Rangers fans rioting in Manchester ( merged )

Independence
Who is goading police officers?? The police won't have to contact the administrators of this forum!! Every policeman with half a brain will have sussed out the Hearts boys down in Manchester! I don't assist coppers with their enquiries, it's not my way! NO COMMENT!!

You are a disgrace to the Heart of Midlothian!!!!!!!!!!!

• Replies 824
King of the North
Who is goading police officers?? The police won't have to contact the administrators of this forum!! Every policeman with half a brain will have sussed out the Hearts boys down in Manchester! I don't assist coppers with their enquiries, it's not my way! NO COMMENT!!

They have ways of making you talk, you know?

I'd apologise to Mersey Jambo if I were you before he tips off his mates in the L&B.... :coolgleamA:

I've just been watching a news bulletin. The main item was the latest on the appalling earthquake in China. I have just watched the most heart rending scenes; poor souls who have just identified the body of their only child who was pulled from the wreckage of his school; a couple who had just been re-united with their child who had been found alive in the arms of his dead grandmother; the unselfish and astounding efforts of six soldiers who had carried a rescued and severely injured lady for 8 hours on a stretcher over devastated mountain roads in order for her to receive medical attention; the dignity of rescuers and soldiers standing in silence as bodies were carried past. I had to wipe tears from my eyes.

The next item to my shame was of some of my fellow country men behaving like animals in the 4th richest country on Earth, mobbing a defenceless police officer who was lying on the ground getting his head kicked in. The mob then turned their attention to a parked car which they preceded to trash. The mob then charged down the street screaming at the top of their voices 'U..U..UDA'. That said it all. I am not only ashamed but I am also bloody livid. I have had enough of the utter hypocrisy of those who make excuses for the cancer in our midst which spawns this utterly depraved barbarity.

It is time for Glasgow Rangers FC to be held to account. They must not get away any longer with the lame platitudes which leak from the mouths of their directors every time this sort of stuff happens. For pond life like that seen on the streets of Manchester to exist there has to be a culture upon which it survives and is nurtured. That culture is the very ethos and raison d'etre of Glasgow Rangers FC. It goes straight to the very marrow in the bones of the club. It is the driving force at the heart of the club. Token gestures of the like we have seen over the past few years which suggest that the club has changed are merely sops. Over-reaction on my part? No way. I have had enough.

And as for the sympathisers, apologists and fellow travelers who crop up on this board we should drive them out of our club along with their Union Flags and Red Hand of Ulster banners, before they drag our good name into the Hun sewer.

Great post and one that all decent Hearts fans would agree with

However we know they will get away with it - you only have to look at the front page of the Daily Ranger - picture of riot cop and poor wee innocent Gers fan with a bloodied face - to know the whitewash has started

If this had been Hearts fans the paper would have crucified us

They are animals, always have been

Before Ibrox was all seated you had to have a death wish to celebrate a goal there

Nothing much has changed

It's not 'your way' to speak up about the scourge of our support? The dregs of society who tarnish our club's fine name? It's not 'your way' to weed out the trash element who bring shame and disgrace upon Hearts, your fellow Jambos and your country?

Oh, right. Why would that be? Forgive me for sounding naive here, but I would have thought that all of those things were quite important to Hearts fans...no?

You do know that the police read these message boards btw, don't you?

Independence
I've just been watching a news bulletin. The main item was the latest on the appalling earthquake in China. I have just watched the most heart rending scenes; poor souls who have just identified the body of their only child who was pulled from the wreckage of his school; a couple who had just been re-united with their child who had been found alive in the arms of his dead grandmother; the unselfish and astounding efforts of six soldiers who had carried a rescued and severely injured lady for 8 hours on a stretcher over devastated mountain roads in order for her to receive medical attention; the dignity of rescuers and soldiers standing in silence as bodies were carried past. I had to wipe tears from my eyes.

The next item to my shame was of some of my fellow country men behaving like animals in the 4th richest country on Earth, mobbing a defenceless police officer who was lying on the ground getting his head kicked in. The mob then turned their attention to a parked car which they proceeded to trash. The mob then charged down the street screaming at the top of their voices 'U..U..UDA'. That said it all. I am not only ashamed but I am also bloody livid. I have had enough of the utter hypocrisy of those who make excuses for the cancer in our midst which spawns this utterly depraved barbarity.

