**Phrases / Terms that need to be Retired Immediately**

Sterling Archer

'No offence but......' - proceeds to say something that will offend you

'I'm not racist but......' - proceeds to come out with something disgustingly racist

'I'm not homophobic but......' - proceeds to come out with something wildly homophobic.

Stop lying to yourself and everyone else. Being a prejudiced areshole may not be socially acceptable but at least have the balls to stand up for your convictions.

• Replies 463

Patronisingly beginning a sentence with "You do realise that...".

Beginning a sentence with "So..." in that recent way.

Modern UK marketing of food and "personal products". Everything is "indulgent", "luxurious" or a combination of unknown fruits.

Jamie Oliver's "generous pinch of salt". "Large pinch" or "two pinches" in non-######.

Sawdust Caesar

The word super when used in front of an adjective "I'm super excited to be part of that" or "I'm super delighted to be here".

I've got a boss who says "I need visibility of that " rather than just saying "show me" or "let me see it".

Selfie.

Banter.

At this moment in time.

Just about - when it was (my World Cup moan).

The incorrect and overuse of the words random and literally, get right on my tits.

A bird on my Facebook has done this twice in the last week. She "literally" had jobs coming out of her ears the other day (she's some sort of recruitment agent or something), then she "literally" cried her eyes out at a film the other night.

I would delete her but she's hot.

Guest C00l K1d

Sevco, and it's derivatives

Pretending rangers aren't rangers.

"Oh but surely you mean THE rangers"

Surely I mean shut up ya dick.

Grown men losing their shit when you don't put 'the' in front of Rangers.

The incorrect and overuse of the words random and literally, get right on my tits.

It's literally like getting punched in the ear when I hear either of these.

Guys calling guys "Bro".

"OM actual G!"

Also, when did 'Coinage' become a thing? Its just coins.

'I'm not racist but......' - proceeds to come out with something disgustingly racist

'I'm not homophobic but......' - proceeds to come out with something wildly homophobic.

Stop lying to yourself and everyone else. Being a prejudiced areshole may not be socially acceptable but at least have the balls to stand up for your convictions.

Beat me to it.

**** speak.

Patronisingly beginning a sentence with "You do realise that...".

Beginning a sentence with "So..." in that recent way.

I use the word "obviously" way to often. Deserves a slap.

Also any emoticon or emoji or whatever they are these days. Not so much the funny in-jokey ones on JKB but dropping your bog standard :D at the end of every sentence.

"Going forward."

People saying hashtag as if they're talking on twitter/facebook.

Anyone who says this should be executed immediately.

Along with those personality vacuums who say "simples".

"Aye but I've goat a black pal" after an insanely racist comment.

"WHAT AM I LIKE!"

A *****?

Or 'only me/I'

"Only I would get searched at airport security"

No, not only you. 100s of people are searched an hour.

I'll start.

Using "bang" before another word, e.g. bang average, bang tidy or any variation on that theme.

'Back to the grind'. Rubbish phrase to describe getting back to work, that one annoys me

Yep, I'm just glad I don't encounter this in the real world.

drains up

helecopter view

blue sky thinking

thinking outside of the box

'yeah' after every sentence

cool

crickey

touch base

basically

literally

"cheeky wee"

"amazeballs"

"sake" as in "Hibs losing to Hearts again....SAKE"

"just sayin"

"nom nom"...........ARSEHOLES

Can't lie, my mum would most likely agree with every word of my rant. LOL.

Fixed that for you.

Any corporate management pish.

Just speak fecking English

Lavrentiy Beria

When folk on here start with But But But ... really annoys me . Its childish !!

Morgaro Gomis

"Much" being used after a word, for example: "bored much" or "tired much"

Selfie.

Shut the **** up

All these years, have we been taking "otheries"?

Can we also retire 'anxiousness'? There's a perfectly good 'anxiety' that's been doing the job for years.

Paulie Walnut

nom nom nom

usually accompanied by pictures of a shan dinner at brewers fayre

Beyond

Bob Geldof on the death of Peaches "we are beyond grief"

so does that mean you have got passed the grief geldof you dick