Making a Murderer (contains spoilers)

BigC

I've always thought Avery is a wrong un but shouldn't have been convicted on the evidence that we seen.

He was convicted for throwing a cat on a fire but I suppose that doesn't make you a murderer either...I was leaning towards the cousin and Dasseys brother myself who were seen around the time of Halbachs disappearance.

A strange case all round anyway and I'll look forward to the next series.

Yeah they seemed very dodgy.

• Replies 393

• AlimOzturk

• Peebo

• Ray Gin

• Carl Fredrickson

Quite a few reasons. (spoiler alert guys)

1 - Avery has a pretty big record for crime and previous for violence. He burned a dog/cat (can't recall which) alive.

2- They found Theresa Halbachs Camera and phone 20ft away from averys front door in a barrel. This was not mentioned in the documentary and certianly was not Planted.

3 - Averys DNA was found in Halbachs car bonnent. Not blood but DNA. This crucial peice of evidence was not included in the documentary either for some reason. The police could not plant this.

4- Are we to Believe police either planted bones or actually murdered Halbachs body in order to convict Avery?

The above doesn't matter anyways. As soon as the police started planting evidence (which to me can't be disputed) then all the other evidence becomes tainted and therefore admissible.

Cheers for the reply, and fair enough. However, while clearly had been a wrong 'un in the past (as stated), I didn't see anything in the documentary series that convinced me he was guilty.

Aside from the fact they found the burned remains of the victim on his ranch, that his nephew admitted to the crime and his neighbours and other family members attest to having seen massive flames on his yard?

I don't believe for one second police planted the body. To be capable of doing that with amount Of people who would need to be involved would, imo, be nearly impossible.

Maybe someone else murdered Halbach and tried to frame Avery. However, it would take an incredibly cunning individual to pull it off and from what I have seen the people involved don't seem all that cunning and intelligent.

Aside from the fact they found the burned remains of the victim on his ranch, that his nephew admitted to the crime and his neighbours and other family members attest to having seen massive flames on his yard?

I don't believe for one second police planted the body. To be capable of doing that with amount Of people who would need to be involved would, imo, be nearly impossible.

Maybe someone else murdered Halbach and tried to frame Avery. However, it would take an incredibly cunning individual to pull it off and from what I have seen the people involved don't seem all that cunning and intelligent.

I'd need to watch it again but wasn't there a lot of discrepancies in the discovery of the remains? In different parts of the scrap yard etc? Different barrels or something?

I agree planting all that stuff seems implausible but so was the stories that they raped, stabbed, shot, cut her up and burnt her with so little DNA found. Avery and Dassey didn't strike me as forensic specialists able to cover their tracks so incredibly well...

Brendan Dassey's brother and cousin also seemed really determined to see him convicted too which just didn't sit right with me.

Yes, various things suggest he could have done it. As said, nothing to convince me of his guilt. Most certainly not his nephew's "admission"!

I think the Cops involved were rotten to the core and determined to nail him

His Nephews Attorney a disgrace

The Judicial system flawed from start to finish

Though you can see why many have  Avery guilty

I'd need to watch it again but wasn't there a lot of discrepancies in the discovery of the remains? In different parts of the scrap yard etc? Different barrels or something?

I agree planting all that stuff seems implausible but so was the stories that they raped, stabbed, shot, cut her up and burnt her with so little DNA found. Avery and Dassey didn't strike me as forensic specialists able to cover their tracks so incredibly well...

Brendan Dassey's brother and cousin also seemed really determined to see him convicted too which just didn't sit right with me.

The lassie's own brother and ex for me.

Mind the car key that was magically found lying on the floor of Avery's trailer days after initial searches.

With his DNA on it, but no DNA for Theresa.

Are we also to believe that Avery raped and murdered her via gunshot or knife, in his garage or bedroom, and managed to clean up every ounce of DNA? :lol:

Did Avery kill her though? Did Brendan knowingly or unknowingly assist in a cover up? We'll never know. But what's clear as day is neither should have been convicted in a million years.

North Berwick Jambo

Mind the car key that was magically found lying on the floor of Avery's trailer days after initial searches.

With his DNA on it, but no DNA for Theresa.

Are we also to believe that Avery raped and murdered her via gunshot or knife, in his garage or bedroom, and managed to clean up every ounce of DNA? :lol:

Did Avery kill her though? Did Brendan knowingly or unknowingly assist in a cover up? We'll never know. But what's clear as day is neither should have been convicted in a million years.

