• ¼½¾

• Auldbenches

• JudyJudyJudy

• Tazio

21 hours ago, Pap said:

Lucky bags with jokes on the back of them from the ice cream van.

Finding frozen Razzle mags in the bushes on the way to school during winter. The pure anticipation of waiting for it to thaw.

Finding used glue bags and gas cans in the woods.

Stink bombs

Used to go looking for scuddy mags over in the woods every Saturday but mostly just found glue bags 

When you found a mag it was like winning the lottery. Everyone wanted to be your best pal so they could get a look 

Can only think now of how bad it must have been with pages stuck together ect but I was to young to know any better 

In the mid 80s I used to cut out tokens on crisp packets and some sweets if I mind right and you sent them away and got money in return. 

With the money I made from the tokens and other money I had enough to open up my first bank account.  
It was the Arthur Daley Leeds liquid gold account 

Ive still got the account to this day and  granted it’s went through a few different names and owners since then but believe it or not when I checked the old book a couple of years ago I got 7.5% interest 😱😱

Can only dream of getting 7.5% interest nowadays 

5 hours ago, Hairdryer said:

I remember an ironmongers at portobello that sold paraffin the shop had houses above very much doubt it would be allowed now,it was stored in something very similar to a petrol pump

i remember my grandfather having a what i would say a barrel of paraffin outside his house for his greenhouse and cold frame heaters

Cups and saucers. No mugs.

No big bottles of juice. I remember when 1.5ltr bottles arrived, with a black plastic bit attached to the bottom. They seemed massive.

On 09/04/2021 at 06:45, Lord BJ said:

Do fathers of the brides still do scatters for the young kids?

Different areas of Scotland call it different names. IN Edinburgh it was definitely a " poor oot" 

On 09/04/2021 at 08:36, manaliveits105 said:

poor oots surely 

yep

On 09/04/2021 at 09:01, fancy a brew said:

Space hoppers.

Flared trousers.

Swingball.

H̶e̶a̶r̶t̶s̶ ̶p̶l̶a̶y̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶2̶n̶d̶ ̶t̶i̶e̶r̶.̶

Those space hoppers were lethal if u fell of them 

On 09/04/2021 at 11:54, Ainsley Harriott said:

When ice cream vans sold single fags. The kids are all vaping these days

I still think shops should sell singles or at least 10s so if you have the urge just for one fag it will help instead of buying 20 

21 hours ago, redjambo said:

Sticking tacks into the soles of of your school shoes so that you could make noise and sparks..

Taking empty bottles back to the newsagent for cash.

Chopper bikes.

Buying cans of shandy as kids.

Old Jamaica.

Sticking the tacsk into shoes? were they no called " segs" or something like that ? 

Craig Herbertson

Large Mars Bars very unlike the tasteless efforts of today.

Vending machines with Fry's 5 Boys chocolate

blue bags of salt in crisps

Stella Artois adverts (Personal favourite).

pinball machines that weren't electric.

Saturday morning TV " flash gordon" " Tarzan" " The Banana Splits" " Double deckers" " Josie and the pussycats" 

Buying cigs for your mum or other relatives and still being able to remember which brands they all smoked. My mum was embassay regal. one of my aunties was no 6 my uncle was " old hoburn" 

The debt collectors coming to the door and mum and dad  telling us all to be quiet so he / she wouldn't know we were in .  ( i hate that memory actually its not a pleasant one) 

The " pools " man on  a Friday night

The " Pink" on a Saturday night...now " The Pink" has a whole new meaning to me :) 

The Provvie man   ofcourse 

" turning the telly over"  instead of having a remote control...the kids were the remote control  lol 

Tellys with the money thing at the back and it would always " conk out" when you were watching something really good 

"Smash hits" magazine every 2 weeks on a Friday 

Ordering pop star / groups posters from the above and they took forever to actually arrive 

Auldbenches
32 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Saturday morning TV " flash gordon" " Tarzan" " The Banana Splits" " Double deckers" " Josie and the pussycats" 

Buying cigs for your mum or other relatives and still being able to remember which brands they all smoked. My mum was embassay regal. one of my aunties was no 6 my uncle was " old hoburn" 

The debt collectors coming to the door and mum and dad  telling us all to be quiet so he / she wouldn't know we were in .  ( i hate that memory actually its not a pleasant one) 

The " Pink" on a Saturday night...now " The Pink" has a whole new meaning to me :) 

" turning the telly over"  instead of having a remote control...the kids were the remote control  lol 

Tellys with the money thing at the back and it would always " conk out" when you were watching something really good 

Ordering pop star / groups posters from the above and they took forever to actually arrive 

Spot on about the friday debt collector.  I've laughed when looking back on it but a terrible memory.  

