Forrester High School

this_is_my_story

I see that a new school is being built, so the old one's going to be coming down fairly soon... having attended from '86 to '92, it'll be strange to pass the site and see that the old building no longer remains!

Some great memories from my time there, and some brilliant teachers - even though I maybe didn't realise it at the time! Auld Mr Sinclair in Maths, Y-fronts up to his chest... The legend that was Gerry Taylor in Physics... Kenny MacArthur in English was brilliant... And who could forget Miss Laing from Languages - the reason why French was my worst subject, I would be in class thinking thoughts about her that no 14-year old boy should have had in his head!

Bams from WHEC coming down and running amok in the playground.. got a sair face one day that happened!:mad: Pupils from Craigie High coming down on their half-days and loking for aggro, I remember one boy from there firing an air pistol outside Forries one afternoon!

The school exchange visit with Silver Lake High was great ('88 or '89 I think), got to stay in a beautiful house in Boston for a couple of weeks, with a day-trip to NYC being one of the highlights. So, any other ex-Forries lads & lasses have any memories to share? Or maybe some of our younger posters can tell us if any of the 'old school' teachers are still plying their trade there!

• Replies 148

Hehehehehehehe

Mr Sinclair was my maths teacher. Hard but fair bloke.

Miss Laing for French. Young hormones and Miss Laing.....

Mr Wilson the maths teacher as well. Pink Floyd and Talking Heads posters on the walls. Used to take the football and ref now and again - "Play on, play on"

Remember the Craigmount boy who came down with the air pistol as well.

Special metion to Mr Welington "Hibs fan" who would dig you in the ribs mucking around. That man never knew his own strength.

Hehehehehehehe

Mr Wilson the maths teacher as well. Pink Floyd and Talking Heads posters on the walls. Used to take the football and ref now and again - "Play on, play on"

Special metion to Mr Welington "Hibs fan" who would dig you in the ribs mucking around. That man never knew his own strength.

He'd probably get the sack for that nowadays!

this_is_my_story
Hehehehehehehe

Jeez, how did I almost forget about him!! "On ye go, on ye go!"

Aye, auld 'Wellie' merits a mention too - you're bang-on about the digs in the ribs! Good geezer though, he took the school fitbaw team for a while too.

Mr MacArthur, Mr Wilson (both of them) and Mrs Laing are all still there however i have no idea what you guys seen in her!

She takes the base now so no longer a french teacher.

Also don't know how you can forget Mrs T though. She retired a couple of years ago.

The new school is set to be completed next christmas with the first term starting in January 2010. The football pitches will be where the 'old' school is just now. Think there is going to be tennis courts and a couple of Astro pitches as well.

It isn't just Forries that are getting the new school either, Auggies are getting demolished as well and the 2 buildings will be connected but kept as seperate school. We don't like to associate ourselves with them you see.

I see that a new school is being built, so the old one's going to be coming down fairly soon... having attended from '86 to '92, it'll be strange to pass the site and see that the old building no longer remains!

Some great memories from my time there, and some brilliant teachers - even though I maybe didn't realise it at the time! Auld Mr Sinclair in Maths, Y-fronts up to his chest... The legend that was Gerry Taylor in Physics... Kenny MacArthur in English was brilliant... And who could forget Miss Laing from Languages - the reason why French was my worst subject, I would be in class thinking thoughts about her that no 14-year old boy should have had in his head!

Bams from WHEC coming down and running amok in the playground.. got a sair face one day that happened!:mad: Pupils from Craigie High coming down on their half-days and loking for aggro, I remember one boy from there firing an air pistol outside Forries one afternoon!

The school exchange visit with Silver Lake High was great ('88 or '89 I think), got to stay in a beautiful house in Boston for a couple of weeks, with a day-trip to NYC being one of the highlights. So, any other ex-Forries lads & lasses have any memories to share? Or maybe some of our younger posters can tell us if any of the 'old school' teachers are still plying their trade there!

