• Tazio

• redjambo

• FWJ

1 minute ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Why did humans historically devote so much time and effort (and a potential food crop) to  the making of alcohol ? 

Cos it’s barry :) 

9 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

I'll agree with you on Scon for the bun (not the place) but I'm not having that crap about pork. 

:spoton: pork rhymes with fork . 

Have just read this entire f***ing page and still have no idea what pork is meant to rhyme with, if not fork.

:wtf:

Id pronounce the 'o' in pork as Id pronounce the 'oa' in oak or oar. P-oar-k if you will.

Its Hearts.

Its ingins

Its uvin.

23 minutes ago, been here before said:

Id pronounce the 'o' in pork as Id pronounce the 'oa' in oak or oar. P-oar-k if you will.

Its Hearts.

Its ingins

Its uvin.

At last!

Pork sorted.

Hearts sorted.

Uvin/Uven sorted.  It’s definitely not  O ven.

Onions are still up for grabs imo.  But, ingins are close enough to ung yin for me to drop it. For now :ph34r:

And then theres the poem / poyem or poetry / poyetry nonsense.

Yogurt or yo (as in oa) gurt.

Lets be clear here its poem and yoghurt.

While we're on the subject 2 slices of bread with a filling is a piece. Some may call it a sandwich and they would be wrong. However why dont any of the wrong uns ever have a sandwich? The all seem to have sangwijes.

These pronunceations should probably be a new thread.

Some arse/erse want to start it?

38 minutes ago, been here before said:

And then theres the poem / poyem or poetry / poyetry nonsense.

Yogurt or yo (as in oa) gurt.

Lets be clear here its poem and yoghurt.

While we're on the subject 2 slices of bread with a filling is a piece. Some may call it a sandwich and they would be wrong. However why dont any of the wrong uns ever have a sandwich? The all seem to have sangwijes.

These pronunceations should probably be a new thread.

Some arse/erse want to start it?

A sandwich is what you buy, a piece is what you, or your partner, makes.

7 hours ago, jonnothejambo said:

Pork does not rhyme with fork..

Correct, gives me the willies thinking about it rhyming with fork. It's just wrong. 

14 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

Pork and fork definitely rhyme. I've never heard either being pronounced differently. Which one would you have pronounced to not rhyme with cork, dork and snork(el)?

There is no one out there who would say Pork like you say Fork. They would be laughed out of whichever establishment they tried to say it.

8 minutes ago, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

There is no one out there who would say Pork like you say Fork. They would be laughed out of whichever establishment they tried to say it.

In my world fork rhymes with pork.

Pronounced foark and poark.

Just now, graygo said:

In my world fork rhymes with pork.

Pronounced foark and poark.

I've misunderstood the statement then. 

I guess pronouncing Fork, Foark is a little bit better than pronouncing Poark like POrk. :lol:

On 11/08/2018 at 00:39, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

I've misunderstood the statement then. 

I guess pronouncing Fork, Foark is a little bit better than pronouncing Poark like POrk. :lol:

Foark is not how to pronounce fork.

It just isn’t ?

On 10/08/2018 at 04:41, Morgan said:

Pork does not rhyme with cork or dork or snork or fork. 

I can’t think of any other word that rhymes with pork actually!  Start pronouncing pork as if you were saying the name of the river that runs through Turin.  The Po.

Pour me a drink.  Now add a 'k' on the end of pour.

When you're finished, pour me another drink! :wink:

2 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Pour me a drink.  Now add a 'k' on the end of pour.

When you're finished, pour me another drink! :wink:

Smart ass ?

2 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

:tongue:

My bloody iPad just farted again when your post came through.  What have you done?  

Has anyone ever done DNA analysis on peas in a pod just to determine how similar they are?

If they're merely siblings, there'll be a 50% share however if they're identical siblings it'll be the same DNA.

7 minutes ago, Boof said:

Has anyone ever done DNA analysis on peas in a pod just to determine how similar they are?

If they're merely siblings, there'll be a 50% share however if they're identical siblings it'll be the same DNA.

Gregor Mendel would be pleased to read that you're asking a question about DNA, and asking specifically about peas.  Nice one. :thumb:

15 minutes ago, Boof said:

FFS Boof!

Just have a beer man, pea talk is too heavy this time of night.  :lol:

9 hours ago, Morgan said:

FFS Boof!

Just have a beer man, pea talk is too heavy this time of night.  :lol:

The beer would then mean it would be pee talk.

15 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Why do some people say "axe" instead of "ask"? 

They're probably the ones that axe you to be more pacific. 

Mac_fae_Gillie

Something that I think about every time this year

Does the USA not have its own "Big Brother" TV show or does the UK version get shown there??

cuss last decade or so a third to half the people in the house are yanks.

17 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Why do some people say "axe" instead of "ask"? 

Dialect.

I do it but am aware of my audience to appreciate if using it could possibly be misunderstood. 

In that hugely unlikely event, I'd suggest that the listener would be more likely to be the halfwitted party in the conversation.

Surely this puts to bed that fork rhymes with pork, Edinburgh Hearts fan wee Ronnie says so

Edited by cheetah

The singular of a wolf is "a wolf", the plural is "wolves".

Wolverhampton Wanderers fans are known as "the Wolves", but would that make a single fan of the club "a wolf"? I've never heard a fan of the club being referred to as "a wolf" before.

The singular of a wolf is "a wolf", the plural is "wolves".

Wolverhampton Wanderers fans are known as "the Wolves", but would that make a single fan of the club "a wolf"? I've never heard a fan of the club being referred to as "a wolf" before.

On 10/08/2018 at 23:26, Wham Bam Austin McCann said:

They would say fork like pork tho'. 

On 15/08/2018 at 20:21, Morgan said:

Foark is not how to pronounce fork.

It just isn’t ?

Depends if you're English or not. 

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

They would say fork like pork tho'. 

I say pork like fork. How would those who say pourk pronounce porcupine? They both have the same derivation. 

I remember getting leathered with a ruler by a teacher at primary school, because when reading out loud, I kept pronouncing 'want' like 'rant'. She gave up eventually. My previous teacher had been a weegie, so I blame her. I usually pronounce it like waunt now, but it depends who I'm talking to.