From the very beginning it's dodgy as ****, the same police involved in the previous case allowed to be all over this one again, the photofit drawn from his photo, the kids dodgy lawyers almost setting him up , the prosecutor describing in gory detail the "confession" on the news before the trial , the same judges residing over the appeals, the tampered blood sample from police custody & the rapidly made up FBI test to prove they didn't plant it, the cop mentioning the 99 (year) on the call after the car was discovered & its her cousin who finds it, the lack of a log detailing who comes to the crime scene, her brother & the other guy only have each other as an alibi, proof the bones were moved , no DNA anywhere else in the trailer or garage, the timing after the three cops were disposed for the first trial, the buried "phone call" saying wrong man in prison & proof they knew it was Allen, Coulson & Link (think that was their names) & the sheriffs signatures on everything, etc etc . Corruption from top to bottom & from start to finish! Don't get me wrong Avery is no angel but it totally beggars belief they both got sent down on that evidence, I think this story has a long long way to go yet.

• 5 months later...
GlasgoJambo

Season 12 Episode 5, It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia: Making Dennis Reynolds A Murderer

Better clip

Edited by GlasgoJambo

• 1 year later...
37 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Series 2 is available on Netflix from Friday.

Be interesting to see what new evidence they have, looking forward to this??

4 hours ago, Swanny17 said:

Series 2 is available on Netflix from Friday.

Thanks for the heads up. 

That's my friday sorted. Not doing much so will binge watch this l.

Also got better call Saul, the Walking dead and Gammorah to catch up. Plenty telly for me coming up 

North Berwick Jambo

I discovered all of series 2 available online just after the game finished today. Ten minutes into the first episode and I am unable to keep my trap shut. Already half way through episode 2 & it’s just as jaw dropping as the first series. That’s the entire nights viewing sorted. 

8 hours ago, Ibiza Jambo said:

I discovered all of series 2 available online just after the game finished today. Ten minutes into the first episode and I am unable to keep my trap shut. Already half way through episode 2 & it’s just as jaw dropping as the first series. That’s the entire nights viewing sorted. 

Where did you discover series 2? 

North Berwick Jambo
3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I can’t open them. 

Cheers anyway BTW. 

I know a lot of these sites are blocked in the UK but this is the one I usually send the links from that work back to my daughter in Edinburgh. I don’t know if you are allowed to put up any of the actual direct links on here, I doubt it. 

Edited by Ibiza Jambo

Budgie's Boyfriend
6 hours ago, magicjohnston said:

Ken Kratz makes my skin crawl, you'll want to put you TV out the window watching him in season 2! :getout:

Correct

North Berwick Jambo
8 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Can't. Stop. Watching

I managed to watch the first nine episodes over the weekend & I have one left to watch tonight. Unbelievable at times again just like the first season ?

Was up at 5am for work this morning...not helped after watching this until nearly midnight last night. It drives me mad but i cant stop watching.

One of Teresa Halbach's friends said it didn't really matter if they had the correct person for her murder because she was gone. Surely they want the truth to come out?! 

It’s so clearly not them. Unfortunately I think this is a toss up between being obviously quite a scummy family and Avery suing the county for $36m.

i cannot believe the stuff on Bobby Dassey never made it in as evidence. 

***spoiler alert***

That Bobby Dassey is a wrong Un. How that stuff in his computer never made it to trail is just mental. Why the police never looked into his involvement is either complete incompetence or just total corruption. 

How the bone fragments were never tested to see if they were human is mental. 

How Brendan Dassey appeal got tossed out despite over whelming evidence and just common sense shows his admission was forcefully gained is mental. 

Kathleen Zelner is strangely attractive despite not being all that  good looking. 

23 hours ago, Joe Rogan said:

It’s so clearly not them. Unfortunately I think this is a toss up between being obviously quite a scummy family and Avery suing the county for $36m.

i cannot believe the stuff on Bobby Dassey never made it in as evidence. 

Sorry,

the dassey confession is coerced

BUT the level of evidence re Avery is pretty convincing

For him not to be at least involved in the murder would require

1- someone apart from him and dassey knowing Halbach was there

2- to lure her off their property

3- to murder her without witness and burn the remains

4- to have Avery's blood and sweat

5- to plant the blood and sweat in her vehicle

6- to plant the vehicle in Avery yard

7- to plant the key

You would need a team

So clearly a family of utter wrong uns. Someone in that family knows something I’m sure of it. Whether it’s Bobby Dassey or even the Tadych, guy do I remember him saying he was one of the last to see the girl in the last series? You felt at the time neither of their testimonies felt genuine and whether that was as Zellner suggests, they were getting leaned on by the police to put Avery away for this. 

