***Official Heart of Midlothian v Kilmarnock Match Thread***

The quest for a cup at long last continues. It'll be good to have Cochrane and Sibbick back, but I'd start Neilson again, I'm sure we'll have to.

• Replies 1.3k

• Cruyff

• CloustonHMFC

• Don Dan

• Francis Albert

Gordon

Smith

Neilson

Kingsley

C Smith maybe (not sure who’d play here if Atkinson out)

Devlin

Haring

Cochrane

Forrest

Shankland

McKay

3-0 piece of pish and the Hearts go marching on. 

We need to play as strong a team as possible, injuries allowing.

Its one of only 2 chances to win silverware(realistically), 

New guy (have we decided on a name yet?) might allow Haring to play at back with Neilson?

1 minute ago, merrymac said:

New guy (have we decided on a name yet?) might allow Haring to play at back with Neilson?

According to the website, his nickname is Kio.

https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/orestis-i-want-to-help-the-team

Gordon

Smith Neilson Kingsley Cochrane

Devlin Haring

Forrest Grant McKay

Shankland

Might have missed it but do we know why Grant didn’t feature today? 

35 minutes ago, tartofmidlothian said:

The quest for a cup at long last continues. It'll be good to have Cochrane and Sibbick back, but I'd start Neilson again, I'm sure we'll have to.

Cochrane yes Sibbick no thanks. 

22 minutes ago, RDSK said:

Gordon

Devlin Haring

Forrest Grant McKay

Shankland

No-one seems to know 🤔 

CloustonHMFC
29 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Kio wont be available for Wednesday. Needs a visa first and then some training. 

26 minutes ago, RDSK said:

Gordon

Devlin Haring

Forrest Grant McKay

Shankland

Naughty step.

Dick Dastardly
2 minutes ago, CloustonHMFC said:

I'm not sure if he'll need training, hasn't he played a few games this season? Could be wrong. He does need a visa and all that stuff though

CloustonHMFC
Just now, Dick Dastardly said:

I'm not sure if he'll need training, hasn't he played a few games this season? Could be wrong. He does need a visa and all that stuff though

I was more meaning training with the players to get a feel for how we play and the folk he’s playing beside, not training to get match fit. 

Dick Dastardly
2 minutes ago, CloustonHMFC said:

I was more meaning training with the players to get a feel for how we play and the folk he’s playing beside, not training to get match fit. 

Na, just fling him in. Devlin will keep him right. 

Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine

Gordon

Sibbick Neilson Haring Cochrane

Devlin C Smith

Forrest Grant Mckay

Shankland

Should be a good enough squad there to get through and keep guys fresh. Kio and a new striker to make their debuts the following Saturday. Just need to be a bit more lucky with injuries.

Might need to play Cochrane at left centre back and Halliday at left back if Kingsley isn't ready, can't see Smith playing 3 games in a week,  so something like 

Gordon 

Toby Neilson Alex Halliday 

Haring  devlin 

Grant 

McKay  Shamks Forrest .

If Natty is  fit he may go with a back 5 and rest Cammy 

32 minutes ago, CloustonHMFC said:

Ok

forgot we are not Rangers or Celtic 

Phil D. Corners

It will be a tough game due to all the games and injury’s we have. I believe we have the squad to win the game by the odd goal. 

Finlay James

This will be another tough game but we have a team that will scrap and believes in itself.

I would like to see Connor Smith start, he deserves his chance and Lewis Neilson should also be a stick on.

2-0 Hearts

BackOfTheNet

This is where things get tricky with rotation. We haven’t won the wee cup in so long, you’d want us to make a go of it. Then again, there’s no European spot for it, so do we play 2nd/3rd string to prepare ourselves for what will likely be a very difficult game against an organised Livingston team? But then, do we play full strength against Livingston knowing that we have Istanbul a matter of days later on the Thursday? And so on, and so on…

Edited by BackOfTheNet

1 hour ago, BackOfTheNet said:

This is where things get tricky with rotation. We haven’t won the wee cup in so long, you’d want us to make a go of it. Then again, there’s no European spot for it, so do we play 2nd/3rd string to prepare ourselves for what will likely be a very difficult game against an organised Livingston team? But then, do we play full strength against Livingston knowing that we have Istanbul a matter of days later on the Thursday? And so on, and so on…

This is what I have been thinking.  Games are coming thick and fast and injuries are not helping.  However I really would like to see us win this trophy at last!!

