The auld farts thread

I was an avid reader and got the Dandy ,Beezer,Beano,Topper,Sparky and Victor every week this was topped up by an older neighbours Commando books

• Replies 696

I was an avid reader and got the Dandy ,Beezer,Beano,Topper,Sparky and Victor every week this was topped up by an older neighbours Commando books

Loved Commando books.

My Dad would buy the Commando books read them and then pass them onto me.

Achtung!

John Gentleman

Can anyone mind (apart from me!) smoking cinnamon sticks? The poor kid's 'Willie' Woodbine, as I recall.

Smoked the cinnamon sticks.

Also put liquorice in water in a jar and shook it for a while then drank it.

I think we called it sugar lolly water or similar.

Did the snow warning ad start with " this man may look drunk but in fact he's suffering from the early stages of hypothermia " as staggered about in the snow on a hill ?

Yes.

Neilson's Shank

Public information films, my personal favourite was Reginald Molehusband the man who could not park, iirc there was one that advised you to drive as if you had a bucket of water on your bonnet and a guy helping an artic driver to reverse park speaking in French only to find he was from Sheffield.

different days.

Childhood memories of WC82:

Mum "Where's that bloody (Alan) Rough!?

France vs Germany. Remembered for the Batiston injury but an epic game nonetheless

And of course Marco Tardelli

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Carrick1874

1/2p Mojos,Dainties and sherbet in tubs that was all different colours

.... Oh aye and proper New year party's back when you seemed to know most folk that lived around you.

Childhood memories of WC82:

Mum "Where's that bloody (Alan) Rough!?

France vs Germany. Remembered for the Batiston injury but an epic game nonetheless

And of course Marco Tardelli

The first WC I can remember and still the best.

Brazil of 82, now that's football.

Public information films, my personal favourite was Reginald Molehusband the man who could not park, iirc there was one that advised you to drive as if you had a bucket of water on your bonnet and a guy helping an artic driver to reverse park speaking in French only to find he was from Sheffield.

different days.

There was a thread last year, about the ads.

Christ, some were pretty scary.

Calm waters, I think. Great thread.

The first WC I can remember and still the best.

Brazil of 82, now that's football.

My mate had a colour tv and he invited a few round to the house to watch the Worl Cup final 1970.

His Dad was not amused.

My mate had a colour tv and he invited a few round to the house to watch the Worl Cup final 1970.

His Dad was not amused.

When my boy does it, I just get pissed and embarrass him.

Thats the best thing to do.

Les Izemore

There was a thread last year, about the ads.

Christ, some were pretty scary.

Calm waters, I think. Great thread.

Dark Water, narrated by Donald Pleasance. Scared me witless as a bairn. Enjoy.

Smoked the cinnamon sticks.

Also put liquorice in water in a jar and shook it for a while then drank it.

I think we called it sugar lolly water or similar.

Done both cinammon and the liqourice sticks called it sugar olly water, may have learned olly from someone with a speech impediment who couldn't pronounce L.  Also used to buy Liqorice root, a yellow stick with almost like a bark covering, chewed it for hours.  All our supplies were obtained at a shop right next to the New Vic, they sold all the rice, barley,flour and stuff pretty much what the women used when they were cooking or baking.

Liquorice root. It was like a twig.

Your are spot on about the shop next to the New Vic.

Did the snow warning ad start with " this man may look drunk but in fact he's suffering from the early stages of hypothermia " as staggered about in the snow on a hill ?

Yes! And a helicopter arrives and someone gets into a sleeping bag with him....or something...

I used to buy liquorice root in a shop near the Odean and chew it at the Saturday morning cinema. Bought it a couple of yrs ago at a stall at Redcar races. Still rotton...