It is time for Glasgow Rangers FC to be held to account. They must not get away any longer with the lame platitudes which leak from the mouths of their directors every time this sort of stuff happens. For pond life like that seen on the streets of Manchester to exist there has to be a culture upon which it survives and is nurtured. That culture is the very ethos and raison d'etre of Glasgow Rangers FC. It goes straight to the very marrow in the bones of the club. It is the driving force at the heart of the club. Token gestures of the like we have seen over the past few years which suggest that the club has changed are merely sops. Over-reaction on my part? No way. I have had enough.

And as for the sympathisers, apologists and fellow travelers who crop up on this board we should drive them out of our club along with their Union Flags and Red Hand of Ulster banners, before they drag our good name into the Hun sewer.

Totally agree and the SFA SPL Gordon Smith should display some backbone/initiative and decide that their organisation have decided to ban Rangers for a year from Europe because of their fans attrocious behaviour.

Will it happen.....??????????????????

merseyjambo

I'm not tyring to justify myself or the actions of GMP but I can't believe some of the utter B/S that is being posted on here.

I would hazard a guess there aren't many on here who would know what police tactics are in public order situations. Why do you think so many English officers were drafted in for the G8. Scottish forces do not as standard train officers to deal with this. Forces in England and Wales do due to the fact we are more likely to be faced with a situation like this (Bradford, Oldham etc).

There are lots of stories that I could post on here in relation to how the animals behaved on Wednesday but won't. I will say though that the Daily Glasgow story about fans letting ambulances in is B/S. they were escorted in by police officers in riot gear.

The fans I saw in the custody area were all wearing some form of Rangers top or Linfield top and no English accent to be heard. Whether they were Rangers Season Ticket holders or just fans who travelled to say they were in Manchester I don't know.

Most of those I spoke to in the time preceding the game seemed to think I should have some affiliation to them because I was Scottish and a Hearts fan. More than one said 'At least yer no a Tim big man. No Surrrender' or some other charming phrase and there were certainly no English accents then.

Its not as if they've been angels in Europe in the past. They have a history of it.

Rangers should be made to pay for the damage to the city, the clean up operation, the damaged vehicles, compensation to those injured and their fans should be banned from travelling in Europe for a season. If they break the ban, Rangers get kicked out of Europe that season and banned for the following.

There may have been only a small minority started it but once started, there were a lot who saw it as a chance to run amok

The thing that I find funny about the direction that this thread's going down is that people genuinely seem to believe that a crack squad of SWAT troopers is even now hovering over The Boo's house, acting on the orders of the top secret internet division who monitor message boards and use sophisticated technology to track down and bring to justice anyone who suggests that they may be withholding information.

"Action, action! Red Alert, I repeat, Red Alert! The Boo implied that he may know people who have broken the law! To the webmobile, boys!"

It all just seems a bit unlikely to me. Sorry.

I thought of a plan that can be inplemented by Rankgers to help narrow the search for the animals rioting for the next time. We now know there were close to 375,000 Rankgers fans in and around Manchester. Murray has explained to us that 325,000 have absolutely no association with his great establishment. What if he sold Rankgers blue rags to season ticket holders only. Then when we watch the next installment of Wild Animal Kingdom we'll know who they are.

The thing that I find funny about the direction that this thread's going down is that people genuinely seem to believe that a crack squad of SWAT troopers is even now hovering over The Boo's house, acting on the orders of the top secret internet division who monitor message boards and use sophisticated technology to track down and bring to justice anyone who suggests that they may be withholding information.

"Action, action! Red Alert, I repeat, Red Alert! The Boo implied that he may know people who have broken the law! To the webmobile, boys!"

It all just seems a bit unlikely to me. Sorry.

Well of course it does....when you put it like that. :)

Wouldn't it seem more unlikely that football intelligence DON'T read these boards?

I apologise if I inferred that it was Rangers fans from NI who were solely involved in embarrasing Scotland on wednesday, but I would be the most naive man in the world if I did not suspect that they were involved , BIG TIME!!!!!!!!

I do not disagree with the above NBJT, I too would not be at all surprised if there were Rangers fans from Northern Ireland involved, you get nutters in every community, including The City of Edinburgh and its surrounds. As you have alluded to my response was based on the fact that you seemed to be suggesting the trouble was mainly caused by Rangers fans from that area, which it clearly was not, based on the addresses at least of those who were arrested (all Glasgow as far as I am aware).

