Even More SNP Nonsense

Stuart Lyon

Quite like the Mayor model. Gives cities a focal point in leadership. I mean without googling it, who is Edinburgh's Council Leader or Lord Provost?

I'd have an elected Mayor with an elected Council who scrutinise the Mayor and their appointees. Much like London, Berlin, Copenhagen etc.

I think the big Scottish cities stand to lose out to their English and continental competitors by not having clearer leadership and direction.

Plus, you'd attract better people to run for Mayor than Councillor. Imagine a few years back Margo MacDonald challenging Tommy Shepherd and Malcolm Chisholm for the Mayors post in Edinburgh.

But then its all down to personality rather than policy.

But yes you do have a point.

• Replies 11.7k

• Space Mackerel

• deesidejambo

• Pans Jambo

• JamboX2

But then its all down to personality rather than policy.

But yes you do have a point.

Dunno about that. At present voting in Scotland is based on the constitution alone. So perhaps personalities will bring out policy difference than party positions on independence.

• 3 weeks later...
Space Mackerel

when it stops selling try rebranding it, an old marketing ploy, you can call a shit a jobbie, its still the same crap

She should call it New SNP, like Tony B did with Labour :lol:

Maybe get a wee Yellow tree ala the Tolies did.

• 3 months later...

Time to bump this thread..........cant even build a bridge without having to close it within months for a major repair....repairing expansion joints is called snagging.

1 hour ago, jambo lodge said:

Time to bump this thread..........cant even build a bridge without having to close it within months for a major repair....repairing expansion joints is called snagging.

Seems reasonable, no?

safety first?

Eh?

The Scottish government commissioned it.

They did not build it.

Get a grip wee man.

Ye wid be better of questioning the ridiculous state of affairs regarding the police

6 minutes ago, Boris said:

Seems reasonable, no?

safety first?

Spot on Boris. Why the hell does absolutely everything that goes wrong have to be politicised? It’s a major engineering project that’s just ‘gone live’, so to speak. As soon as the budget’s been agreed and the project commenced, the Politics come to and end and it’s all about civil engineerIng, project management and how unforeseen challenges are dealt with.

All major building projects hit issues of one sort or another, which we as Jambos have very recent experience of, it’s fair to say!

1 minute ago, SwindonJambo said:

Spot on Boris. Why the hell does absolutely everything that goes wrong have to be ? It’s a major engineering project that’s just ‘gone live’, so to speak. As soon as the budget’s been agreed and the project commenced, the Politics come to and end and it’s all about civil engineerIng, project management and how unforeseen challenges are dealt with.

All major building projects hit issues of one sort or another, which we as Jambos have very recent experience of, it’s fair to say!

Because everything that goes right get politicised.

so rather than get it right, they pushed to open the bridge before it was really ready (hence reduced speed limits) to tell us how great they are by getting it open on time (not withstanding revises opening date)

then rather than admit there was a problem and relieve the problem around local roads and open FRB temporarily they said it couldn’t be done! Oh but it can....

3 minutes ago, Jambomb said:

Because everything that goes right get politicised.

so rather than get it right, they pushed to open the bridge before it was really ready (hence reduced speed limits) to tell us how great they are by getting it open on time (not withstanding revises opening date)

then rather than admit there was a problem and relieve the problem around local roads and open FRB temporarily they said it couldn’t be done! Oh but it can....

Surely if there were genuine safety concerns over the bridge, the Construction Engineers pull rank over the Politicians? Or am I being naive? 

12 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

Surely if there were genuine safety concerns over the bridge, the Construction Engineers pull rank over the Politicians? Or am I being naive? 

Obviously it needs shut now, but why not just finish it first before trumpeting how great they are??? There are reports of short-cuts taken to meet ‘deadline’, is that safe? And if it was fully finished why the delay in motorway status?

and there are genuine concerns around the local infrastructure after the bridge has opened, but they have failed to acknowledge that!

15 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

Hmmmm.

Yes but maybe no.

6 minutes ago, Jambomb said:

Obviously it needs shut now, but why not just finish it first before trumpeting how great they are??? There are reports of short-cuts taken to meet ‘deadline’, is that safe? And if it was fully finished why the delay in motorway status?

and there are genuine concerns around the local infrastructure after the bridge has opened, but they have failed to acknowledge that!

I agree and I’m trying to be even handed in my view on this. For the Civil Engineers and everyone else at the coal face actually working on projects like this, it must be an absolute pain in the arse being cajoled along by Politicians (who usually know bugger all)  eager to turn it into a vanity project so that they can  bask in the reflected glory. And that applies to politicians of any persuasion. If there were genuine concerns, the opening should have been delayed until everything was ready. The bridge will last many decades, what difference would another couple  months have made?

22 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

I agree and I’m trying to be even handed in my view on this. For the Civil Engineers and everyone else at the coal face actually working on projects like this, it must be an absolute pain in the arse being cajoled along by Politicians (who usually know bugger all)  eager to turn it into a vanity project so that they can  bask in the reflected glory. And that applies to politicians of any persuasion. If there were genuine concerns, the opening should have been delayed until everything was ready. The bridge will last many decades, what difference would another couple  months have made?

