayer

Edited by dobmisterdobster

Having had some time to reflect on everything, I am putting myself in the 'you don't know what you've got till it's gone' camp. I never much appreciated the Queen while she was alive and I now feel very sorry about that. I watched all the coverage of her funeral, all 9 hours or so, and I found it quite an emotional thing. That woman did a lot for our country. She basically devoted her life to it. It's easy to say she had a privileged life, which she undoubtedly did, but along with that privilege came many costs. Anyone who hated the Queen should look themselves in the mirror and honestly ask themselves the question 'Would I want to have lived her life?'. I am guessing most people would say no. It is not a normal life. You can't just go down the pub with your mates for a quiet pint. You can't just go to Tynecastle and watch the Jambos as an average Joe. It's easy to forget how important and how great anonymity can be. The Queen never ever had that.

That woman has my complete respect now. For everything she did. I just wish I had realised these things while she was alive.

This may or may not affect how I vote in any upcoming IndyRef2. We shall see. I know that referendum shouldn't be about personalities, it should be about Scotland. And I will try very hard to hold on to that thought. But my feelings towards Nicola Sturgeon and towards the Queen could not be more polar opposite right now. And it's hard not to let that bleed into your thoughts about any upcoming referendum.

Anyway. Plenty of time to cogitate on things yet.

Thank you, Elizabeth. For all that you did. 

3 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

Having had some time to reflect on everything, I am putting myself in the 'you don't know what you've got till it's gone' camp. I never much appreciated the Queen while she was alive and I now feel very sorry about that. I watched all the coverage of her funeral, all 9 hours or so, and I found it quite an emotional thing. That woman did a lot for our country. She basically devoted her life to it. It's easy to say she had a privileged life, which she undoubtedly did, but along with that privilege came many costs. Anyone who hated the Queen should look themselves in the mirror and honestly ask themselves the question 'Would I want to have lived her life?'. I am guessing most people would say no. It is not a normal life. You can't just go down the pub with your mates for a quiet pint. You can't just go to Tynecastle and watch the Jambos as an average Joe. It's easy to forget how important and how great anonymity can be. The Queen never ever had that.

That woman has my complete respect now. For everything she did. I just wish I had realised these things while she was alive.

This may or may not affect how I vote in any upcoming IndyRef2. We shall see. I know that referendum shouldn't be about personalities, it should be about Scotland. And I will try very hard to hold on to that thought. But my feelings towards Nicola Sturgeon and towards the Queen could not be more polar opposite right now. And it's hard not to let that bleed into your thoughts about any upcoming referendum.

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

3 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

If I were you I'd that into the Sunday Post and probably win a £20 postal order.

7 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Lost money to the economy because of a bank holiday is such an arbitrary number. I'm talking about quantifiable money spent by the taxpayer

But then you're not as the services and the councils and all the other public organisations feed into that £30 million and start to drop in extra zeros. 

You've been mugged off with a number and seeing as you're clearly unable to think about it you parrot it as truth when in fact its utter bollocks. 

5 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

So you're now a fawning monarchist now because, wait for it - you wouldn't have wanted to live her life.

5 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

Yeah I'd live her life, damn straight.

Would she live mine? Not a ****ing chance.

8 hours ago, Smithee said:

£8bn, and the same again for the coronation

It's amazing how the elite loves socialism when it suits them. 

Bank bailout, Covid, Energy prices, Petrol, CoL, weapons to Ukraine, all needs to paid by the wee guy. But let's cut taxes, so the people who it will benefit, can put said benefits in another country. It's the wee guy, if they had better wages who'd boost the economy, because it's the wee guy who spends their money in the UK economy.  

Woman holds sign up protesting the monarchy. :yadayada:  

Russians protest against their president :jambobanana: 

What's that? Iraq you say, Afghanistan you say.

6 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

image-23-10-21-11-03.gif

Noone knows the actual cost of the funeral yet.