A really bizarre case. 

That Kratz dude makes your blood rise too, what a strange guy that is. 

14 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Sorry,

the dassey confession is coerced

BUT the level of evidence re Avery is pretty convincing

For him not to be at least involved in the murder would require

1- someone apart from him and dassey knowing Halbach was there

2- to lure her off their property

3- to murder her without witness and burn the remains

4- to have Avery's blood and sweat

5- to plant the blood and sweat in her vehicle

6- to plant the vehicle in Avery yard

7- to plant the key

You would need a team

They had a team. They found nothing until repeated searches and then found the key at the side of the sideboard. They spent two days searching that small trailer and it was lying down the side of the sideboard and no one had noticed it? :lol: This was after the ex-boyfriend had gained access to the area too who had been in Hallbachs house. Fishy no? 

They found not a single trace of Hallbachs DNA in his trailer despite him handcuffing her to the bed(no marks from the cuffs on the bed either) and stabbing her and Dassey slitting her throat? The place was minging ffs! He was surgical in his cleaning? The experts telling you couldn’t burn a body in a pit without a huge tank of fuel that would leave residue from a burnt corpse? 

The fact only his DNA was on the key fob and the bonnet latch? Nobody else’s? Weird no?

It throws up as many questions as answers imo. 

3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

They had a team. They found nothing until repeated searches and then found the key at the side of the sideboard. They spent two days searching that small trailer and it was lying down the side of the sideboard and no one had noticed it? :lol: This was after the ex-boyfriend had gained access to the area too who had been in Hallbachs house. Fishy no? 

They found not a single trace of Hallbachs DNA in his trailer despite him handcuffing her to the bed(no marks from the cuffs on the bed either) and stabbing her and Dassey slitting her throat? The place was minging ffs! He was surgical in his cleaning? The experts telling you couldn’t burn a body in a pit without a huge tank of fuel that would leave residue from a burnt corpse? 

The fact only his DNA was on the key fob and the bonnet latch? Nobody else’s? Weird no?

It throws up as many questions as answers imo. 

- I'm not saying that she was killed in the trailer.

-that was just a theory

- probably a wrong one

When you get past all the stuff postulated by lawyers on both sides you are left with a woman goes to their yard, goes missing, is killed, and Avery's DNA is found all over her vehicle , and her vehicle found in his yard- hidden.

Some of her remains found in his yard in a burn barrel ( though I suspect the disposal and other events happened in the quarry)

Lawyers "paint a picture" for the jury- tell a story

In this case it was not needed and has merely added fog

Had the prosecutor stood up and stated the facts only

Avery would still have been convicted

The window dressing merely allows conspiracy nuts room to vent.

8 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

-that was just a theory

- probably a wrong one

When you get past all the stuff postulated by lawyers on both sides you are left with a woman goes to their yard, goes missing, is killed, and Avery's DNA is found all over her vehicle , and her vehicle found in his yard- hidden.

Some of her remains found in his yard in a burn barrel ( though I suspect the disposal and other events happened in the quarry)

But it’s nearly a cert the DNA has been planted on these things. Like the swab they used to take the DNA from the hood of the RAV4, it was still brilliant white. That couldn’t happen if you dragged one of them across almost any bonnet latch, it would have dirt or oil residue on it for definite. The DNA on the bullet was pretty much proved to be planted too! They didn’t have experts on his side to disprove the evidence presented by the state. 

I’m not saying for certain he didn’t do it but the evidence the provided wasn’t sufficient to convict him. There was even evidence her ex was deleting voicemails on her phone after she went missing, why would he do that?

The police can be ***** when they want to nail someone. A few cases like the Colin Stagg/Rachel Nickell and that girl who was suppose to have been murdered by her landlord cos he was a wee bit weird spring to mind in this country. 

20 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

-that was just a theory

- probably a wrong one

Well it could have been Bobby Dassey. He was in the scene around about the time Halbach was there, has now been shown to have violent fantasies about mutilated corpses. 

The whole thing is so ****ed up that how anyone can suggest that Avery deserves to be in prison is beyond me. There is just to many unanswered questions. Let's not forget his history with the police and the fact he had a 40 million pound compensation battle...they had plenty reason to want him in jail. 

15 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Well it could have been Bobby Dassey. He was in the scene around about the time Halbach was there, has now been shown to have violent fantasies about mutilated corpses. 

