Kittens, Avon ladies and Insurance men

Captain Slog

I’ve always said and heard poor oot, scramble sounds a bit posh. 
I remember the buzz the first big Sikh wedding caused once word got out the only threw silver coins. Made the inevitable cuts and bruises worth the effort. 

• Replies 164

• ¼½¾

• Auldbenches

• JudyJudyJudy

• Tazio

Jambo-Jimbo
13 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

It's only about two months till the future Mrs Captain Jambo ( @Dorothy) arrives here from Kansas so we can start our new life together.  So I was looking about for a new member of the family we both want to greet her.  But blow me, kittens are three hundred quid each on gumtree now, even the not posh ones.

Now i recall a time, not so long ago, when every newsagent had a board with adverts, usually with a kittens free to good homes one on it, s it got me to thinking, what else isn't there anymore from the seventies and eighties when I was at school.

Ill start with

Avon Ladies

Insurance men

Bon Accord Lorry

Rag n bone man

Maybe my social circle is so small they still exist, but what else am i forgetting service wise from those days?

Please please please do not buy a kitten or any animal off gumtree.

Go to a rescue centre, at least you'll know that the cat/kitten has been checked over by a vet and any issues treated.

34 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I remember the buzz the first big Sikh wedding caused once word got out the only threw silver coins. Made the inevitable cuts and bruises worth the effort. 

It was always a poor oot at Muirhoose Parish Church growing up in the 60's - Saturday afternoon around 3pm and it was always best tae keep yer finger nails short tae pick up the coins the quickest 😎

I remember the insurance man coming round ours every Friday. Car insurance, life insurance etc. My dad paid for it weekly and had a wee book that the guy signed and dated every week to keep a tally.

7 minutes ago, Jambo314 said:

It was always a poor oot at Muirhoose Parish Church growing up in the 60's - Saturday afternoon around 3pm and it was always best tae keep yer finger nails short tae pick up the coins the quickest 😎

Scramble

48 minutes ago, Tazio said:

We used to call it a ‘scatter’ when I was wee.

49 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Go to a rescue centre, at least you'll know that the cat/kitten has been checked over by a vet and any issues treated.

I might have mentioned it before: My sister bought a Jack Russel puppy off of Gumtree for £949 last year.  The dogs the height of a lab now.

Captain Slog
1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Vey good point, thanks, Ill ensure whoever we adopt is a rescue from a centre

Jambo-Jimbo
8 hours ago, CostaJambo said:

The fish van.

We get two here, one from Anstruther on a Wednesday & the other from Eyemouth on a Thursday.

My mate just bought an 8 month old ragdoll cat for £600, apparently they're around £1500 for a kitten usually. 

Jambo-Jimbo
9 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

Women with head scarfs on.

Groups of old men standing at street corners on a Saturday afternoon.

Kids playing with toy guns.

Kids playing in the streets.

Kerby.

Football using the lamp posts as the goals.

Girls with skipping ropes.

Pea Shooters ( out of a yellow BIC pen)

Sweetie Cigarettes with cards in them

Home Brew Kits

Watney's Red Barrel in a big can

Bus tokens and free school meals tokens (for us poor yins) - talk about stigma!

Bus conductors and their wee machines for thetickets

With with curlers and floral pinnies

Your turn to wash the stair

Collecting bonefire wood and cudgels to protect the wood from other streets trying to steal it before bonfire night

5 hours ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

image-1.jpg

Auld Fergie (deceased) the foul mouthed Hamilton supporter sold around our streets 

Jambo-Jimbo
23 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Pea Shooters ( out of a yellow BIC pen)

Sweetie Cigarettes with cards in them

Home Brew Kits

Watney's Red Barrel in a big can

Bus tokens and free school meals tokens (for us poor yins) - talk about stigma!

Bus conductors and their wee machines for thetickets

With with curlers and floral pinnies

Your turn to wash the stair

Big big business nowadays, hundreds of different kits to choose from and they are mostly not the crap you used to get years ago, many are of commercial quality now.

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Kids playing in the streets.

Kerby.

Football using the lamp posts as the goals.

Girls with skipping ropes.

These activities have not been seen since Malofeev took training. 😉 

Jokes on ice lolly sticks

Smarties lids with letters of the alphabet on them. 

Longbangers. 

Tickets for the deli counter. 

Edited by Samuel Camazzola

17 hours ago, Captain Slog said:

Whats Scentsy?

I hear this is the scent to have...
5000.jpg?width=620&quality=85&auto=forma

I miss these:

tudor-crisps2.jpg?w=513

Especially the (not shown) mild curry flavour, best crisps ever made. :(

1 hour ago, scott herbertson said:

Savoury Vinegar Crisps

Pickled Onion crisps

Pickled onion crisps? You can still get these I think.

WoolfordsHearts
2 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Auld Fergie (deceased) the foul mouthed Hamilton supporter sold around our streets 

Never knew that pal.

But then I'm considerably younger than you.😎

2 hours ago, WoolfordsHearts said:

Never knew that pal.