Yes probably the same shop I mentioned, I probably threw you by referring to the New Vic which of course became the Odeon, always was and always will be the New Vic to me :2thumbsup:

anybody remember the Casino Martell (next to Wine Glass) in Newington

In the days before all the pubs opened late we always used to stop off there on the

way back to Gracemount from the town as it was impossible to get a cab in the city centre in those

days so you just kept walking until one turned up with the light on

was free to join the casino so we would rock up at 2 or 3 am for the free coffee and sandwiches

was there every Friday night and never bet a penny!

anybody remember the Casino Martell (next to Wine Glass) in Newington

In the days before all the pubs opened late we always used to stop off there on the

way back to Gracemount from the town as it was impossible to get a cab in the city centre in those

days so you just kept walking until one turned up with the light on

was free to join the casino so we would rock up at 2 or 3 am for the free coffee and sandwiches

was there every Friday night and never bet a penny!

Remember it well and also the casino at Tollcross which the name escapes me.

The West End Club which was situated on the same side as Habitat.

Were fondue parties popular in Scotland in the 1970s? 

Those ghastly affairs where people were skewering wee bits of meat on a long fork, then dropping them into boiling oil right at the table.  The forks were colour-coded so you knew which fork was yours.  Luckily, the fad only lasted a couple of years.

I still regularly ( well every so often) have a fondue with friends/family.

The good thing about a fondue is you cook your own and you eat at your own pace. You arent suddenly faced with a big plate of food. So many dinner parties I go to it goes quiet then the food arrives. With a fondue its fun. You eat at your pace, you talk more and its more congenial. 

Yet to meet someone that has had a fondue (recently) and not enjoyed it.

I still regularly ( well every so often) have a fondue with friends/family.

The good thing about a fondue is you cook your own and you eat at your own pace. You arent suddenly faced with a big plate of food. So many dinner parties I go to it goes quiet then the food arrives. With a fondue its fun. You eat at your pace, you talk more and its more congenial. 

Yet to meet someone that has had a fondue (recently) and not enjoyed it.

I have two main memories about fondue. 

One, I felt queasy afterwards, probably from too much oil-soaked meat, but the numerous glasses of wine were probably a factor.  My kids grabbing for the coloured forks so that they wouldn't be left with the green one; I raised my kids to be Hearts supporters!

John mcCartney

. Scared me witless as a bairn.

catweazle had me filling my pants or having wet inside thighs

and il never forget my first experience of surround sound at a cinema neither !!!!!!!

some ****ing war film over at largs on holiday

132goals1958

Plastering dubbin on the football boots which had wooden studs back then.. The aroma of dubbin was something to behold.

The smell of liniment / wintergreen in the changing rooms or pavilion as we coined it in those days.

punkrockcroc

Sweets made up like cigarettes and the packet as if you were buying a packet of 20. They were rank and I'm a non smoker.

punkrockcroc

Sweets made up like cigarettes and the packet as if you were buying a packet of 20. They were rank and I'm a non smoker.

That should read as a non smoker now. Is it any wonder I don't smoke if that's what they taste like.

Sloan's Linament - it stank to high heaven but was good fro muscular pain

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earl_Sloan

and Whitfield's ointment - careful if you were using it to treat heat rash near your private parts as it stung like hell

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitfield%27s_ointment[/quote

Got a rash between my legs whilst in the Navy. Was commonly known as Dhoby rash. In that the washing powder was not rinsed properly from your underwear and hence you developed the rash. The docs onboard gave me a jar of awhitfield's cream with the instructions to apply lI be rally twice a day. This I did and by Christ did I do a dance round the mess deck. I thought my manhood was going to fall off as in burnt off. That stuff stung like feck. Never got a Dhoby rash again.]

I remember carrying coal from the outside coal shed upstairs to the coal cupboard in the hall . I used to carry it in two "oor wullie" buckets , getting paid 5p a bucket from my grandad .

20 buckets easily paid for a home game , 5p for the bus from Gilmerton ,75p to get into the match ,money left over for sweets. Happy days.

Chocolate and a white kind of something, I can still taste it.

The chocolate ones you couldn't get the paper off, so I ate that too.:D

Perth to Paisley

In Glasgow they are posher and call it a nougat wafer.

As a 50+ year old I am ashamed to say it is only within the last year I found out why it was called s black man....horrific!

Sunbathing on top of the flat prefab roof and spending the night in the cells as a family because the main drain was overflowing and the corporation offices were shut...

Accelerated our move into our new house thankfully.