Seriously, Miss Laing put me over her knee and smacked my erse. It was the highlight of my school years :P

Hehehehehehehe

He stopped one of our games for about 10 mins, to explain to one of the Royal High School players, how to take a throw in correctly. He was definitely taking the **** :)

Partick Thistle supporter if I remember correctly and still teaches at Forries.

Seen him a few weeks back walking into the school.

I always liked Mr Abbie. He was a cool guy - you could have a good laugh with him.

He also reminded me of the Paul Bearer from the WWF :P

He stopped one of our games for about 10 mins, to explain to one of the Royal High School players, how to take a throw in correctly. He was definitely taking the **** :)

Partick Thistle supporter if I remember correctly and still teaches at Forries.

Seen him a few weeks back walking into the school.

He supports Hibs Gav.:(

Probably has soft spots for many wee teams though.

He once told me that Micheal Stewart is one of the best players he had seen.

He'd probably get the sack for that nowadays!

Mr Wellington - He did get his jotters in the end (or was forced to resign) after he grabbed one lads in my year by the scruff the neck so hard he cut him.

Mr Sinclair....... I was a co-ordinate in his maths class because there was 3 David's - "David, 3 along, 4 up - Tell me the blah blah...."

Mr Beck was a quality teacher in Accounting & Finance - If you didn't fancy doing any work, you just had to challenge him to a game of hangman or ask him to tell you a story about his days as a midfield maestro for East Fife.

Jeez, how did I almost forget about him!! "On ye go, on ye go!"

Aye, auld 'Wellie' merits a mention too - you're bang-on about the digs in the ribs! Good geezer though, he took the school fitbaw team for a while too.

He was a complete radge. Booted me in the shins once after a Hearts Hibs game...."you at the game on Saturday Wood"? Aye. Whack. "That's for Gordon Hunter".

Shaky Taylor the science teacher. Another complete bam. Seem to remember there were several stories about why he had developed the uncontrollable shakes. One being that he electrocuted himself in one of his own classes. Last seen playing a banjo outside my chemistry class circa 1997.

Mr Abbey. Dead wringer for The Undertakers mate Pall Bearer. One of the good ones.

Roddy Lakin. Used to have a fly fag in his room before our reggie class. Thought we never knew.

Mrs Wilson. Used to dislike me something rotten. Once threw a hockey stick at her.

Mr Cruikshank (Quickw**k). Another of the good guys. Always turned a blind eye to the heated "pitchie" games round the back of the PE block. Lost my lunch money on more than one occasion round there.

Mr Morrison. Music teacher. I done more lines for him than Shaun Ryder done during the Happy Mondays.

Mr Black. French. Without doubt the biggest ****** i've ever met. Bullied me terribly. Eventually he threw me out of his french class permanently such was his dislike for me. Challenged him to a duel outside the Yo Yo club at our 6th year leaving do if i remember right. Found out through work a few years ago that he was declared bankrupt and had his house re-possesed. Take that you ^^^^.

My favourite teacher though without a doubt was Mrs Tuckerman at PE. Lovely woman.

Done the exchange thing with Silver Lake that the OP mentioned. Getting that yellow bus to school in the mornings and vending machines in the corridor. Bit different from Forries right enough. New York for 3 days after that. Superb, and definitely the highlight of school for me. Apart from seeing the porno that Miss Watson the Maths teacher was in obviously.

Cannae believe it is 11 years since i left the place.

Mrs Wilson. Used to dislike me something rotten. Once threw a hockey stick at her.

She died a wee while back - Cancer I think.

He was a complete radge. Booted me in the shins once after a Hearts Hibs game...."you at the game on Saturday Wood"? Aye. Whack. "That's for Gordon Hunter".

Shaky Taylor the science teacher. Another complete bam. Seem to remember there were several stories about why he had developed the uncontrollable shakes. One being that he electrocuted himself in one of his own classes. Last seen playing a banjo outside my chemistry class circa 1997.

Mr Abbey. Dead wringer for The Undertakers mate Pall Bearer. One of the good ones.

Roddy Lakin. Used to have a fly fag in his room before our reggie class. Thought we never knew.

