***Official Rangers v Hearts Match Thread***

The depth in the squad isn’t there, the quality isn’t there, we’ve got a full back in midfield, no left back. 

This is game has looked every bit 2nd vs 6th in the SPL - very little quality anywhere on the park, the best player has been Graham Dorans

We had our chance to make it 2-2 - Lafferty missed it 

• Replies 1.3k
LochcarronJambo

A truely pathetic performance by a team that had no belief, 

Hibs Aberdeen would have beaten them today 

Just now, Cruyff Turn said:

Can't wait for next season to win 19 home games and lose 19 away. :laugh:

Win 19 at home, more like draw 12, win 7

Another game where i wished i watched an exciting sport, like bowls

Busby nets the rebound

Embarrassing display today.. Just not good enough..

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Eye bleeding stuff. There might be little reward left to play for this season but we need to see something better in the remaining games 

Wow! That was a whole new level of rubbish. I can’t remember us being so poor, especially with passing. Comedy stuff. 

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Smith was ok, Randall ok defensively and Cowie's headless chicken routine almost paid off on a couple of occasions.

:rolleyes2:

Can't wait to see the back of this season. It's been garbage. No momentum, no plan, no pace. Just shite.

Looks like a narrow loss but in reality just cowardice from Levein and MacPhee.

Need a fresh start.  Empty Levein and his first class coaches.  And a clean slate for a new manager.  Don't even have to honour the precontracts dished out.

cardboardcutout

I’m totally sick of negative tactics against one of the worst rangers teams we will face!!! Have a go ffs!!

Just now, Gambo said:

Awful.

Awful that Levein gets away with this from a section of the support and the board.

Nothing will change. That performance with different personnel will be served up next season with unrelenting regularity.  

If anyone thinks Levein will turn things around they are highly deluded 

Cruyff Turn

Well that was utter shite, heartless, toothless, snailpaced, disorganised, negative shite. 

Christ his signings better be good or CL's management career will be over after 10 games next season. 

4 minutes ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

some were predicting 3-0 us  and thinking we'd beat them easily.

However the same folk know we are shite away and  have a poor midfield?

Makes  no sense.

It's like knowing your leg is broken, expecting to run fast then being  surprised when you can't and fall over.

Sorry thought you meant folk were predicting a 3-0 rangers win and then moaning they were winning. 

Cant believe we’re at a point where the imbalance in our team means we’re starting with one central midfielder. 

We’re a proper joke away from home especially to the Glasgow teams. 

5 minutes ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

no, but I never said they were the worst ever side in 60 years.

Your whole logic for Hearts winning is that it  was/ is the worst Rangers side in 60 years, therefor we should win.

No thought to  the fact of  our 6th place, our short comings,  our away form, nothing to play for, the fact Rangers  still have a £1m player in their team. Just that they are shite and we should be beating them.

It's a nice sentiment but has absolutely no logic or thought process  to  back it up.

Like many on here ,you acknowledge  the issues, agree they need addressed  in the summer and when the team plays as expected you get angry. It's like groundhog day.

If you expected us to go to Ibrox and  cruise  to a victory then you're a dafty. 

The same issues persist, poor midfield, lack of pace and drive. They will persist, funnily enough to the season's end as we can't change players atm.

Nosuprise to me, but I do agree we must fix  them in the summer  and quickly, that has been the case pretty much all season tho.

What gets me is you say nothing to play for. Everytime Hearts take the field they should play for their fans who turn up to support their team as well as the pride and honour of playing for the jersey. 

1 minute ago, Coco said:

Looks like a narrow loss but in reality just cowardice from Levein and MacPhee.

Need a fresh start.  Empty Levein and his first class coaches.  And a clean slate for a new manager.  Don't even have to honour the precontracts dished out.

Agree - and on the coaches too. I don't understand what they're doing there. And that's not a dig: it's more like "MacPhee was brought in under someone with the 100% opposite approach to football - so how does it make sense that he's now working under Mr Ultra-Conservative?"

But of course, nothing will happen. So on to next season we shall stumble.

Lucille's Thirsty
23 minutes ago, Greedy_Jambo said:

Exactly this. 

He shits his pants if we've got a game away from home. 

I wish CL would change his mentality away from home. I have no problem with us losing we can lose games but I want us to play and create chances. Not sitting back waiting for the opponent to score before we have a go.

