Is there anything in politics more shit than the Labour Party?

Posted
16 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

🤣 frightening how quickly this has turned to shit. Feck knows what the budget will look like.

It must have been the only Tory prediction to ring true.

• Replies 6.7k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Gundermann

• The Mighty Thor

• jack D and coke

Posted (edited)

Thank feck I didn’t vote for them 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy
Posted

A treasury source says Labour's tax raising plans are in complete disary .

Posted
11 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

A treasury source says Labour's tax raising plans are in complete disary .

Not just their tax raising plans. 

The whole project is an utter shambles.

Bet their 'delighted' they had the riots to give them a sheen of competence 

Posted
13 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Bet their 'delighted' they had the riots to give them a sheen of competence 

:D You are a prize chump if you actually believe that.

Posted
1 hour ago, redjambo said:

:D You are a prize chump if you actually believe that.

It's the only thing they got 'right' in their short shambolic term in office.

Reeves is about embellish that stellar start by delivering the largest of shit sandwiches in less than a fortnight. 

Prize chumpery is being taken in by utter charlatans like Keef. 

He's merely a slightly more polished Spaffer 

Posted

I voted SNP but I was delighted to see the Tories out and I was hopeful that Labour would deliver some improvement.

All I've seen is a continuation of mean Tory policies with a complete disregard for the damage they do to the poorer of society.

On his current trajectory, Starmer won't last a full term and we'll have an even more right wing Tory government back in 5 years.

What a shit show.

Posted (edited)

Hard to think how anyone could do better right now. Tories left an unmitigated disaster of a mess behind them. It'll take a long time to undo all of it.

The budget is unknown for now but there'll need to be some rabbits out of the hat. In part to get a basic message and strategy into the public mindset of what the next two years will look like. Can't see it all being doom and gloom there'll be some positives. 

The thing with this lot compared to what we've had is that there's a method to it. All their plans  take time to bear fruit. It'll be years not days before a change is noticeable.

Not sure the age of social media and immediacy lends itself to all that. 

Edited by JamboX2
Posted
36 minutes ago, JamboX2 said:

Hard to think how anyone could do better right now. Tories left an unmitigated disaster of a mess behind them. It'll take a long time to undo all of it.

The budget is unknown for now but there'll need to be some rabbits out of the hat. In part to get a basic message and strategy into the public mindset of what the next two years will look like. Can't see it all being doom and gloom there'll be some positives. 

The thing with this lot compared to what we've had is that there's a method to it. All their plans  take time to bear fruit. It'll be years not days before a change is noticeable.

Good post. The last mob made more of a mess than any other government in the last century. 

I doubt Labour will sort it but they can't be blamed for what they inherited 

Posted
1 hour ago, JamboX2 said:

There's 19 billion of public spending cuts baked in already. That's before the pissing about with 8 billion for the GB Energy ponzi scheme and whatever other vanity projects with catchy names they've dreamed up.

That's 19 billion less on NHS, Police, Fire, Schools. All the good stuff we rely on all of which are already on the bones of their arse.

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

There's 19 billion of public spending cuts baked in already. That's before the pissing about with 8 billion for the GB Energy ponzi scheme and whatever other vanity projects with catchy names they've dreamed up.

That's 19 billion less on NHS, Police, Fire, Schools. All the good stuff we rely on all of which are already on the bones of their arse.

Don't necessarily disagree. A lot of good in the public sector pay deals and the structural changes in planning and wind farms - which while England focused, should bear fruit in time. The "cuts" are largely not proceeding with plans made before the election and I dare say those wouldn't have happened anyway.

Not sure from what I've seen that GB Energy is a ponzi scheme. Ultimately it's leveraging risk to fee up private capital. Kinda what a lot of other states are doing on a smaller scale. 

I'm yet to see a sustainable argument for an alternative approach to this. There'll be lots of tax rises to come with this budget to keep public spending up. This all takes time. It'll be an interesting 5 years.

Edited by JamboX2
Posted
2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Reeves is about embellish that stellar start by delivering the largest of shit sandwiches in less than a fortnight. 

