*** Hearts v St Johnstone match thread ***

lou

9 hours ago, iantjambo said:

Good performance. Deserved 3 points.

McKay was simply brilliant.

Easily MoM last night. It was a good result after coming back from the Winter break. 

• Replies 1.3k

• Factuer Moi

• Hearts007

• Watt-Zeefuik

8 hours ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Nah you’ve been shown up again. It’s very satisfying seeing pant wetters like yourself lose the rag at a team selection. Bit of advice for next time, just relax

If you think merely saying it was an uninspiring team line up is "pant-wetting' then perhaps it's you that needs to relax.

5 hours ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

He's a bit like playing a man short. Whatever he once had is long gone.

Impressive that we are on course to rack up 70 league points with 10 men 

13 minutes ago, Jamiemac said:

https://t.co/t2rfiHIULH 

Last night’s report for anyone who missed it, all about getting through on Saturday now. 

Potential 🍌 

Another very good summary mate

8 hours ago, lost in space said:

We were playing against the worst team in division and once again the 2 saves from Gordon made sure of the points.

Great defence - but not surprising since we had so many defenders.

2 fabulous passes from Mackay.

Hopefully, we will play with a forward soon - we won't get away with 3 points against better teams.

Anybody with a brain would realise that the team selection was terrible.

Once again Neilsons favoured signing (GMS) was selected and hid. 

People keep stating this as if it's a damning indictment of the rest of the team.

But for the 2 Mackay passess you mentioned, we would not have secured the points from the worst team in the league and Gordons saves would have been pretty much meaningless

But for the 2 Ginelly finishes, we would not have secured the points from the worst team in the league and Gordons saves would have been pretty much meaningless.

Gordon is a part of a team, one that is doing well and he is a pivitol part of that. Stop using him as a stick to beat the manager/team with.

You moan about not playing with a forward, yet we scored two goals and one of our front line got two goals and another got two assists. And we are in the process of tryi g to recruit two forwards to replace the departed Walker and the useless Gnanduillet. If they cone off then the anonymous GMS and Woodburn (who hasn't been a great success either) probably drop down the pecking order and the new guys add to the mix with Boyce, Mackay and Ginelly

Edited by davie1980

25 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

People keep stating this as if it's a damning indictment of the rest of the team.

But for the 2 Mackay passess you mentioned, we would not have secured the points from the worst team in the league and Gordons saves would have been pretty much meaningless

But for the 2 Ginelly finishes, we would not have secured the points from the worst team in the league and Gordons saves would have been pretty much meaningless.

Gordon is a part of a team, one that is doing well and he is a pivitol part of that. Stop using him as a stick to beat the manager/team with.

You moan about not playing with a forward, yet we scored two goals and one of our front line got two goals and another got two assists. And we are in the process of tryi g to recruit two forwards to replace the departed Walker and the useless Gnanduillet. If they cone off then the anonymous GMS and Woodburn (who hasn't been a great success either) probably drop down the pecking order and the new guys add to the mix with Boyce, Mackay and Ginelly

Your sensible post won't go down well with some on here

GMS doesn't often have great games but he has contributed goals, assists and won penalties for us this season. 

I think we are being overly critical.

8 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

Not them all. 

But I was with 2 chaps and bumped Into a old school mate. 

So I knew 3 of them. 

😁

34 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

Nah that’s a load of pish REAL good teams play exclusively with utter donkeys in goal, if we’re serious about Europe we should punt Gordon & use the money to buy El Gato back from Man Utd & work on not allowing the opposition to have a single shot on goal instead of relying on saves. Phoodle OUt

8 hours ago, haj said:

Saints are f****d. Can’t remember a side coming to Tynecastle and being that pish for a long time. That being said, first half we let ourselves get dragged down to their level.

Dundee, Livi and to a certain extent Motherwell have all been shite at Tynie.

8 hours ago, lost in space said:

We were playing against the worst team in division and once again the 2 saves from Gordon made sure of the points.

Great defence - but not surprising since we had so many defenders.

2 fabulous passes from Mackay.

Hopefully, we will play with a forward soon - we won't get away with 3 points against better teams.

Anybody with a brain would realise that the team selection was terrible.

Once again Neilsons favoured signing (GMS) was selected and hid. 

Oh diddums, the team I said before kick- off was shite, won at a canter, which they did. Another who spouts more shite than Seafield sewage works.

Lost in space. Is that all the space around you in the East stand at Easter Road?

7 hours ago, Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine said:

Fair enough, everyone had their say tonight, either in support or against Souttar. You have to be daft to not realise that continuing this in other games can only negatively impact the team. If you boo Souttar going forward, you hate Hearts, plain and simple.

if-youre-not-with-us-youre-against-us.jpg

7 hours ago, Tazio said:

One big positive tonight. I was paranoid about big queues with the covid checks and had to collect my ticket anyway so got there stupidly early. I discovered if you get a steak pie about 7pm it’s really nice. Juicy and tasty. 

