Your favourite Edinburgh pubs

Locky

12 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I did hear it was popular with the Chinese. 

They liked a gamble. 

New a guy who ran a bookies and said they were mental. 

Yeah very noisy for a casino. They used to go daft for a game called Punto Banco which I never played. 

• Replies 452

• The Real Maroonblood

• Stuart Lyon

• Marvin

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Yeah very noisy for a casino. They used to go daft for a game called Punto Banco which I never played. 

Seen it played but like you never played it.

the general
50 minutes ago, Rab Mac52 said:

I thought you had to pay a deposit on the glass when you got in but again dulled memories. 

Not the first night !

Folk were putting then outside the tent then picking them up when they left

the general
6 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Fagan's was in Shandwick Pl until about 1976 then it became Walker's

Aye the previous poster confused me

Stuart Lyon
2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Who remembers a wee disco on Shandwick Place called Cephas? Near the church, I think.

Cephas Club.png

Cephas Club 1966.png

the general
32 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

I was drinking in The Antiquary the night of the shooting. My mate and I had left the Tiq and passed Coconut Tams on the way back to Princes St to get our bus home. Heard about the shooting on Reporting Scotland the next day. Could only have missed it by about 5 or 10 minutes. Was a Sunday evening iirc about 1982.

Guy i went to school with dad was the manager at the time

the general
3 hours ago, reaths17 said:

got banned from the bandwagon on the saturday for fighting the night before and i wasn't even in edinburgh that day, i blame all my troubles back then on that impersonator "it wasnae me mister"  

Same happened to me in the Maitland Hotel .. then walked in the next week and not a word was said

2 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

I was drinking in The Antiquary the night of the shooting. My mate and I had left the Tiq and passed Coconut Tams on the way back to Princes St to get our bus home. Heard about the shooting on Reporting Scotland the next day. Could only have missed it by about 5 or 10 minutes. Was a Sunday evening iirc about 1982.

It was a Sunday evening, yes.

Bloke was sitting at the bar and a flamin’ bullet got him through the window!

2 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Cephas Club.png

Cephas Club 1966.png

Interesting stuff there, Stuart.

Thanks very much.

19 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Really Rab? Furstenberg is shite, I still drink now out of

Furtstenburg glasses that I won if a raffle a week before I left to work in West Germany, never ever seen the name over there

Yep, it's pish. It's all too prevalent in the Black Forest region, unfortunately - OK, that's the region where it's brewed, but other local beers like Rothaus are much, much better.

On 04/04/2020 at 22:04, Morgan said:

I knew of the Southern Bar (near Salisbury Place?) but never used it, so don’t know the bloke you mention.  Sounds like he found his place in life though :lol: 

I’m a wee bit biased towards places like The Burnt Post, The Penthouse, Paddy’s Bar on Lothian Road because, although I lived up at the Braids and my then girlfriend (now wife, of a hundred years :sad: ) came from the Blackfords, it was our drinking area.

Good, good days, FinnBarr.

Never to be forgotten.

I remember the Penthouse well, the pool room through the back was quite profitable for me more often than nought, 77/78 guy called John Scambler managed the place, quiet during the week but pretty busy before Clouds Friday/Saturday. 

West End club aka Fire Island was owned by a wee Italian guy Jimmy Roccio or similar sounding name?, but was leased by Bill Grainger for a few years (door/bar), frequented by many of Edinburgh's characters at the time, and many secrets did it hold lol. I remember sharing a burger and conversation with wee Jimmy Somerville one night in the cafe on the middle floor, the guy was sweet as, but sadly for him he didn't make me feel mighty real 🤣😉

3 hours ago, Lfhearts said:

John Scrambler just leased it for a short while, moved on to leasing Piper's from PW.

Pipers which became Rumours (ironic 🤐) aye John ran/managed the bars (2 of) for a short while in Pipers, not so sure it was leased from PW, more a sub let from DH, who ran things from a lane in Rose St. DH I believe went on to own a successful bakery somewhere down south. How times and circumstances change.

12 hours ago, corkie64 said:

I remember the Penthouse well, the pool room through the back was quite profitable for me more often than nought, 77/78 guy called John Scambler managed the place, quiet during the week but pretty busy before Clouds Friday/Saturday. 

Was it the same John Scambler who was quite wee, longish sort of dyed blonde hair, lived near Grove Street and was gay?

5 hours ago, Lfhearts said:

John Scrambler just leased it for a short while, moved on to leasing Piper's from PW.

