*** Betfred Cup 2018 - Raith Rovers v Heart of Midlothian ***

11 minutes ago, Boab1874 said:

The players should burst a gut to play for Hearts . That is not happening What is the problem.Is Scottish football the last gravy train.Scottish football is now English 2nd and conference.The days of beating Munich ect are over.Even Liverpool 2012 are days of old.We have to wake up Scottish football is dead. Cardiff and Swansea have resigned from English league to join Welch league.They have lost £200m each but they have got country back.?

Many threads on here discussing Scottish footballs failings. The bust a gut to play for us. Yes. 

You then have people like Callachan who isnt as talented as others but does bust a gut and thats not good enough for some either.

A 5-1 win wasnt any use to you so what exactly do you want from the team?

Fair play for going to Forfar , played there often enough to know how little atmosphere Station Park can have , even on a good day.

In saying that I know a fair few fans who from the Forfar and Cove games saw plenty to give them hope this season will be an improvement. So if all you have seen is a 5-1 im a bit confused why your ripping into the team?

• Replies 1.7k

• sadj

• Cruyff Turn

• Geoff Kilpatrick

• iantjambo

17 minutes ago, Dr Lager said:

The current side is like the sides the Championship winning side took 4 or 5 off. 

Hardly. ?

Mr Elwood P
27 minutes ago, Boab1874 said:

The players should burst a gut to play for Hearts . That is not happening What is the problem.Is Scottish football the last gravy train.Scottish football is now English 2nd and conference.The days of beating Munich ect are over.Even Liverpool 2012 are days of old.We have to wake up Scottish football is dead. Cardiff and Swansea have resigned from English league to join Welch league.They have lost £200m each but they have got country back.?

When did Cardiff and Swansea leave the English football system?

Just now, davemclaren said:

Hardly. ?

Well said! Won’t wash with some but its a crazy comparison to make.

1 hour ago, Debut 4 said:

A few average players get the privilege of great facilities at Hearts.

It means nothing in the grand scheme but many like to think it does. 

When 11 players take to the competitive field they have to bring those crucial human elements to the table. Teams like Raith will always fight like **** v Hearts and other bigger clubs and you have to know what to expect and what to give back.

I see a team style so rigid with too many so-so players just happy to make sure they stick to the bosses instructions. Not enough individual guile or players busting a gut run behind the opposition. 

I like what I saw in the last 15, 20 mins as the shackles had to come off but the workrate had to naturally lift ten fold.  Most teams react in those situations but we hardly come close to those application levels from the start of matches.

Great post. Really sums up my thoughts. We seem to be seriously over-thinking the tactical elements of our game. It’s probably why so many took to David Milinkovic last season. 

23 minutes ago, sadj said:

Nothing impressed you about our essentially reserve team tearing Forfar apart? Not one player , not one thing at all?

Maybe more of these players should have played in the last two games

That is Brexit. The same as Welch clubs leaving English League.We don’t care just want our country back.Madness

8 minutes ago, zico10 said:

Maybe more of these players should have played in the last two games

6players involved at Forfar were involved over the Cove and Raith games and the ones we brought in are first team players. Maybe they need a boot up the ass to know they dont work they wont play. 

You either weren’t at Cove or are choosing to be obstinate.

Edited by sadj

1 hour ago, Boab1874 said:

Only game is 5-1 Forfar.

7 minutes ago, Boab1874 said:

Cannot comment on Forfar game did not see it. By reports should be first team.

Make up your mind mate. Ludicrous statement to say our first team should be the one that played Forfar , between that your Brexit and Wales comments I’ll assume your trolling or smashed and leave ya too it

Edited by sadj

1 hour ago, sadj said:

Thats where people are frustrated with other posters tho as that was how we played Wednesday til 65 mins. Why think we wouldn’t replicate that yesterday? We should of and not doing so the team deservedly got a roasting 

We were playing Cove Rangers for crying out loud!!! Cove Rangers. Hearts should be walking all over them. It’s not a guide to anything. 

Forfar team only one who showed any faith.As for Brexit it its a joke hope I am wrong but I can be wrong.Brexit supporters cannot be wrong

Hearts will be fighting relegation no doubt.This should not be an issue.It must be sorted now

Mr Elwood P
1 minute ago, Boab1874 said:

Hearts will be fighting relegation no doubt.This should not be an issue.It must be sorted now

Think it’s past your bedtime.

11 minutes ago, magicTs said:

We were playing Cove Rangers for crying out loud!!! Cove Rangers. Hearts should be walking all over them. It’s not a guide to anything. 

It doesn’t matter who we played we looked crap against Ross County and gubbed Celtic last year.

You can’t complain as you are then also moan when the team perform reasonably well against teams they should perform well against. Thats like saying oh Celtic beat us and we were poor but its ok it was Celtic. 