Mr Cruikshank (Quickw**k). Another of the good guys. Always turned a blind eye to the heated "pitchie" games round the back of the PE block. Lost my lunch money on more than one occasion round there.

Mr Morrison. Music teacher. I done more lines for him than Shaun Ryder done during the Happy Mondays.

Mr Black. French. Without doubt the biggest ****** i've ever met. Bullied me terribly. Eventually he threw me out of his french class permanently such was his dislike for me. Challenged him to a duel outside the Yo Yo club at our 6th year leaving do if i remember right. Found out through work a few years ago that he was declared bankrupt and had his house re-possesed. Take that you ^^^^.

My favourite teacher though without a doubt was Mrs Tuckerman at PE. Lovely woman.

Done the exchange thing with Silver Lake that the OP mentioned. Getting that yellow bus to school in the mornings and vending machines in the corridor. Bit different from Forries right enough. New York for 3 days after that. Superb, and definitely the highlight of school for me. Apart from seeing the porno that Miss Watson the Maths teacher was in obviously.

Pitchie was great during break times. Many a heated argument over whose coin was closer to the wall. However, after building that astroturf pitch, "Pitchie" at Forries was never the same :mad:

Mr Cruickshank was indeed a good guy. He went to school (Firhill) with my auld man and was quite good mates with him.

Lakin, was an evil ******* - Stank of roll ups and was in general, a bully. He must have reduced about 6 people in my history class to tears.

Miss Watson a.k.a 'Horny Lorna' from Edinburgh :P

Pretty sure Mr Cruikshank played for Scotand at schoolboys level as well? He was a decent fella as well.

Mr Mcleod (PE in my first year) was a fu**ing loony tune. Remember him throwing a basketball at a kid who was ****ing about in class (but not looking) - THWACK!! That kid was out cold. Never seen Mr Mcleod again after that class. Looked like a German porn star as well.

Mr Low the Geography teacher could flip as well. Remember him coming through to one of our classes and going mental.

Mr Dalziel? Art teacher - was a decent chap as well. If you could not be bothered in class, you just needed to ask him about Vialli or Mancini!

Pretty sure Mr Cruikshank played for Scotand at schoolboys level as well? He was a decent fella as well.

Mr Mcleod (PE in my first year) was a fu**ing loony tune. Remember him throwing a basketball at a kid who was ****ing about in class (but not looking) - THWACK!! That kid was out cold. Never seen Mr Mcleod again after that class. Looked like a German porn star as well.

Mr Low the Geography teacher could flip as well. Remember him coming through to one of our classes and going mental.

Mr Dalziel? Art teacher - was a decent chap as well. If you could not be bothered in class, you just needed to ask him about Vialli or Mancini!

My old man definitely played in the same Salvesen team as Mr Cruikshank and said he was a decent player. Can't remember him saying he played in the same Scotland Schoolboys team but probably.

this_is_my_story
Mr MacArthur, Mr Wilson (both of them) and Mrs Laing are all still there however i have no idea what you guys seen in her!

She takes the base now so no longer a french teacher.

Also don't know how you can forget Mrs T though. She retired a couple of years ago.

The new school is set to be completed next christmas with the first term starting in January 2010. The football pitches will be where the 'old' school is just now. Think there is going to be tennis courts and a couple of Astro pitches as well.

It isn't just Forries that are getting the new school either, Auggies are getting demolished as well and the 2 buildings will be connected but kept as seperate school. We don't like to associate ourselves with them you see.

Hughesie, I'd still like to think that's not all she takes!! I assure you she was well worth a ping about 20 years ago! ;)

this_is_my_story
Mr Wellington - He did get his jotters in the end (or was forced to resign) after he grabbed one lads in my year by the scruff the neck so hard he cut him.

Mr Sinclair....... I was a co-ordinate in his maths class because there was 3 David's - "David, 3 along, 4 up - Tell me the blah blah...."

Mr Beck was a quality teacher in Accounting & Finance - If you didn't fancy doing any work, you just had to challenge him to a game of hangman or ask him to tell you a story about his days as a midfield maestro for East Fife.