As much as this safety first (how's that working out for us) tactic from Levein is shite. Especially against a team disunited and reeling from an OF hiding and players suspensions. What manager has had a go at hunbrox or darkheid since wee Doddie?

Greedy_Jambo

The whole away game mentality has to change. 

Go and have a go. Nobody will complain if we do that. 

Levein needs to take a leaf out of Jurgen Klopp's book.  We already have a decent defence so stop playing it safe away from home ffs. 

1 minute ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Well that was utter shite, heartless, toothless, snailpaced, disorganised, negative shite. 

Christ his signings better be good or CL's management career will be over after 10 games next season. 

Indeed. The pressure is on to turn this around in the close season. In particular, finding players who won't hide is a prerequisite. Too many in this current team slink away from a battle.

GorgieRules22

Awful performance. Set up to get a draw and do our usual go through the motions job on the road.

Levein out !!

1 hour ago, New York Fleapit said:

Sakes!

Listen to you lot after 15 minutes of the game! Have a ****** word with yourselves.

What is your thoughts after 94mins of the game?

Smith was inept.

Randall was P15h.

Cowie is done at this level.

Tactics were on a par with all of the above. I'm honestly just pissed off with performances like that this season.

As long as the fans keep showing blind loyalty, Levein will be allowed to carry on making our famous club a laughing stock.

2 minutes ago, Greedy_Jambo said:

How did we manage to beat Aberdeen 2-0? Just a fluke?

Nobody is expecting us to just go and win at Ibrox. We expect the team to go and have a go though. 

What I expect is professional footballers to be able to do basic things. Like control a ball and pass to a team mate a few yards away. 

I also expect a Hearts team to do basic defensive chores. 

Neither happened today. 

But unfortubately what we have all come to expect is an away defeat, Hearts never scoring more than one goal away from home and a complete lack of pace and attacking ability. There seems no idea or pattern in our play to get into attacking areas. It is like we spend every minute in training working on defensive shape with no direction on going the other way.

really awful display today. 

Just now, Seymour M Hersh said:

As much as this safety first (how's that working out for us) tactic from Levein is shite. Especially against a team disunited and reeling from an OF hiding and players suspensions. What manager has had a go at hunbrox or darkheid since wee Doddie?

A very fair comment.

And even then, Doddie's teams weren't that successful at Ibronx.

3 minutes ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

we don't have a striker on the bench.....

Probably why we have  two incoming, just for  such an occasion?

Aye probably. But then he has had full football department responsibility for the last 4 years so I'm not one for absolving him responsibility 

He is a specialist in failure.  I'm not sure how many more examples we need to witness like today in order for that to register 

All time loser 

1 minute ago, mitch41 said:

What gets me is you say nothing to play for. Everytime Hearts take the field they should play for their fans who turn up to support their team as well as the pride and honour of playing for the jersey. 

Footballers usually know when their opponents are scared. No excuse whatever for us to have been in that role today; it could and should have been the opposite. It stems from the manager. His mentality is a disgrace.

2 minutes ago, Greedy_Jambo said:

How did we manage to beat Aberdeen 2-0? Just a fluke?

Nobody is expecting us to just go and win at Ibrox. We expect the team to go and have a go though. 

we are better at home.

Aberdeen aren't very good v the top 6 team.

Football isn't as black as white as things like  because  we beat Aberdeen we can beat Rangers. Rangers have hammered Aberdeen 3 times  this season yet are level on points?

It was poor  today, no arguments from  me, but the fact that it surprises people is baffling.

Not much will change to next season, the same discussion keeps getting re hashed every week. Groundhog day .

Lucille's Thirsty
2 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

It’s a bit early to say but the signs so far aren’t good. I don’t know if the club are taking the piss but signing a journeyman,  putting it nicely at 35 years of age in Steven McLean is not going to get the pulses racing.

1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

A very fair comment.

And even then, Doddie's teams weren't that successful at Ibronx.

How do we justify or pass off the approach our neighbours take to OF games 

Captain Sausage

So my thoughts...

Yes, we could’ve snatched a draw, but by the same thinking, we could’ve lost 5/6-1. 

I’m usually pretty positive but Levein set us up not to lose and failed. If we are going to lose, I’d far rather go out and give them a game than lose so meekly. 

Added to that Adao, Berra, McLaughlin and Soutter had the worst games I’ve seen from them and it’s a miracle we only lost by one. 