We didnt replicate Wednesday yesterday until the last 15/20mins against Raith thats not acceptable and the team rightly got booted for it. The reactions are still OTT , very Hearts supporter but still

10 minutes ago, Boab1874 said:

Forfar team only one who showed any faith.As for Brexit it its a joke hope I am wrong but I can be wrong.Brexit supporters cannot be wrong

6 minutes ago, Boab1874 said:

As I said your trolling or smashed so im not going to debate with ya mate. Enjoy your night

3 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Hardly. ?

3 seasons ago we beat them twice at their proper ground playing a style of football we can only dream about now. Despite a raft of signings we still seem stuck at the same tempo as last year. Raith in an injury crisis could work a game plan out to frustrate us. While it’s too early too judge accurately the problems from last season still seem apparent lacking the quality to break teams down. The championship side was better than the sum of its parts. This team looks like a group of individuals playing a system that doesn’t suit them. I know who I’d have my money on.

7 hours ago, Boab1874 said:

LTHC

:cornette_dog:

4 hours ago, Dr Lager said:

3 seasons ago we beat them twice at their proper ground playing a style of football we can only dream about now. Despite a raft of signings we still seem stuck at the same tempo as last year. Raith in an injury crisis could work a game plan out to frustrate us. While it’s too early too judge accurately the problems from last season still seem apparent lacking the quality to break teams down. The championship side was better than the sum of its parts. This team looks like a group of individuals playing a system that doesn’t suit them. I know who I’d have my money on.

The championship team got humped by Celtic at home in the cup while last season’s team humped Celtic in the league. As much ss I enjoyed our championshio season that sort of specific comparison doesn’t really tell us anything. 

12 hours ago, Boab1874 said:

:getout:

15 minutes ago, mitch41 said:

Bill Shankly.

4 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Hahahaha

Wonder how different football and clubs historys would be now if Shankly had had your footballing ideas Mitch ? probably deserves a thread of its own that....

6 hours ago, davemclaren said:

The championship team got humped by Celtic at home in the cup while last season’s team humped Celtic in the league. As much ss I enjoyed our championshio season that sort of specific comparison doesn’t really tell us anything. 

It’s hard to compare any teams, like last seasons and this much changed line up. Bit harsh on the Championship team as they were down to ten men for 80+ minutes, Celtic were there for the taking last December.

On ‎22‎/‎07‎/‎2018 at 13:17, Rabgee said:

he relies on youth too much he’ll burn them out

That is the biggest misnomer yet. If the player is 16,17,19...and he is good enough then play him, none of this protecting him. Did Harry look out of place, did Tony look out of place, no and in fact when he came on he setup Smith for the goal and created the other chance that Smith should have scored. If they are good enough play them, give them a run of games, let them get the pace of it and they will be fine. It seems that because the boys are young then it isn't right to rely on them...they are footballers, they have talent so it would be stupid not to rely on them, to use that talent....wouldn't it?

Looking at the signings it seems there are loads of numbers but the quality may not be there. A boy who cant get a game for ICT and he goes straight into Hearts 1st team. Against Rover he was poor, didn't go past a man once and he had numerous opportunities. Callum Morrison managed it in half a n hour, ok final ball needs work but at least he forces the defence back the way because of his pace. These young men have been at the academy for years, played 20's football at 14\15 and nobody was screaming for them to be taken out. These boys want to play, this is what they have worked for, so give them their head , they will provide energy, take chances, cover the ground...and with some of the experienced boys around them they could be the foundations of Hearts for years to come.

On ‎22‎/‎07‎/‎2018 at 13:17, Rabgee said:

42 minutes ago, Naisysback said:

That is the biggest misnomer yet. If the player is 16,17,19...and he is good enough then play him, none of this protecting him. Did Harry look out of place, did Tony look out of place, no and in fact when he came on he setup Smith for the goal and created the other chance that Smith should have scored. If they are good enough play them, give them a run of games, let them get the pace of it and they will be fine. It seems that because the boys are young then it isn't right to rely on them...they are footballers, they have talent so it would be stupid not to rely on them, to use that talent....wouldn't it?

Looking at the signings it seems there are loads of numbers but the quality may not be there. A boy who cant get a game for ICT and he goes straight into Hearts 1st team. Against Rover he was poor, didn't go past a man once and he had numerous opportunities. Callum Morrison managed it in half a n hour, ok final ball needs work but at least he forces the defence back the way because of his pace. These young men have been at the academy for years, played 20's football at 14\15 and nobody was screaming for them to be taken out. These boys want to play, this is what they have worked for, so give them their head , they will provide energy, take chances, cover the ground...and with some of the experienced boys around them they could be the foundations of Hearts for years to come.