But then I'm considerably younger than you.😎

Only a couple 

Of decades

Old school desserts where something else.

ice-magic-425x265.jpg

Rumoured that this version got banned due to some nasty chemical in it, not sure if true.

http://modculture.typepad.com/.a/6a00d83451cbb069e20120a63b0451970c-pi

The best ones had the fake chocolate in the bottom of the shaped tubs that you could scoop out with a spoon.

Arctic-Roll.jpg?fit=3819,2547&ssl=1

Not sure if you can still get Artic Rolls, but I swear there was a chocolate coated one?

1 minute ago, Gizmo said:

Old school desserts where something else.

ice-magic-425x265.jpg

Rumoured that this version got banned due to some nasty chemical in it, not sure if true.

http://modculture.typepad.com/.a/6a00d83451cbb069e20120a63b0451970c-pi

The best ones had the fake chocolate in the bottom of the shaped tubs that you could scoop out with a spoon.

Arctic-Roll.jpg?fit=3819,2547&ssl=1

Not sure if you can still get Artic Rolls, but I swear there was a chocolate coated one?

Arctic rolls are indeed still a thing. My mum sometimes buys one as a special treat if I visit her for dinner. I’m 55. 

1 minute ago, SectionDJambo said:

Being able to buy a box of explosives, otherwise known as bangers, for little cash.

Madness.

We used to buy the cheap Chinese rockets that weren’t much bigger than bangers. Our preferred way of using them was to put them in car exhaust pipes and light them so they shot along the street at knee height before exploding. Or one happy night where we went into posh Trinity and laid siege to the tennis club in Lomond Park with them fired at just the right distance and height that they exploded just over the clubhouse. 

Vending machines for fags in the street.  I can remember there was an old one on a wall at Haymarket, near Ryries, until not too long ago.

Letraset transfers.  You got a printed scene and a load of transfers to rub on to it.  I had a war one and and one with dinosaurs.

Lucky bags with jokes on the back of them from the ice cream van.

Finding frozen Razzle mags in the bushes on the way to school during winter. The pure anticipation of waiting for it to thaw.

Finding used glue bags and gas cans in the woods.

Stink bombs

9 hours ago, Pap said:

Lucky bags with jokes on the back of them from the ice cream van.

Finding frozen Razzle mags in the bushes on the way to school during winter. The pure anticipation of waiting for it to thaw.

Finding used glue bags and gas cans in the woods.

Stink bombs

Hedge porn. Better than your mum's Kay's catalogue

On 09/04/2021 at 11:18, Hugh Phamism said:

There's one outside my house right now. Pittenweem to Bo'ness every Wednesday and Friday. 

They get their fish from Peterhead.

Sticking tacks into the soles of of your school shoes so that you could make noise and sparks..

Taking empty bottles back to the newsagent for cash.

Chopper bikes.

Buying cans of shandy as kids.

Old Jamaica.

On 09/04/2021 at 07:44, Byyy The Light said:

Tits on cans of Tennents 

If they were still about a good chance Robbie would be on one. 😎

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

Sticking tacks into the soles of of your school shoes so that you could make noise and sparks..

Chopper bikes.

Old Jamaica.

Ah, I remember the name of the "tacks" now, it was segs that we hammered into our soles.

5 minutes ago, Pap said:

[url=https://imgbb.com/][img]https://i.ibb.co/KsGF6XF/Dgos-SKW0-AIy-GDj.jpg[/img][/url]

[url=https://imgbb.com/][img]https://i.ibb.co/3MkxpNS/51-IZcbl-Tz-RL-AC.jpg[/img][/url]

Top Deck. That was indeed the one I used to down a lot. :thumbsup:

Alpine juice lorry. Caused a price war back in the day.

I preferred Globe Sun Kool Kola or Solripe Red Kola.

11 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Were Alpine juice lorries before or after Bon Accord juice lorries? Or was it a rivalry with both out at the same time? 

Edited by Tazio

Auldbenches
24 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Globe sun kool kola was the best juice you could buy as a youngster.  Better than coke, Pepsi or any other.

Fantastic stuff.  

16 hours ago, SectionDJambo said:

Being able to buy a box of explosives, otherwise known as bangers, for little cash.

Madness.

I remember an ironmongers at portobello that sold paraffin the shop had houses above very much doubt it would be allowed now,it was stored in something very similar to a petrol pump

40 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Were Alpine juice lorries before or after Bon Accord juice lorries? Or was it a rivalry with both out at the same time? 

Same time. 

Alpine started coming on a Friday night to scupper Bon Accord on the Saturday. 

Pinneappleade had that much sugar and additives it was like a weekend trip as a nipper.

3 hours ago, redjambo said:

Chopper bikes.

Old Jamaica.

😢

However............Bournville are now doing Old Jamaica. My local Asda and Tesco dont stock it

😭

But Home Bargains do

:robboyas:

1 hour ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

😢

However............Bournville are now doing Old Jamaica. My local Asda and Tesco dont stock it

😭

But Home Bargains do

:robboyas: