London City Airport

red21

Been to this airport a couple of time over the past few weeks - landings and take off are an experience - anyone else had the excitement/fear of using it recently?

Randle P McMurphy

Used it a couple of times didnt find it too bad. My main problem was the Air France propellor aircraft I was on, maybe just me but I dont like to see the rotors going around, reminds me of how vulnerable you are up there.

The departure lounge is also a bit of a nightmare, all their flights seem to leave around the same time. Bar is extortionate too.

Flying from there tomorrow night :)

Always found it to be one of the better London Airports to be honest. Fairly quick to get through security, not too busy, no hassle. Being a poor student I don't normally go into the restaurants or bars though.

What exactly did you find scary/exciting about the take-off? I've never really noticed any difference to anywhere else, except you get a nice view of London from the sky.

Great little airport and one of the best for landings i think. perfect for the excel centre and the dome/o2 arena.Rubbish and expensive bar though as somebody else said.

Had a shocker landing there once.

Pilot pulled out of landing as we were about to touch down. The noise and shaking as the aircraft gained height was pretty scary.

We were diverted to Stanstead.

I think the runway at London City is maybe shorter than normal.

Never had a problem there but for scary take off Leeds Bradford used to top it when youtook off over the valley bit like haveing the runway at the top of Arthur's seat if you ask me

Had a shocker landing there once.

Pilot pulled out of landing as we were about to touch down. The noise and shaking as the aircraft gained height was pretty scary.

We were diverted to Stanstead.

I think the runway at London City is maybe shorter than normal.

If they don't land early enough and get the reverse thrusters going fast enough you'll land in the drink.