Your favourite Edinburgh pubs

Locky

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s right.

Do you remember the West End Club in Shandwick Place?

got locked in the west end club when i was about 16, pisht, fell asleep in the bog, woke up to darkness, tried to get out but everything was locked except the back door which just lead to a backgreen. sat at the bar and had a bottle then the polis turned up, musta set of an alarm, they gave me a lift hame which made a difference from a kicking at that time

• Replies 452

• The Real Maroonblood

• Stuart Lyon

• Marvin

the doo'cot, diggers and grosvenor all shared the most pints contest.

viceroy was alright, run by davie clunie for a while, burnt post ok, andersons pish , lord darnley before going to valentino's

bianco's west end was ok, gatsbys, beau brummel were alright, refreshers was good, later the marie rose, toilets in a book case up the stairs

Edited by reaths17

antiquary, bailey, simple simons then tiffanys. also before it became hectors, wee place i forget the name of

Edited by reaths17

23 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

viceroy was alright, run by davie clunie for a while, burnt post ok, andersons pish , lord darnley before going to valentino's

bianco's west end was ok, gatsbys, beau brummel were alright, refreshers was good, later the marie rose, toilets in a book case up the stairs

the viceroy became the black bull, kitted out the same as the golden lion in leith walk, owned by the same company both good boozers

sonwasamascot
17 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

antiquary, bailey, simple simons then tiffanys. also before it became hectors, wee place i forget the name of

hectors was called ‘shambles’ previously I think.

40 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

got locked in the west end club when i was about 16, pisht, fell asleep in the bog, woke up to darkness, tried to get out but everything was locked except the back door which just lead to a backgreen. sat at the bar and had a bottle then the polis turned up, musta set of an alarm, they gave me a lift hame which made a difference from a kicking at that time

8 minutes ago, sonwasamascot said:

thats it, no bad wee boozer

20 hours ago, Seaside jambo said:

One for the older amongst us 

does anyone remember the beer tent in the gardens.was like the beer Keller in Blackpool , sold stines o beer ****in wreck the hoose juice, German umpa band 

think it only happened once twice at most there were bodies all over the gardens 😂

god it was good times 

Must be some 30 years ago! I remember it well. First place I had come across Furstenberg, still my favourite German Beer.

I think I was one of the bodies you mention littering the gardens. 

8 minutes ago, Rab Mac52 said:

Must be some 30 years ago! I remember it well. First place I had come across Furstenberg, still my favourite German Beer.

It was a wee bit more than 30 years ago, Rab!

Seaside jambo
1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Yeh 40 is closer a think 

I remember the highwayman in St Andrews sq bus station think it was one or the first pub to open all day instead of closing at 2-30and reopening at 5 

every time I was in it it was jumping 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Oops. I bow to the superior memory of both yourself and Seaside. Mrs Rab thinks it was around 1983 or even earlier. 40 years of drinking beer with a strength over 5.0 dulls the memory a bit.

1 hour ago, Seaside jambo said:

Yeh 40 is closer a think 

I remember the highwayman in St Andrews sq bus station think it was one or the first pub to open all day instead of closing at 2-30and reopening at 5 

every time I was in it it was jumping 

Yep, 40 years approx.

21 minutes ago, Rab Mac52 said:

Oops. I bow to the superior memory of both yourself and Seaside. Mrs Rab thinks it was around 1983 or even earlier. 40 years of drinking beer with a strength over 5.0 dulls the memory a bit.

Aye, it was definitely before 1983.

4 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s right.

The church on the corner?

Heading down towards Studio 1?

2 hours ago, sonwasamascot said:

It definitely was.

Good wee pub crawl that, The Bailie, Shambles, The Antiquary and Coconut Tams (formerly the St Stephen bar, until someone got shot dead through a window).

4 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s right.

I don’t think the west end club was in shandwick place. I seem to remember it was in princes street above the jewellers shop. Mabee I’m thinking of a different place.

2 hours ago, Rab Mac52 said:

Must be some 30 years ago! I remember it well.had c First place I ome across Furstenberg, still my favourite German Beer.

Really Rab? Furstenberg is shite, I still drink now out of

Furtstenburg glasses that I won if a raffle a week before I left to work in West Germany, never ever seen the name over there

1 hour ago, obua said:

I don’t think the west end club was in shandwick place. I seem to remember it was in princes street above the jewellers shop. Mabee I’m thinking of a different place.

yip, later turned into fire island, gay disco

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

It definitely was.

Good wee pub crawl that, The Bailie, Shambles, The Antiquary and Coconut Tams (formerly the St Stephen bar, until someone got shot dead through a window).

now the st vincent

3 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

yip, later turned into fire island, gay disco

I stopped going when it became fire island :ruiner:

3 hours ago, obua said:

Now Waterstones book shop. 

6 hours ago, reaths17 said:

I got booted out the Beau Brummel by the bouncers for getting to know a lassie a wee bit too much in the toilets.  ☹️

the general
8 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s right.