As a 50+ year old I am ashamed to say it is only within the last year I found out why it was called s black man....horrific!

Sunbathing on top of the flat prefab roof and spending the night in the cells as a family because the main drain was overflowing and the corporation offices were shut...

Accelerated our move into our new house thankfully.

Because it had chocolate on it I assumed.

Were fondue parties popular in Scotland in the 1970s? 

Those ghastly affairs where people were skewering wee bits of meat on a long fork, then dropping them into boiling oil right at the table.  The forks were colour-coded so you knew which fork was yours.  Luckily, the fad only lasted a couple of years.

Very posh

I thought it was a dinner party that involved eating a beige coloured pigeon

Very posh

I thought it was a dinner party that involved eating a beige coloured pigeon

Haha! :biggrin:

There was a fishwife in West Richmond Street who sold buckies.

I remember on the same street corner a bookie stood there.

Please God, does anyone still do something like this? Sunday morning bliss updating the leagues from the newspaper. ?

Remember this well when i was a boy, 

I hear on the news this morning that Sylvia Anderson has died. RIP Lady Penelope, and there goes another wee bit of childhood.

Always remembering the summers as being scorching hot..!! For some reason. Having some great late nights out as a kid in the summer and being mocket as we actually played 

Slot TV's from British Relay and the TV went off the air at 11pm or midnight or something like that.

Being able to be left all day on your own during the holidays when your parents were out at work with no worries about anybody bothering you.

As a small child in Craigmillar remember the treat of the ice cream shop at the bottom of my road (Craigmillar Castle Road), I think it may have been Luca's.

Posh folks had fridge's, we had a cool cupboard.

I recall the tellys with the money slot at the back. Hated when they conked out...! 

Always remembering the summers as being scorching hot..!! For some reason. Having some great late nights out as a kid in the summer and being mocket as we actually played 

I said this to someone the other day. Used to have proper seasons. Roasting summers and snow in winter. Probably didn't but seems like it.

So many memories from reading this great thread. : 

A common theme seems to be that most of us didnt have much money at all , there was debt collectors and we paid most things on HP.  Jesus we even had to pay to watch the telly with 50 p pieces and you were f****** if you were watching a programme and it conked out. 

I still recall my mum ( it was usually her) telling us to be quiet and not answer the door when the debt men came...( as she couldn't pay it).  We had to remain very quiet. WE got HP from Goldbergs , the Provvie ( who didn't) and Stephen and Shields. Its still an upsetting memory for me so many years later however it made me who i am today and I try  not to  worry about money and or getting into debt ( I try not to). I live well within my means. 

I defy todays so called wishy washy liberals to argue that there is still "poverty " in the UK,?   Id argue yes there may be poverty of opportunty and educational chances now but not real poverty which many of experienced many years ago. Sorry to be a bit of a downer on such a good thread. 

So many memories from reading this great thread. :

A common theme seems to be that most of us didnt have much money at all , there was debt collectors and we paid most things on HP. Jesus we even had to pay to watch the telly with 50 p pieces and you were ******* if you were watching a programme and it conked out.

I still recall my mum ( it was usually her) telling us to be quiet and not answer the door when the debt men came...( as she couldn't pay it). We had to remain very quiet. WE got HP from Goldbergs , the Provvie ( who didn't) and Stephen and Shields. Its still an upsetting memory for me so many years later however it made me who i am today and I try not to worry about money and or getting into debt ( I try not to). I live well within my means.

I defy todays so called wishy washy liberals to argue that there is still "poverty " in the UK,? Id argue yes there may be poverty of opportunty and educational chances now but not real poverty which many of experienced many years ago. Sorry to be a bit of a downer on such a good thread.

I think they measure poverty in that there is not a telly in every bedroom as well as the living room. Kylie and Tyler don't have a play station or mobile phone each at the age of 5. They have no idea what real poverty is nowadays Then again parents back then put the bairns first. I await the backlash

Does anybody remember the chicken shop in Clerk St, all they, sold was roast chicken long before the supermarkets cottoned on to the idea of selling hot roast chickens ? I used to enjoy going there fo some food.