John Findlay Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 On 26/09/2021 at 16:58, Auldbenches said: Paisley and you are giving to anyone else when it comes to talent. That drummer who now presents telly dougie something, I'll give you that. Who beats that for talent? So your from paisley and kissing the weedgie Gerry Rafferty was from Paisley I believe. It's the Edinburgh International Festival, simply because the whole world wants to come to Edinburgh. The only people that want to visit Glasgow are Glaswegians themselves. Jealousy is a terrible thing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mister T Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 On 26/09/2021 at 21:48, Deke Thornton said: I forgot Larry Marshall. And Andy Cameron. His Sunday Joint show on BBC radio scotland 🙄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Has anybody on here slating this Godley creature as being a crap comedian ever actually saw her act or do you think all she does is Nicola Sturgeon voiceovers? I wouldn't mind betting the same posters having a go at her for the horrible comments she made years ago lap up Frankie Boyle's patter. ps, I think she's shite too but that's not my point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auldbenches Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 You can't argue that they both said something controversial, but to compare comedy content is laughable. I've heard a fair bit of her comedy as she was never off bbc Scotland for a few years and we were all forced to endure her stuff through the pandemic and can't remember a single punchline. You'll need to refresh my memory or tell me something you've heard in her stand up as I'd avoid it due what I've already heard. What have I missed out if you enjoyed her stand up? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harry Potter Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 What comedian are we on about, cant be bothered trailing through the thread. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 14 minutes ago, Auldbenches said: You can't argue that they both said something controversial, but to compare comedy content is laughable. I've heard a fair bit of her comedy as she was never off bbc Scotland for a few years and we were all forced to endure her stuff through the pandemic and can't remember a single punchline. You'll need to refresh my memory or tell me something you've heard in her stand up as I'd avoid it due what I've already heard. What have I missed out if you enjoyed her stand up? Your right she has no comic timing , no actual traditional type jokes , her observations about most things are just littered with profanity which Sone dafties seem to find “ comical “ she hasn’t even got an actual smooth ,likeable exterior which may warm the audience to her . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikey1874 Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 35 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Has anybody on here slating this Godley creature as being a crap comedian ever actually saw her act or do you think all she does is Nicola Sturgeon voiceovers? I wouldn't mind betting the same posters having a go at her for the horrible comments she made years ago lap up Frankie Boyle's patter. ps, I think she's shite too but that's not my point. What is your point? Being racist and being defended by Sturgeon for it is good? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray Gin Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 12 minutes ago, Harry Potter said: What comedian are we on about, cant be bothered trailing through the thread. Apparently Janey Godley is a comedian. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Brightside Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 45 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Has anybody on here slating this Godley creature as being a crap comedian ever actually saw her act or do you think all she does is Nicola Sturgeon voiceovers? I wouldn't mind betting the same posters having a go at her for the horrible comments she made years ago lap up Frankie Boyle's patter. ps, I think she's shite too but that's not my point. She was by far the worst talking head on the Scottish Cup final replays that Sportscene did. Chronic irrelevant ‘patter’. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auldbenches Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 16 minutes ago, JamesM48 said: Your right she has no comic timing , no actual traditional type jokes , her observations about most things are just littered with profanity which Sone dafties seem to find “ comical “ she hasn’t even got an actual smooth ,likeable exterior which may warm the audience to her . Even if you aren't a fan of her daughter's comedy, she is a lot better than her and at least has constructed jokes with a line to finish them off. It's the 'wean' you've got to feel sorry as it's probably affected her career a wee bit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auldbenches Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 11 minutes ago, Ray Gin said: Apparently Janey Godley is a comedian. He would've got there anyway, but she did give Sadowitz his first gigs in a pub she used to run. Apart from that... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darren Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 4 hours ago, John Findlay said: The only people that want to visit Glasgow are Glaswegians themselves. Jealousy is a terrible thing. Your employer wouldn't make much money if that was the case. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 minute ago, Darren said: Your employer wouldn't make much money if that was the case. Most governments don't 😉 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milky_26 Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 3 hours ago, Awbdy Oot said: Has anybody on here slating this Godley creature as being a crap comedian ever actually saw her act or do you think all she does is Nicola Sturgeon voiceovers? I wouldn't mind betting the same posters having a go at her for the horrible comments she made years ago lap up Frankie Boyle's patter. ps, I think she's shite too but that's not my point. Ive never seen her voiceovers only her appearances on things like HIGNFY and she was awful on them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTT Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Sturgeon offering support to Godley whose humour was just racist. Whilst offering nothing to Joanna Cherry who has been victim to threats no woman should have to deal with. Pretty much sums up Sturgeon to me. I don’t much care what Godley was tweeting but the way Sturgeon is allowing a prominent member of her party and absolute credit to the independence cause to be treated is disgusting. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 4 hours ago, Auldbenches said: You can't argue that they both said something controversial, but to compare comedy content is laughable. I've heard a fair bit of her comedy as she was never off bbc Scotland for a few years and we were all forced to endure her stuff through the pandemic and can't remember a single punchline. You'll need to refresh my memory or tell me something you've heard in her stand up as I'd avoid it due what I've already heard. What have I missed out if you enjoyed her stand up? Pretty common for a stand up comedian's live act to be completely different from what you'll see on BBC Scotland for obvious reasons. I've never seen Jane Godley live, never will but my wife has and she said she was hilarious. I'd be interested to know what kind of "certain demographic" @JamesM48 thinks it is that my Mrs falls into. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said: What is your point? Being racist and being defended by Sturgeon for it is good? Aye that'll be it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 3 hours ago, Mr Brightside said: She was by far the worst talking head on the Scottish Cup final replays that Sportscene did. Chronic irrelevant ‘patter’. So you've not seen her stage act then? Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 hour ago, milky_26 said: Ive never seen her voiceovers only her appearances on things like HIGNFY and she was awful on them Not seen her stage act then. Great that I've had so many replies to my question, pity nobody actually answered it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazio Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 16 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Not seen her stage act then. Great that I've had so many replies to my question, pity nobody actually answered it. Yes I’ve seen her live. And no I’m not a fan of Frankie Boyle. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr Brightside Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 44 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: So you've not seen her stage act then? Thanks She was acting as a comedian on the show and was terrible IMO. Her attempts at humour would not encourage me to watch her as a standalone act. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 36 minutes ago, Tazio said: Yes I’ve seen her live. And no I’m not a fan of Frankie Boyle. Then your opinion of her holds more sway than the rest of the posters on the previous page who were the ones I was addressing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 On 10/09/2021 at 07:57, Mister T said: Andy Fordham 's had a shave I see. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milky_26 Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 hour ago, Awbdy Oot said: Not seen her stage act then. Great that I've had so many replies to my question, pity nobody actually answered it. you do realise that comedians use things like HIGNFY and other panel shows to showcase selections of their acts Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 (edited) 8 minutes ago, milky_26 said: you do realise that comedians use things like HIGNFY and other panel shows to showcase selections of their acts Yes. Edit: not sure that they actually do showcase selections of their acts on these shows, in fact now I've thought about it I'm certain that they don't. Edited October 6, 2021 by Awbdy Oot Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 9 minutes ago, i8hibsh said: Andy Fordham 's had a shave I see. Poor taste, he died not long ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 19 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Poor taste, he died not long ago. And? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 6 hours ago, Awbdy Oot said: Has anybody on here slating this Godley creature as being a crap comedian ever actually saw her act or do you think all she does is Nicola Sturgeon voiceovers? I wouldn't mind betting the same posters having a go at her for the horrible comments she made years ago lap up Frankie Boyle's patter. ps, I think she's shite too but that's not my point. What is your point then? Why are you comparing apples and oranges? I like Frankie Boyle. Not all his stuff mind you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 I don't have to watch or read Harry Potter to know it quite simply 'aint my bag' and I would not enjoy it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 17 minutes ago, i8hibsh said: And? Pretty much the response I'd expect from you to be fair. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 hour ago, Awbdy Oot said: Not seen her stage act then. Neither have you! 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Des Lynam said: Neither have you! 😂 I know, that's why I wouldn't come on here and slate her the way others have. "She's shite!" "Have you seen her act?" "No" "Ok" Hint: There's my point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Awbdy Oot said: I know, that's why I wouldn't come on here and slate her the way others have. "She's shite!" "Have you seen her act?" "No" "Ok" Hint: There's my point. I’m not a huge fan of racists. Maybe you and your wife are. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 minute ago, Awbdy Oot said: Pretty much the response I'd expect from you to be fair. You came firing at me walking the moral high ground so I just asked a simple question "and"? I want to know how me making reference to Andy Fordham and Janey Godley is in poor taste that is all. I am aware he died as I liked him. I just want to know how making refence to someone in humour just because they are dead is in poor taste? People who take the moral high ground invariably end up with egg on their face. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 5 minutes ago, Des Lynam said: I’m not a huge fan of racists. Maybe you and your wife are. Yet you like Frankie Boyle, a far bigger racist than the thread subject will ever be. ps. Nowhere have I claimed to be a fan of Jane Godley. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Awbdy Oot said: Yet you like Frankie Boyle, a far bigger racist than the thread subject will ever be. ps. Nowhere have I claimed to be a fan of Jane Godley. Frankie a racist? Really? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 3 minutes ago, i8hibsh said: You came firing at me walking the moral high ground so I just asked a simple question "and"? I want to know how me making reference to Andy Fordham and Janey Godley is in poor taste that is all. I am aware he died as I liked him. I just want to know how making refence to someone in humour just because they are dead is in poor taste? People who take the moral high ground invariably end up with egg on their face. Making reference to someone in humour who is dead is in poor taste whether you think it is or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Des Lynam said: Frankie a racist? Really? Yes really. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Awbdy Oot said: Yes really. Prove it….. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Des Lynam said: Prove it….. No Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Just now, Awbdy Oot said: No You like throwing accusations about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 1 minute ago, Des Lynam said: You like throwing accusations about. Love it, how about you? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des Lynam Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 2 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Love it, how about you? Just for context. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-20033097 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 13 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Making reference to someone in humour who is dead is in poor taste whether you think it is or not. Absolutely not true. You never make reference to a grandparent, an old friend a parent etc who has passed in humour? The word 'humour' gives it a away fella. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 10 minutes ago, Des Lynam said: Just for context. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-20033097 That tells us he was cleared of racism 10 years ago, my brother in law wasn't a vegetarian 10 years ago, he is now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 4 minutes ago, i8hibsh said: Absolutely not true. You never make reference to a grandparent, an old friend a parent etc who has passed in humour? The word 'humour' gives it a away fella. Aye ok. You've got your views, I've got mine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longbaws Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 Unfunny weegie pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whodanny Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 39 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Yes really. Example ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 24 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said: Aye ok. You've got your views, I've got mine. Can't argue with that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
graygo Posted October 6, 2021 Share Posted October 6, 2021 20 minutes ago, whodanny said: Example ? Ok, he's not a racist. I take it back and admit I was wrong. He does tell jokes using black stereotypes to get a laugh though, the law says that's not racist so I was wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...