Funny I have been early for loads of games recently and I find that the bovril is well, much more bovrilly the earlier you buy it at the kiosk😃

7 hours ago, Section Q said:

Think 'Well will miss Watts. Hibs could be a share of the points. Dundee Utd will miss Kerr. We seem solid and together despite losing our most valuable player. This result could've been a slip up. Think we're looking good. Credit to players/coaches/club structure, which now seems balanced.

We're losing Gordon 😟

37 minutes ago, Homme said:

GMS doesn't often have great games but he has contributed goals, assists and won penalties for us this season. 

Got the stats to back that up?

MR INCREDIBLE
36 minutes ago, Homme said:

He is shocking !!!!!

The Apprentice
On 17/01/2022 at 10:20, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Ciftci will probably score against us

they were able to bring a striker in - yet we still seem unable to 

ciftci would have been an improvement on what we have too 

if we are lucky we will get a draw 

Had to come back to this beauty 😂

Although it shouldn’t come as any surprise considering the poster.

Ciftci giving the ball away then wiping out his own player for our 2nd was a highlight! 

2 hours ago, gregzy2k7 said:

Yass! What a sight to behold!

On another note what on earth has happened to dungdee Hibernian? Lol 😆 🤣 

They've Hibs'd it

Good win against a team who came to sit in and hope to hit us on break.  First half we played in to their hands by turning back too often when attacking.  The early goal second half was perfect for us.  They came out a bit more and left gaps at back that we maybe should have exploited before we did get the second.    Overall a comfortable night.

8 minutes ago, briever said:

Got the stats to back that up?

From the stats i could find (unsure if updated from last night) he is third top scorer, top for assists (think BM took top spot after last night) and has the highest Points per game out of all our attacking players effectively meaning when he is playing we get better results.

12 minutes ago, The Apprentice said:

Had to come back to this beauty 😂

Although it shouldn’t come as any surprise considering the roaster.

Ciftci giving the ball away then wiping out his own player for our 2nd was a highlight! 

FTFY

1 hour ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Impressive that we are on course to rack up 70 league points with 10 men 

Are you suggesting it's solely dependent on GMS?

2 hours ago, gregzy2k7 said:

Yass! What a sight to behold!

On another note what on earth has happened to dungdee Hibernian? Lol 😆 🤣 

Tam courts honeymoon over

10 minutes ago, Homme said:

From the stats i could find (unsure if updated from last night) he is third top scorer, top for assists (think BM took top spot after last night) and has the highest Points per game out of all our attacking players effectively meaning when he is playing we get better results.

Where did you find those stats - would like to see them?

1 hour ago, Homme said:

My arab mate once said that GMS was the best player he'd seen come through at United in the last 20 years......... once in every 8 games

I've yet to see the spectacular talent he saw but the inconsistency isn't as bad as he made out either. GMS has contributed to games as you say but there's no doubting he has ups and downs.

But what winger doesn't?

For me he is behind Mackay and probably Ginelly but he still has a role to play and can be a useful player for us.

If the attacking players we bring in are improvements, we might see him and Woodburn squeezed down the pecking order but for now he still does a job and we will have to accept that he might not turn up every game.

9 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

My arab mate once said that GMS was the best player he'd seen come through at United in the last 20 years......... once in every 8 games

I've yet to see the spectacular talent he saw but the inconsistency isn't as bad as he made out either. GMS has contributed to games as you say but there's no doubting he has ups and downs.

But what winger doesn't?

For me he is behind Mackay and probably Ginelly but he still has a role to play and can be a useful player for us.

If the attacking players we bring in are improvements, we might see him and Woodburn squeezed down the pecking order but for now he still does a job and we will have to accept that he might not turn up every game.

When was the last time he turned up for Hearts?  Winning a pen at Tannadice?

31 minutes ago, briever said:

Are you suggesting it's solely dependent on GMS?

Folk seem to be in desperate search for someone to pick on.

Yes he is probably a bit past his career best but it’s a collective squad effort. We are winning football matches and folk make laughable statements like “he’s like playing with a man short”. If we were playing with a man short, we would be losing a hell of a lot more games. A few games ago Gary scored an important goal good finish in the bottom corner against St Mirren. A right footed player would miss that chance. Certain scenarios the left foot just comes into play. The main problem is he has missed too many of them, hitting the bar and missing target etc, Gary could probably be on 6-7 goals right now. The guy is never a Rudi and he is now being totally outshone by Barrie McKay who is absolutely class, but that doesn’t change the fact GMS a decent level of proven SPL quality and he’s shown that in his contributions. We are the total opposite of a 1 man team at the moment it’s been a real squad effort.

Edited by A_A wehatethehibs

7 minutes ago, briever said:

Heart of Midlothian FC - Squad statistics (Detailed view) | Transfermarkt

Mmm, it says BM only has 4 assists in the whole season including league cup.

He does. 

Direct assists. 

If you have eyes, you'll see more, also sky had stats  where he was one of the most if not he most creative forward in the league, chances created, dribbles, passes etc. More detail than just assists and goals. 

8 minutes ago, briever said:

Heart of Midlothian FC - Squad statistics (Detailed view) | Transfermarkt

Mmm, it says BM only has 4 assists in the whole season including league cup.

