The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Posted

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

Terrible

5/10

Posted

Die Another Day

Decent bond. Halle Berry is a terrible bond girl though 

6.5/10

Posted

Labor Day (netflix)

Rubbish

5/10

Posted

Finally got round to watch The Imitation Game. Utterly superb film with Cumberbatch brilliant as Turing and Keira Knightley impressively good as Joan Clarke.

Amazing story of how Enigma cracked and how it shortened the war.

Thoroughly recommended.

Posted

Whisky Galore (2016)

Awful film

5/10

AndyNic
Posted

THE BURIAL (Amazon Prime)

Utter guff. Boring as **** and the characters were dreadful.

It is loosely based on the true story of lawyer Willie E. Gary and his client Jeremiah Joseph O'Keefe's lawsuit against the Loewen funeral company and is essentially a David vs Goliath business story. 

5/10. 

Posted

I’ve watched it before but for anyone who hasn’t Sisu is now on Netflix. A great way to spend some time with your telly. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Tazio said:

I’ve watched it before but for anyone who hasn’t Sisu is now on Netflix. A great way to spend some time with your telly. 

Best with some booze or other stimulant of your choice.
Leave your cynicism and realism on the coat rack on the way in. 
An homage to the classic revenge action films of the 70s and 80s.

Posted

Marching Powder (at the Omni)

6/10

Probably an over generous score but I didn't hate it. Danny Dyer just plays a Danny Dyer character. There is some  pavement dancing versus Grimsby, Tranmere and Yeovil. The C word is used in abundance. My wife wasn't too impressed!

Ray Gin
Posted
10 hours ago, Shanks said no said:

6/10

Probably an over generous score but I didn't hate it. Danny Dyer just plays a Danny Dyer character. There is some  pavement dancing versus Grimsby, Tranmere and Yeovil. The C word is used in abundance. My wife wasn't too impressed!

Disappointing to see this isn't a film based on the book of the same name, which would have been far more appealing than another film with Danny Dyer being pwopa nawty.

Gavman81
Posted
On 04/03/2025 at 19:05, rudi must stay said:

On Her Majesty's Secret Service

Terrible

5/10

A really good Bond film for me mate.

Poor Tracey 😰

Gavman81
Posted
19 hours ago, Shanks said no said:

6/10

Am I allowed to say that my friend who I went to see this with actually really enjoyed it?

Shame on them eh 🤭

PortyJambo
Posted

Electric State on Netflix. Another one of their mediocre films, that is nothing new that hasn't been seen before, with a few stars in it to attract people to watch. It's not terrible, but supposedly it's the most expensive streaming film ever made (said to be $320m) and it's certainly not a film you would go out of your way to watch if it was on the big screen.

5/10

Posted
On 11/03/2025 at 12:22, Tazio said:

Was that on Prime or Sky previously. It's a decent watch if you're prepared to suspend reality.

Posted
8 hours ago, PortyJambo said:

Electric State on Netflix. Another one of their mediocre films, that is nothing new that hasn't been seen before, with a few stars in it to attract people to watch. It's not terrible, but supposedly it's the most expensive streaming film ever made (said to be $320m) and it's certainly not a film you would go out of your way to watch if it was on the big screen.

5/10

I thought it was okay, a 7/10 for me. Much like Borderlands which is on one of the streaming sites.

Posted

“ Paddington in Peru” 2025

Enjoyable daft film with great actors like Olivia Colman , Antonio Banderas , Julie Walters et al hamming it up . Nice themes about identity and family . Quite funny at times but not as good as “ Paddington 2” with  Hugh Grant playing the hammy villain to hilarious effect . But passable . Nicely voiced by Ben Wishaw . 

6/10 

Posted

“ The Brutalist” 2024 

Really can’t see what the fuss was about with this film . It was very odd . I honestly don’t really understand what it was meant to be saying? However it was intriguing and kept me viewing . Even the performances didn’t stir me . Sets and scenery were outstanding and the music . 

5/10 

Posted

Watched Adolescence the last few nights.

Some moments got to me I have to admit.

The wee guy was really good .

As were the other actors.

Some moments I really felt emotional.

Gavman81
Posted
On 16/03/2025 at 21:44, JudyJudyJudy said:

“ The Brutalist” 2024 

Really can’t see what the fuss was about with this film . It was very odd . I honestly don’t really understand what it was meant to be saying? However it was intriguing and kept me viewing . Even the performances didn’t stir me . Sets and scenery were outstanding and the music . 