The good thing is that I avoid dept because of it.

Provy cheques...

1 minute ago, Auldbenches said:

Spot on about the friday debt collector.  I've laughed when looking back on it but a terrible memory.  

The good thing is that I avoid dept because of it.

Provy cheques...

Yes very true.  I am similar to you as I have avoided debt all my life. Have always been able to manage my money really well as I never wanted to experience that in my adult life.  I have a credit card which is a debt but its well managed.  Provvy checks were handed but then again the interest on them was appalling esp if you wanted an actual money loan from them. 

Auldbenches
1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes very true.  I am similar to you as I have avoided debt all my life. Have always been able to manage my money really well as I never wanted to experience that in my adult life.  I have a credit card which is a debt but its well managed.  Provvy checks were handed but then again the interest on them was appalling esp if you wanted an actual money loan from them. 

Credit card for online purchases is all I use dept wise.

The provvy stuff was just cornering the less well off for years.  That and catalogues.  Not many of us would've had much without them.

Extortionate prices for skint folk...

It's like that now.  The poor pay their lecky with a key meter which costs more.   Shouldn't be allowed.  

8 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

Credit card for online purchases is all I use dept wise.

The provvy stuff was just cornering the less well off for years.  That and catalogues.  Not many of us would've had much without them.

Extortionate prices for skint folk...

It's like that now.  The poor pay their lecky with a key meter which costs more.   Shouldn't be allowed.  

Your completely right. The lecky and gas meters are a rip off. They shouldnt be allowed. OH yes catalogs were another massive rip off too. . You cant get jailed for debt in Scotland unless its fraud so worrying about debt is  a waste of time. I now tell clients I work with ( most are in poverty) Not too get too worried about debts and make arrangements to pay each debt at a level they can afford. The companies legally have to accept this.  However  I dont advise them to be irresponsible and cavalier about getting into debt but sometimes that is their only option. 

Edited by JamesM48

Auldbenches
22 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Your completely right. The lecky and gas meters are a rip off. They shouldnt be allowed. OH yes catalogs were another massive rip off too. . You cant get jailed for debt in Scotland unless its fraud so worrying about debt is  a waste of time. I now tell clients I work with ( most are in poverty) Not too get too worried about debts and make arrangements to pay each debt at a level they can afford. The companies legally have to accept this.  However  I dont advise them to be irresponsible and cavalier about getting into debt but sometimes that is their only option. 

The debt laws in Scotland aren't that bad compared to other parts of the uk.  Can't be jailed, bailiffs can't take your essential goods etc.  There are a very small % of chancers, but why kick someone when they are down? 

You're right about making an agreement to pay what you can genuinely afford and the worry is gone.  That's the real impact of dept on families etc.

Pretty decent outlook up here.  

9 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

The debt laws in Scotland aren't that bad compared to other parts of the uk.  Can't be jailed, bailiffs can't take your essential goods etc.  There are a very small % of chancers, but why kick someone when they are down? 

You're right about making an agreement to pay what you can genuinely afford and the worry is gone.  That's the real impact of dept on families etc.

Pretty decent outlook up here.  

Yea I might be critical at times of the SNP but they are certainly trying to tackle inequalities in Scotland and people life chances . Bailiffs are just a cruel and mean response to people who are in debt . They may retrieve a plasma telly and sell it on for a fraction of its price really which makes actually makes no impact on the debt the person owes anyway . 

Auldbenches
5 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yea I might be critical at times of the SNP but they are certainly trying to tackle inequalities in Scotland and people life chances . Bailiffs are just a cruel and mean response to people who are in debt . They may retrieve a plasma telly and sell it on for a fraction of its price really which makes actually makes no impact on the debt the person owes anyway . 

Though the new Jeans from the catalogue felt as good as everyone else's.  That's because half your classroom has the same...

There's that TV show called "Can't Pay? We'll Take it Away!".

Horrible viewing.

One of many reasons i'm glad i live in Scotland.

1 hour ago, Auldbenches said:

Though the new Jeans from the catalogue felt as good as everyone else's.  That's because half your classroom has the same...