Exactly, vanity project is exactly what it is.

i have no issues with the Contractors, it’s the politicians I have a beef with.

Living in the area and crossing it daily is a nightmare since the bridge opened!

I'm interested in the expansion joints and why they weren't up to standard in the first place. Ministers don't sign off on works, so someone has accepted them as they were. 

1 hour ago, Hunky Dory said:

How can something be labelled a vanity project when it's aim is to replace/support a fast-deteriorating structure?

Techniques used on similar structures as FRB could have extended its life by 70 years.

3 hours ago, Hunky Dory said:

And then you're still left with a semi-repaired structure that has an end life in sight.  It's shortsightedness.

70 years! What’s semi about that.... that’s longer than it’s currently been open for.

Probably one for the conspiracy theorists - but were the SNP to blame for the delays in meeting the deadlines for the new main stand at Tynecastle Park? I think we should be told.

It was projected to only have lasted until the 2010s.  The traffic is different now from the 1960s, you'd spend more repairing and securing the structure before it is inevitably replaced anyway.

How can anyone think that throwing money at an aging structure that has reached its expected shelf-life is feasible?

But as I said there have been techniques used on other bridges of similar constructions that  have extended the life by an estimated 70 years. The claims of only lasting to the 2010s have been totally discredited.

money spent on improved infrastructure on both sides of the bridge would have been better use of resources at this time.

7 hours ago, Hunky Dory said:

Are you equally offended at the closure of schools around Scotland that were built on the back of PFI initiatives?

Absolutely, can't stand the crocodile tears of the SNP government though. Derek Mackay on the radio this morning wittering on about nasty Westminster being responsible for the shortfall facing local government. Holyrood has the option of putting up taxes and local government can also raise more in tax.   

Space Mackerel
5 minutes ago, jambo lodge said:

Absolutely, can't stand the crocodile tears of the SNP government though. Derek Mackay on the radio this morning wittering on about nasty Westminster being responsible for the shortfall facing local government. Holyrood has the option of putting up taxes and local government can also raise more in tax.   

Top of your hate list right now.

1. Extremism 

2. Steelwork and tarmacadum. 

1 hour ago, Space Mackerel said:

Top of your hate list right now.

1. Extremism 

2. Steelwork and tarmacadum. 

Nonsense , this SNP government needs to take responsibility for governing this country rather than trying to pass the buck all the time.

Thunderstruck

Quite right.

I could forgive them if they were merely incompetent but it’s the calculated application of local austerity and hardship in order to promote their cause - whether it is blaming everything on Westminster or furthering their “greed and grievance” agenda.

We are into the eleventh year of their mismanagement and the cracks are now becoming crevasses (not just on the bridge).

Nonsense , this SNP government needs to take responsibility for governing this country rather than trying to pass the buck all the time.

What like May and her crooks .:laugh:

Space Mackerel

They have passed the buck, right back to the firm who carried out the original works as what would’ve been stipulated in any contract agreement signed. 

I think you and your buddies need to arrange a march about this slight defect in the tarmac. That’ll sort it. 

44 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

They have passed the buck, right back to the firm who carried out the original works as what would’ve been stipulated in any contract agreement signed. 

I think you and your buddies need to arrange a march about this slight defect in the tarmac. That’ll sort it. 

You keep swallowing the party line SM. Meanwhile the UK government is opening discussions direct with Councils in Scotland regarding the provision of better broadband links for the rural economy......why?.......because the SNP are too interested in other things to get involved.

Isn't telecoms a reserved matter, hence Westminsters involvement and none of Holyrood's business?

But don't let that stop you having a dig at the Scottish Government for not getting involved in something that it has no power over.  Ironically you would probably berate them for trying to get their neb in over Brexit, but like broadband, it's reserved!  

Better watch your waistline having all that cake and eating it too! :wink:

26 minutes ago, Boris said:

Isn't telecoms a reserved matter, hence Westminsters involvement and none of Holyrood's business?

But don't let that stop you having a dig at the Scottish Government for not getting involved in something that it has no power over.  Ironically you would probably berate them for trying to get their neb in over Brexit, but like broadband, it's reserved!  

Better watch your waistline having all that cake and eating it too! :wink:

No need for cake Boris, if you visit the Digital Scotland website you can see what the "Scottish Government" is trying to deliver before 2018.

3 minutes ago, jambo lodge said:

No need for cake Boris, if you visit the Digital Scotland website you can see what the "Scottish Government" is trying to deliver before 2018.

All well and good, but Westminster is central to its success. The Scottish government can only do so much due to some matters being reserved. 

Space Mackerel
2 hours ago, jambo lodge said:

Updated list as of 16:50, 28th November 2017

1. Extremism

2. Queensferry Crossing remedial works.

3. YouPorn. 

Edited by Space Mackerel

Space Mackerel
3 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Nope broadband provision is Holyrood.