I suspect what this match may have done is driven a wedge into the Rangers support, and split them to a certain degree. Certainly many of the Rangers fans from work who were down, and who I have spoken to, wish to alienate themselves from the element which caused the trouble. They went to watch Rangers play in the UEFA Cup Final, which as Rangers fans doesn't seem unreasonable, and saw the day hijacked by an unruly element.

Independence
I'm not tyring to justify myself or the actions of GMP but I can't believe some of the utter B/S that is being posted on here.

I would hazard a guess there aren't many on here who would know what police tactics are in public order situations. Why do you think so many English officers were drafted in for the G8. Scottish forces do not as standard train officers to deal with this. Forces in England and Wales do due to the fact we are more likely to be faced with a situation like this (Bradford, Oldham etc).

There are lots of stories that I could post on here in relation to how the animals behaved on Wednesday but won't. I will say though that the Daily Glasgow story about fans letting ambulances in is B/S. they were escorted in by police officers in riot gear.

The fans I saw in the custody area were all wearing some form of Rangers top or Linfield top and no English accent to be heard. Whether they were Rangers Season Ticket holders or just fans who travelled to say they were in Manchester I don't know.

Most of those I spoke to in the time preceding the game seemed to think I should have some affiliation to them because I was Scottish and a Hearts fan. More than one said 'At least yer no a Tim big man. No Surrrender' or some other charming phrase and there were certainly no English accents then.

You should not be on here apologising!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Having supported Hearts for fifty years I can confirm that Rangers fans are the worst in GB. I could write pages and pages on their violent past and bullying over many years. I have also been a member of the Tartan Army, Spain and Italy. I can confirm that there were very few Old Firm fans amongst our support and hence very little trouble.

I can only sympathise with your situation, I hate being patronised by Rangers fans because of religion and detest their bullying tactics!

The only good thing to come out of Wednesday for you and your colleagues is that the door to the premiership for the OF is now firmly closed!!!!!!!!!!! And no amount of garbage from Ibrox will change that!!!! Bad news for the rest of us in Scotland.

Well of course it does....when you put it like that. :)

Wouldn't it seem more unlikely that football intelligence DON'T read these boards?

I find it unlikely that they'd give posts on these boards much credence or use them as a serious part of their activities in terms of gathering information.

What I find more unlikely is the prospect of there being any real probability of them following up on a comment as innocuous as that. Maybe there'd be more chance of it if he said that he had Maddy in his freezer or something.

I find it unlikely that they'd give posts on these boards much credence or use them as a serious part of their activities in terms of gathering information.

What I find more unlikely is the prospect of there being any real probability of them following up on a comment as innocuous as that. Maybe there'd be more chance of it if he said that he had Maddy in his freezer or something.

I agree, it's unlikely that anyone in their right mind would give The Boo's posts much credence....but I digress...

You must have missed all the stuff on the news about Bebo, Facebook, YouTube etc. The internet is one of their very favourite resources these days. Like any other information...you gather it and then you evaluate it. Message boards are as valuable as anything else. They do read them, and you can choose to believe me on that or not.

He's gone awfully quiet - maybe they've got him already....hehe. :)

I'm confused by this comment.

Strathclyde Police are undoubtedly over zealous. From what (admittedly small) experience I've had of the Lancashire Constabulary, they're similar. I don't see why that would invalidate the point that I made, just because their local police force are also over zealous - unless you're trying to imply that the Rangers support in Manchester was made up of Strathclyde police officers. Which I doubt was the case, mostly because most Rangers fans are smelly, unemployed minks.

Sorry for the confusion. My point was simply that if Rangers fans reacted to "over-zealousness" by local police forces in the same way as Hearts and other fans visiting Glasgow do (and most fans everywhere do) there would not be any need to invoke the "other side of the story". To suggest that "over zealousness" by the police is "another side of Wednesday night's story" is just a weak form of the Record's "it was the riot police that caused the riot" story.

I haven't in any of my few earlier posts bothered to criticise Rangers fans. They behaved as a sizeable minority always have. I thought on Wednesday their luck in undeservedly matching Celtic's recent appearance in the UEFA cup final might allow them to go along for the party. But of coure their idea of a party is to sing, Derry's Walls and the Sash, and chant UVF and FTP while finding something to hit or smash up.