That my friend is just not true. His final ball was lacking on Saturday but first 20mins he was flying past defenders on the left. Then as has been done to death because we had Smith not running at them they forgot about Smith and doubled up on Mulraney while narrowing the pitch and stopping the midfielders doing anything. Mulraney also was the one who went past folk and crossed for Laffs chance at the end of the first half.

If you want to slag the club do so but at least do it with accurate statements and not made up crap to suit your position. 

Wednesday nighy against Cove both Morrison and Mulraney tore the FBs all apart Morrisons final ball was slightly better than Mulraneys. Then Mulraney fell out the game a bit and Morrison got kicked all over the place.

Stephen Muddie
On 22/07/2018 at 07:43, Nookie Bear said:

What is wrong with the phrase "fast black"?

Nothing pal. it's one more syllable than "cab", it's the same number as "taxi" and also "black cab".. It's horribly cheesy n that.

:sailor:

Just now, Stephen Muddie said:

Nothing pal. it's one more syllable than "cab", it's the same number as "taxi" and also "black cab".. It's horribly cheesy n that.

:sailor:

Better than Fake Taxi. 

Actually, probably not. 

On 21/07/2018 at 17:18, Maroon Sailor said:

Why don't BT invite Levein over to their wee desk on the pitchside ?

Just to watch Mikey Stewart shit himself !

Imagine that haha 

:clyay: 

8 minutes ago, It should have been ten said:

Imagine that haha 

:clyay: 

Craig would be asking for his pound back

1 hour ago, Nookie Bear said:

Better than Fake Taxi. 

Actually, probably not. 

Is fake taxi the porn thing think Amber Deen did that... 

Stephen Muddie
On 22/07/2018 at 22:15, Cut The Crap said:

I think we're onto our fourth (maybe fifth) new team since promotion and still no change from the ponderous anti-football that has characterised us since coming back into the premiership. When will we start looking at the coaching?

When Levein gets the boot mate. Fwiw I like and respect him... And also hope to hell he proves awcunt wrong and doesnae get sacked at some point.

19 minutes ago, sadj said:

Is fake taxi the porn thing think Amber Deen did that... 

Miiiiiight beeeeee.........

24 minutes ago, RobNox said:

Craig would be asking for his pound back

:laugh: probably would haha

8 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Miiiiiight beeeeee.........

Haha , Wee Sammy and her hamburger ?? she is off her rocker...good fun at a party though... remember her walking up to a random guy on his bike at the lights on Chapel Street while she was supposed to be working at Eyes...

Sammy “Here can I get a shottie...aye of the bike , ill show ya my burger” he bursts out laughing and lets her borrow his bike. She’s riding up and down Union Street in her underwear for about half an hour quite happy. 

13 hours ago, sadj said:

That my friend is just not true. His final ball was lacking on Saturday but first 20mins he was flying past defenders on the left. Then as has been done to death because we had Smith not running at them they forgot about Smith and doubled up on Mulraney while narrowing the pitch and stopping the midfielders doing anything. Mulraney also was the one who went past folk and crossed for Laffs chance at the end of the first half.

If you want to slag the club do so but at least do it with accurate statements and not made up crap to suit your position. 

Wednesday nighy against Cove both Morrison and Mulraney tore the FBs all apart Morrisons final ball was slightly better than Mulraneys. Then Mulraney fell out the game a bit and Morrison got kicked all over the place.

Spot on with your analisis.

For me Mulraney should be played as a winger, he has raw potential and likes running down the wing.  He faded out the game but like you say raith doubled up and he was expected to defend the lb position as well.    Play him as a winger and i think we will see a better and more dangerous performance.  

I thought Mulraney started pretty well until the moment he kicked the hall directly out of play. After that he started to disappear but I'm not sure how much was his fault, or that Raith just got better organized. 

All Out Attack
On 23/07/2018 at 01:29, sadj said:

It doesn’t matter who we played we looked crap against Ross County and gubbed Celtic last year.

You seem to be all over this thread like a rash, almost as if you are trying to convince everyone that they didn't see Hearts with their own eyes. 

Your Celtic argument doesn't hold water either. Last season we were a shambles and finished 6th, you can't just pluck one or two games from it. 

Early indications for this season are looking really ominous. Supporters are very unlikely to stick their heads in the sand for much longer. A club the size of Hearts must be competitive in all competitions. 

9 hours ago, sadj said:

Haha , Wee Sammy and her hamburger ?? she is off her rocker...good fun at a party though... remember her walking up to a random guy on his bike at the lights on Chapel Street while she was supposed to be working at Eyes...

Sammy “Here can I get a shottie...aye of the bike , ill show ya my burger” he bursts out laughing and lets her borrow his bike. She’s riding up and down Union Street in her underwear for about half an hour quite happy. 

