BIG BERNIE

• Replies 122

I can remember Big Bernie from years back and when it was The Green Tree.

Match versus the Huns, totally mixed but he always started a resounding version of the SASH to get the whole pub going...........nothing changes eh:rolleyes:

I can remember Big Bernie from years back and when it was The Green Tree.

Match versus the Huns, totally mixed but he always started a resounding version of the SASH to get the whole pub going...........nothing changes eh:rolleyes:

The place sounds like a hoot of a pub.

only if you make an erse o yirsel;)

Are you sure you don't have be an erse to gain entry?

Libertonian_II
IIRC Bernie was a MOD when he was a teenager. Hard to believe now. Can't be much off 60 now.

Dont think that he was ever a MOD. Agewise he's 52/53

And yes his bark is worse than his bite.

Dont think that he was ever a MOD. Agewise he's 52/53

And yes his bark is worse than his bite.

He's a year or two younger than me so he's well past 55. And he was a MOD or I'm blind.

Is body armour optional?

No siree,if it's the same guy I'm thinking of(scar down his face?).

Anyway all these numpties who drink in Robbos think they are hard men because it's got a bit of a reputation,thats all,used to be a great wee booze when it was the green tree but now ,nah feck it ,it's full of idiots who would like to be someone.

Bit like straties,used to have a bit of a name for it's self being a wee bit of a Nazi bar,worraload of pish,the only boozer with any clout was vietnam.

he is 50, not as hard as he looks, but quite anice guy really. He was in the same boys brigade, that I was in. 38 years ago. A jambo who doesnt go to games now.

Anyway all these numpties who drink in Robbos think they are hard men because it's got a bit of a reputation,thats all,used to be a great wee booze when it was the green tree but now ,nah feck it ,it's full of idiots who would like to be someone.

Bit like straties,used to have a bit of a name for it's self being a wee bit of a Nazi bar,worraload of pish,the only boozer with any clout was vietnam.

Correct

Rudi, it's been years since I've been, but what time does straties open these days? Seem to remember it opening real early for the breakfast crowd!:)

Angry Haggis

Was once in the Balmoral Bar (Dalry of course, not to be confused with the swanky hotel on Princess street) pre-match for a few jars and a man fitting the description of the fine chap in this thread was in attendance with his dog....who at one pint got 'whacked off' by its owner.

All rather nastly at the time - the dog looked like he was enjoying it though...wee tail waggling and so forth.. :confused:

Can't beleive there are 4 or more pages about some kn0bend who thinks he's hard. Mods time to send this to the shed.

IIRC Bernie was a MOD when he was a teenager. Hard to believe now. Can't be much off 60 now.

He's 50 I think

Say what you want about the guy but he is a true character and there are very few of them about nowadays

And anyone that wants to walk about the streets with the intent of harming the vile from the West are aright by i8hibsh :)

coppercrutch
Can't beleive there are 4 or more pages about some kn0bend who thinks he's hard. Mods time to send this to the shed.

There is a job going on countdown for you...:rolleyes:

He's 50 I think

Say what you want about the guy but he is a true character and there are very few of them about nowadays

And anyone that wants to walk about the streets with the intent of harming the vile from the West are aright by i8hibsh :)

Like it i8:)

Dirk Diggler
Are you sure you don't have be an erse to gain entry?

Aye mate.

Everyone who has ever drunk in Robbo's is either half baked or is on drugs.

Everyone who has ever drunk in Robbo's is also a bigot.

FACT.

Thig Ar Latha
was with him the night he got his big scar,aint that hard really believe me:107years:

Thats how I remember him. Inside that threatening shell lurked a chocolate soldier.

A bit of a maverick in his own way.

Aye mate.

Everyone who has ever drunk in Robbo's is either half baked or is on drugs.

Everyone who has ever drunk in Robbo's is also a bigot.

FACT.

You're an arse. FACT.

In saying that so am I, hence why we get on so well. ;)

Dirk Diggler
You're an arse. FACT.

In saying that so am I, hence why we get on so well. ;)

And also the reason why we both think Robbo's is the best boozer in Gorgie bar none.

Agreed, however normally by the time I turn up at Robbo's you're in yer bed.

Dirk Diggler
Agreed, however normally by the time I turn up at Robbo's you're in yer bed.

If Hearts beating Hibs means me being tucked up in bed for tea time, It's a price i'm willing to pay.

A wee birdie told me that you'd heard that the CCS were targetting the pub that day and you **** yourself.

Dirk Diggler
A wee birdie told me that you'd heard that the CCS were targetting the pub that day and you **** yourself.

Hows the bairn Andy

Running about like she was never ill, wee bugger.

Having a nice chilled beer watching the Cricket, life's great at the mo.

No wonder she's ill if your giving her beer and making her watch cricket!

Haha, someone call the social!

Corrie Jambo

That has really made me laugh OUT LOUD - excellent.

I'm having a beer and watching paint dry.

Pretty much the same thing as your doing.

I'm having a beer and watching paint dry.

Pretty much the same thing as your doing.

Afternoon session was good mate. Both the Beer and Cricket one. :P

Please put the football on.

Arsenal are about to play Juventus on Sky Sports 2.

I beg you.

Rounders is for girls.

I beat you all i'm afraid

I've just finished watching Chitty chitty Bang Bang with a cup of tea

I am a party animal - God I can't wait for the seaosn to begin

BUT, the question remains.....

who was/is Jimmy Lightbulb and why the name? :confused:

Apparently he brightened the place up.

There is a job going on countdown for you...:rolleyes:

Your comment is no so smart now eh? Never underestimate the power of foresight.;)

Chip Buttie
BUT, the question remains.....

who was/is Jimmy Lightbulb and why the name? :confused:

I'll be suprised if anyone really knows why he got the 'Lightbulb' tag. But i think we can safely assume it was his mammy that called him Jimmy.

His repuatation is well known on the green side of the city too...

I remember the story about his Dogs' demise, I also remeber him walking into the Central Bar, above the old ABC and confronting a large group of CCS boys and making accusations about the demise of the dog. I think he took a few sair ones that night. This would have been around the late eighties?

If memory serves me right, he used to sport a natty line in bolier suits?

I also heard a story years ago about him being "intercepted" en route, on mission to fire bomb the hall being used for a practice session by the Rising Phoenix Republican Flute Band.

Your comment is no so smart now eh? Never underestimate the power of foresight.;)

Still only 3 pages though Vorderman (though I have added to it, giving your argument more substance :))