The whole thing is so ****ed up that how anyone can suggest that Avery deserves to be in prison is beyond me. There is just to many unanswered questions. Let's not forget his history with the police and the fact he had a 40 million pound compensation battle...they had plenty reason to want him in jail. 

Dassey- just because his confession was coerced does not prove his innocence at all

Me? I think Dassey killed her then went to Avery for help

The boyfriend had to be involved, the fact that he had her calendar print out that she had written on after leaving her home that morning means that he was with her around the time she was killed or in her car afterwards

Can't remember the lawyers name exactly, all I know is he was Brendan Dassey's original lawyer but if he makes an appearance in S2 my TV may end up smashed.

Erse of a man

Just now, Jeff said:

Can't remember the lawyers name exactly, all I know is he was Brendan Dassey's original lawyer but if he makes an appearance in S2 my TV may end up smashed.

Erse of a man

He does. He is an absolute cretin.

Tynecastle Valhalla
14 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Dassey- just because his confession was coerced does not prove his innocence at all

Have you watched season 2?

theres just no way anyone could think Avery is guilty after watching what they found.

he has been set up because he was suing the police..

I think the ex boyfriend, bobby dassey and Scott were all involved as were the police - that guy coulson hid evidence 

15 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

I think you might be mixing up Dassey's - Bobby's Brendan's brother.

From what else you've posted, I'm assuming you havent watched S2 yet. I'm four episodes in and Zellner has already picked apart most of your concerns.

25 minutes ago, Chester™ said:

I think you might be mixing up Dassey's - Bobby's Brendan's brother.

From what else you've posted, I'm assuming you havent watched S2 yet. I'm four episodes in and Zellner has already picked apart most of your concerns.

I'm not impressed with Zellner so far

I watched her splatter analysis - her attempt to prove it was planted- it wouldn't hold water.

SHe is good at taking apart the narrative, but does not deal with the evidence

15 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

I'm not impressed with Zellner so far

I watched her splatter analysis - her attempt to prove it was planted- it wouldn't hold water.

SHe is good at taking apart the narrative, but does not deal with the evidence

Considering some of the exceptionally flimsy evidence used by the prosecution, I'd say the splatter analysis (amongst other things) would hold a considerable amount of weight.

Though she must usually be pretty good at dealing with the evidence for getting all those convictions overturned.

24 minutes ago, Chester™ said:

Considering some of the exceptionally flimsy evidence used by the prosecution, I'd say the splatter analysis (amongst other things) would hold a considerable amount of weight.

Though she must usually be pretty good at dealing with the evidence for getting all those convictions overturned.

That's where the problem lies- without all the prosecution waffle, the evidence is really strong

1- last to see alive- CHECK

2- vehicle hidden on your property - CHECK

3- accused's blood in the vehicle - CHECK

4- bits of body found in a barrel on your property- CHECK

Without wild conspiracy theories, that's pretty much enough to convict almost anyone

8 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

That's where the problem lies- without all the prosecution waffle, the evidence is really strong

Without wild conspiracy theories, that's pretty much enough to convict almost anyone

1. Thats the narrative the police want you to believe. But was he?

2. Zellner's dealt with that already. Its highly conceivable that the car was put there. The blood dog evidence was highly interesting it that regard.

3. Blood in one part of the car but nowhere else. As they've based it on the cut Avery had, you'd expect it in other places around the car, namely the gear stick. There wasnt.

4. Bits of body, that it seems werent identified as her, in a barrel that was witnessed to originally be off the Avery property, in land owned by the County. Moreover, the fire expert said that evidence isnt particularly rigorous.

The conviction, on whats been presented, both in documentary and elsewhere, is unsafe. The prosecution have subsequently admitted it was based on circumstantial evidence rather than 'hard facts'. They've been allowed to control the narrative until the documentary came out. Now they're flapping about and contradicting themselves when people challenge them.

None of it sits right.

36 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Have you watched the second season?

Looking at the evidence, to me it's clear Avery is guilty. To believe he's not you'd have to believe the police went to such lengths as to move the victim's body to his yard, plant DNA and blood, plant evidence (keys), create a fire pit put bones into it, plant the victim's car in his yard.

As for Dassey (the youngest one), I am troubled by his conviction. Potentially his older brother was involved, though very disturbing porn on his computer doesn't prove he has been involved. Keep it mind, making a murderer (S1 and S2) is essentially an entertainment show, hugely biased on the defence team's side. Avery also has a very dubious past. 

I don't think we should have blind faith in the police BTW, but to pull this off would be a hugely new definition of cops being bent.

Edited by Tynieman
spelling