I always like what Barbra Streisand said about her childhood when discussing her upbringing “ we weren’t “ poor “ poor we just didn’t have anything “ ! 

1 hour ago, Pap said:

There's that TV show called "Can't Pay? We'll Take it Away!".

Horrible viewing.

One of many reasons i'm glad i live in Scotland.

Yes horrendous “ poverty porn” disgusting television 

On 09/04/2021 at 23:43, Armageddon said:

Pure white dog poos

Porno mags in bushes 

I remember as teenagers me and a mate were on our way to a part of local hospital grounds with a box of matches, 2L of cider and a bottle of vodka. As we walked through the woods we must've disturbed South Glasgow's biggest pervert as we found a circle of jazz mags all sitting open. Great find, we scooped them all up - about 20 - and proceeded to our drinking den. Lit a bonfire and read the dirty stories out loud putting on ridiculous breathless horny voices until it got too dark to see, and we were too drunk to read. It was hilarious.

Not so hilarious was cutting across a cow field to get home but being falling down drunk we were covered in cowpat by the time we reached the other side where we went our separate ways. My mate got found by a neighbour out walking his dog, and brought home. I puked all one mile walk I had, then passed out on the doorstep, and the bang of my noggin hitting the door announced my arrival to my concerned parents who had got home from whatever function they'd been at...

Anyway I woke up the next morning in my bed, still wearing clothes covered in cowsh!t and rolled over to find a bucket placed beside my bed. That was when the mother of all hangovers kicked in...

Was banned from seeing my mate for a month and grounded for 2 weeks. Fortunately my mate was able to sneak out and secure the jazz mag collection which we split and formed the basis of my sex life for most of the next winter!

maroondevo52

Mind getting a scud round the head from my dad for giving the rag & bone man my jumper for a balloon.

willie wallace

Slot tvs.Hopefully the guy came to empty it when your mum and dad were out and you could nick a couple of Bob for yourself.😊

5 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

DER and Radio Rentals come to mind as the top coin operated TV companies

Auldbenches
23 minutes ago, willie wallace said:

Slot tvs.Hopefully the guy came to empty it when your mum and dad were out and you could nick a couple of Bob for yourself.😊

Or get some time with a kirby grip if you were short...

4 minutes ago, merrymac said:

My mum and dad rented from Granada. Then they started selling ex rental tellies so we became a house that owned a telly for the first time ever. It must be amazing to younger people that folk rented tellies as they were so expensive. 

You could only buy Lucozade from the Chemist , in a cellophane wrapped  bottle.😂

Edited by merrymac

willie wallace
4 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

Wish we had the internet 50 odd years ago😀

Auldbenches
1 minute ago, willie wallace said:

Wish we had the internet 50 odd years ago😀

I'd love to be a youngster nowadays.  I wonder what the next thing is?  

35 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Or Granada and Telebank 

28 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

LOL

28 minutes ago, Tazio said:

My mum and dad rented from Granada. Then they started selling ex rental tellies so we became a house that owned a telly for the first time ever. It must be amazing to younger people that folk rented tellies as they were so expensive. 

Yes I know it sounds really old but seriously younger people really have it much easier in respect of material possessions now...phones, teles , etc. However these all bring their own issues too. 

Edited by JamesM48

1 hour ago, maroondevo52 said:

Mind getting a scud round the head from my dad for giving the rag & bone man my jumper for a balloon.

I remember geting a slap to the head cause i said the word " overdose" when my mum was talking to a neighbor about a neighbor who had taken an overdose...I was about 8 so maybe she thought I shouldn't know that word? Kinda bizarre really 

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

I remember as teenagers me and a mate were on our way to a part of local hospital grounds with a box of matches, 2L of cider and a bottle of vodka. As we walked through the woods we must've disturbed South Glasgow's biggest pervert as we found a circle of jazz mags all sitting open. Great find, we scooped them all up - about 20 - and proceeded to our drinking den. Lit a bonfire and read the dirty stories out loud putting on ridiculous breathless horny voices until it got too dark to see, and we were too drunk to read. It was hilarious.

Not so hilarious was cutting across a cow field to get home but being falling down drunk we were covered in cowpat by the time we reached the other side where we went our separate ways. My mate got found by a neighbour out walking his dog, and brought home. I puked all one mile walk I had, then passed out on the doorstep, and the bang of my noggin hitting the door announced my arrival to my concerned parents who had got home from whatever function they'd been at...

