The Rangers soap opera goes on and on.

Sergio Garcia

79172c8a4ca5fb0c7a7e60126990a00f.jpg. d1876fda5e9dcd7b6ea0a8d5e2df3e59.jpg

Uncanny!

I don't remember which character Mayall spotted a goatee for but the photo of Whyte being escorted to court made me think immediately of Rik.

post-6882-0-20765600-1417220153_thumb.jpg

Many self made businessmen also have a degree of arrogance about them - they know best, and I'd guess that Whyte's gamble was based on CL qualification - when that didn't happen the whole house of cards came tumbling down.

I'd love to know how much the Kaunas defeat contributed to where they are now.

If Ashley underwrites the share issue then he is potentially committing to take up all the new shares and pump his money into the club to allow the spivs to continue to bleed it dry.  I just can't see him doing this, unless it's in return for him getting control of the stadium / MP.

He didn't even take up his own option on the previous rights issue, instead buying a chunk of shares on the open market which allowed him to increase his holding without giving money to the club.  He then waited until they were on the verge of running out of cash before offering his loans, in return for security over some of the heritable assets.

His behaviour has been inconsistent to say the least. It's too long since I studied tax to be able to say whether he's "investment" pattern is shielding his other earnings but I strggle to think why he would underwrite a new share issue.

If he wanted to have ?1brox, he'd need to lend as equity shares, by definition, carry no security, meaning hed stand to lose all cash invested at the next liquidation.

His recent loans support the theory of an asset grab - as well as allowing him to buy control on the cheap.

His earlier refusal to take up rights would also support a strategy of lending with security.

His buying shares on the "open market" (helping out a mate who needed to ditch them?) doesnt tally with anything that makes sense to me.

Many self made CONMEN also have a degree of arrogance about them - they know best, and I'd guess that Whyte's gamble was based on CL qualification - when that didn't happen the whole house of cards came tumbling down.

A slight alteration there.

Was Whyte ever a successful businessman? If he was, where did his successful businesses go once he came into ?1brox?

I have a suspicion that he has been a front man all along for people far more financially successful and ruthless than him. Either that or his 'off the radar wealth' was down to some kind of Ponzi scheme as, indeed, was his use of Ticketus to fund the acquisition of Rangers.

Keeping to the Rik Mayall theme, he looks like Lord Flashheart in the recent pic. :)

Flash by name, Flash by nature. Woof! :D

I'm getting more of a Branson vibe from him now myself

Allowayjambo1874

Don't know if its been mentioned but the union bears (whoever they are) have called off their boycott and asked people to go back to ibrox.

Rangers fans thinking it's all down to Whyte....

Deary me

That is the story that will be told to comfort themselves that it is actually Sir David Murray, Graeme Souness, Walter Smith, Dick Advocaat, Ally McCoist, their Fans superiority complex / sense of entitlement that is the root cause of their demise, their liquidation and subsequent spunking another ?70M since then.

They are not a viable business or football club they are a vanity project. 50k attendances are only possible with constant success / constant overspending to achieve that. They are now scraping the bottom of funding options and will accept anyone who will let the pretence continue, sadly so will our football "authorities" feckin charlatans..

Edited by Charlie-Brown

Rangers fans thinking it's all down to Whyte....

Deary me

They have been conned by SDM & the succulent lamb eating reporters. SDM knew exactly what he was doing and who he was selling to, remember, whyte was described as having "wealth off the radar" by the scottish press.

Re any future share issue, ashley won't underwrite that, not a chance. I would imagine that right now he is trying to consolidate and strengthen his position regarding rangers retail and as soon as that is completed, he'll get out of dodge. including getting rid of his shares, all he is interested in is watertight contracts for the kit and merchandising, anything else has no interest for him.

Sevco are a disaster of a company and just burn cash, it's the way they have been set up, the spivs are picking the carcass clean, they will go bust, and then we will see t'rangers mark 3.

Their latest accounts are a complete omnishambles and things have deteriorated since june this year - 2.8m raised in a share issue - gone, 3m in loans(repayable in april 2015) required for october and november payroll now almost gone, suppliers unpaid(expect legal action very soon on recovering payments), not enough money for december payroll, auditors saying that they are not a going concern and can't meet their day to day obligations. Any company doing business with them should now be requesting cash on delivery.

If they manage to get to january(which is 50/50 right now) expect players to go, Wallace and mcleod probably, as they are the only players that anyone else might want. If they are lucky they may get cash up front for them but it isn't going to be much as every one knows they need the cash which makes it a buyers market. 

So "off the radar wealth" actually means money that you haven't got.

The SFA are not going to come out of this without a bit of mud sticking. Their means of checking if Whyte was banned from holding directorships was to just ask him and when he said he wasn't to go "that's fine, then, you'll do".

BlackhallJambo

That's my point though. Con men can get round that sort of thing.

Will Whyte be able to cope with jail with half of the inmates gunning for him. No danger. Unless his lawyers are giving absolute guarantees he will not be found guilty, which they clearly cannot, he will disappear into the night IMO using his dodgy mates to get him a fake passport. And this time making sure he disappears to a country that does not have an extradition treaty with the UK.

So "off the radar wealth" actually means money that you haven't got.

The SFA are not going to come out of this without a bit of mud sticking. Their means of checking if Whyte was banned from holding directorships was to just ask him and when he said he wasn't to go "that's fine, then, you'll do".

The SFA (and SPL/SPFL) will continue on their Teflon coated way I am afraid.

5 way agreements, ignoring their own rules, the law of the land and deliberately misleading one of Scotland's top law lords.

All for one club and protecting all  those (bar Whyte) associated with it.

What a mess.

Edited by DETTY29

What does one expect with FIFA as the pathfinder. Rules are for our members, not for us.

What does one expect with FIFA as the pathfinder. Rules are for our diddy members, not for us or our masters.

FTFY

They have been conned by SDM & the succulent lamb eating reporters. SDM knew exactly what he was doing and who he was selling to, remember, whyte was described as having "wealth off the radar" by the scottish press.

Re any future share issue, ashley won't underwrite that, not a chance. I would imagine that right now he is trying to consolidate and strengthen his position regarding rangers retail and as soon as that is completed, he'll get out of dodge. including getting rid of his shares, all he is interested in is watertight contracts for the kit and merchandising, anything else has no interest for him.

Sevco are a disaster of a company and just burn cash, it's the way they have been set up, the spivs are picking the carcass clean, they will go bust, and then we will see t'rangers mark 3.

Their latest accounts are a complete omnishambles and things have deteriorated since june this year - 2.8m raised in a share issue - gone, 3m in loans(repayable in april 2015) required for october and november payroll now almost gone, suppliers unpaid(expect legal action very soon on recovering payments), not enough money for december payroll, auditors saying that they are not a going concern and can't meet their day to day obligations. Any company doing business with them should now be requesting cash on delivery.

If they manage to get to january(which is 50/50 right now) expect players to go, Wallace and mcleod probably, as they are the only players that anyone else might want. If they are lucky they may get cash up front for them but it isn't going to be much as every one knows they need the cash which makes it a buyers market. 

How long to go on these players' contracts and how much are they earning?  They won't willingly move for a pay cut.

Allowayjambo1874

How long to go on these players' contracts and how much are they earning?  They won't willingly move for a pay cut.

Shamelessly cut from bears den:

Here is the list of summer expiries- 

McCulloch  

Miller 

Boyd

Black

Daly

Moshni 

Smith

Hutton

Foster

Simonsen 

Robinson 

Faure

McGregor 

Shiels

Templeton

Clark

Zaliukas 

Law

Allowayjambo1874

They can all sign pre contracts with other clubs in Jan too.

Serious question mate, who would want them? 

The shirt sales thing is a real belter. I know it got mentioned yesterday but for the daily ranger to print it will drive home the Ashley being in it for Ashley to the orcs!!

Savior my erse.

Serious question mate, who would want them? 

We could take Wallace, as back up to Eckersley whilst McHattie is out...

The shirt sales thing is a real belter. I know it got mentioned yesterday but for the daily ranger to print it will drive home the Ashley being in it for Ashley to the orcs!!

Savior my erse.

Make no mistake Mike Ashley has saved Rangers      :toilet:

Shamelessly cut from bears den:

Here is the list of summer expiries-

McCulloch

Miller

Boyd

Black

Daly

Moshni

Smith

Hutton

Foster

Simonsen

Robinson

Faure

McGregor

Shiels

Templeton

Clark

Zaliukas

Law

Isn't Gatusso coming back though??? Haha :)

I feel a little sorry for their pantomime villain, Murray, Walter, Green, Whyte, Ahmed, Sally, that speccy finance boy, Duff & Phlaps and all the others are just as culpable

Am I right in seeing that they have about 51 players on the books?  The difference , the ?8Million, seems to be mostly getting spent on them.

Get the player total to 20, and they will balance their books . 

Mind , I don't care, and I suspect neither does Ashley, who will simply mop up the assets for pennies. 