43 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

You seem to be all over this thread like a rash, almost as if you are trying to convince everyone that they didn't see Hearts with their own eyes. 

Your Celtic argument doesn't hold water either. Last season we were a shambles and finished 6th, you can't just pluck one or two games from it. 

Early indications for this season are looking really ominous. Supporters are very unlikely to stick their heads in the sand for much longer. A club the size of Hearts must be competitive in all competitions. 

You have been repeating the same shite since October.

No one listens to you as you wanted Hibs to beat us last season.

9 minutes ago, frankblack said:

1 hour ago, Nookie Bear said:

I thought Mulraney started pretty well until the moment he kicked the hall directly out of play. After that he started to disappear but I'm not sure how much was his fault, or that Raith just got better organized. 

Yeah I thought so too.  He really needs to work on his end product though and lead to switch inside with his head up. 

1 hour ago, All Out Attack said:

I agree.  To be honest I think we should just throw in the towel and get Tesco in.

23 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Nailed it.

Anyone who wants a hibs victory against Hearts is really not worth listening to. 

3 hours ago, All Out Attack said:

Yet I saw Hearts with my own eyes and I have an opinion based on my football history and experience. Iv been quite happy to say we were poor for 70-75mins on Saturday , and we were poor for 10mins after we made subs at Cove. As my opinion is different to yours (tho others have said Im spot on) that means Im trying to convince people they haven’t seen things with their own eyes? If peoples experience , knowledge , intelligence , negativity/positivity were all the same the opinions would be the same , instead some can have a debate make and concede points and add to the conversation. Which games have you been to this season , what was your take from your own eyes , why do you think its “ominous”.....Because....

Early indications from this season are twofold imo we showed width , pace and promise at times but we still lack some creativity and finishing has been poor for the most part , then other times we looked devoid of ideas when we couldn’t stretch the opposition and lacking in belief. If say the 6/7 good chances , chalked off goals , goalline clearances against Cove had all gone in and we had won 6/7-1 (which wouldnt of flattered us) , then had the poor performance against Raith but Berra’s header had stood and there had been no ineligible player would you still say it was “ominous”  

My Celtic “argument” was on point to the it was only Cove it was only Raith , lower league opposition type argument , three times out of four Celtic beat us as we are not as good as them but we still managed a one off shock result against them. As Raith did against us , Stranraer did against Motherwell as Spartans did against St Mirren. 

2 hours ago, frankblack said:

Exactly to want that is not supporting Hearts its supporting an agenda , theres things all of us don’t like or are frustrated with but not one of us would ever want Hearts to draw or lose to Hibs. We want to hammer them every single time we are on the pitch with them. Inflict as much heartbreak on them as we can. 

2 hours ago, Juanjo15 said:

Yeah I thought so too.  He really needs to work on his end product though and lead to switch inside with his head up. 

Indeed , he is very raw but as I said elsewhere hopefully we can develop that final ball on him and Morrison as they both looked up for it and willing to run at defenders which was a nice change.

We used to have a thing in matches that when we ran at defenders we were allowed to do the same thing no more than three times in a row or without finding a man well (not just in their direction but accurately) or we were fined. Meant we had to  get our heads up and think so we made use of the ball. If he can develop his final ball then he has a lot of potential.

2 hours ago, chester copperpot said:

Nailed it.

Anyone who wants a hibs victory against Hearts is really not worth listening to. 

??

19 minutes ago, sadj said:

Yet I saw Hearts with my own eyes and I have an opinion based on my football history and experience. Iv been quite happy to say we were poor for 70-75mins on Saturday , and we were poor for 10mins after we made subs at Cove. As my opinion is different to yours (tho others have said Im spot on) that means Im trying to convince people they haven’t seen things with their own eyes? If peoples experience , knowledge , intelligence , negativity/positivity were all the same the opinions would be the same , instead some can have a debate make and concede points and add to the conversation. Which games have you been to this season , what was your take from your own eyes , why do you think its “ominous”.....Because....

Early indications from this season are twofold imo we showed width , pace and promise at times but we still lack some creativity and finishing has been poor for the most part , then other times we looked devoid of ideas when we couldn’t stretch the opposition and lacking in belief. If say the 6/7 good chances , chalked off goals , goalline clearances against Cove had all gone in and we had won 6/7-1 (which wouldnt of flattered us) , then had the poor performance against Raith but Berra’s header had stood and there had been no ineligible player would you still say it was “ominous”  

My Celtic “argument” was on point to the it was only Cove it was only Raith , lower league opposition type argument , three times out of four Celtic beat us as we are not as good as them but we still managed a one off shock result against them. As Raith did against us , Stranraer did against Motherwell as Spartans did against St Mirren. 

This post is a good post.

• davemclaren locked this topic