We hadn’t signed him before the LC I don’t think?

There was another stat posted about how really he should be on about 15+ assists with the chances created. It’s about the other guys being more clinical now. Do that, and we’ll be looking at a 20 point gap down to the tramps 

9 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Folk seem to be in desperate search for someone to pick on.

Yes he is probably a bit past his career best but it’s a collective squad effort. We are winning football matches and folk make laughable statements like “he’s like playing with a man short”. If we were playing with a man short, we would be losing a hell of a lot more games. A few games ago Gary scored an important goal good finish in the bottom corner against St Mirren. A right footed player would miss that chance. Certain scenarios the left foot just comes into play. The main problem is he has missed too many of them, hitting the bar and missing target etc, Gary could probably be on 6-7 goals right now. The guy is never a Rudi and he is now being totally outshone by Barrie McKay who is absolutely class, but that doesn’t change the fact GMS a decent level of proven SPL quality and he’s shown that in his contributions. We are the total opposite of a 1 man team at the moment it’s been a real squad effort.

People are sick and tired of watching a player contribute the square root of feck all in the last 3 months - we should have sent GMS away on loan and kept Walker.

7 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

He does. 

Direct assists. 

If you have eyes, you'll see more, also sky had stats  where he was one of the most if not he most creative forward in the league, chances created, dribbles, passes etc. More detail than just assists and goals. 

GMS specialises in killing momentum and dribbling into defenders who stroll away with the ball.

32 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

But what winger doesn't?

Spot on

6 minutes ago, briever said:

People are sick and tired of watching a player contribute the square root of feck all in the last 3 months - we should have sent GMS away on loan and kept Walker.

Out for bites this morning. Can you not just enjoy Hearts winning?

23 hours ago, Jim Panzee said:

am prepared for what we've seen previously.

expectant crowd hoping to see us batter a bottom of the table team 5-0

but we'll see a hard fought game, win 2-0 or 2-1 with most of us forgetting our 4-5 very, very good chances, and mostly controlling the game.....meaning we all trudge home not fully sated but still having won 3 points and firming up 3rd spot.

Was more or less right.

We maybe didn't trudge home.....well apart from the few who are disappointed our goalie had a couple of saves to make and seeing two of our front line creating / taking chances clinically. 

worth considering.....the rangers stuttered to a 1-1 draw last night and that's with a squad that's had millions thrown at (and money they seemingly owe to boot)

2 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Assists are a pointless stat. Chances created are more reflective on a midfielder / wingers performance.

The assist is what appears at the top of the match report under the scoreline. So it’s a headline stat. 

Its the same as the fact that a headline, rarely tells you the full story of a football match. But the headline stats are the actual contributions to the ball going in the net.

It has become a way to recognise the importance of an unselfish player where previously, only the goal scorer got a headline mention. It annoys me when folk say it’s pointless. The point of it is, it’s a headline stat reflecting a direct contribution to the scoreline. 

43 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

Out for bites this morning. Can you not just enjoy Hearts winning?

I am not fishing, I enjoyed Hearts win last night here and now analysing the game and ANOTHER shite performance from GMS. 

It's what fitba fans do.

1 hour ago, briever said:

GMS specialises in killing momentum and dribbling into defenders who stroll away with the ball.

That was in reference to Mckay.

GMS isn't as bad as folk make out either.

Some Folk just need a player to hate on, no idea why.

He generally occupies 2 players as does McKay now. This creates space for other players who can then get more space and time.

It's a team game and although GMS isn't great and may be replaced in the summer or next, he adds to us and has scored goals and won penalties for us at key times.

lost in space
2 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Oh diddums, the team I said before kick- off was shite, won at a canter, which they did. Another who spouts more shite than Seafield sewage works.

Lost in space. Is that all the space around you in the East stand at Easter Road?

Won against a very poor team. The team all played well apart from GMS, as usual.

Would you be happy for that team to play against Celtic next week? - I wouldnt. 

I know we are trying to sign forwards but we havnt yet and that left us with poor options!!

Your comments re ER did make me laugh though, so thanks for that.

You do seem very angry though. Calm down, dear!

My thoughts on the game last night were great result with other teams below us dropping points but we badly need a main striker but Gino did well with his two goals but he is not a central striker, as for Souttar he played okay but it would be better for all if he moved in this window. What can you say about wee Barrie get him on a longer contract he was outstanding last night overall we seemed a bit flat at times maybe because of distractions or been off for about three weeks but hey ho roll on Saturday.

15 minutes ago, lost in space said:

Won against a very poor team. The team all played well apart from GMS, as usual.

Would you be happy for that team to play against Celtic next week? - I wouldnt. 

I know we are trying to sign forwards but we havnt yet and that left us with poor options!!

Your comments re ER did make me laugh though, so thanks for that.

You do seem very angry though. Calm down, dear!

That team won't even play against Auchinleck Talbot, never mind Celtic.

It was a team pit out, to get three points. Job done. It will be a different team on Saturday and different again the following Wednesday. This is the way in modern football  dear.x