I think I worked with John for a short while.

Really good bloke who liked a drink and a bet on the horses?

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Was it the same John Scambler who was quite wee, longish sort of dyed blonde hair, lived near Grove Street and was gay?

Yip, upper Grove St. a den of iniquity...

Just now, corkie64 said:

Yip, upper Grove St. a den of iniquity...

Thanks, thought so.

I’ve had quite a few drinks with wee John, good bloke.

Do you know if he’s still ok?

I think I worked with John for a short while.

Really good bloke who liked a drink and a bet on the horses?

Opposite Haymarket train station? Aye John was partial to a Donkey, gambling was his downfall, sadly...

Just now, corkie64 said:

Opposite Haymarket train station? Aye John was partial to a Donkey, gambling was his downfall, sadly...

Haymarket House, yes.

1 minute ago, corkie64 said:

No idea if he's still kicking about, but last I had heard, he was living in Portobello 

Thanks, corkie.  :thumbsup:

29 minutes ago, Morgan said:

:oohmatron:

14 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Same guy, Students awards liked to watch, nuff said.

Not sure he is still with us.

What do you mean ‘liked to watch’?

53 minutes ago, corkie64 said:

Maybe better to leave...

800px-Rock-paper-scissors.svg.png

51 minutes ago, corkie64 said:

Buy if you feel the need...

Ok then!  :rofl:

Ehllhayapeh

When I was at Uni in Edinburgh I used to go to the Caledonian Tasting Rooms alot as it wasnt far from my digs at the top end of fountainbridge.

Used to love Cally Blond as a pint.

Those were the days. I had the cally for the beers, the guru for indian (still one of the best indians Ive ever frequented anywhere), fountain park...all within a walking distance.

16 hours ago, Ehllhayapeh said:

When I was at Uni in Edinburgh I used to go to the Caledonian Tasting Rooms alot as it wasnt far from my digs at the top end of fountainbridge.

Used to love Cally Blond as a pint.

Those were the days. I had the cally for the beers, the guru for indian (still one of the best indians Ive ever frequented anywhere), fountain park...all within a walking distance.

The Guru was really good.

Been a few times (many years ago) and had a meal in there once with Big Dave McPherson and his pal.

18 minutes ago, corkie64 said:

Show and Tell, Al Wilson. KTF...

Soz wrong thread....

Edited by corkie64

53 minutes ago, obua said:

Anywhere I could get a pint right now would be my favourite edinburgh pub 😜

🤣🤐😉

On 13/04/2020 at 19:17, Morgan said:

Ok then!  :rofl:

Soz Morgan, I had been shown a red card,  so to catch up, (ok then? and the image rolling on the imaginary floor) meant exactly what?

5 hours ago, obua said:

13 hours ago, corkie64 said:

Soz Morgan, I had been shown a red card,  so to catch up, (ok then? and the image rolling on the imaginary floor) meant exactly what?

I guess I was just laughing at your ‘feel the need’ comment, Corkie.

Can’t really mind what I was thinking at the time, tbh.

14 hours ago, obua said:

:2thumbsup:

Hope the pubs all get new beer and get their pipes scrubbed before opening back up. Probably start a new pandemic as we all get poisoned.

4 hours ago, graygo said:

Hope the pubs all get new beer and get their pipes scrubbed before opening back up. Probably start a new pandemic as we all get poisoned.

**** that, just open the bloody doors, i'll drink whisky until the lines are run through

1 minute ago, reaths17 said:

**** that, just open the bloody doors, i'll drink whisky until the lines are run through

Fair point. 😁

11 hours ago, Morgan said:

Detroit Emeralds. (right thread ;) )

the general
On 13/04/2020 at 19:04, corkie64 said:

Pipers which became Rumours (ironic 🤐) aye John ran/managed the bars (2 of) for a short while in Pipers, not so sure it was leased from PW, more a sub let from DH, who ran things from a lane in Rose St. DH I believe went on to own a successful bakery somewhere down south. How times and circumstances change.

Best mate worked for PW as an enforcer

/ driver

He had a few tales ..

4 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Is that the place where the naans are the size of downie covers ? 

Think so.

Mind, after a few beers in the Diggers and/or the Fountain (ex Vietnam), who knows?  🤷🏿‍♂️

On 19/04/2020 at 14:52, Morgan said:

21 hours ago, the general said:

Best mate worked for PW as an enforcer

/ driver

He had a few tales ..

I bet he did 😉👍