The real story here is that the SFA. Scottish media, and some Scottish politicians have been shown up for what they are.

I agree, it's unlikely that anyone in their right mind would give The Boo's posts much credence....but I digress...

You must have missed all the stuff on the news about Bebo, Facebook, YouTube etc. The internet is one of their very favourite resources these days. Like any other information...you gather it and then you evaluate it. Message boards are as valuable as anything else. They do read them, and you can choose to believe me on that or not.

According to a thread in The Shed it appears he has been out experimenting with a new fuel in his car, and blown the fecker up, this might possibly be causing a temporary delay in his posting on JKB. :)

Independence

You are quite correct.

The police have no reason to follow any more lines of enquiry!!!

This is due to an above 25% detection rate in GMP on Wednesday. Out of only 200 trouble makers approximately 40-50 were arrested. Seems fair doesn't it!!!!!!!

Rangers should be banned from Europe for one year decided by our own powers ie SFA/SPL.

Will they show backbone? I doubt it as it is easier to blame other fans, Manchester, the police and "not our problem". AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE FOR SCOTLAND!

A lad I work beside was at Picadilly for the game. that situation with the policeman gettin a doin was the aftermath of 15 polis knockin the sh*t out of 7 rangers fans trying to run into the train station. That baying mob chased the police up the street when they seen the polis with the batons.

Funny how the media showed everyone the 2nd half, the huns chasin the polis.

According to a thread in The Shed it appears he has been out experimenting with a new fuel in his car, and blown the fecker up, this might possibly be causing a temporary delay in his posting on JKB. :)

Smokescreen. He's just buying time.

Still here:) I won't stick anyone I know in! I don't care what anyone says:p

People who're caught breaking the law on Youtube, or admitting to doing so on profile sites, are easily identifiable because they're either on video or have pictures of themselves up and their name on display. It isn't really the same situation. In any case, the comment was pretty innocuous (sp?).

There are undoubtedly some forums on the internet which are monitored by the OB. I doubt if Kickback is one of them.

Anyway, I'm off the now - over at my sister and her husband's house and arguing with Hearts fans about Rangers fans seems a bit perverse when I've got my wee nephew to talk to :)

A lad I work beside was at Picadilly for the game. that situation with the policeman gettin a doin was the aftermath of 15 polis knockin the sh*t out of 7 rangers fans trying to run into the train station. That baying mob chased the police up the street when they seen the polis with the batons.

And?????

Can't have happened and it didn't happen at Orgreave either did it?

When the riot polis go in all bets are off. Just another gang of thugs but paid at a rate for it. There were undoubtedly cretins among the Rangers support and I for one wouldn't demur at seeing their skulls cracked but when the suits of armour come out these guys love the carte blanche it gives them, boys and their toys. Unfortunately when control is lost like this innocents get caught up as well as the pondlife, seems to be people here who can't acknowledge that.

People who're caught breaking the law on Youtube, or admitting to doing so on profile sites, are easily identifiable because they're either on video or have pictures of themselves up and their name on display. It isn't really the same situation. In any case, the comment was pretty innocuous (sp?).

There are undoubtedly some forums on the internet which are monitored by the OB. I doubt if Kickback is one of them.

Anyway, I'm off the now - over at my sister and her husband's house and arguing with Hearts fans about Rangers fans seems a bit perverse when I've got my wee nephew to talk to :)

Like I said, it's up to you whether you choose to believe me or not.

Enjoy your evening. :)

And what? What else do you want? You want me to make somethin up?

I think he wants you to join the hysteria.

And what? What else do you want? You want me to make somethin up?

Nothing could justify the riotous behaviour captured quite crealy by both CCTV and other cameras. The police are entitled to use force as they see fit in riots. End of.

I think he wants you to join the hysteria.

Nae chance of that. Was just passing off a bit of info. Regardless of any apparent incidents involving the polis or huns, at the end of the day, Rangers fans made a James Hunt of themselves.

Nothing could justify the riotous behaviour captured quite crealy by both CCTV and other cameras. The police are entitled to use force as they see fit in riots. End of.

Ooh end of. Can't argue with that.

Who judges when the polis are to be reined in then in your opinion?

Nae chance of that. Was just passing off a bit of info. Regardless of any apparent incidents involving the polis or huns, at the end of the day, Rangers fans made a James Hunt of themselves.