The Queen Mother's state funeral cost £5.4m so that's a hell of a jump to £8bn for the Queen's 🤣🤣🤣

7 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

This may or may not affect how I vote in any upcoming IndyRef2. We shall see. I know that referendum shouldn't be about personalities, it should be about Scotland. And I will try very hard to hold on to that thought. But my feelings towards Nicola Sturgeon and towards the Queen could not be more polar opposite right now.

Nicola Sturgeon has done a lot more for this country than the Queen ever has.

6 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Nicola Sturgeon has done a lot more for this country than the Queen ever has.

Do you think there would be the same outpouring of grief in Scotland if Elsie popped her clogs :biggrin2:

There might be the same amount of Union flags getting waved about right enough

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Do you think there would be the same outpouring of grief in Scotland if Elsie popped her clogs :biggrin2:

There might be the same amount of Union flags getting waved about right enough

I have no doubt you'd be waving yours.

3 hours ago, neilnunb said:

The Queen Mother's state funeral cost £5.4m so that's a hell of a jump to £8bn for the Queen's 🤣🤣🤣

£8bn is the estimated cost to the economy

3 hours ago, jonesy said:

Fair enough, each to their own.

I listened to two hours of radio 2 through the night on Sunday/Monday, and they made her death and funeral into a very personal, very emotive thing. The attitude of the media was very much designed to generate such feelings.

I was glad to continue my drive into an area with no radio signal.

Bloody annoying those radios with no off button.

dobmisterdobster
3 hours ago, neilnunb said:

£8bn is around what Disney paid to acquire Pixar.

But yeah a state funeral totally costs that kind of money. Seems legit.

7 hours ago, been here before said:

If I were you I'd that into the Sunday Post and probably win a £20 postal order.

Haha

Sounds like a plan! 

29 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

£8bn is around what Disney paid to acquire Pixar.

But yeah a state funeral totally costs that kind of money. Seems legit.

It ain't me making up numbers.

🙄

19 minutes ago, jonesy said:

:muggy:

I am sure there were some DAB stations, but I dont have DAB in the car  - but on Monday there was no station not covering it, or at least playing "appropriate" music.

24 minutes ago, briever said:

****ing hell, that is ludicrous.

The Englanders can be very weird. 

Mind you, nationalism of all kinds is basically a magnet for people who need their hard drives checked.

3 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

****ing hell, that is ludicrous.

The Englanders can be very weird. 

As Carly Simon once beautifully said 'nobody does it better'

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

As Carly Simon once beautifully said 'nobody does it better'

Great song.  Good reference. 👍

The chap, quoted below, doesn’t ‘get’ that sort of thing.

1 hour ago, Irufushi said:

:lol: Saint lizzy. 

3 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Ftfy

That is pathetic even for you.

At 5am too - couldn't sleep, greetin all night about Lizzie in her box?

Edited by briever

27 minutes ago, briever said:

Aye, you got it one.

There again I might have had a 04.50 book on this morning.

Some of us do work for a living old chap.

8 hours ago, briever said:

He was part of the illegal sinking of the General Belgrano. 

Weren't you @John Findlay?

13 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

One hundred percent. Very proud of it too.

As you should be.  :thumb:

Sinking an enemy warship in wartime is the right thing to do.

8 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

As you should be.  :thumb:

Sinking an enemy warship in wartime is the right thing to do.

Them or us. That time it was them.

Kept the Argentine Navy in port, could argue we saved more lives than we killed.

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

One hundred percent. Very proud of it too.

Next?

The naval equivalent of shooting a retreating soldier in the back.

You're a classy guy Findlay.

15 minutes ago, briever said:

Says the gentleman who wrote ‘Lizzy in her box’.

53 minutes ago, briever said:

More class in my big toe than you have in your whole body.

On the this subject you are pontificating about, like so many others you pontificate about, you are absolutely clueless.

2 hours ago, briever said:

Thatcher has a lot to answer for. Disgusting human being! 

2 hours ago, briever said:

I don't reckon it was totally his call to be fair.

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

More class in my big toe than you have in your whole body.

On the this subject you are pontificating about, like so many others you pontificate about, you are absolutely clueless.

You put that a whole better than I would have.