5/10 

The run time is putting me off this - is it genuinely worth it, even watching over a few nights? 

Posted

Wicked Little Letters on Netflix. A nicely entertaining little film set in a village in Sussex just after the Great War where women in the town start receiving obscene letters through the post insulting them in foul language. Based loosely on a real life incident in the 1920’s. With great performances in particular by Olivia Colman, Jessie Buckley, and Timothy Spall playing an unpleasant character for once and revelling in it. 

Posted (edited)
13 hours ago, Gavman81 said:

The run time is putting me off this - is it genuinely worth it, even watching over a few nights? 

It’s very slow and has “ themes “ I guess .  I’ve thought about it more since my original review . I assume there’s links to the main character being a holocaust survivor and his need to build / create/ design to make sense of his experience . To be able to control his life / have order . Buts it quite life less and I’m amazed he won best actor . For some reason it reminded me of the much better film Wel probably the greatest film ever made “ Citizen Kane” .  Even though I’m critical of it it’s interesting so worth a watch I’d say . 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy
Posted

Sisu (Netflix)

7/10

Wild, gory and utterly absurd but entertaining action film set in Finland near the end of ww2.

Posted

The Hunt on Netflix. Satirical action film about people being hunted for sport after being abducted. Good fun way to spend 90 minutes are so and it’s Betty Gilpin at her most Betty which is a wonderful thing in my book. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Tazio said:

The Hunt on Netflix. Satirical action film about people being hunted for sport after being abducted. Good fun way to spend 90 minutes are so and it’s Betty Gilpin at her most Betty which is a wonderful thing in my book. 

Didn't they do something similar in Hard target with Jean Claude Van Damme, Lance Henriksen, and Yancy Butler?

Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Didn't they do something similar in Hard target with Jean Claude Van Damme, Lance Henriksen, and Yancy Butler?

Probably, it’s not exactly an original plot but this one is more black humour. 

Posted
18 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Probably, it’s not exactly an original plot but this one is more black humour. 

Posted

Last breath, 7.5/10. Gripping and atmospheric North Sea diver film with woody harrelson.  Decent performances all round

Posted

Just watched Anora. A good film that I enjoyed but I’m not sure it deserves all the plaudits and awards it has won. It seemed to jump around quite a lot thematically with a lot of broad strokes comedy taking over some of the bigger scenes but of course that may have been the creators intention. Mikey Maddison was excellent through and you believed in her as a character which is the best thing you can ask of an actor. 

Posted (edited)

What Happened to Monday? (Netflix)

6/10

Noomi Rapace stars as septuplet sisters who are forced to secretly adopt the same single identity in a dystopian future with a strict one-child policy. I started to lose interest a bit towards the end when things start to get a bit silly.

Edited by Ray Gin
Posted

Sweet Sue (iPlayer)

Boring

5/10

Placid Casual
Posted

Cinema Paradiso (original version, 2h4) at the Cameo. Pretty near perfect, nostalgic but bittersweet classic. Brilliant to see it on the big screen.

9/10

Posted

The new Snow White wi the bairns earlier.

Standard Disney but you find yourself toe tapping along to Hi Ho regardless and Tis no bad

6/10

Posted

Went to see Flow today, the Latvian animated movie that won best animated film at the Oscars.  Really good, though some reviewers have over-hyped it a bit.  Somewhere between 8 and 9 out of 10.

Posted

Venom - The Last Dance. 6/10. Very average Marvel film.

I'm on a mission to watch all the Marvel stuff.

7 films to go.

PortyJambo
Posted

The Order on Prime, starring Jude Law. 6/10. Based on a true story, but the addition of Law's character and storyline, which doesn't seem to be in the background to the story if you read about it on Wiki, doesn't really add anything and seems out of place, as do other additions to the story.

Posted

Been chewing my way through the many hundreds of short Sci-Fi films on the DUST YouTube channel.

Running times range from 3 minutes to 40 minutes.

Quality ranges from "bloody awful" to "better than the shite Hollywood is sharting out"

Some are animated, some are live action.
Production values vary widely too. Some are clearly student projects, others are people producing their own thing because they couldn't get major studio backing.
Some are years in the making, labours of love. Others are off the cuff productions.

Even if the film you're watching is a bit pish, they're mostly so short that you can just ride it out or skip to the next one.