Undoubtedly.

The polis were out-numbered and under equiped to deal with the number and condition of the mobs that faced them.

Those numpties should consider themselves lucky the game hadn't been played anywhere else in Europe. There would have been many broken bones and assorted bruises. The situation warranted tear gas.

I have absolutely no sympathy for any of those thugs who copped their dues from the polis.

Only a Game
Still here:) I won't stick anyone I know in! I don't care what anyone says:p

You'll have no difficulty with the apparent break in to your house being unsolved for the same reason then ?

monkfish1979

Having seen what happened, I doubt many people would've wanted them "reined in". They're riot police. They're trained - far better trained than your average oik on the street will give them credit for - to act accordingly if they believe a mob is likely to be a danger to the public. We weren't there, and we all know fine well how our work shy pals in the west love nothing more than crawling out of sticky situations by blaming other people.

People that accuse the police of brutality are taking the proverbial. Those aren't cotton buds they're armed with. From what I've been told, if police batons aren't used very sparingly, they'll shatter bone quite easily. If the police wanted to be "brutal", people would know about it. I'll probably get pelters for this, but, IMO, having noticed the particular ilk of the majority of people I see getting arrested, I'm quite surprised they're so restrained.

TBH, I'm really struggling to see why any Jambo would make even the vaguest of attempts to defend those hun morons.

Oh super you.

Only a Game

People that accuse the police of brutality are taking the proverbial. Those aren't cotton buds they're armed with. From what I've been told, if police batons aren't used very sparingly, they'll shatter bone quite easily. If the police wanted to be "brutal", people would know about it. I'll probably get pelters for this, but, IMO, having noticed the particular ilk of the majority of people I see getting arrested, I'm quite surprised they're so restrained.

Having been trained in the use of the new style police baton in a previous life I can confirm that you are correct about their potential for causing serious injury, even life threatening injury.

In a public order situation they are used to "clear space" You swing them in an outward direction in front of you not aiming at people, aiming to clear what is in front of you. If you strike someone in this situation its normally with the extended end at the bottom and its stings a bit but wont generally cause serious injury.

The other end of the baton is made of tensile steel. It is, to all intents and purposes, the handle , but it can be used to protect you from blows and, if your properly trained, to restrain people. If you hit anyone with that end, particularly at force on the head, you are no doubt going to cause them serious injury or even death. If you hit them on the legs or arms at force, your certainly going to cause deep bruising, possibly broken bones if you do it right. If your proven to use the baton in anything other than the approved manner your in serious ****. I trained and worked with dozens of public order guys. None of them would ever strike someone on the head with a baton unless their own situation or someone elses was " immediately and definetly life threatening".

As far as " riot police " are concerned, complete nutters are generally filtered out at the training stage (yes, there are some complete nutters in the police but they dont get into public order teams and they are far more likely to give you a good old fashioned punch in the puss than the trained guys) The ideal candidates display controlled aggression, awareness of whats around them in a public order situation and a calming but determined ability to deal with it. Your first purpose is control and your hardly ever likely to be in a position to arrest people (hence I believe why so few were arrested) unless you get a group or an individual isolated. Arresting people in public order situations reduces the manpower available to control the very thing you were there for in the first place and its not really the first priority.

In general, if you become inadvertently present in a situation where the public order police are active, they are going to want you to get out of the way if you are there quite innocently. If you hang around you are part of the problem. They dont have the time to watch and work out who's innocent and who's actively involved. If you remain present you have to accept what these guys are all about and what they are trying to achieve and they are not going to want to chat to you about it or ask you nicely either.

About an hour ago was faced by the filthy **** on vicotoria terrace as everyone was leaving liquid rooms on victoria street. They were all singing their pathetic songs and trying to pick a fight with any person leaving the club. They deserve everything they get. ****

ooh where's my handbag?

monkfish1979

Dog bitten Shrek murderer bloke -

"I've been out of jail for a while now and I've paid for my crimes. There's no way I'd be interested in spoiling things for everybody and getting sent back to jail."

Really? He should still be rotting in a cell if he murdered somebody, IMO.

Adi Dassler

Large group of Rangers fans outside the Liquid Room at 3am this morning singing songs and goading folk?

Sorry, but as someone who is a regular at Evol on Friday nights, i just don't believe you.