They're total wages fell by 3.2m as staff numbers dropped by 21 people .... That's ?152,380 each per annum!! Wholly bajingo!!

Also the first team wages are 26% of turnover. Is that not a pretty decent figure in the grand scheme of things? It just shows money must be disappearing down the rabbit whole to wonderland!'

Allowayjambo1874

They're total wages fell by 3.2m as staff numbers dropped by 21 people .... That's ?152,380 each per annum!! Wholly bajingo!!

Also the first team wages are 26% of turnover. Is that not a pretty decent figure in the grand scheme of things? It just shows money must be disappearing down the rabbit whole to wonderland!'

Smoking mirrors about methinks. Playing staff budget wise is actually ok % to turnover.

McCoist, McDowell and Durrant are rumoured to cost ?1.3m per year, given Sally is on 16k per week the other 2 must be on about roughly ?4.5k per week. This is the problem, not the players but the other personnel connected to the playing staff. All on big bucks (Scottish football wise). Put that into perspective, will Robbie even be on ?4.5k a week and we are 3rd biggest club in Scotland.

Previous years accounts gave wages as 97% of turnover (if I recall correctly) and Radio Clyde 'revealed' that the kit man at Ibrox earned more than all but 7 Scottish football team managers. Needs a total cull and realistic people/wages put in, but it may be too late even for that.

I would think this is exactly where Ashley will try and change things, however there will be much squealing and negative press as people get pushed out. 

Smoking mirrors about methinks. Playing staff budget wise is actually ok % to turnover. 

It should be noted that they are saying first team wages at 26%, not all wages, or all football wages as other clubs do. I doubt Ally and co's wages are included.

And just to repeat; the first teams wages at 26% of turnover.Their turnover was ?25million. So a first team wage bill in excess of ?6 million, to win the third division, against part-time players.

Using the same measure as everyone else the ratio was 58%, coincidentally the same as Celtic.  Hearts last published number for 2012/13 was 74%.  We will get the 2014 figure in a couple of weeks time.

90% of sport direct staff are on zero hour contracts perhaps mike Ashley will have all the Huns on zero hour contracts aswell so they only get paid for total hours of work and no Salary s to pay

Considering this guy wrote for a paper printed by Sinn Fein I would think he will over egg everything ?18-?20m to do the stadium up, aye right.Thank **** we managed to get rid of our charlatan and are now on a stable foothold they just seem to go from one tosser to another.

Seems to be pretty common knowledge though that the stadium is in a pretty poor state of repair though. That in it's self would seem to call into question why Ashley would ever take the stadium as security over any loan he might make to them, well knowing that if they did go tits up he would be left holding an asset that might well need several million pounds spent on it to make safe and serviceable. Seems to me that they are heading for the buffers at a rate of knots.

Perhaps ?3-4m but ?18-20m Feck me you could build a new stadium for that, obviously not as big as ibrox.

He is clearly just spraffing now he knows nothing

To be fair it would probably cost atleast ?150m to build a brand new stadium the size of Ibrox so ?18m for 'major renovations' isn't that bad.

Not saying the fantasist is telling the truth in this case but the numbers aren't that unrealistic if things are as bad as claimed.

To be fair it would probably cost atleast ?150m to build a brand new stadium the size of Ibrox so ?18m for 'major renovations' isn't that bad.

Not saying the fantasist is telling the truth in this case but the numbers aren't that unrealistic if things are as bad as claimed.

But it's not really "major renovations" though if that's what he's on about bloody hell big stores install new lifts all the time and it doesn't cost ?18m,just have a look at the guys profile and you'll see why he's saying things like that, relly no one knows whats going on there now I suppose the hun fans will just have to hope that it works out for the better like it did for us but I would think that they will have more enemies closer to home to stop any good will unlike us, we were dealing with foreigners who didn't really have any agendas against Heart of Midlothian football club.

There was some talk of major safety concerns about the Club Deck there. Has it been open this season?

I would doubt that Ashley would see spending lots of money on Ibrox as a good investment.

Ashley leaking scare stories to Philmacgullible to bring down the amount he has to loan to get security over Ibrox? Clever move if that's the case.

To be fair he probably has bigger media friends to leak stuff to than that gutter-crawling spraff.

Considering this guy wrote for a paper printed by Sinn Fein I would think he will over egg everything ?18-?20m to do the stadium up, aye right.

Thank **** we managed to get rid of our charlatan and are now on a stable foothold they just seem to go from one tosser to another.

Rudi getting uptight at any criticism of rangers or the sfa, there's a surprise.  :stuart:

Are you andy davis?

• Maple Leaf locked this topic