I thought the same as long story short was having issues around broadband and ended writing to my MP over issue. He wrote a very nice response advising me holyrood etc and considering the nature of my issue would take it up with swinney. Which we he did. Swinney in turn was a bit of a dick and promised, wrote a pile of pish that turned out to be a bunch of crap/lies/unfulfilled promises (delete as appropriate), though he’s a politician it comes natural. 

The broadband provision in Scotland has been handled appalling. The govt need to shoulder a lot of that blame. They’re not the only ones Openreach are a bunch of ***** also! 

You never thought of swapping ISP’s first? 

Space Mackerel
1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

Probably a troll but.........

Infrastructure related, which was tied in to Govt roll out. ISP could do nothing.

You live in a bothy in Auchternaewhere or was it a gremlin in the works like I had with Sky years ago and was sorted by Openreach within a couple of weeks? I’ve since moved to BT. 

Space Mackerel
36 minutes ago, jambo lodge said:

Thanks for confirmation Boris that the Scottish Government have been faffing around for 3 years whilst finance was on offer from Westminster. 

Why dont you read the article and the links within it? 

9 hours ago, jambo lodge said:

Quite right - they should follow their stated policies and. use their tax and spend powers to reduce expenditure by canceling Trident tomorrow and use the savings to pay for their weird schemes

some of you better watch, this havin a go at the SNP, polis weegie might come knocking, as soon as they can find somebody, well somebody that isn't suspected of any illegalities  and has the capabilities of running the shambles the SNP have created.

Edited by reaths17

50 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

NHS Scotland reports the worst waiting times for 6 years

http://www.thenational.scot/news/15688596.Only_three_Scottish_NHS_boards_hit_waiting_time_targets_as_performance_slumps/

But it's still better than England I hear some say, aye, truew i, but I don't live in England and therefore don't give a flying **** about NHS England.

You do live in England, you handed Scotland on a plate to your overlord masters, you and a million other Stockholmers. You let them impose their Language, currency, bank, queen, nuclear weapons etc... on us. So let's hope the SNP stand aside and let the scum in red and blue  destroy what's left of Northern North Englandshire.

If I voted no, I'd have killed masel.

2 hours ago, jambo lodge said:

Thanks for confirmation Boris that the Scottish Government have been faffing around for 3 years whilst finance was on offer from Westminster. 

That's not quite what I said, but that's fine. 

26 minutes ago, reaths17 said:

some of you better watch, this havin a go at the SNP, polis weegie might come knocking, as soon as they can find somebody, well somebody that isn't suspected of any illegalities  and has the capabilities of running the shambles the SNP have created.

Well that rules out the cabinet in WM. Bunch of filthy criminals of all variety. But hey, we Cannae have Scots running Scotland.

21 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

You do live in England, you handed Scotland on a plate to your overlord masters, you and a million other Stockholmers. You let them impose their Language, currency, bank, queen, nuclear weapons etc... on us. So let's hope the SNP stand aside and let the scum in red and blue  destroy what's left of Northern North Englandshire.

If I voted no, I'd have killed masel.

Do your research mate before you assume anything about me, I have made no secret of the fact that I voted yes, so your next point is what?

7 minutes ago, Hunky Dory said:

It's entirely fair to compare the devolved NHS services in the UK.  It provides an insight into how they would be run if their respective parties gained control of Holyrood.  I'll take 80odd% being seen in the targeted period than privatization and a humanitarian crisis any day.

I love how the "comic" newspaper The National is suddenly quotable when it portrays the Scottish Government in a critical light.

You will of course show me where I have referred to the National as a comical newspaper.

It'll take you a while, but don't worry, I'm a very patient person.

3 minutes ago, Hunky Dory said:

You're too precious, that was a generic comment and wasn't labeled directly to you.

Oh, believe me I'm far from precious, but I'll tell you what does annoy me, and that is that even the tiniest amount of criticism of the SNP is naturally assumed by some to be perpetrated by unionists or other no voters, or just plain old anti-SNP.

Criticism is the only way how the SNP or anyone for that matter can do better, and if you take away the criticism then it's the country which suffers.   

I don't give a **** who is in control of Scotland, whether that be the SNP, Labour, Tories or the Lib Dems, they are all lying tossers as far as I'm concerned, but what I do care about is Scotland, first and foremost and if I think the SNP are doing a bad job, then I''ll criticise them just like I'd criticise any of the other lot as well.

As for quoting the National, if I had quoted the BBC I'm sure you would have had something to say about that as well.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Well that rules out the cabinet in WM. Bunch of filthy criminals of all variety. But hey, we Cannae have Scots running Scotland.

this is a thread about SNP **** ups no westminster.

all those appointed by scots to **** up the polis are/were scots, they've all contributed brilliantly in making scots look incapable of running **** all.

Thunderstruck

It was the only worthy reaction to an absolute roaster of a post, probably your finest to date.

You are too kind.