Was it Fagens before that?

the general
6 hours ago, Rab Mac52 said:

I do remember the huge paggers and people stealing the stein glasses

Stuart Lyon
6 hours ago, the general said:

Fagan's was in Shandwick Pl until about 1976 then it became Walker's

7 hours ago, graygo said:

I got booted out the Beau Brummel by the bouncers for getting to know a lassie a wee bit too much in the toilets.  ☹️

I got banned from Sneaky Petes if that's possible for dancing on the tables :laugh2: That was around 30 years ago.

Edited by Marvin

8 hours ago, the general said:

You could be right.

Is that about where Sainsbury’s is?

13 hours ago, Morgan said:

The church on the corner?

Heading down towards Studio 1?

Someone mentioned where Fagans was situated.

41 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

I think Fagan's, Walker's were in what is now the Fantasy Bar!

correct

it was fagans twice, a restaurant inbetween i think and both times it was burnt out.

fagans = shandwick place

west end club = princes st

Edited by reaths17

10 hours ago, graygo said:

must have been fun getting dragged up the stairs to get thrown out.

reminds me, was going into gatsbys, at the bottom of the stairs and this body gets thrown down said stairs hitting them a few times on the way, the good old days of hard *******s for doormen.

his money was all over the stairs and i got his shiny gold lighter as i made my way up the stairs

3 hours ago, Marvin said:

I got banned from Sneaky Petes if that's possible for dancing on the tables :laugh2: That was around 30 years ago.

got banned from the bandwagon on the saturday for fighting the night before and i wasn't even in edinburgh that day, i blame all my troubles back then on that impersonator "it wasnae me mister"  

14 hours ago, obua said:

11 hours ago, Tazio said:

Now Waterstones book shop. 

10 hours ago, the general said:

2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

You could be right.

Is that about where Sainsbury’s is?

The West End Club was above a shop on Princes Street called Watches of Switzerland.

Who remembers a wee disco on Shandwick Place called Cephas? Near the church, I think.

21 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

got banned from the bandwagon on the saturday for fighting the night before and i wasn't even in edinburgh that day, i blame all my troubles back then on that impersonator "it wasnae me mister"  

You have an evil twin too? 

:laugh2:

2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Someone mentioned where Fagans was situated.

So they have.  :sad: 

45 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The West End Club was above a shop on Princes Street called Watches of Switzerland.

The one I  remember was a casino in Shandwick Place.

😜

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

57 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

Wife used to work there before I knew her. Said it was quite wild at times. 

49 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Handy for the Jacey.

:clumshot:

49 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Correct at the time but Watches Of Switzerland moved premises further east on Princes Street a few years ago which may be confusing people. As I said the current tenants are Waterstones. 

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

The one I  remember was a casino in Shandwick Place.

😜

You like your casinos!

:gocompare:  :wonga: :profit::munny:

12 hours ago, the general said:

I do remember the huge paggers and people stealing the stein glasses

I thought you had to pay a deposit on the glass when you got in but again dulled memories. 

1 hour ago, GinRummy said:

Wife used to work there before I knew her. Said it was quite wild at times. 

aye, had it's moments. i never really liked the place you were always watchin your back in there, was quite happy to be barred

12 minutes ago, Morgan said:

You like your casinos!

:gocompare:  :wonga: :profit::munny:

There was also Stanley's in Rutland Square but that place was a bit down market.😏

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

There was also Stanley's in Rutland Square but that place was a bit down market.😏

That’s where I went. That and the Martel occasionally, up southside. 

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

That’s where I went. That and the Martel occasionally, up southside. 

I never managed the Martell. 

Was it any good?

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

I never managed the Martell. 

Was it any good?

Was only signed in a few times. Very popular with Chinese folk. Was ok I think, lived in sighthill at the time and drunk around haymarket so was a bit out my way. 

N Lincs Jambo
16 hours ago, Morgan said:

It definitely was.

I was drinking in The Antiquary the night of the shooting. My mate and I had left the Tiq and passed Coconut Tams on the way back to Princes St to get our bus home. Heard about the shooting on Reporting Scotland the next day. Could only have missed it by about 5 or 10 minutes. Was a Sunday evening iirc about 1982.

Just now, GinRummy said:

Was only signed in a few times. Very popular with Chinese folk. Was ok I think, lived in sighthill at the time and drunk around haymarket so was a bit out my way. 

I did hear it was popular with the Chinese. 

They liked a gamble. 

New a guy who ran a bookies and said they were mental. 

Seaside jambo
25 minutes ago, Rab Mac52 said:

I thought you had to pay a deposit on the glass when you got in but again dulled memories. 

Yes think you’re right but like you not sure 🤔 must be age thing 

think the drink obliterated the memories of your deposit that’s why every one tried to take the glass I saw a guy trying to sneak one out down his trousers 🤦‍♂️Think he forgot to empty it or got caught sort saw a few states there think that’s why councillors stopped it