Anyway I woke up the next morning in my bed, still wearing clothes covered in cowsh!t and rolled over to find a bucket placed beside my bed. That was when the mother of all hangovers kicked in...

Was banned from seeing my mate for a month and grounded for 2 weeks. Fortunately my mate was able to sneak out and secure the jazz mag collection which we split and formed the basis of my sex life for most of the next winter!

Similar story to yours about those type of mags. My friend found his brothers ones and there must have been over a  100 of them. I was agog looking at them.  So that kind of story was not unusual but  I was 26 at the time.... ( a joke ! ;) ) but the rest is true. 

1 hour ago, BarneyBattles said:

It was definitely called a scatter in Mayfield in the late 70s. 

We then moved to porty where it was know as a poor oot. 

Growing up in Abbeyhill in the late 50's & early 60's poor-oots at London Road church were eagerly anticipated and, somewhat dangerous events. The church, on the corner of London Road and Easter road was a busy junction, so as the change was flung from the moving car, wee scamps such as myself didn't necessarily pay too much attention to traffic following on behind the brides limo. Had many skint knees and knuckles after these occasions.

A clothes peg and a doubler fitba card - often St Johnstone's Henry Hall - to simulate the sound of a motorbike's roaring engine...on yer pushbike.

I got told off if I was heard telling my brother or sisters to 'shut up', or was clyped on for saying it to them, and I was sent to the toilet if I farted. Much more genteel times.

Auldbenches
39 minutes ago, Boof said:

A clothes peg and a doubler fitba card - often St Johnstone's Henry Hall - to simulate the sound of a motorbike's roaring engine...on yer pushbike.

Along with a crackin pair of coo handlebars.  

13 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

and I was sent to the toilet if I farted. Much more genteel times.

One of my old mans favourite shouts. Meanwhile he sat in the corner watching the telly stinking the room out on a regular basis without ever heeding his own advice. 

1 hour ago, Boof said:

😂 👍

Or nick the Joker from your old man's pack of cards

5 hours ago, merrymac said:

Radio Rentals is now Brighthouse, still rip off merchants

3 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Radio Rentals is now Brighthouse, still rip off merchants

They’ve gone bust I think. Which is kind of ironic. 

7 hours ago, merrymac said:

You could only buy Lucozade from the Chemist , in a cellophane wrapped  bottle.😂

Had completely forgotten about the cellophane.

7 hours ago, Candy said:

Toy guns and "keps" to simulate the sound of gunshots

Still kindo remember the smell of them when you pulled the trigger.

14 hours ago, merrymac said:

what? lucozade was only available from a chemist?

i do remember that when you were ill someone would bring you a bottle of lucozade and some grapes to try and help you get better

On 09/04/2021 at 02:35, J.T.F.Robertson said:

I've had cats all my life. Get yourselves down to a local RSPCA joint, there are thousands of puss pusses need a home.

(I might be missing something here, wouldn't be the first time)

They’re not Rehoming just now due to pandemic.

We’ve got two posh cats. Just lost my beautiful wee Ragdoll cross boy and want a boy rescue kitten.

**** paying 3 or 400 nicker.

Also in response to OP

Juice being delivered

Kerby. You never see that now or kids playing footy in the street

White dog shite

Dwarves

Peakybunnet
On 09/04/2021 at 13:32, Jambo314 said:

It was always a poor oot at Muirhoose Parish Church growing up in the 60's - Saturday afternoon around 3pm and it was always best tae keep yer finger nails short tae pick up the coins the quickest 😎

Our nearest Church was the catholic one just up from The Good Companions in Oxgangs. We always called it a scramble. Sure there is a sketch in the Brooms when Grandpaw is at the scramble with knee patches on to protect his trousers.

On 10/04/2021 at 16:37, The Mighty Thor said:

Same time. 

Alpine started coming on a Friday night to scupper Bon Accord on the Saturday. 

Pinneappleade had that much sugar and additives it was like a weekend trip as a nipper.

My old man used to get the pinneappleade as it was the only one that the rest of us wouldn't tan.

Peakybunnet
13 hours ago, Boof said:

Was he the bald guy Boof. I have it in my head I had trebles of a bald St Johnstone player. 

13 minutes ago, Peakybunnet said:

Was he the bald guy Boof. I have it in my head I had trebles of a bald St Johnstone player. 

st-johnstone-henry-hall-1970-103493-1-p.