Naismith and Lafferty were ineffective and today showed that Cowie and Smith are certainly not the answer for next season. 

I’m confused as to why Henderson and Moore seem above Cochrane and McDonald in the pecking order. Moore didn’t track back which cost us the second goal and I’ve seen nothing from Henderson to suggest he’ll make it at Hearts. 

I understand Amankwaa came to us with fitness issues but all we heard about was his pace. Where? He didn’t beat a man all day. That’s nothing to do with fitness, all to do with him not being faster than Tavernier. Moore managed it twice!

Finally, Conor Randall. I’ve seen better crossing and first touches at junior level. I’m very glad he’ll not be back next season. 

We leave Ibrox yet again frustrated at the set up and result. Given we are meant to be challenging the old firm duopoly, it’s extremely disappointing to see us play so tamely there.

This season has been bizarre, with so much positivity off the field yet utterly devoid of it on the field. Murrayfield, the terrible pitch, our appalling away form overshadows the cup derby, the Celtic mauling and the record clean sheet run. 

Looking forward to next season and significant upgrades to goalkeeper, fullback, central midfield and the wing areas.

1 minute ago, hearts00 said:

What I expect is professional footballers to be able to do basic things. Like control a ball and pass to a team mate a few yards away. 

Neither happened today. 

But unfortubately what we have all come to expect is an away defeat, Hearts never scoring more than one goal away from home and a complete lack of pace and attacking ability. There seems no idea or pattern in our play to get into attacking areas. It is like we spend every minute in training working on defensive shape with no direction on going the other way.

our inability to pass and  do the basic things sometimes  is frightening.

Just need to hope we overhaul the midfield and that helps improve everything you mention.

2 minutes ago, Gambo said:

What is your thoughts after 94mins of the game?

This probably..........Listen to you lot after 94 minutes of the game! Have a ****** word with yourselves.

26 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Outstanding when he was responsible for their second? Sound.

Hardly. Adao lost the ball and the defence were ball watching. So Moore had to track back. Hardly responsible.

By far our best player today.

Half time pie

We were awful today. That said, how embarrassing is it for Scottish football to think that that shower of halfwitts are 2nd in the SPL!

Don’t worry though. Steven McLean will be able to come off the bench next season and really transform that kind of game for us next season. He will strike fear into defenders when he comes off the bench with his pace and power. 

Adam_the_legend
5 minutes ago, Gambo said:

Awful.

Awful that Levein gets away with this from a section of the support and the board.

By get away with do you mean they aren’t calling for him to be sacked?? I think everyone would agree it’s been a poor season and expect better next but the fundamental difference being the classic sack the Manager call rather than let’s see how it goes next season.

1 minute ago, Spencer said:

We are talking about Hearts, not the vermin. They've had success, quite frankly, because they have a better team than us at present.

We had nothing to lose in having a go today. We lose every time at ibrox with this negative pish. Have a go and you might just win. Our neighbours do

2 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

Neither happened today. 

Have to agree with this

The passing is so below par its embarrassing. Who Adao was trying to pass to outside our own box, and nearly giving a goal away...I'll never know

1 minute ago, Spencer said:

Quite  simple they have a far better and balanced midfield.

Not really difficult to workout tbh.

Just now, Uncle Buck said:

Hardly. Adao lost the ball and the defence were ball watching. So Moore had to track back. Hardly responsible.

By far our best player today.

Cool. I'll agree to disagree. The boy hasn't got it. Another Robert Sloan / Joe Hamill.

Adam_the_legend
4 minutes ago, suds66 said:

As long as the fans keep showing blind loyalty, Levein will be allowed to carry on making our famous club a laughing stock.

Blind?? 

Greedy_Jambo
5 minutes ago, WeeChuck'sHeed said:

we are better at home.

Aberdeen aren't very good v the top 6 team.

Football isn't as black as white as things like  because  we beat Aberdeen we can beat Rangers. Rangers have hammered Aberdeen 3 times  this season yet are level on points?

It was poor  today, no arguments from  me, but the fact that it surprises people is baffling.

Not much will change to next season, the same discussion keeps getting re hashed every week. Groundhog day .

It's only like groundhog day on here because it's like groundhog day at Hearts. 

Until things change, you can expect the same arguments. It's quite simple really. 

Not having a go away from home seems to be in Levein's makeup. I'm not sure he's going to change.