Haha! Aye, remember him too. Quite possibly the worst teacher at controlling a classroom I have ever seen!

this_is_my_story

Recognise a few of the names Adi, just cannae put faces to them all though... do remember Mr Black, a right scrote of a man. Bit of 'wee-man syndrome' going on with him methinks!

Haha! Aye, remember him too. Quite possibly the worst teacher at controlling a classroom I have ever seen!

No way - there was a female Geography teacher who's name escapes me, who was ****ing hopeless! Every class was a free for all until Mr Lowe came to sort it out.

this_is_my_story

Ah, the names are all coming back to me now! I remember, probably in 2nd year when we used to go over to Augies to use their swimming pool, and he was stood at the side of the pool 'supervising' us, with a blatant stiffy in his trackie trousers - nonce!

this_is_my_story
No way - there was a female Geography teacher who's name escapes me, who was ****ing hopeless! Every class was a free for all until Mr Lowe came to sort it out.

Aye, I'm sure I actually remember hearing about that at the time - sounds like the same incident GA refers to earlier in the thread.

Another one who's class might as well have been a free period was Mr McLellan, nice bloke but did not exactly rule with an iron fist!

Mr Beck, the nervous wreck :P

Mrs Smith????

this_is_my_story
Seriously, Miss Laing put me over her knee and smacked my erse. It was the highlight of my school years :P

You lucky man! I'd have been furiously rubbing myself against her like a dog on heat if that had been me. :P

Mrs Smith????

Honestly can't remember. Wee old woman with specs.

Mind her trying to go daft at us one lesson and wagging the finger. A bit too vigorously mind, and whoosh, off came the bins hurtling through the air to the delight of the class.

Good times.

Honestly can't remember. Wee old woman with specs.

Mind her trying to go daft at us one lesson and wagging the finger. A bit too vigorously mind, and whoosh, off came the bins hurtling through the air to the delight of the class.

Good times.

Aye, that is the one.

I'm sure someone in my class ****ed in a bin whilst she talking.

Good to see we got to post 27 without anyone mentioning Mr McFarlane:eek:

Was he the pervert that got done for touching up a lassie?

The lassie was in my year.

The nonce?

I was on that school trip.

Last seen collecting glasses in the Caley Ale House.

jamboinheaven

he was the parick thistle supporter,im trying to remember geography teacher i had who was crap as well tosser with a beard,he also had mr low come through and take control,

what about mr mcgeachy ? or who was the wee pe teacher with dark hair who was cool was that mrs wilson?

Not quite sure if the whole proper 100% true version ever came out. There was so many rumours flying about at the time.

My lasting memory was the RE teacher having a breakdown trying to teach our year (serves her right for teahing RE in my book) and a geography teacher having a breakdown and crying in class - I forget her name but was refered to as Chicken ass oin the basis iof her rather large prosterier.

And how can I forget Mr Anderson in computing. If you asked him how to switch on your apple Mac he had to pop next door and ask the late Mike Darnell beofre coming back with the answer. When I heard Mr D died my initial thought was that Mr Anderson would have to leave and get a job doing something else.

Not quite sure if the whole proper 100% true version ever came out. There was so many rumours flying about at the time.

My lasting memory was the RE teacher having a breakdown trying to teach our year (serves her right for teahing RE in my book) and a geography teacher having a breakdown and crying in class - I forget her name but was refered to as Chicken ass oin the basis iof her rather large prosterier

See posts 27 and 28 :P

he was the parick thistle supporter,im trying to remember geography teacher i had who was crap as well tosser with a beard,he also had mr low come through and take control,

what about mr mcgeachy ? or who was the wee pe teacher with dark hair who was cool was that mrs wilson?

There was a guy who had a blatantly unfounded sex scandal rumour follow him for years. I always thought he looked like the guy from Short Circuit.