Yes indeed, but they're not going to be delighted that the riots took place just because it gave them a good look. Well I would hope not anyway. :)

Posted
2 hours ago, Dirty Deeds said:

I voted SNP but I was delighted to see the Tories out and I was hopeful that Labour would deliver some improvement.

All I've seen is a continuation of mean Tory policies with a complete disregard for the damage they do to the poorer of society.

On his current trajectory, Starmer won't last a full term and we'll have an even more right wing Tory government back in 5 years.

What a shit show.

This is where I'm at too. Despite my dislike of Starmer and the current righter-wing leanings of Labour, I genuinely thought that they could do some good. But what a shit show indeed. And all the time ruling out rejoining the EU or the single market, the one move that would make huge inroads into recovering our economy. They basically said all they could do to certain portions of the electorate to get into power but now they're there, they're out of their depth.

Posted

They're wedded to the economic dogma and orthodoxy that the UK has been stuck in since Thatcher.

Pishing around the edges and wilfully ignoring the structural problems at the heart of the system.

The entire economic system of the UK is inequitable, predatory, unfair and inherently cyclic in terms of boom and bust.

In previous decades the good times were at least shared down the chain at least a wee bit. Of course, the pain always fell on those at the bottom.

But as time has gone on, each cycle has seen only those at the very top enjoying the benefits of the boom years and those same people escaping the bust parts.

Those at the bottom are left to pay for the busts and never recover, which has only led to the inequality and lowering of living standards for most people.

It's a kleptocracy. Steal what you can, inflate the markets, skim off the top then hide all the money (offshore, in Crown Dependencies, of course) when it all collapses again.

It's no great surprise that Reeves is stuck in this mindset, coming as she does from a banking background.

She's fundamentally incapable of thinking outside this narrow economic worldview.

This coming budget is going to be brutal because of this.

Mind you, the Tories wouldn't have done this coming budget any differently either.

Posted
13 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Bond markets already moving against her and she still hasn't had her Truss moment yet. This could be a gargantuan cluster****.

Posted
5 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Bond markets already moving against her and she still hasn't had her Truss moment yet. This could be a gargantuan cluster****.

I saw an article on BBC web yesterday saying mortgages could be about go back up again with some lenders upping their rates as early as today.

Another article saying that firms are not investing or hiring until they see what her budget will deliver. 

Suggesting this will be a cluster is perhaps being kind. 

Posted (edited)

Capping corporation tax at 25% for the duration of this Parliament.  Not waiting until the budget to announce that subtle change.  I thought their manifesto said no increase in corporation tax but my reading of that was not guaranteed for the duration of this Parliament.  interesting tactic doing it to an audience of investors. 

Developing investment plans with our Mayors across the country.  No mayors in Scotland so clear as day that in her mind "country" means England.  This is a come to GB Investment summit for International investors.  

Edited by joondalupjambo
Posted
1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

Developing investment plans with our Mayors across the country.  

Mair "levelling up" pish

Posted
26 minutes ago, Cade said:

Mair "levelling up" pish

27 Billion of investment dough via a fund that will go where?  Best guess is any post cafe south of Luton🤣

Posted

Trailing an increase in employer's NICs, which is a tax on jobs. 

Posted
4 hours ago, joondalupjambo said:

Capping corporation tax at 25% for the duration of this Parliament.  Not waiting until the budget to announce that subtle change.  I thought their manifesto said no increase in corporation tax but my reading of that was not guaranteed for the duration of this Parliament.  interesting tactic doing it to an audience of investors. 

Developing investment plans with our Mayors across the country.  No mayors in Scotland so clear as day that in her mind "country" means England.  This is a come to GB Investment summit for International investors.  

Come to England and Wales perhaps, then?

Posted
10 hours ago, redjambo said:

Come to England and Wales perhaps, then?

Aye I was wondering if Wales or NI had majors. NI no then a bit of Google came up with this which got me confused.

Legislation on directly elected mayors applies both to England and Wales, but there are currently no directly elected mayors in Wales. All devolved regional mayors currently have a seat on the Council of Nations and Regions, where they sit alongside the UK Prime Minister and First Ministers of devolved governments.