Going to be another battle of a game, hopefully we'll get through to quarters, with no more ####ing injuries. 

Lafferty, nap to score against us.

2-1 Hearts 

Haring, Forrest.

Anyone at home in the next round.

(Bar the erse cheeks)

HHGH 

4 minutes ago, rmreido said:

Going to be another battle of a game, hopefully we'll get through to quarters, with no more ####ing injuries. 

Lafferty, nap to score against us.

2-1 Hearts 

Haring, Forrest.

Anyone at home in the next round.

(Bar the erse cheeks)

HHGH 

I hope we win and get Hibs........oh wait

Due to our injury situation and a tough away game to Livingston on Saturday, it will be interesting to see what team and subs we announce for this game.

Regardless I expect a tough game, we may just like yesterday win by a one goal margin.

32 minutes ago, 19052012 said:

Stewart

Sibbick

Neilson

Kingsley

Smith

Haring

Devlin

Cochrane

Ginnelly 

Grant

GMS

Shankland

We might get kicked out the cup if we play that team mate. :th_wink:

Tynecastle Valhalla
36 minutes ago, 19052012 said:

Stewart

Sibbick

Neilson

Kingsley

Smith

Haring

Devlin

Cochrane

Ginnelly 

Grant

GMS

Shankland

One too many players 

So many options... 

I think we'll stick with 343.   I'll try this one. 

Gordon 

Sibbick

Neilson 

Cochrane

C. Smith

Devlin

Haring

Haliday

Forrest 

Shankland

McKay

2-0

I say 2-0 but this match will be tough somehow and it's most likely a draw.   Strong team out please,  don't underestimate them. 

Is Henderson injured? If not, it doesn't look good for him if he isn't at least in the squad for this one. I'm expecting a lot of fringe players in the team on Wednesday. I know the LC is one of two chances we have to win a trophy each year, but with our Euro commitments and the importance of maintaining 3rd place in the league, this competition is well down our priorities this season.  

LochcarronJambo
16 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Not sure it's good to get Sibbick back.

But it will be another mixed team. Hopefully another good performance and result. 

We are certainly short at back without Halkett & now Robles but Sibbick is a real fear in the defence….. hoping somehow Kingsley will be back asap

Tynecastle Valhalla
5 minutes ago, 19052012 said:

Haha what a numpty. Bench Stewart, give them a chance.

must be what it’s like at ibrox for the home team 

14 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

So many options... 

I think we'll stick with 343.   I'll try this one. 

Gordon 

Sibbick

Neilson 

Cochrane

C. Smith

Devlin

Haring

Haliday

Forrest 

Shankland

McKay

2-0

I say 2-0 but this match will be tough somehow and it's most likely a draw.   Strong team out please,  don't underestimate them. 

Back 3 all inexperienced, madness 

I think we will see the New Boy start (not trying to spell his name )

Gordon 

smith.  Neilson.  Haring.  Cochrane 

Devlin.    Halliday 

New boy

Forrest.    Shankland.   Gino

think

Kingsley  / McKay / Grant / Atkinson 

will be on bench at best to protect them a bit 

Gordon

Smith Neilson Cochrane Halliday

Devlin Haring

Forrest Grant McKay

Shankland

Watching the game against Zurich it was quite pleasing to see we don't always need two sitting midfielders in Haring & Devlin, but for this game & a relatively untried defence, having Haring in there might be needed. He could also play CB with Neilson, pushing Halliday into midfield & letting Cochrane play in his more accustomed wider role. 4,2,3,1

Neilson has to have usurped Sibbick in the pecking order after that. 

Gordon

Devlin Halliday

Forrest McKay GMS

Gino

Not sure if its too soon for Kingsley? But would like to see McKay played centrally and Gino played through the middle. See if McKay can straight step into the 10 role and if Gino can offer a meaningful option as a CF. 

6 hours ago, BackOfTheNet said:

I know it's not as simple as all that, but I'd rather see us win any cup over getting into Europe. Then again, we can do both if we play our cards right.

2 hours ago, tynewater said:

Is Henderson injured? If not, it doesn't look good for him if he isn't at least in the squad for this one. I'm expecting a lot of fringe players in the team on Wednesday. I know the LC is one of two chances we have to win a trophy each year, but with our Euro commitments and the importance of maintaining 3rd place in the league, this competition is well down our priorities this season.  

He was on the bench yesterday.