My lasting memory was the RE teacher having a breakdown trying to teach our year (serves her right for teahing RE in my book) and a geography teacher having a breakdown and crying in class - I forget her name but was refered to as Chicken ass oin the basis iof her rather large prosterier

As i said i was on that trip. Benmore or something maybe? Up North somewhere anyway.

We slept in big communal bunk beds. Boys on the top, girls on the bottom.

McFarlane slept with the lassies.

Make of that what you will.

any1 remember the old dopey biology teacher Mr Macintyre. I once remember we were doing an experiment and he happened to get some acid thing on his hand he said it was stinging and the man was just about in tears. Haha was funny back in the days.

Another to meantion was the fine looking Miss Strachan alot of the old ones on here wont remember her. she attended Forries about 7-8 years back possibly fine looking woman and was Christian Daily's cousin or something.

For me though there was something about Mrs Finlay in the Business Education Department. other than a weegie accent she was quite tidy

any1 remember the old dopey biology teacher Mr Macintyre. I once remember we were doing an experiment and he happened to get some acid thing on his hand he said it was stinging and the man was just about in tears. Haha was funny back in the days.

Another to meantion was the fine looking Miss Strachan alot of the old ones on here wont remember her. she attended Forries about 7-8 years back possibly fine looking woman and was Christian Daily's cousin or something.

For me though there was something about Mrs Finlay in the Business Education Department. other than a weegie accent she was quite tidy

Mr McIntyre got it tight of every class he used to teach.

If I remember correctly, someone drew a nob on his bald napper when he bent down. I believe the person was in Adi Dassler's class :P

THE original MILF

this_is_my_story
Was he the pervert that got done for touching up a lassie?

The lassie was in my year.

Yet again, this is a name that rings a bell, he definitely taught when I was a pupil at Forries. Did he definitely get done for this, Gav?

Another teacher who had similar rumours flying around about him was Peter Peace. Certainly had the look of a nonce about him, mind!

this_is_my_story

Probably the size of her bristols if it's the same one I'm thinking of! Didn't she used to be called something else, and this (Findlay) was the name she assumed after she'd been married?

this_is_my_story
If you're talking about the same teacher as I'm thinking of, her daughter was in my year - and you'd have railed that anaw.

I think I actually know of someone that did!! :laugh:

this_is_my_story
anymore that comes to mind?

Aye, just remembered a certain PE teacher, Mrs McNeill I think her name was - used to wear a hideous bright shellsuit, was a wee bit older but I'm sure I wouldn't have been the only one who'd have bent her over the pommel horse!:P

jamboinheaven
Aye, just remembered a certain PE teacher, Mrs McNeill I think her name was - used to wear a hideous bright shellsuit, was a wee bit older but I'm sure I wouldn't have been the only one who'd have bent her over the pommel horse!:P

that was the pe teacher iwas thinking of

Mr Scullen - Science. Retired when I was in first year. Total genteman.

That maths teacher who got done taught me Maths in second year I think. The Ref Bill Crombie's son made his life hell.

That RE teacher who flipped now works on wards as an aux nurse. She just could never control a class.

Forgot all about Mr Darnell as well. Mr Anderson would have indeed been fecked when he went to that big circuit board in the sky.

Trying to think of an old teacher who was Home Ec in first year. Old school loony tune that she was.

Mr McGeechy (sp) History teacher with half of his lunch in his beard.

Who was the other History teacher? Cant believe I cant remember his name -was in his reg class for 4 years!

this_is_my_story
Mr Scullen - Science. Retired when I was in first year. Total genteman.

That maths teacher who got done taught me Maths in second year I think. The Ref Bill Crombie's son made his life hell.

That RE teacher who flipped now works on wards as an aux nurse. She just could never control a class.

Forgot all about Mr Darnell as well. Mr Anderson would have indeed been fecked when he went to that big circuit board in the sky.

Trying to think of an old teacher who was Home Ec in first year. Old school loony tune that she was.

Mr McGeechy (sp) History teacher with half of his lunch in his beard.

Who was the other History teacher? Cant believe I cant remember his name -was in his reg class for 4 years!

Wasnae Mr Rankin, was it?