In defence of football reporters

Guest zeeko1

When I was a (much) younger man I worked as a sub editor for the Eastern Daily Press. Back in those days, there was no such thing as the internet, let alone message boards such as this one. These days, any fan with access to a computer can make their opinion known to vast numbers of fellow supporters, whether it's based on fact or not. Back in my day, part of a sports reporter's skill was to build up contacts within clubs and I see no reason why this would not still be the case today. When a reporter quotes 'sources within the club' it should not be assumed, as many on here seem to think, that the story is made up or lacks firm evidence to back it up. It is usually because the journalist is protecting his source. I think those who sling mud at any negative story involving Hearts are doing so not because they truly believe it's a 'non story' and that the media have some sort of agenda against Hearts, but because they simply DON'T LIKE THE STORY. I think any reasonable-minded Hearts fan would admit that the club has generated much of its own negative press by the way it has been run in recent years and that by and large the media are only reflecting how the club is perceived these days.

I'll get off my high horse now and admit I find much of what passes for 'news' in certain newspapers these days pretty distasteful, but when it comes to sport, and in this case, Hearts, I think a bit of realism is required by fans. There are many so-called 'experts' on all things Hearts nowadays thanks to this sort of forum, but the overwhelming majority actually know next to nothing about what's really going on in the club. In that respect I humbly venture to suggest that some of the flak thrown at football reporters for daring to write a negative story about the club is unjustified unless those slinging the fact have any evidence of their own to disprove a story.