Posted
On 10/10/2024 at 22:06, The Mighty Thor said:

Correct. The Tories are gone, which is good because they were, literally, crooks !

A real Labour government, which this isn’t, would have enacted real change and re-distributed the wealth we have in the UK. Instead they will go after the weakest in society, see the winter fuel fiasco as evidence, and carry on with neo-liberalism as a Tory government would do. They are Tories in all but name.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Boab said:

Correct. The Tories are gone, which is good because they were, literally, crooks !

A real Labour government, which this isn’t, would have enacted real change and re-distributed the wealth we have in the UK. Instead they will go after the weakest in society, see the winter fuel fiasco as evidence, and carry on with neo-liberalism as a Tory government would do. They are Tories in all but name.

Posted

Weight dross

excellent from the Canary about Spiv Strreting and labours plan to farm out the poor as lab rats .

Even Dr Hilary thinks it's wrong 

Posted
5 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Dr Hilary thinks

And he’s a ****

Posted

To answer the original post.

They're a bunch .

No better .

No worse .

Just the same .

Lying slithering ****wits

Posted
On 15/10/2024 at 21:43, JudyJudyJudy said:

And he’s a ****

You support the drug pushing of big pharma now?

What a hypocrite you really are after yer COVID pish

Posted

Listening to labour wanks is no different to the rest .

Posted

Labour make me sick.

They absolutely reek of the same shit 

Posted
1 minute ago, Ked said:

You support the drug pushing of big pharma now?

What a hypocrite you really are after yer COVID pish

Oh shut up ffs . I am not supporting big pharma that **** Hilary is their stodge . FFS try reading comments. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Oh shut up ffs . I am not supporting big pharma that **** Hilary is their stodge . FFS try reading comments. 

You called him out on this.

Are you supporting drugs to counter act obesity despite the long term affect being unknown or are you just slagging an individual?

Just for clarity.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Ked said:

You called him out on this.

Are you supporting drugs to counter act obesity despite the long term affect being unknown or are you just slagging an individual?

Just for clarity.

I don’t trust him . 

Posted
2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I don’t trust him . 

So you trust big pharma pushing a new version of amphetamine.

But you don't trust them on vaccines?

Aye?

Posted

Labour doing everything except the right thing.

No different.

Same puppet masters.

And still the argument against independence is what again?

Posted
8 hours ago, Ked said:

No different.

Same puppet masters.

Same shit if independent just a different colour of flag and pay even more tax for it for less 

We're doomed either or have yer pick 

Posted
On 15/10/2024 at 10:10, Boab said:

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Ked said:

No different.

Same puppet masters.

History may well repeat itself. Labour voters in Scotland switched their votes in droves to the Nats when they, Labour, supported, in essence, the massive austerity measures introduced by the Tories. If the Nats play it right they could get a lot of the voters back, who jumped back to Labour at the GE.

The betrayal card is the one they need to play ! It worked last time.

Edited by Boab
Posted
10 hours ago, Ked said:

No different.

Same puppet masters.

There’s no argument against independence it’s just the fearties couldn’t cope.

Posted

Stealth tax incoming, Labour's own words, but no "tax rises". 

Forked tongues.

Screenshot_20241019_074124_DuckDuckGo.thumb.jpg.9f1fe4d38600e9254f2ca1a74a602286.jpg

Posted
4 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Stealth tax incoming, Labour's own words, but no "tax rises". 

Forked tongues.

Screenshot_20241019_074124_DuckDuckGo.thumb.jpg.9f1fe4d38600e9254f2ca1a74a602286.jpg

Give it a rest . No one is is surprised at any of this . No one 

Posted
5 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Give it a rest . No one is is surprised at any of this . No one 

His team are at home to Aberdeen today so we might get a break from the greetin'.

Posted
9 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

His team are at home to Aberdeen today so we might get a break from the greetin'.

Hopefully . probably ironing his Palestinian flag to take to the match just now 

Posted
50 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I've never seen Blubbermann post a slightly optimistic post in his life so I wouldn't count on it. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

I've never seen Blubbermann post a slightly optimistic post in his life so I wouldn't count on it. 

Blubbermann 👍

IMG_5116.gif