His joke about the tetanus jab, quoted not once but twice by the Record is quite something though. These Glasgow folk, as Billy Connolly was spouting on about in the same paper the other week, are just naturally funny, aren't they? Well deserving of the opportunity the Record gives us to hear at some length his side of the story - another reliable witness of how the cops lost control and over-reacted.

Drew Busby !
His joke about the tetanus jab, quoted not once but twice by the Record is quite something though. These Glasgow folk, as Billy Connolly was spouting on about in the same paper the other week, are just naturally funny, aren't they? Well deserving of the opportunity the Record gives us to hear at some length his side of the story - another reliable witness of how the cops lost control and over-reacted.

He's the huns own twisted psychotic fecked-up anti-matter equivalent of John Smeaton.

Edit: And I'm well aware that Smeaton is a nob.

If you read the coverage in yesterday's ****** and compare with the Manchester Evening News you woldn't even think you were reading about the same event.

Then to cap it all , the ****** prints an article that turns Rangers fans from victims to heroes overnight by reporting that a Rangers fan saved the life of that policeman (who was of course attacked by Rangers fans in the first place).

How anyone at the ****** thought it worthwhile to give a convicted murderer space to have a go at the GMP really is scraping the barrel. But that's hunocracy for you .

TBH, I'm really struggling to see why any Jambo would make even the vaguest of attempts to defend those hun morons.

Not doing that in the slightest. What I would say though is that not every Hun is a moron and the innocent are entitled to their right not to be bashed about. Look at some of the photos captioned as Rangers fans attacking the police in yesterdays papers and you'll see guys who look more like they're cowering under police attack to me. Media representation of these events often mis-represents the facts, harder to deal with the fact that certain elements in the police are aso thugs than to represent all football fans as such.

I ferevently hope the thuggish elements in the Rangers support get what's coming to them but I have my doubts as to the 'facts' relayed by the press.

In general, if you become inadvertently present in a situation where the public order police are active, they are going to want you to get out of the way if you are there quite innocently. If you hang around you are part of the problem. They dont have the time to watch and work out who's innocent and who's actively involved. If you remain present you have to accept what these guys are all about and what they are trying to achieve and they are not going to want to chat to you about it or ask you nicely either.

Lot of fair and interesting points there but I think (personal view) that the police sometimes have real difficulties in telling the innocent football fan from the thug. It can also be fairly diffcult to make yourself scarce in a confined urban area.

The legacy of Orgreave also lives on.

Only a Game
Lot of fair and interesting points there but I think (personal view) that the police sometimes have real difficulties in telling the innocent football fan from the thug. It can also be fairly diffcult to make yourself scarce in a confined urban area.

The legacy of Orgreave also lives on.

Quite true, when it kicks off they are not terribly interested in who is innocent and who is active. The problem is that the active deliberatly hide amongst the innocent, blurring the two together.

Orgreave, by the way, was nothing more than an organised pitched battle between two large gangs of thugs, both of whom were up for a "tear up". The blue gang dont lose many of these battles (if they lose one they go back and doubly win the next one), governments ensure that they dont lose many because overall its very bad for society.

Quite true, when it kicks off they are not terribly interested in who is innocent and who is active. The problem is that the active deliberatly hide amongst the innocent, blurring the two together.

Orgreave, by the way, was nothing more than an organised pitched battle between two large gangs of thugs, both of whom were up for a "tear up". The blue gang dont lose many of these battles (if they lose one they go back and doubly win the next one), governments ensure that they dont lose many because overall its very bad for society.

See I think their victory at Orgreave was bad for society. Who meakes these decisions?

Only a Game
See I think their victory at Orgreave was bad for society. Who meakes these decisions?

I think the miners incorporated violence, intimidation and bullying into their strategy for winning the strike, in fact they pinned their hopes on it, having seen the police severely routed during the race rights in Liverpool etc etc earlier in the decade. You cant have a society where violence and intimidation hold the upper hand. Yes it was put down violently, mostly by the Met who were being sent to areas outside their jurisdiction, mostly in places where cops and miners were part of the same family, and they liked nothing more than bashing a few miners heads for big dollops of overtime cash.

We could argue about the politics behind it but violent protest with the aim of adversely effecting democratic society, must be challenged and beaten or you no longer have a democratic society.

Way off topic now...........Apologies.